maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Nokia N9 / N950 (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   overclocking kernel modules + UI for PR1.3 [ko v1.5.4] [ui v1.2.7] (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=83357)

itsnotabigtruck 2012-04-05 02:42

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Creamy Goodness (Post 1188200)
I thought about it and realized I have no idea how to pass a command to opensh to execute.
The module itself isn't even stable, I am trying to figure out why the phone crashes when switching back to 1ghz or other known safe frequencies. Until I finish all the required work on the module, I won't waste time to package this. It's really just proof of concept at this point.

Oh yeah, I should point out everything I know about linux was learned on a Nokia device or software. I don't know C either, I was just determined to get some app written in C working better on the n900. I never compiled a kernel before last week. My point is you don't have to be an expert to accomplish something. We seem to be low on experts here, so I'm hoping some of you guys can step up soon. I made this open source for a reason :)

opensh is for interactive user use only! Never use it in order to execute privileged operations from a script. It'll be replaced with a better alternative soon that won't work for such applications, anyway.

Instead, use the Aegis manifest to assert tcb and CAP::sys_module credentials for your initscript. This will then make it possible to whitelist the kernel module and load it in order to perform the actual overclock.

If you need any advice, feel free to hit me up on IRC! (official INCEPTION channel: #inception on Freenode)

HanzBlix 2012-04-05 05:15

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Ha I wondered if that might be the case for opensh use with scripts, if distributed via .deb users wouldn't know that the app wasn't going to give the phone herpes lol.
On a separate note, pipould said he'd be happy to contribute a qml ui for these modules a while back, I'd also be happy to do the same and I have no doubt more people would be on the same page for this project, It'll definitely come in some form.
But yeah as its been mentioned before, it's a bit early for a ui, and using a boot script would almost certainly require a flash at some stage.
The less headaches for Creamy while he irons out the kinks of these modules the better.

Creamy Goodness 2012-04-05 06:06

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
The n9 and n950 have different default voltages, I wonder why...
Anyways, by default smartreflex is allowed to lower the voltage of the 1000mhz by 50,000uv. Maybe it's designed to detect a different type of problem, but when I overclock it, it still lowers the voltage by the full 50k and the phone reboots as soon as you touch it (@ 1200mhz anyways). You would think disabling smartreflex is the obvious solution, but I prefer to leave it enabled. I am just patching something so it can do what it wants with the lower speeds, you will still get the same battery life when the device is idle or getting light usage that way. I raised the starting point of the 1000mhz voltage to 1375000 instead. This is the max allowed for the chip according to the data in our kernel. The defaults on the n9 and n950 is actually 1225000 and 1350000 respectively. Smartreflex usually is going to lower it by 50k uv but I'm just changing that 50,000 to 0 so it won't be able to change it. That only affects the 1000mhz profile though, so the others will still reduce by whatever it feels like. LATER I will allow you to change this 50k number yourself, so if you want 1150 mhz it won't force the high voltage. But for now, any mhz > 1100 will bump up the voltage to the max.
Now I'm just testing this, I will edit this post when the new version is online...

dsawhney 2012-04-05 06:36

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Creamy Goodness (Post 1188252)
The n9 and n950 have different default voltages, I wonder why...
Anyways, by default smartreflex is allowed to lower the voltage of the 1000mhz by 50,000uv. Maybe it's designed to detect a different type of problem, but when I overclock it, it still lowers the voltage by the full 50k and the phone reboots as soon as you touch it (@ 1200mhz anyways). You would think disabling smartreflex is the obvious solution, but I prefer to leave it enabled. I am just patching something so it can do what it wants with the lower speeds, you will still get the same battery life when the device is idle or getting light usage that way. I raised the starting point of the 1000mhz voltage to 1375000 instead. This is the max allowed for the chip according to the data in our kernel. The defaults on the n9 and n950 is actually 1225000 and 1350000 respectively. Smartreflex usually is going to lower it by 50k uv but I'm just changing that 50,000 to 0 so it won't be able to change it. That only affects the 1000mhz profile though, so the others will still reduce by whatever it feels like. LATER I will allow you to change this 50k number yourself, so if you want 1150 mhz it won't force the high voltage. But for now, any mhz > 1100 will bump up the voltage to the max.
Now I'm just testing this, I will edit this post when the new version is online...

Where are you getting the voltage value of 1225000 from ? This is what I can see is the default OPP table in the n9 kernel source (cpufreq34xx.c). 1GHz runs at 1.375V


300000000, 1012500
600000000, 1200000
800000000, 1325000
1000000000, 1375000

Creamy Goodness 2012-04-05 06:44

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
It doesn't though, it actually runs at the nominal voltage which is the minimum voltage required to run the worst sample of silicon they manufactured.

There's also this in voltage.c:

/* VDD1 */
static struct omap_volt_data omap34xx_vdd1_volt_data[] = {
{.u_volt_nominal = 975000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF4,
.vp_errorgain = 0x0C},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1075000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF4,
.vp_errorgain = 0x0C},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1200000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF9,
.vp_errorgain = 0x18},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1270000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF9,
.vp_errorgain = 0x18},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1350000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF9,
.vp_errorgain = 0x18},
};

I think I was wrong about the dyn_margin though. What it does it start at the nominal voltage and reduce it until it hits errminlimit, then raises it up 50k.
Anyways, on my phone, if i don't even touch anything and just read the data I get
1375000 <<max
1225000 <<nominal
50000 << margin
1175000 << optimized

I thought it's taking nominal - 50k to get optimized, but its actually taking optimized + 50k to get nominal.
I'll try changing the errlimit to like 1 and see what happens.

dsawhney 2012-04-05 06:49

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Creamy Goodness (Post 1188258)
It doesn't though, it actually runs at the nominal voltage which is the minimum voltage required to run the worst sample of silicon they manufactured.

There's also this in voltage.c:

/* VDD1 */
static struct omap_volt_data omap34xx_vdd1_volt_data[] = {
{.u_volt_nominal = 975000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF4,
.vp_errorgain = 0x0C},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1075000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF4,
.vp_errorgain = 0x0C},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1200000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF9,
.vp_errorgain = 0x18},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1270000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF9,
.vp_errorgain = 0x18},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1350000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF9,
.vp_errorgain = 0x18},
};

I think I was wrong about the dyn_margin though. What it does it start at the nominal voltage and reduce it until it hits errminlimit, then raises it up 50k.
Anyways, on my phone, if i don't even touch anything and just read the data I get
1375000 <<max
1225000 <<nominal
50000 << margin
1175000 << optimized

I thought it's taking nominal - 50k to get optimized, but its actually taking optimized + 50k to get nominal.
I'll try changing the errlimit to like 1 and see what happens.

n9 table is omap36xx_vdd1_volt_data not 34xx

Creamy Goodness 2012-04-05 07:30

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
yeah sorry copied wrong one...

static struct omap_volt_data omap36xx_vdd1_volt_data[] = {
{.u_volt_nominal = 1012500, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF4,
.u_volt_dyn_margin = 50000, .vp_errorgain = 0x0C},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1200000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xF9,
.u_volt_dyn_margin = 50000, .vp_errorgain = 0x16},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1325000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xFA,
.u_volt_dyn_margin = 50000, .vp_errorgain = 0x23},
{.u_volt_nominal = 1375000, .sr_errminlimit = 0xFA,
.u_volt_dyn_margin = 50000, .vp_errorgain = 0x27, .abb = true},
};

matches better :)

anyways, I'm wrong again, I found another kernel that is better documented.

the dynamic nominal is just where it starts the calibration from, it really does run at the optimized voltage unless you disable smartreflex.
Probably we need more than 137500 to get 1200 stable then, but it should vary by device.

Creamy Goodness 2012-04-05 07:43

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
okay i uploaded a new version, i tested it on both the n9 and n950 and it seems to work right. I can set 1200mhz now and it doesn't reset or anything YET. It's almost 2am here so I'm not going to test it any more. I played angry birds for 3 minutes... good enough, right? Anyways, like I mentioned earlier, it only boosts the voltage if you go over 1100mhz.

pipould 2012-04-05 09:07

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Creamy Goodness (Post 1188215)
I will try to improve stability of the module, and add more features. I was hoping someone else can start work on a script that we can install to init.d to load the module on boot.
Are you saying you would like to help write a QML & C++ interface to the /proc/opptimizer sysfs? Just please upload source to https://gitorious.org/ if you want help. I'm not sure how to install the modules automatically yet so I don't suggest to start with that.

I can do that for you :)

HanzBlix 2012-04-05 09:16

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Well I finally got around to making myself a few simple scripts last night, might as well share I suppose, do with them what you like.
I might add some disclaimers and prompts if I feel like it later.
I assume they aren't appropriate for boot scripts, were only intended for my own casual use anyway, and in fact I'm not even sure what if anything extra is involved with implementing scripts as boot scripts.

You can find them here:
ocScripts-0.01.zip

ocScripts-0.02.zip - what can I say, I got bored.

You can either have your opptimizer_n9.ko and symsearch.ko located in /home/user/MyDocs/Documents/ocmodules-pr1.2/ like mine, or you can edit install.sh to match your own directory structure, this only affects install.sh at this stage anyway.

A description of the individual scripts as follows:
installOC.sh - will copy symsearch.ko and opptimizer.ko to modules directory, ready to be loaded.
uninstallOC.sh - will delete symsearch.ko and opptimizer.ko from modules directory.
activateOC.sh - will load modules via insmod.
resetOC.sh - this was supposed to return frequency and smart reflex to defaults, note that at the time of writing this, the script is pretty much useless and will cause a reboot, it might work down the track, hence why I left it included, but you might prefer to delete this one for now. (removed in ocScripts0.02)

next four are self explanatory....
setFreq1.1ghzSRoff.sh - set frequency to 1.1ghz and disable smart reflex.
setFreq1.1ghzSRon.sh - set frequency to 1.1ghz and enable smart reflex.
setFreq1.1ghzSRoff.sh - set frequency to 1.2ghz and disable smart reflex.
setFreq1.2ghzSRon.sh - set frequency to 1.2ghz and enable smart reflex. (ocScripts 0.02 only)

To run a script via the terminal, simply cd to the directory where the script is located, and run a command like: sh installOC.sh

The correct order to run these scripts if the modules aren't installed would be like this example:
Code:

sh installOC.sh
sh activateOC.sh
setFreq1.1ghzSRoff.sh

or to just re-enable the overclock after a reboot you would do it like this:
Code:

sh activateOC.sh
sh setFreq1.1ghzSR.sh

Extra notes of caution:
These scripts obviously use opensh, which itsnotabigtruck correctly opposes, use them at your own peril, anyone with a sense of caution should check for themselves to know there's nothing malicious in them, they're a temporary solution at best but they seem to work for now at least.
I recommend against running a second setFreq script without a reboot as it'll probably result in a reboot itself, just like reset.sh.
These scripts come with a warranty ONLY in HanzBlixLand, for you the warranties simply not valid, sorry.
And finally, any time that Creamy Goodness updates his modules, these scripts are liable to be broken, don't complain, he needs the freedom to adjust the modules however he deems appropriate.

pipould 2012-04-05 09:18

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HanzBlix (Post 1187431)
Well after a google search and a wee bit of tinkering, I've just figured out how to use opensh within a script, it's quite simple really.
I'll edit this post with a link to a “how to” thread once I've made it.
Here's a hint for now, you could use two scripts......

Here ya go - [How to] Use opensh within a script for root access

Nice, i'll digest all that info :)

HanzBlix 2012-04-05 09:19

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pipould (Post 1188304)
I can do that for you :)

Get all over it bro! ;)

pipould 2012-04-05 09:56

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
The more I think the more I believe it's maybe better to create a UI like the 2G-3G app ( https://projects.developer.nokia.com/home/user/crazyhg ). Would be cool do have a "activate/desactivate" OC shortcut and the oc settings in the settings menu...

clovis86 2012-04-05 11:36

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
would be definitely lovely :D
1st of all, a deb file would be awesome and avoid mistyping errors :)

pipould 2012-04-05 13:02

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Did a very small ui from scratch, I wait that HanzBlix answer my PM to add him into the git project.

I just don't know how to link the UI to the core (projects&exams coming soon, not much time for doing that, but the UI, I'm loving that).

HanzBlix 2012-04-05 14:54

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pipould (Post 1188379)
Did a very small ui from scratch, I wait that HanzBlix answer my PM to add him into the git project.

I just don't know how to link the UI to the core (projects&exams coming soon, not much time for doing that, but the UI, I'm loving that).

At first I was like meh about integrating in settings, mostly since I haven't tried that yet, but after checking out that 2g3g app, I've got to say it's a pretty slick implementation, I think you've changed my mind. Like you I haven't done anything on that end, just some normal ui stuff, but it couldn't be too hard to go through the docs and figure it out. But what about the page for reading the current settings? another icon on desktop? or bury in settings? Of course the frequency and whether smart reflex is active could be shown on the on/off icon, but there should be more of a read out surely, hmm something to ponder anyway. I'll be keeping conky on my N9 anyway.
I guess the on/off function will rely on being able to change frequency back to 1ghz though, hopefully that doesn't end up being too much of a problem.

Arie 2012-04-05 15:10

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HanzBlix (Post 1188423)
At first I was like meh about integrating in settings, mostly since I haven't tried that yet, but after checking out that 2g3g app, I've got to say it's a pretty slick implementation, I think you've changed my mind. Like you I haven't done anything on that end, just some normal ui stuff, but it couldn't be too hard to go through the docs and figure it out. But what about the page for reading the current settings? another icon on desktop? or bury in settings? Of course the frequency and whether smart reflex is active could be shown on the on/off icon, but there should be more of a read out surely, hmm something to ponder anyway. I'll be keeping conky on my N9 anyway.

This idea is pretty cool, though there should be an option to just set the overclocked kernel and leave it.

I think Conky should be packaged as a .deb too

Creamy Goodness 2012-04-05 16:19

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Arie (Post 1188436)
This idea is pretty cool, though there should be an option to just set the overclocked kernel and leave it.

I think Conky should be packaged as a .deb too

Conky always was packaged as a deb. Installing the dependencies is the only hassle but I don't see how that's my fault.

amandalam 2012-04-05 16:43

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
I have put together some extremely simple scripts & shortcut icons (default smartreflex options only) so you can switch among the frequencies by just tapping the icons:

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphot...33209063_n.jpg

I am just too lazy to create the specific icons for each frequency, so I just make use of an existing warning icon... :p

You can download it from here:
http://dadablog.net/maemo/files/n9_oc_icons.zip

Make sure you have read the readme.txt on where to put the files.

I believe some smarter people can come up with nicer UI + features and packaging than this; but while we're waiting, maybe these are good enough for some of you? :D

pipould 2012-04-05 17:25

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Concerning the basic UI you can check you what I did here :
https://gitorious.org/opptimizer-n9ui/opptimizer-n9ui

I added HanzBlix and Creamy Goodness to the project. You can modify it as you like because I don't have time for work full time on that but I'm really interested in it. If someone wants to join just PM me :)

I think a solution as amandalam would be the best with just an icon with a pop up message on top screen and the possibility to change the OC setting in the settings part (as said in the last page).

qole 2012-04-05 17:38

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Hey Creamy Goodness, any reason why you specifically stated "stock kernel only"? Is there any reason these would not work on the Open kernel?

Creamy Goodness 2012-04-05 17:45

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Normally the overclocking modules should be recompiled, but I'm not sure. It might be fine actually because the symsearch module is going to automatically find the right address for the functions we want, it's not hard coded like some earlier overclocking kernel modules. Hmmm. Go ahead and try, I guess. Should be safe. Btw n950 cpu seems to be worse silicon in my case, it defaults to higher voltage. Might limit the headroom.

SaQ 2012-04-05 20:36

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Hello

Can i do the overclocking, if i have dual boot kernel for android??

pipould 2012-04-05 20:42

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by amandalam (Post 1188480)
I have put together some extremely simple scripts & shortcut icons (default smartreflex options only) so you can switch among the frequencies by just tapping the icons:

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphot...33209063_n.jpg

I am just too lazy to create the specific icons for each frequency, so I just make use of an existing warning icon... :p

You can download it from here:
http://dadablog.net/maemo/files/n9_oc_icons.zip

Make sure you have read the readme.txt on where to put the files.

I believe some smarter people can come up with nicer UI + features and packaging than this; but while we're waiting, maybe these are good enough for some of you? :D

Despite I carefully followed your instructions nothing seems so happens when i click on the icons...

From icons: overclock not reflected in conky But if I overclock from bash, then I can overclock (1.1>1.2) from the icons.

From Bash, launching the scripts(/opt/overclock/*) : overclock OK

Edit:
Creamy goodness confirmed (see below) that downclock is impossible with the last version.

Creamy Goodness 2012-04-05 22:04

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
The kernel module itself doesn't work when you downclock, so you can't blame the script for that. I'm not sure I understand the rest of what you said.

pipould 2012-04-06 06:23

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Changed my upper post, hope it's more understandable now :)

nieldk 2012-04-06 06:37

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by qole (Post 1188503)
Hey Creamy Goodness, any reason why you specifically stated "stock kernel only"? Is there any reason these would not work on the Open kernel?

tried it on open mode kernel, works, did not use aegisctl or opensh, just devel-su

mariusmssj 2012-04-06 08:35

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
wow i'm just amazed at the progress you guys are making :D

Dragoss91 2012-04-06 21:03

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Successfully completed 5 levels of angry birds , played 2 videos , surfed 2 websites and watched one youtube video , and now nfs shift is running in background with all these apps open in background with these settings . 1.3ghz without SR seems to be stable too . :D


RM696-07-1_PR_001:/home/user/MyDocs# cat /proc/opptimizer
opp rate: 1300000000
freq table [0]: 1300000
policy->max: 1300000
cpuinfo.max_freq: 1300000
user_policy.max: 1300000
omap_voltageprocessor_get_voltage_fp: 1375000
vdata->u_volt_nominal: 1375000
vdata->u_volt_dyn_nominal: 1375000
vdata->u_volt_dyn_margin: 0
vdata->u_volt_calib: 1375000
vdata->sr_nvalue: 0x00aaa493
vdata->sr_errminlimit: 22
vdata->vp_errorgain: 0x00000027
vdata->sr_error: 0x0000ffff
vdata->sr_val: 0x064c070f
vdata->abb: yes
v1.2 by @CreamyG31337

Arie 2012-04-06 21:11

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Creamy Goodness (Post 1188472)
Conky always was packaged as a deb. Installing the dependencies is the only hassle but I don't see how that's my fault.

Is there any way you could get the dependencies and package them with conky and release that as a deb?

I don't see a lot of the normal users using it because it requires installing dependencies.

I know what you are thinking and I am thinking the same thing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoss91 (Post 1189007)
Successfully completed 5 levels of angry birds , played 2 videos , surfed 2 websites and watched one youtube video , and now nfs shift is running in background with all these apps open in background with these settings . 1.3ghz without SR seems to be stable too . :D


RM696-07-1_PR_001:/home/user/MyDocs# cat /proc/opptimizer
opp rate: 1300000000
freq table [0]: 1300000
policy->max: 1300000
cpuinfo.max_freq: 1300000
user_policy.max: 1300000
omap_voltageprocessor_get_voltage_fp: 1375000
vdata->u_volt_nominal: 1375000
vdata->u_volt_dyn_nominal: 1375000
vdata->u_volt_dyn_margin: 0
vdata->u_volt_calib: 1375000
vdata->sr_nvalue: 0x00aaa493
vdata->sr_errminlimit: 22
vdata->vp_errorgain: 0x00000027
vdata->sr_error: 0x0000ffff
vdata->sr_val: 0x064c070f
vdata->abb: yes
v1.2 by @CreamyG31337

Do you think 1.4 is possible?

Also can you try running a psx emulation on emumaster without any frame skipping or anything?

I think the current test is 15 minutes with a memory intensive function.

Dragoss91 2012-04-06 21:23

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Arie (Post 1189009)
Is there any way you could get the dependencies and package them with conky and release that as a deb?

I don't see a lot of the normal users using it because it requires installing dependencies.

I know what you are thinking and I am thinking the same thing.



Do you think 1.4 is possible?

Also can you try running a psx emulation on emumaster without any frame skipping or anything?

I think the current test is 15 minutes with a memory intensive function.

I'll try emu master at 1.3ghz .

I also set the min and max freq 1.3 , so the phone is continously running at 1.3ghz ... it seems to be pointless because there's no improvements in the smoothness of the UI .

Arie 2012-04-06 21:24

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoss91 (Post 1189011)
I'll try emu master 1.3ghz .

I also set the min and max freq 1.3 , so the phone is continously running at 1.3ghz ... it seems to be pointless because there's no improvements in the smoothness of the UI .

So why not drop the min freq to stock? I assume for battery life it will do wonders.

If I remember correctly Rainisto said that the UI won't have any noticeable difference.

Dragoss91 2012-04-06 21:26

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Arie (Post 1189012)
So why not drop the min freq to stock? I assume for battery life it will do wonders.

If I remember correctly Rainisto said that the UI won't have any noticeable difference.

Yes , he said this with the explanation "the ui runs at 300mhz" , so I pumped it to the max but the results are same , he was right .

By the way , could you give me a link to a small psx game please ? All I found was >400mb games .

mariusmssj 2012-04-06 21:32

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
so even at 1.3Ghz you feel no improvements in the phones performance, UI and loading???

Arie 2012-04-06 21:33

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoss91 (Post 1189014)
Yes , he said this with the explanation "the ui runs at 300mhz" , so I pumped it to the max but the results are same , he was right .

By the way , could you give me a link to a small psx game please ? All I found was >400mb games .

I was hoping you'd test a Final Fantasy disk one of 7,8, or 9 or something similar. Those seem to be very cpu intensive.

Dragoss91 2012-04-06 21:36

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Arie (Post 1189017)
I was hoping you'd test a Final Fantasy disk one of 7,8, or 9 or something similar. Those seem to be very cpu intensive.

I've found final fantasy tactics , is it good enough for testing ?

Quote:

Originally Posted by mariusmssj (Post 1189016)
so even at 1.3Ghz you feel no improvements in the phones performance, UI and loading???

In UI is definately no improvement , but loading apps and other tasks I think so , or is placebo effect . :D

clovis86 2012-04-06 21:38

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
ouch putting this kinf of link here ... is .... baaaaaaaad

Use PM dude :o ( or be ready to have problem with admin :/ )

Anyhow, thanks for the work and testing ! keep going on :)

Dragoss91 2012-04-06 22:07

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by clovis86 (Post 1189019)
ouch putting this kinf of link here ... is .... baaaaaaaad

Use PM dude :o ( or be ready to have problem with admin :/ )

Anyhow, thanks for the work and testing ! keep going on :)

Done , removed the link .

So far Final Fantasy Tactics runs well at ~50 or even ~60 fps with no lag or freeze ... only sound is freezing every second , but I think it's not related to overclock .

Dragoss91 2012-04-06 22:26

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
It finally got a random reboot , so it's not 100% stable at 1.3ghz with default voltage , it needs an increase .

I've tried also 1.4ghz but it rebooted in ~2 seconds . :D

It was stable enough time and with enough stress at 1.3ghz with default voltage . With a little effort of our "hackers" I think we could achieve 1.4 or even 1.5 stable , it seems to have enough potential .

Arie 2012-04-06 22:28

Re: overclocking kernel modules for PR1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoss91 (Post 1189032)
It finally got a random reboot , so it's not 100% stable at 1.3ghz with default voltage , it needs an increase .

I've tried also 1.4ghz but it rebooted in ~2 seconds . :D

It was stable enough time and with enough stress at 1.3ghz with default voltage . With a little effort of our "hackers" I think we could achieve 1.4 or even 1.5 stable , it seems to have enough potential .

Do you happen to know what you were doing before the reboot?


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8