![]() |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
/home/user # ps | grep AppLock 18583 root 2088 S grep AppLock /home/user # kill 18583 sh: cannot kill pid 18583: No such process This is because the pid keeps changing randomly. And the output for this: /opt/applock # chown users:user settings.db chown: unknown user/group users:user |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Oh, wow okay. If that is happening it means there is something causing the daemon to crash... Very bad news, could be that there is another daemon running, say in a terminal? If that isn't the case though, then what you could do is make sure that you have sent the "initctl emit AppLockStopDaemon" event and run a daemon in a terminal to see what it says.
Ah, sorry about the chown thing, got them the wrong way around it is supposed to be "user:users" |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
As an example, this is the output when locking and unlocking "contacts' in the UI: For example this is the output when locking and unlocking "Contacts" in the GUI. :) ~ $ applock -d AppLock Daemon - Loading Settings Loading Application Monitor Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QStr ing,QString,QString) Loading Session Bus Monitor Session Filters: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.Messaging UI',member='top_application'" "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='top_application'" Adding Filter: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.Messaging UI',member='top_application'" DATA: Adding Filter: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='top_application'" DATA: DBus Monitor Connected DBus Monitor Running Message Recieved on DBus Type= "signal" Sender= "org.freedesktop.DBus" Destination= ":1.1142" Signal - Interface: "org.freedesktop.DBus" && Member: "NameAcquired" Adding Filter: "Contacts_Keypress" ( "session" ) "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='search_append'" Adding search to settings Adding filter to monitor Filter Added Adding Filter: "Contacts_Shortcut" ( "session" ) "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='top_application'" Adding search to settings Adding filter to monitor Filter Added Removing Filter: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='search_append'" DATA: pxpe SETTINGS - Removing Search: "Contacts_Keypress" Message Recieved on DBus Type= "error" Sender= "org.freedesktop.DBus" Destination= ":1.1142" Removing Filter: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='top_application'" DATA: SETTINGS - Removing Search: "Contacts_Shortcut" Removing Filter: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.Messaging UI',member='top_application'" DATA: type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.MessagingU I',member='top_application' SETTINGS - Removing Search: "Conversations" Adding Filter: "Contacts_Keypress" ( "session" ) "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='search_append'" Adding search to settings Adding filter to monitor Filter Added Adding Filter: "Contacts_Shortcut" ( "session" ) "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='top_application'" Adding search to settings Adding filter to monitor Filter Added And now the sad part, like I told before, even though the terminal indicates that the UI detects the input, the application still fails to lock in reality. Though applications added directly through the command line will lock like I showed before in the case of Dorian. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Hmm, okay, since you now have a semi-functional version of it :)
1. If you lock an app that uses a path (say, Dorian) a) Does the lock appear? b) Upon launching Dorian does the phone lock? 2. If you lock an app that uses a DBus call, but not one that is overriden (say, Conversations) a) Does the lock appear? b) Upon clicking Menu->Refresh Daemon does the UI crash? c) If you launch the app after b) does the phone lock? 3. If you lock an app that uses an override (say, Conversations) a) Does the lock appear? b) Upon clicking menu->Refresh Daemon does the UI crash? c) If you launch the app after b) does the phone lock? d) Upon pressing a letter on the desktop does the phone lock (conversations only) 4, 5, 6: Repeat for unlocking In the case of 5 and 6, b) won't be necessary and the UI should hang but if it doesn't then I am going to be EXTREMELY happy :) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
Locking applications work through the GUI now. Even pressing a key on the keyboard locks the phone if the contacts application is checked in the GUI. Note that we have to refresh daemon at times for changes to take effect. And now about unlocking, everything works normally except Contacts, which shows a weird bug i.e, upon unlocking contacts, the "Keyboard press search" gets unlocked like it should but the phone still locks if we try launching contacts directly from the menu launcher. And I dont know whether you missed it out, but Contacts can still be accessed through the Phone application when we launch Phone and click "Select Contacts". This is possible even when contacts is locked. Have you looked into this? The GUI doesnt crash when refreshing the daemon, though there are random delays at times when unlocking an app. This was a great leap! And I guess the main change you should make in your next update is to make sure the permissions for settings.db are correct. Guess this app can slowly step into beta stage now. Thanks and congrats!! :) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Haha, excellent.
Yeah, the way it works is that anything that adds a search to the DBus monitor will only be applied AFTER you refresh the daemon. Can you let me know if there is a delay or a hang on the UI when you remove the locks on DBus apps, if there isn't or it is very short then I will add in the immediate add support again. As for why contacts doesn't get unlocked correctly, it may be that the daemon is hanging, if you restart the daemon does it fix it? Cool, thanks for pointing that out, unfortunately that is built into the phone application so I can't lock it when you open it there. But on second thoughts, since it is a very limited version of the contacts app it may be possible for us to class it as part of the Phone rather than Contacts. If you do want to lock it completely though then you best lock Phone and Contacts ;) I also need to get around to finding out what DBus methods get called when you open a notification for a message since that opens Conversations. Sounds like it, though I am also working on a lot of other stuff for the next release, like command line matching so we can start locking scripts and python applications :) As for a Beta, not quite yet, will do when we have a stable install -> run cycle ;) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
And just like contacts can be accessed through the Phone, Conversations with the numbers in the Call Log can also be accessed this way even when conversations is locked. Open Phone > Click on a contact in call log > Call or SMS > click SMS and this opens our conversation with them. This is not a big deal anyways as we can always lock the phone app if we want like you told. Will locking the phone app also lock the Phone when a call comes in? I was just wondering. This would be a problem if so. But I dont think this will happen as Maemo always gives top priority to Phone call events which explains why we are able to answer calls even when phone is auto locked. But I asked because I was wondering whether the applock daemon would bypass it. And what about the contacts application not unlocking even when we unlock it in the UI. I mean the contacts app still locks when we try to launch it from the menu launcher. It isnt the daemon hanging, as the keyboard search gets unlocked on unlocking contacts from GUI. Its just the actual launching via menu that locks the phone. But this isnt a dealbreaker for me. Its still a wierd bug though. I guess you can push a v.3.1 with the updated permissions for settings file. This would solve most problems reported by various users before. :) EDIT: Also dont forget to fix that issue where the UI cant be launched from the menu in the next release. I was just reminding ;) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
when i type dis in xterminal
cd /usr/share/applications/hildon sudo gainroot nano AppLock.desktop i got dis BusyBox v1.18.5 (Debian 1.18.5power2) built-in shell (ash) Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands. ~ $ cd /usr/share/applications/hildon /usr/share/applications/hildon $ sudo gainroot Root shell enabled BusyBox v1.18.5 (Debian 1.18.5power2) built-in shell (ash) Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands. /usr/share/applications/hildon # nano AppLock.desktop /bin/sh: nano: not found and wen i enter the below in x term ps | grep AppLock kill <process code for AppLock -d> applock -d i got dis failed to register service: "" and wen i enter sudo gainroot initctl emit AppLockStopDaemon ps | grep AppLock kill <applock process ids> cd /opt/applock chown users:user settings.db chmod 777 settings.db exit applock -d it shows the same failed to register service: "" |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
better onething i wanna know .... if i uninstall applock frm app manager ... will it get uninstalled totally? and then i wil try to install the latest version ....
tell me how to uninstall applock frm x term |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Okay, so update on my progress so far in the dev version.
Bugs in the dev version that are preventing release:
Functionality I want to add:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
@brokensmile
Wait for the new update. That should fix most of your bugs. cheers! :) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
when i type dis
sudo gainroot initctl emit AppLockStopDaemon ps | grep AppLock kill <applock process ids> cd /opt/applock chown users:user settings.db chmod 777 settings.db exit applock -d BusyBox v1.18.5 (Debian 1.18.5power2) built-in shell (ash) Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands. ~ $ sudo gainroot Root shell enabled BusyBox v1.18.5 (Debian 1.18.5power2) built-in shell (ash) Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands. /home/user # initctl emit AppLockStopDaemon AppLockStopDaemon /home/user # ps | grep AppLock 2060 root 2828 S grep AppLock /home/user # kill <applock process ids> /bin/sh: syntax error: unexpected newline /home/user # cd /opt/applock /opt/applock # chown users:user settings.db chown: unknown user/group users:user /opt/applock # chmod 777 settings.db /opt/applock # exit ~ $ applock -d AppLock Daemon - Loading Settings Loading Application Monitor Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QStr ing,QString,QString) Loading Session Bus Monitor Session Filters: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='top_application'" "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.Messaging UI',member='top_application'" "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.CallUI',m ember='top_application'" Adding Filter: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.osso_addr essbook',member='top_application'" DATA: Adding Filter: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.Messaging UI',member='top_application'" DATA: Adding Filter: "type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.CallUI',m ember='top_application'" DATA: type='method_call',interface='com.nokia.CallUI',me mber='top_application'` DBus Monitor Connected DBus Monitor Running Message Recieved on DBus Type= "signal" Sender= "org.freedesktop.DBus" Destination= ":1.111" Signal - Interface: "org.freedesktop.DBus" && Member: "NameAcquired" |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Okay, BrokenSmile. Look at it this way, you are entering the commands WRONG.
When I say "kill <process ID>" I mean you are going to enter something like "kill 9127". When you type "ps | grep AppLock" it will give you a list of apps that are running with a number next to their name. This is the number that you put after "kill ". In your case the only one that gets shown is "2060 root 2828 S grep AppLock", so you DONT need to run "kill" but if you say had one that went "2060 root 2828 S /opt/applock/AppLock -d" you would enter "kill 2060" Also, I corrected myself previously, the "chown" command should be: "chown user:users settings.db" To remove applock using the terminal just run the following: Code:
sudo gainroot Code:
sudo gainroot |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
ok i removed the applock ... waiting for 3.1
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Is it ready?
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Stop asking. Just check, and when it arrive @ extras, you can install it without any doubts.
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
I installed and now again wen i opened the icon frm the menu .... it opened and i dint c any option and aftr 3 to 5 secs it got closed
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
He also mentioned that he is at his university this week and will only release an update when he gets access to the net. Possibly friday. Didnt you see? Anyways considering you need to be spoon-fed everything and dont take the effort to learn like we do, I guess this app is not yet ready for your use and you should wait for a stable release. And please take your time in reading this thread over. I'm sure you'll find your answers. Cheers! :) EDIT: and i guess the version you've installed from extras-devel should be version 0.2.2 as autobuilder wasnt working properly when he released 0.3.0 and hence it explains why the app is not opening from the menu shortcut. v0.2.2 didnt have a GUI implemented yet. Please read and understand a thread before downloading or installing any software on your phone next time. It'll definitely solve most of your issues. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Update
Just uploaded v0.3.1 to the autobuilder and my website, about time the autobuilder started working again :) I think everything is working out of the box in this version. I have clean-installed it a few times on my phone and it all seems to work. Just a few things to take note of since they have changed in this version when compared to v0.3.0 or have yet to be finished
Sorry that it has taken so long to get this version out the door, I have had to completely rewrite much of the codebase to get stuff working nicely. With any luck though this version will be a lot easier to use and you guys can start finding less obvious bugs :) Anyway, enjoy and I await problem reports ;) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
will update and say |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
Thanks in advance! Will test and report. :) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Haha, yeah I was only planning on getting back into res by Friday but turns out it was open last night so I was able to move in then and work on finishing most of the stuff I needed to this afternoon.
DEB is uploaded onto my website, you can use the same link as before to download it if you want it sooner than the autobuilder can give it to you ;) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
doesnt work for me... even it shows LOCK in conversation..but i can oppen conversation .... not working for me :(
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Have you clicked "Menu->Apply Changes"?
Autobuilder Update: Sorry guys, forgot to add a build dependency on libglib2.0-dev to the control file. Re-uploading the package to the autobuilder. Will take a bit longer :) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
when you have done it ... i will download it...
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Okay, for some reason the package page is not showing v0.3.1 BUT it is in the extras-devel repository so you should be able to download it without any problems.
I will also reinstall the version in the repo to test and see if I can find out what problem you are experiencing cutehunk04. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
here is the screenshots...where the applications shows locked but when i click the following applications it opens...
http://i51.tinypic.com/34edhmv.png |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
i used this applocker before but when i tried to completely want to delete it, it won't delete and the applocker menu bacame blue square and i can see it in add shortcut and still blue square and i really want it gone help pls thanks
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
@JSTAR, That is very strange, sounds like DPKG didn't correctly remove the .desktop file. What you can do is run the following in a terminal:
Code:
sudo gainroot @cutehunk04, Just tried installing it again and it appears that it all functions fine. That being said, I did find 3 small bugs that got introduced between my last test build and my repo build (Don't ask :P). They include the following: 1. The menu's background gradient (for dimming the screen's background when it is visible) is too dark at the bottom 2. Locking Binary applications isn't working for some reason (Probably an issue in the UI's QML) 3. The app seems to think that some applications which are NOT scripts are in fact scripts... Will look into that |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Hmm, that is very strange. If it is showing the lock icon there then it should almost certainly be locking the apps. When you click Apply Changes does your phone lock? Otherwise if you could go and run applock -d from a normal terminal (not as root) and tell me what it says?
You could also try removing your settings.db file (in /home/user/.applock) after uninstalling it, and then reinstalling it. Uninstalling it doesn't remove the settings.db file. I have pushed v0.3.2 to the autobuilder and my website, same links, which fixes the problem with the menu and the problem with adding binary applications (forgot to add the new settings management code to that function). EDIT: Also pushed the latest source to Git if anyone wants it. gitorious.org/applock-n900 EDIT2: Okay, well it looks like the menu bug was fixed and replaced with another variant of exactly the same bug :P. Will fix that in v0.3.3. In v0.3.2 it has a white background rather than a transparent one, meaning you can't see menu items behind it. Not a massive problem but it will aggrivate me until I fix it ;) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Quote:
http://i52.tinypic.com/avhgn7.png |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Okay, run this:
Code:
killall AppLock Also, v0.3.2 is in the repo now if you want to try it |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
working now.... :)) update with version 3.2... and its working like charm... great app... and thanks for keeping patience (^_^)
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
Wow, that is awesome to hear :)
I still need to get script monitoring working as well as some other stuff but knowing that the UI is working so far is awesome :D *Goes to find something to break* |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
hello spartan,
FIrstly, I would like to congratulate you on this application. I have been waiting for a year for this type of app. I downloaded version 2.2 which I uninstalled and now re downloaded latest version 3.2. I am having some problem starting the app. I click on the icon and it asked for lock code. After entering lock code screen is black and nothing happens. Could you plz help me? I am noob in linux so plz be patient. Thanks in advance |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
@linuxnoob, Could you open up a terminal from your menu (X Terminal) and type the following into it:
Code:
applock Code:
cd /home/user/MyDocs Thanks :) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] AppLock - An application locking daemon for Maemo handsets
@spartan, Thank you so much for quick reply. I did as you said. I am writing whole message I got...
$ applock Phone locked qrc:/qml/mainWindow.qml:1:1: module "QtQuick" is not installed Checking Lock Status for Complex App DBus Monitor Loaded: "Camera" "com.nokia.cameraui" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Catorise GUI" "com.nokia.catorisegui" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Chess" "com.nokia.osso_chess.startup" DBus Monitor Loaded: "CrazyParking" "br.org.indt.crazyparking_startup" DBus Monitor Loaded: "DrNokSnes" "com.javispedro.drnoksnes.startup" DBus Monitor Loaded: "EightyOne" "org.teulings.illumination.eightyone" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Extended Call Log" "org.maemo.extcalllog" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Faster Application Manager" "org.maemo.faster_application_manager" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Firefox" "mozilla.fennec" DBus Monitor Loaded: "FreOffice" "com.nokia.FreOffice" DBus Monitor Loaded: "iNES" "com.fms.ines" DBus Monitor Loaded: "KMPlayer" "com.nokia.kmplayer" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Blocks" "br.org.indt.maemoblocks.startup" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Certificate manager" "com.nokia.certman" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Mahjong" "com.nokia.osso_mahjong.startup" DBus Monitor Loaded: "MediaBox" "de.pycage.maemo.mediabox" DBus Monitor Loaded: "Miniature" "org.maemo.miniature" DBus Monitor Loaded: "E-mail" "com.nokia.modest" DBus Monitor Loaded: "N9Profil" "org.indt.N9Profil" Checking Lock Status for Complex App DBus Monitor Loaded: "Backup" "com.nokia.backup" Checking Lock Status for Complex App DBus Monitor Loaded: "Marbles" "com.nokia.osso_lmarbles.startup" Checking Lock Status for Complex App Checking Lock Status for Complex App DBus Monitor Loaded: "Conversations" "com.nokia.MessagingUI" DBus Monitor Loaded: "StockThis" "net.yerga.stockthis" Checking Lock Status for Complex App ^C I think it qtquick problem but its just a guess. If it is just give me details how to install it. Sorry for the trouble |
All times are GMT. The time now is 21:00. |
vBulletin® Version 3.8.8