maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1 (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=40875)

HOKIR 2010-03-12 22:42

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
Here is the summary of what I did to make it work:

download toMOTkoFremantle-r943
rename the file to toMOTko (you can do it in MC or in the default File Manager)

run the following commands (you need Midnight Commander installed, you can do it without MC but you need to know the basic linux bash commands: for example, sudo copy toMOTko /opt/maemo/usr/bin/toMOTko)
Code:

sudo mc
In MC, copy the new toMOTko file into the following folder: /opt/maemo/usr/bin/
Agree to replace the file that is already there.

then in X Terminal run,
Code:

sudo chmod +x /opt/maemo/usr/bin/toMOTko
Finally, add Maemo’s “extras-devel” repository (if it's not yet added)
and in X Terminal run,
Code:

sudo apt-get install libqt4-maemo5-maemo5
Wait for it to finish (you need the internet connection for it to download the needed packages).

Voila, it should work.

P.S. Given that you already played with toMOTko files, maybe the first step would be to uninstall and then reinstall toMOTko to make sure that we are starting from the same point.

Rugne 2010-03-12 22:47

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
I shall give that a try tomorrow, when I'm fresh
Marc

FBergeron 2010-03-13 03:06

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HOKIR (Post 565450)
Ok, the toMOTko works and looks awesome on N900!

Thanks. I'm glad to hear that.

Quote:

Originally Posted by HOKIR (Post 565450)
Have you implemented customizing keyboard accelerators in the Preference window as you did on Zaurus and N800? I can't find it. Are there any preset accelerators (for correct answer, wrong answer, show, etc.)? I always chose my own.

Yes and no.

Actually, the Keyboard Accelerator section is currently hidden. I was wondering if it was worth putting it back for the Fremantle version. I read somewhere that keyboard accelerators are not something that is recommended for Fremantle. I think I read that in the GUI specification guide or something similar.

However, the keyboard accelerators are still enabled (or most of them should be).

For example, Right Answer (in the quiz) is associated to Space key, Wrong Answer is associated to Backspace key.

Now that you say that this is still useful, I will probably put back the Keyboard Accelerator section in the Preferences Dialog.

Quote:

Originally Posted by HOKIR (Post 565450)
Is it possible to do a sub-menu in the Preference dialog for Languages of Interest because right now it takes so much space? Note that the Bulgarian language is not "Bulgar".

I guess so. It's true that it takes a lot of space. Even yesterday, I have added a few more languages.


Quote:

Originally Posted by HOKIR (Post 565450)
The screenshot for the Revealing Sequences in Preference dialog should be from N900 (not from Zaurus as it is now) because it would confuse people. Let me know if you want me to make some screenshots.

Yeah, I'm aware of that. It's on the todo. As I said, it's not completed yet but it's functional enough to be used. I need to polish the application before release, that's for sure.

Here is a list of things that need to be done:

- Hildonize Revealing Sequence Dialog
- Reconnect Cut, Copy, Paste (if possible)
- Use contextual menus (if possible) for Import/Export
- Update the online help text and images
- Package the application for release

Quote:

Originally Posted by HOKIR (Post 565450)
When I choose "hide buttons" in Preferences, nothing happens in the quiz window.

Well, the buttons should be hidden. And you would need to use the Keyboard Accelerators (space and backspace keys) to switch to the other question. If the buttons are not hidden, it's a bug and I will take a look to it. I was considering to remove this feature for Fremantle. Do you think it's worth it?

Quote:

Originally Posted by HOKIR (Post 565450)
I don't think there is a need for ellipses in the name of menus (e.g., Preferences..., About..., Help..., Import..., Export... should be without "..." at the end)

Ok, I don't know what is the standard on Fremantle. On PC, usually there are ellipsis for these submenus. I will remove them.

Quote:

Originally Posted by HOKIR (Post 565450)
The "delete"-cross icon (and to the lesser degree some other icons -- Edit, Trash can) in the Glossary Manager has some extra white pixels around it that look bad on the black background.

Ok, I will try to fix it or find another image. My Photoshop skills are rather limited.

Thanks for the feedback!!

HOKIR 2010-03-13 04:13

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
Hmm, regarding those Keyboard Accelerators and hiding of the buttons... I am so used to toMOTko on Zaurus that I fall back to my old habits (I really enjoyed the keyboard input there). Maybe you are right and they are not as useful in Maemo. Please ignore this request for now.

FBergeron 2010-03-13 09:33

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
I have released tomotko 0.11.2-9fremantle1 in extras-devel repository. Anyone can tell me if the applications installs itself properly and run?

Also, tell me if the default font is too small? You can change the fonts in the Preferences menu, and set different values for Labels and Fields fonts.

If someone can submit a few screenshots in this thread, that would be cool.

HOKIR 2010-03-13 16:01

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
5 Attachment(s)
I have updated through the app manager and it works without a hitch.

Yes, the fonts for field are too small for my taste (see the screenshots). I switched to Very Large for Fields, I didn't change the other. Note that there is a slight issue with the quiz window when the fields font is very large (see the next to last screenshot).

HOKIR 2010-03-13 16:07

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
5 Attachment(s)
more screenshots

HOKIR 2010-03-13 16:11

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
4 Attachment(s)
even more screenshots

FBergeron 2010-03-14 02:11

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
Thanks a lot for the screenshots. It looks good.

Quote:

Originally Posted by HOKIR (Post 566102)
Note that there is a slight issue with the quiz window when the fields font is very large (see the next to last screenshot).

Could you be more specific? I don't see the problem, really.

HOKIR 2010-03-14 03:08

Re: tomotko menu problem with Pr1.1
 
If you look at the next to last screenshot, at the rectangle to the right of Word/Expr., you will see a small hair line underneath. It is not visible when fonts are of any other size but Very Large. I know it is not that important.


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:53.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8