maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900 (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=51890)

benny1967 2010-09-05 18:24

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
I played a bit more with using GStreamer for video encoding. My previous post wasn't too promising, but meanwhile I at least managed to send a 3GP (H.263 and AMR-NB) video to other phones by MMS - and they played there. Video and sound. ;)

The code I use now in my Shell script is two lines instead of one:

Quote:

gst-launch-0.10 filesrc location="infile.mp4" ! decodebin ! audioconvert ! audioresample ! \
nokiaamrnbenc band-mode=7 ! ffmux_amr ! filesink location=sound.amr

gst-launch-0.10 ffmux_3gp name=muxer ! filesink location="/home/user/MyDocs/.videos/outfile.3gp" \
filesrc location="sound.amr" ! amrparse ! queue ! muxer.audio_00 \
filesrc location="infile.mp4" ! decodebin ! videoscale ! "video/x-raw-yuv, width=(int)176,height=(int)144" ! \
videorate ! "video/x-raw-yuv, framerate=(fraction)15/1" ! ffmpegcolorspace ! dsph263enc bitrate= 50000 ! \
queue ! muxer.video_00
I had to split video- and audio-processing, using a temporary file to store the encoded AMR before muxing. This made me depend on ffmux_amr and introduced gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg as a dependency. :(
(gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg will be available on your system once you installed the Extra Decoders Support package.)

Also, I needed to use ffmux_3gp as a muxer instead of hantromp4mux.

All of this leads to a) a 3rd party dependency I didn't want to have and b) a performance that's worse than with the original approach. I'm still convinced, though, that a pipe properly set up, called and monitored from within an application via the API can live without gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg and that all these dirty tricks are only needed because I work on the command line with gst-launch.

OTOH, that's the beauty of Maemo, isn't it? You needn't know how to write serious code. A short shell script is my application for video-editing! :D

Russianhaxor 2010-09-06 05:29

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
I tried searching this topic and came up with no results.

All i want to know is... why are all of my received MMS messages not downloading completely so I can actually view them? All of them download into unopened messages once I open them they say downloading but it never finishes. Also, i receive the same message like 2-3 times.

ThePooBurner 2010-09-15 06:01

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Russianhaxor (Post 808358)
I tried searching this topic and came up with no results.

All i want to know is... why are all of my received MMS messages not downloading completely so I can actually view them? All of them download into unopened messages once I open them they say downloading but it never finishes. Also, i receive the same message like 2-3 times.

This began happening with me on sunday.

Shaneaf 2010-09-16 01:40

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Hi there, I'm in Australia and on the crazy johns net work. I have tried to follow all the links and settings to no avail. I can recieve mms from all net works but can't open them? I can't send them either? At the moment I have 5 unread mms that I don't want to lose before reading them. I have tried a re installing a fresh copyas well. PLEASE HELP. Thanks

wshamroukh 2010-09-16 11:29

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
fmms does not sho the sender name but shows '00000' instead.
any idea why?

frals 2010-09-16 15:28

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Shaneaf (Post 817413)
Hi there, I'm in Australia and on the crazy johns net work. I have tried to follow all the links and settings to no avail. I can recieve mms from all net works but can't open them? I can't send them either? At the moment I have 5 unread mms that I don't want to lose before reading them. I have tried a re installing a fresh copyas well. PLEASE HELP. Thanks

Try changing Access Point Name to "purtona.wap". This should let you download messages fine, however it only seems to be possible to send to other Crazy John subscribers.

@wshamroukh: Known issue, I've not had time to investigate it yet

@Russianhaxor @thepooburner: Please send me the logs. Thanks!


@benny1967: Brilliant! Thank you! Will hopefully have some time during the weekend to try to get something working in fMMS. :)

Russianhaxor 2010-09-18 22:15

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
How can I send you the logs? I am admittedly a fairly nooobish user by comparison to others.

Shaneaf 2010-09-19 00:30

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
[QUOTE=frals;817981]Try changing Access Point Name to "purtona.wap". This should let you download messages fine, however it only seems to be possible to send to other Crazy John subscribe

Hi Frals, This has worked for me. THANK YOU. It does take a long time to open and to send. Is that normal? I can live with this, just asking. Does it open small videos as well? I have some sms that say unabe to recieve still not sure why?
Thanks again.:)

ThePooBurner 2010-09-20 03:55

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
1 Attachment(s)
here is my log file from this evening. i'm also having the problem of MMS being set as the default connection. When i try to run fmms_config.py to solve it as the thread says to i get this

Code:

# /opt/fmms/fmms_config.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/opt/fmms/fmms_config.py", line 440, in <module>
    config.switcharoo(force=True)
  File "/opt/fmms/fmms_config.py", line 393, in switcharoo
    iaps = self.get_active_iaps()
  File "/opt/fmms/fmms_config.py", line 329, in get_active_iaps
    simimsi = self.get_sim_imsi()
  File "/opt/fmms/fmms_config.py", line 314, in get_sim_imsi
    osso_c = osso.Context('fMMSconfig', '1.0', False)
  File "context.pyx", line 8, in osso.context.Context.__cinit__ (osso/context.c:531)
osso.exceptions.OssoException: Cannot initialize context.


toki 2010-09-20 08:35

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
sorry im not sure if this has been brought up but...
i cant send more than one picture in a mms.. is there a function i dont know of or is it something we can look into? :)

if i want to send multiple pictures to one person i have to go in and out sending seperate mms'
a little tiresome after a while lol

achusaysblessyou 2010-09-21 18:10

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Hi Frals, thanks for your great work on this =p. I was wondering if there's a simple way to delete all the messages in fMMS. I've got possibly 200+... and it's taking longer and longer to boot fMMS. Thanks!

p.s. I'm on USA T-mo, if that matters

slvr32 2010-09-24 17:02

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
I've looked through some of the pages of this thread, and I apologize if this has already been asked/answered, but how practical/possible would it be to have a configuration option to specifically choose MMS alert sounds?

IIRC, fMMS defaults to using the 'email alert' sound, and I wonder if it would either be possible to integrate an MMS sound configuration option in Profiles configuration, or have this as a configuration option in the fMMS app itself.

scmp 2010-09-25 22:29

Time Out fMMS(1.2.5)
 
Hi Frals,
Since I updated to version 1.2.5 fmms can no longer download or send messages with pictures. When I try to send a picture emerges with the message that failed operation over the following message:
time out
please check your setings
When I try downloading an incoming message with a photograph he is forever trying to download the message and then says could not download the message.
Please help me ......
Thanks, Samuel

tlr_79 2010-09-27 14:42

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tlr_79 (Post 806020)
just curious if anyone in Australia has fMMS working 100%

im on vodafone finally got all my settings sorted out, but only ppl on vodafone get my mms's, i can recieve anyones from 3 and telstra (dont know anyone on optus to of tried)

just curious if anyone else has this prob or knows of a solution

So no one has any suggestions???

firstknight 2010-09-30 07:35

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
do i need to set up another apn for MMS or the fMMS settings is sufficient?

danx 2010-10-01 17:53

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Can anyone tell me how to fully uninstall fmms , i still have mms on connection and i want it out ?

-=Hot|Ice=- 2010-10-03 17:56

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
I keep getting a message saying 'failed to download Message how can I fix this?

Also, I don't see my MMS connection in my connections anymore.

g-man 2010-10-06 14:50

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by -=Hot|Ice=- (Post 832421)
I keep getting a message saying 'failed to download Message how can I fix this?

Also, I don't see my MMS connection in my connections anymore.

Have been experiencing similar problem last few days as well. The app seems to "think" for quite a while and then "failed to download...". The thing is that it eventually works after the third or fourth time I've tried.

NightShift79 2010-10-13 10:09

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Will there be support for sending files or tones via mms anytime soon ?

camxxx 2010-10-16 09:01

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
having problems with fmms...
when i open the program, it kind of hangs... the little 'loading' symbol up the top goes round and round, but nothing else happens.
old mms's will not load.
i have found i can still create and send a new mms (which is received by the person i send to), but i cannot then see that mms in my 'outbox' as a sent message.
i can receive new messages, i can open and view them when they come in, but once i close the window, they're gone and will not load in the main fmms window. (again the little 'loading' symbol turns around and around but nothing loads)
i've let it go 'loading' for hrs but with no result.

anyone have any ideas?!
it was working fine, i havent installed anything else or changed any setting son fmms or any other app or setting. its just frozen all of a sudden!

cheers,
cam

Guikie 2010-10-16 21:59

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
After a flash i tried to install fmms, but can't find the right settings for 1.2.5
Can anyone provide it for the Netherlands - Hi/KPN

Tried the following

APN: portalmmm.nl
MMSC: http://mp.mobiel.kpn/mmsc
User:
Pass:
Proxy: 10.10.100.20
Port: 5080

Aint working, still getting time out, check settings.

Keep getting a yellow screen wich says

MMSC: 200_OK
Body: <!Doctype HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2
Final//EN">
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>Fout pagina</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY>
<H1 ALIGN="CENTER">
The server can't be reached
</H1>
</BODY>
</HTML>

Thanks

firstknight 2010-10-19 06:44

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
hmm... it seems like most of us are not able to send mms with the latest fmms.

I am able to download but doesnt seem able to send that is why i need to confirm whether there is a need to create another apn as there is settings for mms in fmms....

frals pls help...

eatfrog 2010-10-19 07:08

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by firstknight (Post 844795)
hmm... it seems like most of us are not able to send mms with the latest fmms.

I am able to download but doesnt seem able to send that is why i need to confirm whether there is a need to create another apn as there is settings for mms in fmms....

frals pls help...

oh i got it working just fine. it just took a few days. ;)

Larrikin 2010-10-20 02:54

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
All the pictures I get are now really tiny. Im on TMobile. Is there anyway I can fix this?

gabrielst 2010-10-26 14:57

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Hello guys!

First of all, Thank you to frals for bring the MMS in to N900! This is a great job man.

Now... I have a big "small" problem with pictures that I received. I know about the command:
gconftool-2 -st string /apps/fmms/useragent "New UA String"

But... I don't have any UA String to work fine. I tried a lot of settings, with guess to N97, N95 and iPhone (!). In best case, I received a picture with 320 x 426 and 49Kb, when I used "iPhone iOS" (!).

I know that my cell operator (TIM Brasil) have support to N97 and iPhone, but almost fully sure doesn't to N900. Then, I need a "UA String" that work better, because the native settings only received pictures with 175 x 234 and 7Kb.

Thank you for any assistance.

Regards.

rickysio 2010-10-27 11:43

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
I did a search, but it turned up no info, or perhaps I was searching the wrong keywords, but how do I back up my MMS's like the bog-standard Back Up app backs up normal SMSes?

frals 2010-10-27 18:35

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rickysio (Post 853269)
I did a search, but it turned up no info, or perhaps I was searching the wrong keywords, but how do I back up my MMS's like the bog-standard Back Up app backs up normal SMSes?

You need to manually copy /home/user/.fmms to somewhere safe and then restore it manually I'm afraid :)

rickysio 2010-10-28 12:54

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by frals (Post 853998)
You need to manually copy /home/user/.fmms to somewhere safe and then restore it manually I'm afraid :)

Ah I see, thanks!

Edit : Okay, using

Code:

cp -R /home/user/.fmms /home/user/MyDocs/Backups
works now.

wazza747 2010-10-31 00:52

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
hi Frals,

great job with this app....many thanks.

since reflashing to PR1.3 the mms apn which fmms creats does not show. i used fapn to add one, however, this is not working. uninstalled and reinstalled fmms also not an option.

do you or does anyone know what i can do to get fmms to track to my mms apn or recreate the one it needs?

going to settings and resaving in fmms doesnt work either.

thanks

camxxx 2010-10-31 05:15

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
still having problems with fmms.

i can send and receive pictures messages and they show up in the sent/received list... for a while, but the the next time i open the app, they have all dissapeared.
the little 'loading' wheel spins as if its loading but nothing ever shows up.

anyone else have this problem?

rickysio 2010-11-01 14:53

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
I can't even send MMS'es now, mostly because fMMS keeps giving me an error about readonly directory despite doing even chmod -R +rwx on the folders.

Edit, nevermind, resolved.

mrbudgie 2010-11-03 23:22

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
updated to 1.3 (UK) and installed fmms

i cant send or recieve MMS should should it have its own connection as the only connection I have in internet connections is the o2 postpay gprs one that I surf the net on

cheers peeps

Kamen 2010-11-04 10:57

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
I received one MMS from inserting a new sim card because I'm changing my number. It done the initial setup sent me the few messages here and there (T-Mobile btw). Then it sent me a MMS Displaying the (Sender and subject) when I click onto the MMS it says it's (Downloading MMS) and the says (Unable to retreive message) In the status bar I get the (white & Lightblue) GPRS internet sign. & that's about it. Have I missed something out. I never manually set up the APN considering T-Mobile managed to push the setting through and the fMMs client/app set it up. I did however set it to havoc mode guessing that's how all othe mobiles deal with push MMS's. Can anyone help? let me know if you need the log.

mrbudgie 2010-11-04 12:53

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
mine starting working last night recieved a message and sent a couple all fine, but it wont work tday get the white/blue symbol only when in havoc mode (havoc mode is what it worked in yesterday)

but any messages sent now it just says unable to retrieve and if i try sending says operation failed check settigns.

I have changed any settings or done anything since it was working so I am at a loss

M A S T E R 2010-11-04 15:43

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrbudgie (Post 863201)
mine starting working last night recieved a message and sent a couple all fine, but it wont work tday get the white/blue symbol only when in havoc mode (havoc mode is what it worked in yesterday)

but any messages sent now it just says unable to retrieve and if i try sending says operation failed check settigns.

I have changed any settings or done anything since it was working so I am at a loss


I have the same exact problem bro. It worked before the update but now it wont let me send any mms. I can only receive a few mms's sometimes and once i close fmms and come back it gives me a hassle to see them and sometimes says its downloading (again?). Anyway i just want to be able to send mms again. was there something that happened on PR1.3 that i need to change? any help would be appreciated thanks!! btw frals owns for life lol.

-MASTER

M A S T E R 2010-11-05 04:07

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Anybody know what the update did? I love FMMS!

-MASTER

camxxx 2010-11-05 09:32

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
still having the same problem of mms's disappearing from the sent/received list... its happened again today so i thought i'd share what happened to 'make' them disappear/delete...


i had probably 10 or so messages displayed, received a new mms... viewed it, then hit 'reply with sms'

i replied with a sms message ok, but then went back into fmms to find all my messages have disappeared.

the little 'loading' icon up the top still spins as if its loading up all my messages but nothing ever loads.
as before, i can still create a new mms as well as change fmms settings.

peacekeper 2010-11-05 10:50

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Recently i updated from pr 1.2 to pr 1.3 before that updating my fmms used to work perfectly sending and receiving but now is not working anymmore, every time i try to connect to mms it says internet connections failed, i dont know why cause i am sure all the parameters are good i have wifi and gprs connection but the fmms is not working, i am using the last version of fmms and all this happened after the pr 1.3. any clue what could be happening?

frals 2010-11-05 16:51

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by camxxx (Post 864121)
still having the same problem of mms's disappearing from the sent/received list... its happened again today so i thought i'd share what happened to 'make' them disappear/delete...


i had probably 10 or so messages displayed, received a new mms... viewed it, then hit 'reply with sms'

i replied with a sms message ok, but then went back into fmms to find all my messages have disappeared.

the little 'loading' icon up the top still spins as if its loading up all my messages but nothing ever loads.
as before, i can still create a new mms as well as change fmms settings.

Please send /tmp/fmms.log to fmms@frals.se if you havent rebooted your device since, otherwise please send it the next time it happens :)




Regarding everyone having problems after upgrade to 1.3, please attach /tmp/fmms.log so I can try to debug, upgraded all my devices without any issues so unable to reproduce here :(

peacekeper 2010-11-06 05:38

Re: [Announce] fMMS - MMS on the N900
 
i would like to attach the files u are asking for, but i think is not necesary because the problem with me is that when i try to connect 5 seconds later there is a message thats says " newtork connection failed, try to connect later " and thats it nothing else. no report log or something like that. what can i do? i tried to reset the conection as u said in other post with command line:
Reset all settings:
gconftool-2 -R /apps/fmms|grep apn
Should return: apn = xxxx
gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /system/osso/connectivity/IAP/xxxx
gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/fmms
and the apn it says: 0000-0000-0000-0000


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:36.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8