maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Super powerful and customizable Widget Generation Engine - Official Thread (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=45388)

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-07-25 15:10

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
WIKI updated with more details about the CHECKSUM issues

As per earlier experiences, there has also been an issue with big fonts leading "Import/Export Exported Instance" Buttons to move out of the screen and become invisible.

Crippled Advanced Dialog Box
http://talk.maemo.org/attachment.php...1&d=1279964117

Correct Advanced Dialog Box
http://wiki.maemo.org/images/thumb/9...-Qbwimpexp.jpg

As per the WIKI, Buttons needed for Import and Export of Instance Data are 14 and 15

Buttons 8 & 9 are for Import/Export of Command Data

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-07-25 15:23

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
One more thingie...
Try to avoid use of "\n" newline in beecon command:
Code:

if [ $QBW_EXEC_REASON == "QBW_TIMER_UPDATE" ] ; then  \n  if [ "$QBW_REMEMBER_ME" = locked ] ; then\n    ...
Proper way to deal with complex one-liner shell statements is the ";" semicolon character (this is an abstract example for QBW On Desktop Dialer Widget):
Code:

DIALER_QBW_ID=id15;DIGIT="*    +";case $QBW_HOTSPOT_PRESS in [0147]) DIGIT="*" ;; [369]) DIGIT="+" ;; *) exit 0 ;; esac; if [ "$QBW_EXEC_REASON" != "QBW_CLICK" ];then exit 0;fi; DIALLED=`run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --print-reply --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$DIALER_QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.get_current_results_text | tail -1 | cut -d\\" -f2`; if [ "$DIALLED" == "DIAL NUMBER" ] ;then DIALLED=""; fi; run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$DIALER_QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.exec string:"echo \\"$DIALLED\\"\\"$DIGIT\\""

dandiesel 2010-07-25 15:24

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
[request] Is it possible to add rotate functionality to the widget, similar to dr.launcher? So the widget icons rotate (not the actual desktop)

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-07-25 15:39

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dandiesel (Post 764185)
[request] Is it possible to add rotate functionality to the widget, similar to dr.launcher? So the widget icons rotate (not the actual desktop)

Ciao, it is now possible only for text labels (both Command Title and Results angles).
For rotated icons I suggest you use paint proggie and save a rotated copy of the Icon then programmatically use normal or rotated one. (use "click hot spots" on widget to change orientation by issuing dbus-send set_param_string commands to programmatically change layout of the widget and icons to use.

Maybe in next releases that will be possible by directly hooking QBW to DBUS orientation signals and providing programmatic notification for that ... but this is future for now :D

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-07-25 15:46

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
@techie
i spent some time on your OC QBW... I have another suggestion for a possibile optimization of the script ...
instead of changing QBW icons/images via dbus-send commands, why not use the beecon exit status features and images indexing
Also alpha transparency could be used in images masks to obtain cool effects for the final widget.

See Poker Dice Roller or O'clocker for example.

jerryfreak 2010-07-25 22:04

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
hmm i had the program crash while creating a new snippet, and ALL of my beecons suddenly disappeared off of my desktops! is there a quick fix to restore them?

techie 2010-07-26 04:39

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by No!No!No!Yes! (Post 764182)
One more thingie...
Try to avoid use of "\n" newline in beecon command:

Actually I was editing the code on the device itself with indentation so it inserted \n automatically, I didn't.Will get rid of it if it makes a difference.:)

Quote:

i spent some time on your OC QBW... I have another suggestion for a possibile optimization of the script ...
instead of changing QBW icons/images via dbus-send commands, why not use the beecon exit status features and images indexing
Also alpha transparency could be used in images masks to obtain cool effects for the final widget.

See Poker Dice Roller or O'clocker for example.
Thank You for your time! I looked at the above examples and must admit that is a smart way, I didn't know the app could read images based on index extensions:o, the more I learn of the capabilities of this app the more it impresses me and intrigues me how much work you put into this,kudos to you! (btw dd is a scary command esp since the first explanatory example I stumbled upon was
if=: /dev/zero: of=:/dev/hda: :D)
Will work on implementing your suggestions.
Another thing, although I try my best that minimum statements have to be executed, there is no conclusive statistical reading that I can check, so can you please possibly point me to some tool that I can use to compare how much optimized is one set of code to another.

I noticed that the the rollem deck has a boundary when pressed but I couldn't figure how it was done as there is no other image for it.So how is this done?And what is meant by alpha transparency?

Also No!No!No!Yes! can you check (maybe after you get back) if there is an issue with setting timer update interval using dbus.
It seems 0 (timer disable) can't be set but other values do(haven't checked all) including 9 (custom with interval 0 sec also works).And yes I did do reset_rearm_timer;)

techie 2010-07-26 04:44

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
1 Attachment(s)
@moepda
Although I was reluctant to do it, mainly because I have no way to know yet how much effect the size of code (even small) will have on memory, I still have modded it to your liking.Although I haven't tested it thoroughly it probably would work:)

moepda 2010-07-26 08:04

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
cheers techie your a star !!! :) :) will test and report back how it goes so to keep you informed :)

!!Nokia N900!! 2010-07-26 08:17

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
howcan i write a command for reboot??

JonWW 2010-07-26 08:23

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by techie (Post 764778)
And what is meant by alpha transparency?

Alpha transparency:
GIF files can have up to 256 colours or 255 colours and 1 colour that is tranparent. So a pixel can either let the background show through or display defined colour.
PNG 8 bit (1 byte/pixel) are the same as GIF files.
PNG 24 bit (3 bytes/pixel) have no tranparency but full colour.
PNG 32 bit (4 bytes/pixel) have full colour and 256 levels of transparency.
For example the background to desktop icons are semi transparent meaning things underneath them will show through to some extent. So each pixel's transparent value can be set individualy
not just one level for the whole image.
Hope this helps.

Oposum 2010-07-26 08:37

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by techie (Post 762085)
QBW version 1.0.0.1 required

Code:

[queen-beecon-header]
version=1.000000
checksum=21249112
[queen-beecon-exported-instance]
widgetType=1
widgetVisible=1
operationalStatus=0
hideCanvas=false
snippetBgRGB=0
snippetExtBgRGB=#000000000000
beecon_lt0_ImgZoom=0
beecon_lt0_BgRGB=2
beecon_lt0_ExtBgRGB=#808080808080
beecon_lt0_ImgFilename=queen-beecon-syserr.png
beecon_eq0_ImgZoom=0
beecon_eq0_BgRGB=3
beecon_eq0_ExtBgRGB=#0000ffff0000
beecon_eq0_ImgFilename=queen-beecon-appok.png
beecon_eq1_ImgZoom=0
beecon_eq1_BgRGB=4
beecon_eq1_ExtBgRGB=#ffffffff0000
beecon_eq1_ImgFilename=queen-beecon-appwrn.png
beecon_ge2_ImgZoom=0
beecon_ge2_BgRGB=5
beecon_ge2_ExtBgRGB=#ffff00000000
beecon_ge2_ImgFilename=queen-beecon-apperr.png
beecon_idxge2_ImgZoom=0
beecon_idxge2_BgRGB=11
beecon_idxge2_ExtBgRGB=#0000ffffffff
beecon_idxge2_ImgFilename=queen-beecon-index.png
widWidth=190.73667711598748
widHeight=87.567567567567565
instanceTitle=OC Control Panel
instanceCmd=Name_Profile_1=ideal\nName_Profile_2=default\nDisp_Name_Profile_2=STOCK\nName_Profile_3=ideal\nDisp_Name_Profile_3=IDEAL\nif [ $QBW_EXEC_REASON == "QBW_TIMER_UPDATE" ] ; then  \n  if [ "$QBW_REMEMBER_ME" = locked ] ; then\n    exit 0\n  fi\n  if [ "$QBW_REMEMBER_ME" != fixed ] ; then\n    rootsh /usr/local/bin/overclock > /dev/null;\n  fi\nelif [ $QBW_EXEC_REASON == "QBW_DBUS_MONITOR" ] ; then\n  echo '$QBW_DBUS_VERBOSE_OUTPUT' > /home/user/.QBW_DBUS_TEMP ;\n  if [ $(awk '/string/ {print $2}' /home/user/.QBW_DBUS_TEMP) = "\\"locked\\"" ] ; then\n    rootsh /usr/local/bin/underclock > /dev/null\n    run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"rememberMe" string:locked string:""\n    exit 0\n  elif [ $(awk '/string/ {print $2}' /home/user/.QBW_DBUS_TEMP) = "\\"unlocked\\"" ] ; then\n    rootsh /usr/local/bin/overclock > /dev/null    \n    run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"rememberMe" string:unlocked string:""\n    run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"resImgFilename" string:smart.png string:""  \n  fi\nelif [ $QBW_EXEC_REASON == "QBW_CLICK" ] ; then \n  if [ $QBW_HOTSPOT_PRESS -eq "1" -o $QBW_HOTSPOT_PRESS -eq 2 -o $QBW_HOTSPOT_PRESS -eq 3 ] ; then\n    rootsh kernel-config load $Name_Profile_1 > /dev/null\n    rootsh /usr/local/bin/overclock > /dev/null;\n    run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"resImgFilename" string:smart.png string:""\n  elif [ $QBW_HOTSPOT_PRESS -eq 4 -o $QBW_HOTSPOT_PRESS -eq 7 ] ; then\n    rootsh kernel-config load $Name_Profile_2 > /dev/null\n    run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"rememberMe" string:fixed string:""\n    run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"resImgFilename" string:profile2.png string:""\n  elif [ $QBW_HOTSPOT_PRESS -eq 6 -o $QBW_HOTSPOT_PRESS -eq 9 ] ; then\n    rootsh kernel-config load $Name_Profile_3 > /dev/null\n    run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"rememberMe" string:fixed string:""\n    run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw$QBW_ID oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"resImgFilename" string:profile3.png string:""\n  fi\nfi\necho -e "TEMPERATURE : <span font = \\"14\\"><b>`cat /sys/class/power_supply/bq27200-0/temp` C</b></span>\\nMAX CLOCK : <span font = \\"16\\"><b>`awk '{print $1/1000"MHz"}' /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq`</b></span>";echo -e "<span font = \\"18\\"><b><i>$Disp_Name_Profile_2    $Disp_Name_Profile_3</i></b></span>"
rememberMe=unlocked
cmdImgFilename=queen-beecon.png
cmdImgZoom=0
cmdFgRGB=1
cmdExtFgRGB=#ffffffffffff
cmdTextAngle=0
cmdVisibilityPosition=0
cmdImgVisibilityPosition=0
cmdJustify=0
cmdExtFont=Nokia Sans bold italic 12
cmdFontName=3
cmdFontSize=12
resImgFilename=default.png
resImgZoom=0
resFgRGB=1
resExtFgRGB=#ffffffffffff
resTextAngle=0
resVisibilityPosition=5
resImgVisibilityPosition=5
resJustify=2
resExtFont=Nokia Sans 12
resFontName=2
resFontSize=12
progressAnimationFrames=4
progressAnimationTimer=4
progressAnimationPos=4
progressAnimationBasename=queen-beecon-progress
updOnStartup=true
updOnClick=true
updOnDesktop=false
updOnSight=false
delayIndex=3
customIntervalSecs=0
updNeworkPolicy=0
updOnDBUS=1
updOnDBUSBus=0
updOnDBUSMatchRule=type='signal',path='/com/nokia/mce/signal',interface='com.nokia.mce.signal',member='tklock_mode_ind'


Hey techie, could you please rewrite/fix this for rootsh 1.8 (extras-devel version)? You just need to substitute the "rootsh" command with "sudo". Did this with your template, but the checksum is (of course) wrong then. Sorry, but I dont know who to calculate the new checksum. :/

Here is a picture of the output of Queen Beecon with rootsh 1.8 + the occp script: http://bilderhost.com/show.php/2813_...726-102410.png

JonWW 2010-07-26 08:48

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by !!Nokia N900!! (Post 764931)
howcan i write a command for reboot??

You can find the command in the Wiki:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#Reboot

or:

You can add the Reboot command to the power button menu if you wish. This way you wont acidently press it.
http://media.share.ovi.com/m1/s/1657...e512cb1f9b.jpg
You can find out how I did it in this old post.
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=142

dandiesel 2010-07-26 09:50

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Hi, have a question:

When I click on any of my icons (widgets) it shows a black background behind the image,

http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/5...eenshot03k.png

Can anyone tell me where I can remove this or change these parameters?

Also, is it possible to add a custom animation onclick? I.e. when I click on an icon, it will glow briefly or swirl effect (i can try with a GIF later but thought I would ask first)

techie 2010-07-26 10:04

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
1 Attachment(s)
Thanks JonWW.Now that you mention it I do faintly remember reading about this in one of my semesters:)

@Oposum
I did give instructions on changing to sudo somewhere but anyways attached is the edited file of the version you linked.Will do other variations if people want them,its just I don't understand why use a devel version (not even in testing)?? Unless it brings about some important must-have-right-now feature that I don't know about:confused:
@dandiesel
don't know about the black part but changing progress animation is easy.You just put your indexed sequential progress images in the queenbeecon directory and control the animation from within settings of the widget.
For example the default animation has 4 frames and the images for it are queen-beecon-progress[0-3].png, but you only specify the name (queen-beecon-progress) in the settings without index.These are .png images don't know if a single gif can be handled.
Have a look at this for clearer understanding

moepda 2010-07-26 12:05

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
to edit rootsh to sudo i opened widget and clicked advanced , now scroll down and edit where needed , the updated version with battery temperature/% workig well approx 4hrs in so far so good techie :) , edited versions with sudo nice but not essential as easy to edit :)

dandiesel 2010-07-26 12:47

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by techie (Post 765001)

@dandiesel
don't know about the black part but changing progress animation is easy.You just put your indexed sequential progress images in the queenbeecon directory and control the animation from within settings of the widget.
For example the default animation has 4 frames and the images for it are queen-beecon-progress[0-3].png, but you only specify the name (queen-beecon-progress) in the settings without index.These are .png images don't know if a single gif can be handled.
Have a look at this for clearer understanding

Hi Techie, thanks for the reply.

I've added icons queen-beecon-progress [0-3] and they're not working.

Is it, queen-beecon-progress 0
or queen-beecon-progress[0]?

techie 2010-07-26 13:14

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dandiesel (Post 765153)
Hi Techie, thanks for the reply.

I've added icons queen-beecon-progress [0-3] and they're not working.

Is it, queen-beecon-progress 0
or queen-beecon-progress[0]?

I knew I wasn't clear, that's why I edited my post to add the link but to no avail:D
Your icons could be named whatever,(place them in MyDocs/.images/.queen_beecon_dir) what matters is the indexing.
So you could have progress images like myimage0.png myimage1.png myimage2.png (no space between name & number).Then in the settings dialogue set image name myimage ("as is" without index & extension) and number of frames to 3 (because 0,1,2).Ask again if you run into any problem.
I actually had thought of using custom animation for my own widget too but just couldn't find any good progress images so stuck with default & I am not good at designing (at all):)

moepda 2010-07-26 13:18

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
I use transparent progress image so are invisible , not keen on default so used invisible instead...

dandiesel 2010-07-26 14:10

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by techie (Post 765166)
I knew I wasn't clear, that's why I edited my post to add the link but to no avail:D
Your icons could be named whatever,(place them in MyDocs/.images/.queen_beecon_dir) what matters is the indexing.
So you could have progress images like myimage0.png myimage1.png myimage2.png (no space between name & number).Then in the settings dialogue set image name myimage ("as is" without index & extension) and number of frames to 3 (because 0,1,2).Ask again if you run into any problem.
I actually had thought of using custom animation for my own widget too but just couldn't find any good progress images so stuck with default & I am not good at designing (at all):)

Thanks very much, I was putting a space in between the filename and the number. If you have any ideas for animations I can try and put some together!

!!Nokia N900!! 2010-07-26 14:27

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JonWW (Post 764944)
You can find the command in the Wiki:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#Reboot

or:

You can add the Reboot command to the power button menu if you wish. This way you wont acidently press it.
http://media.share.ovi.com/m1/s/1657...e512cb1f9b.jpg
You can find out how I did it in this old post.
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=142

Thanks for the help, so i should enter the command in new command and make a new title ( reboot ) & it works??
I am Using Queen Beecon

stephano21 2010-07-26 17:13

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
how to fix this problem with the QBW?? its really annoying

http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/626...0072618595.png

thanx

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-07-26 23:00

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by moepda (Post 765169)
I use transparent progress image so are invisible , not keen on default so used invisible instead...

With 1.0.0.1 you can also set frame # to Disabled to disable progress animation "orthodoxly" :p

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-07-26 23:10

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Sorry guys for repetition, but contest deadline is approaching and turbulences are on the move.
So I need to give QBW, and the competition itself, as much visibility as I can to all bystanders or late-comers.
If you like Queen Beecon Widget please vote for it in current Maemo Coding Competition in this thread
Ciao and thank you, No!No!No!Yes!

sacal 2010-07-26 23:26

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
.... turbulences are on the move.... :eek: :confused:

Well QBW is now 20 votes ahead in it's category :)

Sorry i can't vote twice :D

moepda 2010-07-26 23:35

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by No!No!No!Yes! (Post 765828)
With 1.0.0.1 you can also set frame # to Disabled to disaple progress animation "orthodoxily" :p

cheers No!No!No!Yes! thats certainly better and easier :) appreciate you pointing it out :)

!!Nokia N900!! 2010-07-27 06:50

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Please someone help:
writing reboot command in QBW, i should enter the command in new command and make a new title ( reboot ) & it works??
I am Using Queen Beecon

moepda 2010-07-27 07:27

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stephano21 (Post 765433)
how to fix this problem with the QBW?? its really annoying

http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/626...0072618595.png

thanx

you must edit command line of widget. open widget options (spanner icon when in desktop edit mode) and click "edit command" scroll along until you see word rootsh and replace with word sudo . repeat with all instance of rootsh in command then save and exit. job done.

moepda 2010-07-27 07:34

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by !!Nokia N900!! (Post 766037)
Please someone help:
writing reboot command in QBW, i should enter the command in new command and make a new title ( reboot ) & it works??
I am Using Queen Beecon

im no expert but yes i always make new title and new commnd...

!!Nokia N900!! 2010-07-27 07:43

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by moepda (Post 766076)
im no expert but yes i always make new title and new commnd...

I did new title & new command, but nothing happened when pressing the widget.???

moepda 2010-07-27 08:03

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
to be fair i only use widgets made by others not made any myself so guessing the command line has an error , techie or no no yes yes will know sorry i cant help more :(

!!Nokia N900!! 2010-07-27 09:47

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by moepda (Post 766102)
to be fair i only use widgets made by others not made any myself so guessing the command line has an error , techie or no no yes yes will know sorry i cant help more :(

in this case, can u put the link of the widgets made by others so directly put it in my device?
:)

techie 2010-07-27 10:07

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
@dandiesel
Thanks for the offer, but I have temporarily hit a creativity block:)
Maybe once you are done with the swirly thing you want, I could have a look at it:D

@!!Nokia N900!!
I see you have been suggested to add a reboot button in the menu, but guess you are not interested in it.
If you insist on a widget a simpler command may suffice
Title:Reboot
(Use either one of the commands,whichever works for you)
Command:sudo reboot
OR
Command:rootsh reboot

!!Nokia N900!! 2010-07-27 12:31

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by techie (Post 766209)
@dandiesel
Thanks for the offer, but I have temporarily hit a creativity block:)
Maybe once you are done with the swirly thing you want, I could have a look at it:D

@!!Nokia N900!!
I see you have been suggested to add a reboot button in the menu, but guess you are not interested in it.
If you insist on a widget a simpler command may suffice
Title:Reboot
(Use either one of the commands,whichever works for you)
Command:sudo reboot
OR
Command:rootsh reboot

U r wonderful ...........:D:D:D
command 2 worked for me.....
Thank u soooooooooooooo much...
wish u all the best & GOD's blessing
TC

!!Nokia N900!! 2010-07-27 12:36

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
opps, my n90 keeps rebooting
wat to do now??

techie 2010-07-27 16:05

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by !!Nokia N900!! (Post 766386)
opps, my n90 keeps rebooting
wat to do now??

I thought you would act smartly enough not to have "auto update" or "update on startup" enabled for a widget like reboot:p Even by default these options are disabled so you can't even blame the author:D
As for your problem, you can get out of it but you have to be very quick.
  1. Boot your N900
  2. As soon as you see the desktop (if need be switch to the desktop you put widget on), enter the settings mode.
  3. Now hopefully you remember the position you put your widget on because you will only be able to see the wrench(settings) and close icon for now(since they haven't loaded).The images load after the command has completed,by then it would be too late 'cause your device will reboot.
  4. Now quickly hit the close icon to remove the reboot widget.
  5. In all probability the device will once again reboot,but don't worry this would be the last time(If you managed to hit close and remove it)
  6. Now when your N900 boots the reboot widget won't be there so it can't automatically run the command causing endless reboot.
  7. Don't try to add another QBW widget because the reboot one will be the first to come on desktop causing the cycle all over again.How to get out of this I will tell you later,first you need to complete the above steps.

moepda 2010-07-27 17:18

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
had similar in my early days using screen lock widget forgetting to set properly , can take what seems like ages but eventually you get to kill the widget :)

!!Nokia N900!! 2010-07-27 17:29

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
once the reboot problem occurred, i was trying to do same as u posted, but seems my reboot was even faster than yours..:) that could catch it.
anyway, i did re-flashing, restoring everything and i UNINSTALLED the QBW....i don't wanted any more..heheheh

and whenever i want to reboot, i will go to X-terminal and type there. Better..;)

Thnx for the steps dear

JonWW 2010-07-27 18:03

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by !!Nokia N900!! (Post 766386)
opps, my n90 keeps rebooting
wat to do now??

Sorry, but this did make me laugh.

It's one of the reasons that I recommended the power menu option It's much safer and easier to use and can be accessed where ever you are in the phone.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JonWW (Post 764944)
You can add the Reboot command to the power button menu if you wish. This way you wont acidently press it.
http://media.share.ovi.com/m1/s/1657...e512cb1f9b.jpg
You can find out how I did it in this old post.
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=142

Quote:

Originally Posted by !!Nokia N900!! (Post 766699)
once the reboot problem occurred, i was trying to do same as u posted, but seems my reboot was even faster than yours..:) that could catch it.
anyway, i did re-flashing, restoring everything and i UNINSTALLED the QBW....i don't wanted any more..heheheh

and whenever i want to reboot, i will go to X-terminal and type there. Better..;)

Oh man don't quit, your so nearly there.

PathFinder@9GS 2010-07-27 18:18

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
HAHAH.. sometthing like that happened to me too:p
Once i was creating an icon for the hard sleep- turn off disp/2g/disconnect connections.
I forgot to uncheck the default options for updation (sum ol version of QBW) and my phone got into a loop of hard sleep :P it was very frustrating as it would turn off the screen one me over n over :D
Yeah was stupid of me but I got past it. :D


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:26.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8