maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   MeeGo / Harmattan (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=88203)

thedead1440 2012-12-18 04:23

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bibek (Post 1305567)
Just in case I want to revert back to my default meegotouch and qt comps after trying it out? What should I do? Which files to backup n how to restore them?

A simple apt-get install PACKAGES --reinstall would get the original ones hence you'll be back to stock...

E: Of course if you incepted the patched packages you would need to use the -d flag above to download them then manually incept them...

imaginaryenemy 2012-12-18 16:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedead1440 (Post 1303707)
I deleted my earlier post as thanks to brkn i've managed to add the Dbus calls!



Also he has helped me to make the script cleaner.



As before Exec=/bin/sh /home/user/cyclotron.sh allows 1 icon to toggle between killing/starting the switcher as well as printing in banner whether it is started/stopped



Contents of /home/user/cyclotron.sh (note icon take from project page; if you don't want the icon just replace the "path/to/icon/" string with '') :

Code:

#!/bin/sh

SERVICE="/opt/cyclotron/bin/switcher"

if ps -ae | grep -v grep | grep "$SERVICE" > /dev/null
then
        kill `pgrep -f "$SERVICE"`
        dbus-send --print-reply --dest=com.meego.core.MNotificationManager /notificationmanager com.meego.core.MNotificationManager.addNotification uint32:0 uint32:0 string:'device' string:'' string:"Cyclotron stopped" string:'' string:"/usr/share/icons/hicolor/80x80/apps/cyclotron.png" uint32:0
else
        "$SERVICE" &
        dbus-send --print-reply --dest=com.meego.core.MNotificationManager /notificationmanager com.meego.core.MNotificationManager.addNotification uint32:0 uint32:0 string:'device' string:'' string:"Cyclotron started" string:'' string:"/usr/share/icons/hicolor/80x80/apps/cyclotron.png" uint32:0

fi

The last optional stage if needed would be to make it a toggle like Piratebox which shows the status although I'm not very sure about implementing a toggled icon like Piratebox due to speed issues...





I understand the above may be very basic for most so please ignore it; I'm just sharing what I managed for my set-up ;)





N.B. The above has been edited to point everything to cyclotron instead of generic names like switcher or cycle as well as an icon has been added which can be gotten from the project page. Screenshots for the above can be viewed here and here..

I am having permission issues with this. I try to save the script as /home/user/cyclotron.sh on nano, but am denied due to permissions. So I attend to save it elsewhere and execute it from there, but wad debuted due to permissions. I would really appreciate your help.

thedead1440 2012-12-18 16:15

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by imaginaryenemy (Post 1305768)
I am having permission issues with this. I try to save the script as /home/user/cyclotron.sh on nano, but am denied due to permissions. So I attend to save it elsewhere and execute it from there, but wad debuted due to permissions. I would really appreciate your help.

Did you do it as user or root? /home/user/ partition has user permissions so do it as user and it'll work ;)

imaginaryenemy 2012-12-18 16:16

I can't type, and editing isn't working for me. I attempted to save it elsewhere and execute it from there but was denied due to permission. Please help.

thedead1440 2012-12-18 16:23

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by imaginaryenemy (Post 1305772)
I can't type, and editing isn't working for me. I attempted to save it elsewhere and execute it from there but was denied due to permission. Please help.

I don't understand...

You open terminal and without devel-su you just type nano /home/user/SCRIPT_NAME.sh then paste contents and save...

You won't get permissions in ~/MyDocs/ due to vFAT...

If you want to use root then save in anywhere in root partition...

imaginaryenemy 2012-12-18 16:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedead1440 (Post 1305773)
Quote:

Originally Posted by imaginaryenemy
I can't type, and editing isn't working for me. I attempted to save it elsewhere and execute it from there but was denied due to permission. Please help.

I don't understand...

You open terminal and without devel-su you just type nano /home/user/SCRIPT_NAME.sh then paste contents and save...

You won't get permissions in ~/MyDocs/ due to vFAT...

If you want to use root then save in anywhere in root partition...

Oops, i was in devel-su...
Thank

bibek 2012-12-18 17:01

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by imaginaryenemy (Post 1305777)
Oops, i was in devel-su...
Thank

I'd say you better use the desktop files I posted, in case you cant figure out the permissions thingy :)

imaginaryenemy 2012-12-18 17:57

I obviously have missed a very important step...
1. Installed the deb
2. Saved icon in appropriate folder
3. Ran the script

Cyclotron turns on after the script is entered and banner pops up. No toggle still. I don't mean to be a bother, I just feel I'm so close...

imaginaryenemy 2012-12-18 19:09

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bibek (Post 1305805)
If there's no error output, then its some.logical error. you gotta recheck ur script

I just copied and pasted thedead's script. Is there nothing else that needs to be done? The /home/user/cyclotron.sh is not there...

thedead1440 2012-12-19 05:21

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
imaginaryenemy,

Why not just use thp's new version which allows swiping from the status bar?


bibek's implementation is 4 icons or something like that; I haven't tried it as what I aimed to achieve with the script was icon only to toggle cyclotron on/off...

If you still want help on running the script its better you PM me so as not to clutter here ;)

bibek 2012-12-20 16:16

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Any idea why the status bar swiping isn't working in some apps like joikuspot hotspot, app install screen.

also, could the haptic for status bar can be disabled? Dont wanna disable full OS haptics though.

coderus 2012-12-20 17:20

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
joiku and install screen working for me :)

vishwas 2012-12-30 07:50

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
First of all, thanks a lot, thp, for Cyclotron.

Initially used Cyclotron using this method, Yesterday, tried using the status bar integration. Works fine. But as bibek earlier mentioned, it does not work in some places. So far, for me, it is not working in messages, joiku and settings screen.

Curiously, if I first activate the status bar by touching it and then swipe it (from right to left only), it works in all the above mentioned places. Don't know if I'm missing something.

knobtviker 2012-12-30 08:19

It's probably QtQuick Components shadow of statusBar overlaying the real thing. Looks like the MeeGo original but it isn't the same one.

bibek 2012-12-30 10:10

THP already provided a patch for QtQuick component status bar, but I suspect that there's another component somewhere which is being used in the above mentioned apps.

hamoud younes 2012-12-30 11:40

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
I am new to this, I want want to install switcher using status bar, without doing a reflash :D, so can someone tell me the steps and the final .deb ?

kai_en 2012-12-30 13:15

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hamoud younes (Post 1309050)
I am new to this, I want want to install switcher using status bar, without doing a reflash :D, so can someone tell me the steps and the final .deb ?

http://o.thp.io/tmp/cyclotron-statusbar/

Read and follow, pretty self-explanatory.

AMD 2012-12-30 13:16

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hamoud younes (Post 1309050)
I am new to this, I want want to install switcher using status bar, without doing a reflash :D, so can someone tell me the steps and the final .deb ?

Sure, first go here: http://o.thp.io/tmp/cyclotron-statusbar/
Then, download the three packages named "Qt-components-single"; "Qt-components-1.3" and "libmeegotouchviews"
and get cyclotron 1.0.0 from http://thp.io/2012/cyclotron/
Install cyclotron 1.0.0 ONLY.
Make sure your phone is incepted, use N9QTweak to incept and activate
Then go to terminal, type:
devel-su
rootme
cd /home/user/MyDocs
/usr/sbin/incept libmeegotouchviews0_0.25.10-1+0m8_armel.deb
/usr/sbin/incept qt-components_1.3~git20120215-1+0m8_armel.deb
/usr/sbin/incept qt-components-single_1.3~git20120215-2+0m8_armel.deb

Then, switch off your phone and wait 2 mins max and switch it on again.
Congrats, you installed the mod :D

qwazix 2012-12-30 13:34

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bibek (Post 1309032)
THP already provided a patch for QtQuick component status bar, but I suspect that there's another component somewhere which is being used in the above mentioned apps.

AFAIK the above apps are meegotouch (dui) and not qt-components. The control panel definitely is.

hamoud younes 2012-12-30 16:21

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AMD (Post 1309080)
Sure, first go here: http://o.thp.io/tmp/cyclotron-statusbar/
Then, download the three packages named "Qt-components-single"; "Qt-components-1.3" and "libmeegotouchviews"
and get cyclotron 1.0.0 from http://thp.io/2012/cyclotron/
Install cyclotron 1.0.0 ONLY.
Make sure your phone is incepted, use N9QTweak to incept and activate
Then go to terminal, type:
devel-su
rootme
cd /home/user/MyDocs
/usr/sbin/incept libmeegotouchviews0_0.25.10-1+0m8_armel.deb
/usr/sbin/incept qt-components_1.3~git20120215-1+0m8_armel.deb
/usr/sbin/incept qt-components-single_1.3~git20120215-2+0m8_armel.deb

Then, switch off your phone and wait 2 mins max and switch it on again.
Congrats, you installed the mod :D


thanks !!! this is awesome man..

coderus 2012-12-30 17:10

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
@qwazixi have no issues with all apps

bibek 2012-12-30 18:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by coderus (Post 1309141)
@qwazixi have no issues with all apps

Are you and thp using some other system ui mods that might be causing the difference?
In my case cyclotron is the only incepted install in my phone. No other mods

coderus 2012-12-30 19:03

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
qt-components and libmeegotouchviews0 and base components and cant be affected by any mods

Schturman 2012-12-30 19:10

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
it can be installed on unrestricted system-ui with applets ? Problems ? Something ?

AMD 2012-12-30 19:16

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bibek (Post 1309162)
Are you and thp using some other system ui mods that might be causing the difference?
In my case cyclotron is the only incepted install in my phone. No other mods

Well, I don't have any issue with any app either. But you cannot count the mods I have done with my phone. :D So, great work thp!

bibek 2012-12-30 19:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by Schturman (Post 1309170)
it can be installed on unrestricted system-ui with applets ? Problems ? Something ?

No side effects :)

AMD 2012-12-30 19:30

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Schturman (Post 1309170)
it can be installed on unrestricted system-ui with applets ? Problems ? Something ?

Not a problem, I almost have all the mods on your app :D

Schturman 2012-12-31 04:50

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Cyclotron Installation/Uninstallation via N9 QTweak:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Trmga4RU8mE

:D

F2thaK 2012-12-31 09:33

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
this is very cool, but Id rather

swipe down = close
up = switcher
left/right = switch apps

just be simpler. but harder to do, yes.

Schturman 2012-12-31 09:54

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
i added it only for test. I will integrate it only when i will get ok from thp :)
Also if someone noticed, i wrote inception password only once :D
IUsed one command for installation of 3 files:
/usr/sbin/incept file1 file2 file3
:D

coderus 2012-12-31 11:46

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
@F2thaK its impossible, not harder :D mcompositor closed sources. you can make it only via MyMoves.

bibek 2012-12-31 12:13

How does MyMoves listen to onscreen gestures. It must be possible to create such an overlay

coderus 2012-12-31 12:28

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
but you cant make window swipe effect.

thedead1440 2012-12-31 12:30

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by coderus (Post 1309401)
but you cant make window swipe effect.

Wasn't mcompositor able to be configured for 4-directional swipes with a .conf file till pr1.2? I wonder why nokia chose to stop allowing the .conf file to be used in pr1.3 :rolleyes:

bibek 2012-12-31 15:44

Conf file is still there. It just sets what happens on swipe ending. Just some directions don't work since 1.3 :/

thedead1440 2012-12-31 15:59

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bibek (Post 1309461)
Conf file is still there. It just sets what happens on swipe ending. Just some directions don't work since 1.3 :/

Exactly that was my point that it doesn't work as it would before...

coderus 2012-12-31 16:39

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
nokia dont care about configs used by 3rd party applications as usual. its hacking :)

TheN9er 2012-12-31 16:40

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
I haven't used cyclotron yet, but before I do, I was wondering if anyone noticed a difference in battery life when using it.
Thanks

thedead1440 2012-12-31 16:59

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by coderus (Post 1309484)
nokia dont care about configs used by 3rd party applications as usual. its hacking :)

Nope it was pre-PR1.3 deliberately added into Harmattan by the Harmattan team; maybe because new teams did PR1.3 they didn't implement its functionality properly...

Further confirmation:
Quote:

urho konttori says: August 14, 2011 at 19:35

+1 – And purely because FelipeC rocks so much, we have this configuration now on the device. He was insanely persistent on pushing for this and finally we all conceded. Brilliant! And let’s do a tool soon for everybody to easily change these things.

thp 2013-03-06 12:31

Re: [ANN] Cyclotron - CLI tools to cycle between app windows
 
As mentioned on the Cyclotron website, the sources for libthai and libdatrie (both LGPL'd packages) were not available in the PR1.3 Source DVD, and so blocked installing the updated Qt 4 package in the SDK (because both packages were a run-time dependency. The sources have now been provided by sourcecode.request@nokia.com and are available here:

https://github.com/harmattan/libthai
https://github.com/harmattan/libdatrie

This is only important for people wanting to rebuild patched libmeegotouch and qt-components in the Harmattan Platform SDK without the need for dirty hacks (like ignoring runtime and build-time dependencies while installing/building the patched libraries). It's also important when somebody wants to rebuild PR1.3 Qt from source and install it in the SDK.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:49.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8