maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Alternatives (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=16306)

OSEmuTech 2008-02-11 03:29

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by t3h (Post 140817)
If anyone wants to know how Basilisk II actually works, this is an interesting read: http://basilisk.cebix.net/TECH

I created a chm help file a few years ago that includes Christian Bauer's Basilisk II Technical Manual. It might be of interest to those who have never used Basilisk II (B2 for short) as the chm includes:

Basilisk II Introduction
What Is Basilisk II JIT?
Compiling the Linux Source Code for Basilisk II
How To Setup Basilisk II on Windows NT/2000
Basilisk II Troubleshooting FAQ
Basilisk II Windows port NAT-Router FAQ
Basilisk II Technical Manual
Basilisk II In Action (Large Screenshot)
Macintosh Emulation Links

Download: http://mes.emuunlim.com/projects/

I was just reading the text files (README, etc.) included in the 0.9 source tarball to refresh my memory of the old preference settings. You have tried configuring with --enable-xf86-dga already correct? The sheepnet driver for allowing Ethernet on Basilisk II used to be a bit tricky setting up. I'm going to see what I can do on Tuesday. It would be weird to use Internet Explorer, Outlook Express, AppleTalk, etc. on my N800.

BTW, that .desktop file you posted about in post #23 works great! Thanks t3h. ;)

debernardis 2008-02-11 04:36

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Sigh! - I couldn't get that word 4.2.1 cd, somebody offered more. Well, I'll find another, won't I?
EDIT: I'm waiting for that cd, from California. Counting the days... :D

oldmancoyote1 2008-02-11 05:00

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Debernardis:

Here are two recommendations for Mac s/w.

AppleWorks: Word processing, Drafting, Painting, and Spreadsheet programs intimately integrated. Simple and reliable at the expense of a vast array of features.

HyperCard: A powerful ADE. Easy to use. A humongus number of freeware applications.

I haven't tried Basilisk yet, so I don't know if they work. HyperCard may have some issues. The authors sometimes played fast and loose with memory management.

Let me know if you learn anything.

Good luck!

t3h 2008-02-11 05:46

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OSEmuTech (Post 140823)
I was just reading the text files (README, etc.) included in the 0.9 source tarball to refresh my memory of the old preference settings. You have tried configuring with --enable-xf86-dga already correct? The sheepnet driver for allowing Ethernet on Basilisk II used to be a bit tricky setting up. I'm going to see what I can do on Tuesday. It would be weird to use Internet Explorer, Outlook Express, AppleTalk, etc. on my N800.

BTW, that .desktop file you posted about in post #23 works great! Thanks t3h. ;)

You get a Mac going, and instantly want to fire up IE and Outlook :confused:... Netscape Communicator is where it's (or was) at :D

Anyway, ITOS seems to be missing a few include files for DGA, unfortunately, in that regard, I shall see what I can do again.

Code:

checking for XF86DGAQueryExtension in -lXxf86dga... no
configure: warning: Could not find XFree86 DGA extension, ignoring --enable-xf86-dga.


qwerty12 2008-02-11 07:35

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iontruo2 (Post 140808)
O.k. friend, have to hunt for it in my old storage. I have a newborn baby so time is a little limited. ;) I may have a second original copy of OS8.

If not, is it possible to burn a duplicate of an OS cd? Never tried that before.

Congratulations :). I don't mind waiting and if you can't find it, thanks anyway :).

Could be, I don't think they had much copy protection :\

t3h 2008-02-11 08:05

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by qwerty12 (Post 140880)
Could be, I don't think they had much copy protection :\

Read: none (and they still don't, as restricting to Apple hardware isn't strictly copy-protection).



Anyway, in other news, I have fullscreen. More to follow, once I've cleaned up the code and bound it to F6.

Edit: done that, will upload screenshots when I get home.

t3h 2008-02-11 10:50

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Alright.

http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b...screenshot.png

Here's a screenshot of it running in fullscreen mode, which can be activated with the fullscreen key.

The correct resolution for windowed mode is 720x420 pixels. For fullscreen it is (quite obviously) 800x480.

Here is a binary package of the executable, the .desktop file, and a shell script to install it (you will need to run it as root): http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b..._binary.tar.gz

Here is the source code (compiled including object files, and binary): http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b...emo_0.1.tar.gz. The changes are all in video_x.cpp and main_unix.cpp. The makefile has been edited, so save those masses of extra include paths somewhere if you need to run ./configure again.

Enjoy!

Next step: make alert boxes as well as console messages for errors, so it can be started from the GUI, and not just silently fail if something is wrong.

Next step after that: GUI config editor - either get the inbuilt one working, or get another going.

As for DGA, apparently the X server supports it, but the library for it, and the include files for it are all missing. Looks like we'll just have to do with SHM for the time being.

http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/basiliskii/n800.jpg

Edit: Oh yeah, and the sticky mouse problem...

multi 2008-02-11 11:38

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
This looks interesting , Thanks!
I will definitely try it.

t3h 2008-02-11 12:02

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
I think I've figured out the sticky mouse problem - it's simple. The tablet generates a seperate mouse moved message to the mouse down (stylus pressed) message, and the mouse down gets there before the mouse moved.

Fixing it... is less so.

Edit: Indeed, as that's not the issue.

It seems that the mouse moved isn't processed until after the mouse is down... though the events are being fired off in the right order.

Edit: Solved it :D

It actually was similar to what I initially thought. What happens is that when an event comes in (i.e. the stylus is moved), the mouse state is saved in a few variables - the location is updated and the button state is updated. 60 times a second, an interrupt fires, and this data is read from these variables and their current state is passed into the Mac, by patching where it reads from the hardware ADB controller. In a normal mouse, there is highly unlikely to be a mouse moved and mouse clicked event separated by less than 1/60th of a second with the mouse having moved a long way. But on a touchscreen, the two events fire at exactly the same time, given that there is no way to move the mouse without the pen being down.

So what happens is both the mouse position and button state are updated in one go - so it clicks and drags from the old location every time you put the pen in a new location.

What I made it do was to get the position of the pen down event, set it in the variables, and then clear a flag that is set by the next ADB interrupt (update). It then waits in a loop waiting for this flag to be set, meaning that the interrupt has fired, and then it registers the mouse button down, ensuring that both events happen seperately and sequentially in the right order. Hence no "sticky mouse" :D

The downside is that it delays things by 1/60th of a second, but it's now usable. And very much so.

New binary/sources to be posted soon (screenshot not required).

Binary: http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b...ary_0.2.tar.gz

Sources: http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b...emo_0.2.tar.gz

OSEmuTech 2008-02-11 15:44

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Damn. I wish I could have called in sick at work today. :D

Thanks t3h! I'm looking forward to getting home tonight even more now.

spirytsick 2008-02-11 17:11

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
t3h,

Thank you very much. Any chance you can look at jit compiler in your free time ? When I try to enable it it complains about non-direct memory access. I do not know the exact memory subsystem in the tablet, perhaps it is not compatibile but if it's not then we might see some improvements in speed (which is not bad at the moment at all)

tobiasj 2008-02-11 20:34

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Well, I have it running (mostly) I don't seem to be able to get it to read the prefs file I have to use switches in xterm to get it working.

(MAC folder on my MMC1 has roms and disk image, /home/user has BasiliskII and .basilisk_II_prefs files and basiliskii.desktop is in /usr/share/applications/hildon/)

But, I put the command and switches in a shell script and then linked it to a simple mac command so that it runs.

My next question is - Can I get it to start in full screen mode? (at 800x480) currently I have --screen set to win/800/480 and then hit the fullscreen button when it launches, which works but it would be nice to have it start that way.

My last question (for the time being anyway) is how would I go about creating an icon in the extras menu (for example) to be able to run this without going through all the hassle of running xterm and then the command?

Thanks in advance..

-John

spirytsick 2008-02-11 22:36

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tobiasj (Post 141149)
Well, I have it running (mostly) I don't seem to be able to get it to read the prefs file I have to use switches in xterm to get it working.

(MAC folder on my MMC1 has roms and disk image, /home/user has BasiliskII and .basilisk_II_prefs files and basiliskii.desktop is in /usr/share/applications/hildon/)

But, I put the command and switches in a shell script and then linked it to a simple mac command so that it runs.

My next question is - Can I get it to start in full screen mode? (at 800x480) currently I have --screen set to win/800/480 and then hit the fullscreen button when it launches, which works but it would be nice to have it start that way.

My last question (for the time being anyway) is how would I go about creating an icon in the extras menu (for example) to be able to run this without going through all the hassle of running xterm and then the command?

Thanks in advance..

-John

You will need to copy the prefs file to /home/user , it wont work if it is in the same directory as executable.

jcharpak 2008-02-11 23:12

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OSEmuTech (Post 140679)

It's also possible to run DOS (fast) and Windows (slow) via Arnim's DOSBox port for Maemo: http://pupnik.de/dosbox.html

Does this mean I can run egatrek on my 770? :eek:

spirytsick 2008-02-11 23:21

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
The newest version seem to be a little unstable for me. It crashes instantly every time I try to start netscape or word perfect. seems like there is some memory adressing issue.

OSEmuTech 2008-02-12 00:01

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Emulation cross-contamination. :D
  • Yes, EGATrek works on DOSBox.
http://fkwjcw.bay.livefilestore.com/...JQ/EGATrek.jpg

t3h 2008-02-12 00:07

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by spirytsick (Post 141045)
t3h,

Thank you very much. Any chance you can look at jit compiler in your free time ? When I try to enable it it complains about non-direct memory access. I do not know the exact memory subsystem in the tablet, perhaps it is not compatibile but if it's not then we might see some improvements in speed (which is not bad at the moment at all)


The JIT is written for x86 only. Unless someone rewrites the JIT for ARM, that won't be possible.

t3h 2008-02-12 00:19

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tobiasj (Post 141149)
My next question is - Can I get it to start in full screen mode? (at 800x480) currently I have --screen set to win/800/480 and then hit the fullscreen button when it launches, which works but it would be nice to have it start that way.

My last question (for the time being anyway) is how would I go about creating an icon in the extras menu (for example) to be able to run this without going through all the hassle of running xterm and then the command?

I'll add a prefs key and a commandline for fullscreen mode. I originally had it going in fullscreen all the time.

As for a GUI icon, take a look at other .desktop files that launch things, and add the appropriate lines.

t3h 2008-02-12 00:21

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by spirytsick (Post 141233)
The newest version seem to be a little unstable for me. It crashes instantly every time I try to start netscape or word perfect. seems like there is some memory adressing issue.

I will have a look.

smileyninja 2008-02-12 01:05

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
I've been following this thread with very intense interest for the past week, I got BasiliskII running this afternoon (and cackled like a mad scientist). Now looking for some free software to download.

WordPerfect 3.5 http://main.system7today.com/softwar...ductivity.html

a Graphing Calculator http://www.pacifict.com/Secrets.html

There was also a link to some games on the system7today site, but most require a powerpc and a hardy video card.

Chipmunk Basic http://www.nicholson.com/rhn/basic/

smileyninja 2008-02-12 01:28

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Some more free apps:

The DiskTools Collection (look at the bottom of the page) http://www.rainmakerinc.com/download...downloads.html

A couple of software download sites:
http://www.pure-mac.com/

http://download.nafura.it/home/mac/index.asp

http://hyperarchive.lcs.mit.edu/HyperArchive.html

tobiasj 2008-02-12 01:42

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by t3h (Post 141260)
I'll add a prefs key and a commandline for fullscreen mode. I originally had it going in fullscreen all the time.

As for a GUI icon, take a look at other .desktop files that launch things, and add the appropriate lines.

Thanks! That will be great..

I thought of that already, and looked at a couple, but nothing really jumped out at me, I was hoping someone knew what it would take. I will look again at a couple more .desktop files.

Thanks again!

-John

t3h 2008-02-12 02:14

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
There's now a prefs option for "fullscreen" - you can start it up with either ./BasiliskII --fullscreen true or add "fullscreen true" to your /home/user/.basilisk_ii_prefs file.

Binary (+ .desktop file): http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b...ary_0.3.tar.gz

Sources (now slightly smaller after removing a bit of code for other platforms)
http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b...emo_0.3.tar.gz

taguapire 2008-02-12 05:01

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Hi,

I don't know what is happening but I'm getting the following message:
Code:

Basilisk II V0.9 by Christian Bauer et al.
ERROR: Cannot open ROM file.

How I can fix it?

Regards,

Taguapire.

BTW: I'm using the same rom file with BasiliskII on my Mac.

t3h 2008-02-12 05:38

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Ensure that you have your prefs file pointing to the right place, otherwise start it up with --rom /path/to/rom.

If you want to make a new disk, and don't know how:
Code:

dd if=/dev/zero of=b2_2.img bs=40M count=1
will create an empty file of that size.

debernardis 2008-02-12 11:21

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
In the TODO list there should be also a way to use the n810 hardware keyboard. Presently, with 'keycodes false' in the prefs file, the blue chars (i.e. those you get with the Fn key) are not recognized.
I tried to set 'keycodes true' but nothing seems to change, either in the keyboard layout or in the effect of the fn key. Maybe because I had no keycode translation file at hand?

t3h 2008-02-12 11:43

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by debernardis (Post 141435)
In the TODO list there should be also a way to use the n810 hardware keyboard. Presently, with 'keycodes false' in the prefs file, the blue chars (i.e. those you get with the Fn key) are not recognized.
I tried to set 'keycodes true' but nothing seems to change, either in the keyboard layout or in the effect of the fn key. Maybe because I had no keycode translation file at hand?

I don't have a N810, so I can't help there...

Supply a keycodes file and point to it with keycodes <keycodefile>, and see what happens.

tobiasj 2008-02-12 13:20

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by taguapire (Post 141379)
Hi,

I don't know what is happening but I'm getting the following message:
Code:

Basilisk II V0.9 by Christian Bauer et al.
ERROR: Cannot open ROM file.

How I can fix it?

Regards,

Taguapire.

BTW: I'm using the same rom file with BasiliskII on my Mac.

I had the same problem with mine until I figured out that I couldn't put both the executable and the prefs in the same folder. I put the prefs in /home/user and the exec in /usr/sbin and launch it using a custom .desktop file that creates an icon in extras in the start menu.. (attached, remove.txt from the end of the filename and put in /usr/share/applications/hildon)



-John

t3h 2008-02-12 13:42

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
For the next version, I'll look at some GTK error boxes (instead of console errors), and after that's done, I'll make a .deb package with .desktop and binary.

At the moment, if you launch it from a .desktop file and something goes wrong - you'll never know what. Which is slightly annoying when you've just installed it and don't know what's wrong.

tobiasj 2008-02-12 13:52

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by t3h (Post 141468)
For the next version, I'll look at some GTK error boxes (instead of console errors), and after that's done, I'll make a .deb package with .desktop and binary.

At the moment, if you launch it from a .desktop file and something goes wrong - you'll never know what. Which is slightly annoying when you've just installed it and don't know what's wrong.

Thats very true, though it certainly wouldn't be the first time lol...

I agree until you have it working the way you want it, launch it from xterm so you can see what is going on. Plus as you tweak the settings it is easier to use the switches than to keep editing the prefs file, and if you launch it from xterm you dont have to wait for it to boot to shut it down, you can just CTRL-C it and poof!

Great app, great port, thanks for all the effort, it makes the NIT just that much more indispensable to me..

-John

micampe 2008-02-12 14:09

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by t3h (Post 140914)
What I made it do was to get the position of the pen down event, set it in the variables, and then clear a flag that is set by the next ADB interrupt (update). It then waits in a loop waiting for this flag to be set, meaning that the interrupt has fired, and then it registers the mouse button down, ensuring that both events happen seperately and sequentially in the right order. Hence no "sticky mouse" :D

I noticed that your version is much more CPU intesive that the original. And I imagine that loop where you wait for the flag could be the culprit.

tobiasj 2008-02-12 20:03

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
OK so now that I have it working, and well I might add (thank you all) and I have my Office98 For Mac CD sitting here (which I believe does work on system 7.5.5, it has been a while since I used it, but I am reasonably sure it does...)

How do I get this CD into an image I can use on the emulator? Do I just put the files on the SD card? do I make a MAC Disk Image from it?

signed,
At A Loss

-John

OSEmuTech 2008-02-12 20:33

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Hate to say it ... Microsoft Office 98 requires a PowerMac. :(

I have Office 98 too ... it can run on the SheepShaver Power Mac emulator (runs up to Mac OS 9.0.4 and PPC software). Unfortunately, SheepShaver uses the JIT engine Basilisk II JIT uses, so it might not be portable to Maemo (I've tried a straight build). But it is just as fast as Basilisk II JIT on Windows\Linux\Mac OS X.

BTW: You can use the Win\Lin\Mac port of Basilisk II\SheepShaver to mount the CD-ROM drive. You could even copy Mac files to another hard drive file (Office 98 doesn't need the original CD to install). I use Toast for Mac to create ISO images of Mac CDs, but you can do a raw burn of a hard drive file to create a (unbootable) Mac CD. Here's a tutorial I created long ago: http://mes.emuunlim.com/tips/creatin...sing_a_hdf.htm

t3h 2008-02-12 21:25

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by micampe (Post 141478)
I noticed that your version is much more CPU intesive that the original. And I imagine that loop where you wait for the flag could be the culprit.

Hmmm, is it?

I might turn up the usleep delay in the loop. Come to think of it, the printf I stuck in there to report how much it was delaying was probably delaying itself. I'll count how many cycles that loop actually goes through (I know usleep(5) isn't right...).

Is the CPU usage higher when you're not touching anything?

Edit: the system seems to sleep a little longer than 5 microseconds. That loop is not executing more than once or twice, and even then only immediately after when you put the mouse down to the next tick. Are you sure it's this?

spirytsick 2008-02-12 22:01

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
This is what happens when I try to start netscape navigator 3.0

Code:

Nokia-N800-50-2:/media/mmc2/documents/installers/basiliskii_binary$ BasiliskII
Basilisk II V0.9 by Christian Bauer et al.
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'udptunnel'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'udpport'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'keyboardtype'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'dsp'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mixer'
Reading ROM file...
WARNING: Cannot open /dev/fd0H1440 (No such file or directory)
WARNING: Cannot open /dev/fd1H1440 (No such file or directory)
Using ESD audio output
gdk_window_foreign_new
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(24)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(17)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(18)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(8)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(17)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(8)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(8)
WARNING: Unknown VideoDriverStatus(24)
do_handle_screen_fault: unhandled address 0x40249001
Segmentation fault

Strange though, it's only netscape which is causing this.

OSEmuTech 2008-02-12 22:14

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

do_handle_screen_fault: unhandled address 0x40249001
That brings back memories. I and others were getting that error back in late 2001. The Basilisk II JIT developer investigates the problem on my forum in this thread: BII Linux Prob: do_handle_screen_fault

t3h 2008-02-12 22:45

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by spirytsick (Post 141680)
This is what happens when I try to start netscape navigator 3.0

Code:

do_handle_screen_fault: unhandled address 0x40249001
Segmentation fault

Strange though, it's only netscape which is causing this.

Netscape was widely known to do unsupported things. It looks like it was poking at something there...

I'll have a look round and see what I can get to happen.

smileyninja 2008-02-13 01:10

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by t3h (Post 141307)
There's now a prefs option for "fullscreen" - you can start it up with either ./BasiliskII --fullscreen true or add "fullscreen true" to your /home/user/.basilisk_ii_prefs file.

Binary (+ .desktop file): http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b...ary_0.3.tar.gz

Sources (now slightly smaller after removing a bit of code for other platforms)
http://gm.stackunderflow.com/maemo/b...emo_0.3.tar.gz

Using the above packages, I now get the following error: error while loading shared libraries: libhildon-1.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such files or directory

I have the following setup:
BasiliskII in /usr/sbin/
BasiliskII_prefs in /home/user/
basiliskii.desktop in /usr/share/applications/hildon

Running on N800 with OS2007- Is OS2008 necessary for the newer versions?

tobiasj 2008-02-13 02:46

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OSEmuTech (Post 141627)
Hate to say it ... Microsoft Office 98 requires a PowerMac. :(

I have Office 98 too ... it can run on the SheepShaver Power Mac emulator (runs up to Mac OS 9.0.4 and PPC software). Unfortunately, SheepShaver uses the JIT engine Basilisk II JIT uses, so it might not be portable to Maemo (I've tried a straight build). But it is just as fast as Basilisk II JIT on Windows\Linux\Mac OS X.

BTW: You can use the Win\Lin\Mac port of Basilisk II\SheepShaver to mount the CD-ROM drive. You could even copy Mac files to another hard drive file (Office 98 doesn't need the original CD to install). I use Toast for Mac to create ISO images of Mac CDs, but you can do a raw burn of a hard drive file to create a (unbootable) Mac CD. Here's a tutorial I created long ago: http://mes.emuunlim.com/tips/creatin...sing_a_hdf.htm

OK then back to the archives under the stairs... bother.

-John

t3h 2008-02-13 03:30

Re: Run Mac Software on Your NIT with Basilisk II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by smileyninja (Post 141757)
Using the above packages, I now get the following error: error while loading shared libraries: libhildon-1.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such files or directory

I have the following setup:
BasiliskII in /usr/sbin/
BasiliskII_prefs in /home/user/
basiliskii.desktop in /usr/share/applications/hildon

Running on N800 with OS2007- Is OS2008 necessary for the newer versions?

Seeing as I compiled it against OS2008's libhildon, probably so. Though you can probably download the sources and compile from OS2007 - I don't think I did anything OS-specific.

Personally, I'd recommend upgrading to OS2008 :)

And another bit of useful info:
Emulating a 68030 seems to be the fastest, from benchmarks.

TechTool Pro 2.03r1:

Code:

'040
? kWhetstones (won't run)
1725.84 dhrystones
? cycles (won't run)
228.0 cycles
? sieves (won't run)
1965.64 milliseconds for sort

'030
41.88 KWhetstones/sec
3527.66 dhrystones/sec
432.38 cycles
20.95 sieves
1002ms for sort

'030 with FPU
? kWhetstones (won't run)
1693.95 dhrystones/sec
232.0 cycles
? sieves
1983.61 ms

'020
41.84 kWhetstones/sec
3706.80 dhrystones/sec
429.48 cycles
20.55 sieves
947.53 ms for sort

'000
41.97 kWhetstones/sec
3656.90 Dhrystones/sec
445.61 cycles/sec
21.11 executions/sec
950.88 ms for sort

Conclusions: Use '030 (cpu 3) and turn off the fpu (fpu false). '040 can't have the FPU turned off (I must hack it up to emulate a LC040 at some point). '020 is slightly faster, but won't run as much. Mac OS 8 can be made to work on an 030 machine with a bit or resediting, and the end result will be faster. Not much requires a FPU.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:18.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8