maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Nokia N900 (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Cannot Flash EMMC (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=66004)

Duy2anh 2010-12-31 01:14

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by michaaa62 (Post 907757)
Try fsck after unmounting the partition. First find out the partition to check
Code:

mount
This will list every mounted partition and folder. Identify the partition mounted at /home/user/MyDocs, may be /dev/mmcblk0p1, the default.

The code lists a bunch of mounted things, among which:

/dev/mmcblk0p1 on /home/user/MyDocs

Quote:

Unmount the partition
Code:

umount /dev/mmcblk0p1 #OrYourPartitonHere

With "#OrYourPartitonHere" is replaced by "/home/user/MyDocs"

Return:

"umount: cannot umount /dev/mmcblk0p1: invalid argument" without the quotes

Despite not being able to umount the partition, I proceed with this:

Quote:

Check the file system
Code:

fsck -af /dev/mmcblk0p1

The "fsck" indentified some problems, did some autocorrection. The problems turn out to be because I play some games stored on the external memory card with DrNokSnes or iNES and stop in the middle when the phone froze.

Quote:

Then, if everything goes well, mount it back to its place
Code:

mount /home/user/MyDocs -o rw

Everything goes back to normal. THANK YOU. YOU SAVE ME alot of time and troubles.

I will copy all games to the internal eMMC to play to avoid this error.

Should I convert all the /MyDocs partition to ext3 instead of Vfat to completely prevent this stupid read-only problems? I have a 16GB external memory card, which I think is enough to communicate with the Windows PC.

pursueky 2011-03-16 16:25

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tcbl50 (Post 881478)
dude i had a similar problem with the same error but i followed these instructions n i was able to flash emmc...

flasher-3.5 -F RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.19-1_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin -f

change kernel with
flasher-3.5 -F RX-51_2009SE_1.2009.42-11_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin' --flash-only=kernel -f

Restore emmc with vanilla
flasher-3.5 -F RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.13-2.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin' -f -R

hope it works for you

it failed to flash the emmc again after i reinstall the kernel

J4ZZ 2011-03-25 15:57

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pursueky (Post 969030)
it failed to flash the emmc again after i reinstall the kernel

It's not reinstalling the kernel it's "changing the kernel" ;)

Here's it how it works...

First of all you need two firmware images PR1.2 and PR1.3 for example
Code:

PR1.3 = RX-51_2009SE_20.2010.36-2_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM

PR1.2 = RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.19-1_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM

PR1.1.1 will work also... ;)

Then you need a matching emmc image (PR1.3_original or a custom image file for bigger apps partition)
Code:

PR1.3 RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.13-2.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin

• 5GB Apps 24GB MyDocs:
http://www.mediafire.com/?j6srnaxwr3notaf

• 8GB Apps 21GB MyDocs:
http://www.mediafire.com/?5o1hkuuwhn8hh1c

1. Flash PR1.3
Code:

flasher-3.5 -F RX-51_2009SE_20.2010.36-2_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin -f
2. Flash only Kernel of PR1.2
Code:

flasher-3.5 -F RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.19-1_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin --flash-only=kernel -f
3. Flash your EMMC (custom or PR1.3)
Code:

flasher-3.5 -F RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.13-2.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin -f
4. Reflash PR1.3 firmware (see 1.) or try --flash-only=kernel but with the PR1.3 image (see 2.)

:cheers:

..::J4ZZ::..

andy2611 2011-05-25 05:54

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by borland (Post 880239)
Hello
I've got a problem with my N900 that whole memory became ReadOnly. I cannot delete any files,I cannot format the storage, fsck does not find any problems, and I cannot connect it to PC in MassStorageDevice.
I cannot flash emmc as well I am getting the following Error when trying to do so:
Raw data transfer EP found at EP2.
SU_GET_UPDATE_STATUS_REQ terminated with error code 1.

The Flashing is done under WinXP Pro.

Anyone knows how solve this issue?

Hello Pal,

I have the exact problem as you had but my phone is now out of warranty,do you know the root cause of this problem and have you been able to figure out a solution other than replacing the phone?

karan9t1 2011-05-28 19:23

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
my device memory is corrupted
doesnt show any data
cannot access file manager
..i m worried.
can you help me?

karan9t1 2011-05-28 19:28

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ivyking (Post 880245)
ouch ! can't flash.. this hurts ! may I know how are you flashing in details ? you may be doing something wrong .

does maemo still boot ?

my phone's inbuilt 32gb memory is corrupted
no data no access to file manager
memry status shows memory corrupted.
can you help me fixing this problem
i m worried

gabby131 2011-06-17 13:00

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
okay, i was once having a challenge flashing n900 emmc but yesterday, i surprisingly made it using windows 7 with windows xp virtual machine. and after flashing, installing/restoring apps, nitdroid, and CSSU etc, i noticed that my n900 seems faster than before. that was my first time of flashing the eMMC and wondering if i did something wrong before i flash that I feel some pain using my n900. the device is not yet OC'd but it feels like its on 850mhz.

Lasher 2011-09-27 11:19

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
Ive been at this for a few hours now. It will simply NOT install eMMC. I have tried flashing different vanilla.bin 's and relevant eMMC's after. When it does boot the Mydocs etc is not visible when I run 'mount' in Xterm. I've even tried rescue kernel and initrd rpm from my ubuntu laptop and was unable to even see the disk in Gparted. Is the memory gone? arent the rootfs and mydocs just partitions on the same flash storage not seperate? it should be possible to just wipe the lot and start over like any other flash disk shouldnt it? I want to cry lol. I love my n900.

:EDIT

As a last resort after one more try changing the kernal as suggested by J4ZZ i will try to use my 8gb memory stick as the home/mydocs and see how it goes from there

jochga 2012-05-29 16:40

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
My device is corrupt can you help me?

MINKIN2 2012-05-29 17:11

Re: Cannot Flash EMMC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jochga (Post 1214463)
My device is corrupt can you help me?

Can you give a more detailed description of "corrupt"? There are a lot of helpful people here but we would need to have some idea of what proplems you are facing :)

Also, what device are you using?


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:43.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8