maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Super powerful and customizable Widget Generation Engine - Official Thread (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=45388)

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-03-25 20:16

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Patola (Post 582239)
Yes, that's why I think the click script and update content script should be different! My "show" script could just get the battery status from fmtx_client polling every x minutes, while my "update" script could change it to what I want.

And thanks for the response, I'll try for the time being using the temporary file but I'd really prefer the feature of separate scripts.

I believe the cheapest solution could be this one:

http://i41.tinypic.com/nei7hy.png http://i39.tinypic.com/2zf7j8y.png http://i44.tinypic.com/eugi69.png

With "A" being the "status" beecon (with status querying script updating manually, every startup, on desktop change, every 30 or so seconds) and "B" being the "toggle" beecon/button (with status toggling script just for manual interaction)

http://i42.tinypic.com/wu4bxi.png http://i44.tinypic.com/11m8ahz.png http://i43.tinypic.com/2u4lw5g.png

Patola 2010-03-27 03:39

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
This creates a new problem, isn't it? B would have to call A since it change's A status, otherwise A would only change colors on the next time threshold. OR the user should always click on B then click on A, which would be also a nuisance.

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-03-27 14:32

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Patola (Post 583988)
This creates a new problem, isn't it? B would have to call A since it change's A status, otherwise A would only change colors on the next time threshold. OR the user should always click on B then click on A, which would be also a nuisance.

Yesssss!!! you're right ... but has I said, since the Beecon is not the only direct controller of the fmtx program behaviour (fmtx takes the initiative of switching itself off after inactivity) also the polling mechanism to monitor fmtx status according to timer periodicity will be inaccurate however

... then sorry, my friend ... no cheap method for this use case!!! :(

jakiman 2010-04-13 21:27

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
I just started using this app and all I can say is "what an amazing piece of work!!".
Now I just need to study it a bit more to see what I can do with it and how to arrange them. =)

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-13 21:35

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jakiman (Post 609359)
I just started using this app and all I can say is "what an amazing piece of work!!".
Now I just need to study it a bit more to see what I can do with it and how to arrange them. =)

thanks man... come back soon and share your experiments with us :D

jakiman 2010-04-13 22:30

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Here's some stuff I did so far with your awesome widget.
Used 5 of queen beecon (snippet mode) in this desktop.

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/574...0041408401.png

1. Overclocked@1Ghz is a snippet 'button' with following code. It's to reset it back to 1Ghz after a phone call. (some kind of issue where overclock is reset to 800mhz after a call)

Code:

echo "echo 1000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq" | sudo gainroot
2. Output down the bottom is certain lines from cpufreq-info output. (you can install cpufreq tools from app manager)

3. Standard Rootfs and Battery output. (separate widgets)

4. LCD button on right which is used to instantly dim the LCD to lower than lowest level possible in settings.

Code:

echo "echo 2 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness" | sudo gainroot

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-14 06:24

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jakiman (Post 609457)
Here's some stuff I did so far with your awesome widget.
Used 5 of queen beecon (snippet mode) in this desktop.

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/574...0041408401.png

1. Overclocked@1Ghz is a snippet 'button' with following code. It's to reset it back to 1Ghz after a phone call. (some kind of issue where overclock is reset to 800mhz after a call)

Code:

echo "echo 1000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq" | sudo gainroot
2. Output down the bottom is certain lines from cpufreq-info output. (you can install cpufreq tools from app manager)

3. Standard Rootfs and Battery output. (separate widgets)

4. LCD button on right which is used to instantly dim the LCD to lower than lowest level possible in settings.

Code:

echo "echo 2 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness" | sudo gainroot

Neat and nice layout ... with a bit more tweaking and scripting (awk and the like) you could also highlight and change text properties for point 2 ... for example: cpu values/% in bold or "MHZ" in subscript style or with different font with Pango Markup Language

Also Battery and Rootfs could be replaced by their specific dynamic icons showing status in a visual way like this:
http://i41.tinypic.com/fthq45.png

janne.palo 2010-04-14 07:42

Command request
 
Could someone help me a bit?

I would like to have a single button that sets the wifi off, changes mode to gsm and shuts down all connections and possibly shuts the screen off. It would be so handy to just push that single button before you put your device to pocket. I dont have skills to create command like that. Thanx. :)

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-14 09:34

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
This should be the sequence of commands to script:
Code:

#This disconnects from the net
run-standalone.sh dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd_ui com.nokia.icd_ui.disconnect boolean:true

#This shuts down wifi
rmmod wl12xx

#This sets phone to 2G
run-standalone.sh dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.phone.net /com/nokia/phone/net Phone.Net.set_selected_radio_access_technology byte:1

#This locks screen
run-standalone.sh dbus-send --print-reply --system --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.req_tklock_mode_change string:locked


cheggers33 2010-04-14 11:26

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Noticed that a Serie A scores widget had been created - has there been anyone who has created a Premiership widget as yet?

That would be amazing! :D

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-14 11:33

Re: Command request
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by janne.palo (Post 609822)
Could someone help me a bit?

I would like to have a single button that sets the wifi off, changes mode to gsm and shuts down all connections and possibly shuts the screen off. It would be so handy to just push that single button before you put your device to pocket. I dont have skills to create command like that. Thanx. :)

Beecon has been created ... see here for instructions [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget - N900 Hard Sleep Mode

Enjoy!

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-14 11:35

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cheggers33 (Post 610066)
Noticed that a Serie A scores widget had been created - has there been anyone who has created a Premiership widget as yet?

That would be amazing! :D

See here for instructions... [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget - European Soccer Leagues Live Results and Next Matches Beecon

Enjoy.

iceman600 2010-04-15 00:16

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by jakiman (Post 609457)
Here's some stuff I did so far with your awesome widget.
Used 5 of queen beecon (snippet mode) in this desktop.

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/574...0041408401.png

i cant find the cpufreq tools on the app manager... :confused:


edit: fix the repo and found the cpufrequi but having error on dependencies...

iceman600 2010-04-15 08:55

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
im beginning to like this app... its more cuztomizable than DCE widget.
im looking forward for your tutorial for the tv guide thing for this app.
nice work man... im sure this will be a hit :D

jakiman 2010-04-15 09:27

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iceman600 (Post 611074)
i cant find the cpufreq tools on the app manager... :confused:

edit: fix the repo and found the cpufrequi but having error on dependencies...

I installed it via xterminal.
apt-get -install cpufreq*

Also, cpufrequi can be installed via .deb file from this thread:
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=50067

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-15 21:56

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iceman600 (Post 611486)
im beginning to like this app... its more cuztomizable than DCE widget.
im looking forward for your tutorial for the tv guide thing for this app.
nice work man... im sure this will be a hit :D

You are right... I promised about "TVRage" beecon but ... forgot!!! Sorry!
Next pop from my stack.

Stay tuned.

jakiman 2010-04-16 08:10

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
One thing I found extremely annoying is that it does not remember the individual beecon settings.
So if I accidently close 1 beecon/snippet, I lose all the settings on how it looks and I have to redo it all over again.
I just had to recreate the same widget multiple times.... =(

Would be awesome if you can create design templates. (just like being able to create scripts)

iceman600 2010-04-16 08:46

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jakiman (Post 613093)
One thing I found extremely annoying is that it does not remember the individual beecon settings.
So if I accidently close 1 beecon/snippet, I lose all the settings on how it looks and I have to redo it all over again.
I just had to recreate the same widget multiple times.... =(

Would be awesome if you can create design templates. (just like being able to create scripts)

im just going to post the same thing... lols
i used desktop activity to clone my desktop on every occation i used it... but saving on another desktop or cloning the desktop will revert the snipnets to default. have to do it all over again...

can i request for a command that will open a site on firefox mobile or microb. i hate putting bookmarks on my desktop. their to big for my taste. thank you:D

Patola 2010-04-16 08:52

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iceman600 (Post 613118)
can i request for a command that will open a site on firefox mobile or microb. i hate putting bookmarks on my desktop. their to big for my taste. thank you:D

Just search the wiki, man. The information you want is on the Phone control page:

Open link in browser

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.osso_browser /com/nokia/osso_browser/request com.nokia.osso_browser.load_url string:"google.com"

zimon 2010-04-16 09:11

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
This BeeCon widget deserves its own wiki page from the start, because it is so versatile, flexible and usable for many things. This thread will become huge and people will ask the same things multiple times.

Great work!

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-16 09:11

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jakiman (Post 613093)
One thing I found extremely annoying is that it does not remember the individual beecon settings.
So if I accidently close 1 beecon/snippet, I lose all the settings on how it looks and I have to redo it all over again.
I just had to recreate the same widget multiple times.... =(

Would be awesome if you can create design templates. (just like being able to create scripts)

Function is already there ... see following post for exporting Instance Settings:
[HowTo] Export/Save Procedure for Beecon Instance Data

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-16 09:11

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
http://i46.tinypic.com/1zn04fm.pngQueen BeeCon Widgethttp://i46.tinypic.com/1zn04fm.png
[HowTo] Export/Save Procedure for Beecon Instance Data

  1. Once you finished working with your customizations, click on the "Advanced" button (1)
    http://i41.tinypic.com/169rlh2.png

  2. Confirm that we are PROFESSIONALS :) and we know what we are doing. Button (1)
    http://i44.tinypic.com/29q0575.png

  3. We reach the Advanced Settings and Tools Dialog Box... scroll down to the bottom.
    http://i43.tinypic.com/4vo0ba.png

  4. We reach following screen. If we press Button (1), we export the Instance Data into the Import/Export buffer, the with Button (2), data will be automatically selected and copied into our clipboard.
    http://i43.tinypic.com/6iqkgy.png

  5. Dismiss all QBW settings dialogs by clicking on top area of the display and open Notes application from applications menu
    http://i41.tinypic.com/t6ufq0.png

  6. Create New Note and paste your clipboard there [Ctrl-V]
    http://i40.tinypic.com/331ozuh.jpg

  7. Save Note using a name of your choice
    http://i43.tinypic.com/1zm009j.png

  8. If you need to RESTORE, just open back your saved note, select all text, copy to clipboard and proceed according to this post:
    Import Procedure for Beecon Exported Instance Data

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-16 09:19

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zimon (Post 613150)
This BeeCon widget deserves its own wiki page from the start, because it is so versatile, flexible and usable for many things. This thread will become huge and people will ask the same things multiple times.

Great work!

I believe you are right, but since the beginning I did not find much feedback and interest about QBW ... proof is still no karma and feedback in QA testing queue

I'm trying to keep this main thread in order and see if Wiki is really needed...

jakiman 2010-04-16 10:24

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Thank you. Now I can at least export the settings.
But would be awesome if it was integrated into the widget's settings screen. :)

IMO, QBW is a far more superior widget the the DCEW.
All the things DCEW lacks, you've added into QBW.
Amazing amount of work. Awesome set of instructions.
I'm no longer using DCEW as this is like DCEW version 3.0 and some. lol :p

btw, I cannot get output to word wrap within the snippet mode.
Is this possible for big text outputs? (so output doesn't go outside of the box)

slewis1972 2010-04-17 08:14

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Hi
Can anyone tell me please how to change the default look of beacon to say square icons? I dont want to keep setting sizes - is this possible?

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-17 08:45

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by slewis1972 (Post 614468)
Hi
Can anyone tell me please how to change the default look of beacon to say square icons? I dont want to keep setting sizes - is this possible?

Sorry ... could you please explain what you'd like to do? I'm not sure I understand your request.

iceman600 2010-04-17 08:48

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by slewis1972 (Post 614468)
Hi
Can anyone tell me please how to change the default look of beacon to say square icons? I dont want to keep setting sizes - is this possible?

just change the beecon to snippets... (upper left corner of the settings)
enjoy...
and pls give the author karma and feedback so we can have a wiki

iceman600 2010-04-17 09:03

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Patola (Post 613123)
Just search the wiki, man. The information you want is on the Phone control page:

Open link in browser

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.osso_browser /com/nokia/osso_browser/request com.nokia.osso_browser.load_url string:"google.com"

i have firefox installed... how about if i want to launch firefox... its not on the wiki. can you provide me a code? not good at terminal commands... lol :D

thanks

nokian-series 2010-04-17 12:10

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Hi all.
I have done a script to one of those widgets, but it is freezing my device, hildon desktop stop works, and other strange things.
I've tried to uninstall it, but when re-install, the configurations are there too.
I cand access the configuration to modifiy the script, phone hangs up.
I can acess the x-terminal and filesystem over ssh.
So..what file and where is it, that stores the script code so i can 'edit' it other way then the default one ?
Or, anyway to remove\uninstall with the defenitions too ..

help please

zimon 2010-04-17 13:10

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nokian-series (Post 614647)
Or, anyway to remove\uninstall with the defenitions too ..

http://wiki.openvz.org/Package_managers#Commands
Code:

dpkg -P queen-beecon
rm -r /home/user/.queen_beecon_dir /home/user/.queen_beecon


nokian-series 2010-04-17 15:14

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Hi all,
Anyone can help me to make a script to view the football results from there:

http://www.futebol365.pt/directo/default.asp

For exemple, for the "Inglaterra: Premier League"

Please ?

matts76 2010-04-17 17:22

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nokian-series (Post 614647)
Hi all.
I have done a script to one of those widgets, but it is freezing my device, hildon desktop stop works, and other strange things.
I've tried to uninstall it, but when re-install, the configurations are there too.
I cand access the configuration to modifiy the script, phone hangs up.
I can acess the x-terminal and filesystem over ssh.
So..what file and where is it, that stores the script code so i can 'edit' it other way then the default one ?
Or, anyway to remove\uninstall with the defenitions too ..

help please

I had a similar problem with the hard sleep mode widged, i screwed up the set up a bit and forgot to uncheck the updade at start up and switch desktop options so as soon as i turned my n 900 on it went straight to sleep:confused: when i uninstalled and re installed it i got the same problem. the way i solved it was rather low tech, using the lock button to activate the desk top for about half a second at a time i first held the stylus down to enter desktop edit (took a few tries) and then selected the wrench icon on the offending widged to edit it, before that i tried simply deleting the widget but the problem just reacured as soon as i tried to replace it, hope this helps in some way.:)

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-17 17:41

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Hi all ... please support troubleshooting and bugfixing by providing as much info as possible, especially if you suspect it is a program bug and not an own script messup!

Solution and support will be given maximum priority if reported via:
Queen Beecon's bugtracker

iceman600 2010-04-17 19:49

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by matts76 (Post 615001)
I had a similar problem with the hard sleep mode widged, i screwed up the set up a bit and forgot to uncheck the updade at start up and switch desktop options so as soon as i turned my n 900 on it went straight to sleep:confused: when i uninstalled and re installed it i got the same problem. the way i solved it was rather low tech, using the lock button to activate the desk top for about half a second at a time i first held the stylus down to enter desktop edit (took a few tries) and then selected the wrench icon on the offending widged to edit it, before that i tried simply deleting the widget but the problem just reacured as soon as i tried to replace it, hope this helps in some way.:)

lol... im having the same problem. mine is i did a command to oen a specific site on a browser... i forgot to unchecked the update the widget on startup/switched to desktop. so now when i open the device it opens the page.. since i did not unchecked the update when switched to desktop, everytime i close the browser it pop ups again. :mad:

no!no!no!yes! is there a way to reset to default config of the commands... im serching the file system for the configurations cant find it. reinstall didnt work...

funny thing is everytime i add a queenbee widget it opens the browser again. so meaning adding a new widget makes the command i make the default one...

just wannt to reset the settings and play withit again.
is there a way to reset to default config?

thanks:o

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-17 21:17

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iceman600 (Post 615154)
lol... im having the same problem. mine is i did a command to oen a specific site on a browser... i forgot to unchecked the update the widget on startup/switched to desktop. so now when i open the device it opens the page.. since i did not unchecked the update when switched to desktop, everytime i close the browser it pop ups again. :mad:

no!no!no!yes! is there a way to reset to default config of the commands... im serching the file system for the configurations cant find it. reinstall didnt work...

funny thing is everytime i add a queenbee widget it opens the browser again. so meaning adding a new widget makes the command i make the default one...

just wannt to reset the settings and play withit again.
is there a way to reset to default config?

thanks:o

Configuration file is:
Code:

/home/user/.queen_beecon
For those of you who are having issues at widget startup:
  1. open up x-terminal
  2. Code:

    sudo gainroot
  3. Code:

    vi /home/user/.queen_beecon
  4. find updOnStartup=true (all instances supposed to be culprits)
  5. set it to false (updOnStartup=false)
  6. save file
  7. immediately issue:
    Code:

    killall hildon-home
  8. hildon-home will restart automatically and widgets won't run any more at startup

If Configuration file:
Code:

/home/user/.queen_beecon
is messed up real bad ... just delete it, issue killall hildon-home and cross your fingers!!!

Generally speaking, there will NOT be any need to remove either package with:
Code:

dpkg -P queen-beecon
or images directory with:
Code:

rm -r /home/user/.queen_beecon_dir
rm -r /home/user/MyDocs/.images/queen_beecon_dir/

WARNING
For all Beecons used as buttons I suggest to set the update policy as this in order to prevent accidental triggering of the button!!!

http://i44.tinypic.com/1z5hrw6.png

No!No!No!Yes! 2010-04-18 02:26

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Wiki page is on the go ... see here:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Queen_BeeCon_Widget

iceman600 2010-04-18 02:37

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by No!No!No!Yes! (Post 615481)
Wiki page is on the go ... see here:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Queen_BeeCon_Widget

im hoping to see a tv rage as promised... :D

SallyJane 2010-04-18 06:05

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Sorry, please outline the steps needed to change the update policy ?

jakiman 2010-04-18 06:34

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SallyJane (Post 615578)
Sorry, please outline the steps needed to change the update policy ?

What steps? Just uncheck the ones you don't need.
Also, leave Update Interval to 0 if you don't want periodic update.
(btw, this is right down the bottom. So you need to scroll down)

SallyJane 2010-04-18 06:43

Re: [Announce] Queen BeeCon Widget: Customizable and flexible monitoring tool.
 
OMG of course, scrolling down reveals the hidden page !

Thanks !

:o


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:24.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8