maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=66586)

MohammadAG 2010-12-06 19:58

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AgogData (Post 890868)
installed it but wanna remove it, how to do that ?

Just apt-get upgrade, assuming you don't have the two packages in /etc/apt/preferences.

Quote:

Originally Posted by shazosbourne (Post 890889)
Actually he is still a boy. Which makes him that much more amazing. Are you 18 years old yet Mohammad?

Nope, 17, till 6 August :p

AgogData 2010-12-06 20:32

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MohammadAG (Post 890894)
Just apt-get upgrade, assuming you don't have the two packages in /etc/apt/preferences

i entered that
Code:

echo "Package: hildon-desktop
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001

Package: hildon-status-menu
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001" >> /etc/apt/preferences

should i remove preferences file from /etc/apt ?

Harick 2010-12-06 20:45

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
to edit the /etc/apt/preferences file type in Xterm

Code:

vi /etc/apt/preferences
then hit i and remove the next lines

Code:

Package: hildon-status-menu
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001

press ESC and type :wq to save changes

this way just hildon-desktop remains pinned

EDIT: if you just have hildon-desktop and hildon-status-menu pinned, you can do

Code:

root

rm /etc/apt/preferences

echo "Package: hildon-desktop
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001" >> /etc/apt/preferences

this is basicaly deleting and creating the preferences again with only hildon-desktop pinned


now you can update

Code:

root
apt-get upgrade

and only hildon-status-menu should be updated (actually replaced with stock one)

AgogData 2010-12-06 20:53

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
i upgraded, restarted and then i found preferences file contains :

Code:

echo "Package: hildon-desktop
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001

Package: hildon-status-menu
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001" >> /etc/apt/preferences


echo "Package: hildon-desktop
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001

Package: hildon-status-menu
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001" >> /etc/apt/preferences

twice !

Harick 2010-12-06 21:00

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
sorry, i think i wasnt clear enough, just type

Code:

root

rm /etc/apt/preferences

echo "Package: hildon-desktop
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001" >> /etc/apt/preferences

apt-get upgrade

and you're done

AgogData 2010-12-06 21:43

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Harick, you are loud and clear
thanks man

casper27 2010-12-08 18:34

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
I seriously think a facebook petition needs starting, something along the lines of..
" NOKIA give MohammadAG a job now and make it a VP position!!"

retsaw 2010-12-08 19:02

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Harick (Post 890950)
sorry, i think i wasnt clear enough, just type

Code:

root

rm /etc/apt/preferences

echo "Package: hildon-desktop
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001" >> /etc/apt/preferences

apt-get upgrade

and you're done

Be kind to your N900 and save it from unnecessary processes.
Code:

root

echo "Package: hildon-desktop
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 1001" > /etc/apt/preferences

apt-get upgrade

The single ">" means create a new file for the output, which will have the same effect as deleting the old one without having to explicitly delete it, thus saving you from running the "rm" command. ;)

Laughingstok 2010-12-08 20:47

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Now all we need is a portrait keyboard in conversations and the world will be perfect.

Hmm.. now I am unable to overclock my device using the QCPUFreq. Maybe this is just coincidence but I also noticed my transitions.ini was reverted back to original.

cfh11 2010-12-08 21:43

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
AFAIK transitions.ini is part of hildon-desktop, which is replaced with this package. Not sure why QCPUFreq wouldn't work though...

Laughingstok 2010-12-08 22:47

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
CPUFreq was caused by me not running the titan kernel. :) So disregard that. I installed NITDroid and forgot it boots standard kernel afterwards. So got that fixed and now it works.

M00NB34M 2010-12-20 16:56

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Hey man!

Quick question, is there a way to merge the Kinetic scrolling into the hildon-desktop package here? I noticed that Matan's desktops are unaffected but the kinetic goes away!

OR make your other hildon-desktop package with Matan+Kinetic scrolling support the status menu, that would be better!

Cos at the moment the other hildon-desktop with Matan's work and the Kinetic scrolling really doesn't like the status menu! Which sucks!!

Also, the hildon-desktop here is a tad glitchy, like the phone always opens in landscape, until you open turning controls, then the phone kinda "remembers" it should be portrait and it quickly swtiches to portrait! This doesn't happen with the other hildon-desktop!

So is there a way you could merge them? That would ROCK!

Thanks!!

P.s. I have ALOT of respect for you MohammadAG, i'v been following your work for ages and i think we need more people like you in the community! Keep it up man!

OVK 2010-12-29 14:50

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Do I get this right: with this package the status menu stays open and rotates if it is open in landscape mode (and phone is rotated to portrait mode) but status menu is still not accessible in portrait mode (meaning that it is not possible to open the status menu when in portrait mode)? At least this is how it behaves with my N900, I can't get to status menu in portrait mode but it rotates nicely when turning the N900.

Sorry for the silly question.

Dark_Angel85 2010-12-29 15:54

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
dude.... that's just like... freakin-tastic you freakin miracle worker you..

sony123 2010-12-29 16:42

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OVK (Post 906738)
At least this is how it behaves with my N900, I can't get to status menu in portrait mode but it rotates nicely when turning the N900.

No, status menu should become accessible in portrait mode. Have you rebooted the phone after installation?

OVK 2010-12-29 17:20

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sony123 (Post 906797)
No, status menu should become accessible in portrait mode. Have you rebooted the phone after installation?

Yes, two times.

Dark_Angel85 2010-12-30 06:11

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sony123 (Post 906797)
No, status menu should become accessible in portrait mode. Have you rebooted the phone after installation?

try redoing the whole thing again... did you try killall?

Mentalist Traceur 2010-12-30 06:54

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Did you install both the hildon-desktop AND the hildon-status-menu packages? If you only install the hildon-status-menu, the default hildon-desktop will still block opening the status menu in portrait mode. If you just install the hildon-desktop, the hildon-status-menu still won't be portrait-mode supporting fully (if at all - I'm not sure).

OVK 2010-12-30 08:06

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mentalist Traceur (Post 907265)
Did you install both the hildon-desktop AND the hildon-status-menu packages? If you only install the hildon-status-menu, the default hildon-desktop will still block opening the status menu in portrait mode. If you just install the hildon-desktop, the hildon-status-menu still won't be portrait-mode supporting fully (if at all - I'm not sure).

I used the .deb from post 17.

EDIT: I now used the commands from the first post, rebooted and portrait status menu works now.

Thanks to everybody for help.

C00Ler 2011-01-16 09:47

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Hey, thanks for that, it really nice :)
But I have problem: if I turn my phone vertically, it automatically starts phone app. I don't like it, how to disable?

bzbnd 2011-01-16 10:03

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by C00Ler (Post 921409)
Hey, thanks for that, it really nice :)
But I have problem: if I turn my phone vertically, it automatically starts phone app. I don't like it, how to disable?

in phone app menu , select turning control and remove the check of launch by turning

C00Ler 2011-01-16 10:25

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
bzbnd, thanks! And question once again: after installing this, menu has the fast scrolling, I wan't to disbale this too :)

Megaltariak 2011-01-16 11:08

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
In X Terminal:
gconftool-2 -s /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/decel_rate -t int 90
then reboot your phone to see the change :)

MohammadAG 2011-01-16 11:45

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
It's actually set from /usr/share/hildon-desktop/transititions.ini.
Change the 99 to 90.

Carlito 2011-01-18 08:07

Re: [Announce] Status menu in portrait mode
 
somebody can tell me why i can't use the wget command? Not as root, nothing . . .


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:19.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8