maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Games (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   [Announce] GnGeo-gui (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=72574)

ade 2011-06-10 09:19

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026320)
still crashes when i launch from gui. but thanks for the tip for fixing pyside! :) :) :)

nothing to do with the config file i think because i already had the config file from a previous version of gngeo-gui. i was just testing to see if the config file version was incompatible with this version of gngeo-gui and if that could be the cause of the segfault.

It could be we are now facing permission issues because of some manual actions with the config file.
Try:
Code:

sudo gainroot
chown user:users /home/user/.gngeo-gui
chown user:users /home/user/.gngeo-gui/gngeo-gui.cfg

And then start gngeo-gui from the menu.

droll 2011-06-10 09:24

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
same thing. still segfaulting....

droll 2011-06-10 09:30

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
i did a bit of debugging and figured out which line in your code is causing the segfault.

line 80 -> fin,fout = os.popen4(ListCmd)

that line causes the segfault. ListCmd shows a value of "/opt/gngeo/bin/gngeo --scandir=/home/user/MyDocs/roms/neogeo"
when i run that command from the command line, the scandir works fine and neogeo finds all the roms i have in that folder.

ade 2011-06-10 09:31

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026326)
same thing. still segfaulting....

Could you post the current error from the gngeo-gui start within x-terminal?

droll 2011-06-10 09:32

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
the error just says "Segmentation fault" from the command line.

droll 2011-06-10 09:57

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
no matter what i change ListCmd to be

Code:

fin,fout = os.popen("ls -al")

ListCmd = "ps -ef"
fin,fout = os.popen4(ListCmd)

etc

it still crashes with a segmentation fault. is there a bug with Python?! or is my phone the problem? hmmmmmmm.

if i create a test.py with

Code:

import os

fin,fout = os.popen4("ls -al")
print fout.read()

everything works fine.

droll 2011-06-10 10:15

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
anyway, ade, i'll check in again later. gotta run now for something.

thanks for PM-ing me.

ade 2011-06-10 17:40

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Just a quick fixrelease send to the buildserver.

I noticed I had the maxvalue of the keyconfig codes set to 300, while the three most left keys have higher values. Maxvalue is now set to 307.
Next to that, I have have put a version number in the about. In fixrelease version 0.0.3-2 I did not change all the maxvalues, in 0.0.3-3 I did.

droll 2011-06-10 18:17

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
still crashes for me. i think i'm going to try and hack a temporary workaround. sigh.

ade 2011-06-10 18:24

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026644)
still crashes for me. i think i'm going to try and hack a temporary workaround. sigh.

This fix has nothing to do with your issue. Perhaps you can answer your PM for that.


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:03.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8