![]() |
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
munky, in the [Annouce] thread there are posts about how to get things to run as root. You have to add the executable (I assume emelfm2) to a sudoer file in order not to be prompted for the password (which is what prevents it from launching)
|
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
how do i do that? i searched but cant seem to find clear , concise directions... and yes emelfm2 is what i have to type in xterm as root to launch it.
|
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
Here is how to run an executable as root through Personal Menu:
After installing the "becomeroot" application, open up an xterm and run the following command: Code:
sudo gainroot Code:
nano /etc/sudoers.d/personal-menu.sudoers 1) If you want to be able to run EVERYTHING as root, simply enter this line: Code:
user ALL = NOPASSWD: ALL Code:
user ALL = NOPASSWD: /bin/ls, /usr/bin/whoami, /usr/bin/emelfm2 Finally, this is VERY IMPORTANT any time you edit a sudoers file. Run this command: Code:
update-sudoers |
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
the part of the line that says "whoami" is that actually what i type , or do i type something relating to the device..device name , etc?
|
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
whoami is just an example of a command I gave passwordless root access to my user. For you, if you just want emelfm2, type this line:
Code:
user ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/emelfm2 |
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
This is a great, elegant application. Thanks!
Is there a way to use it to fill in forms? It would need to be able to type wherever the cursor is, not just in Xterm. So that, for example, it could type my Yahoo! log-in name, tab to the next field, type in my password, and then input Enter. Or so that it could type my street address when I have the cursor in a field requesting that info. |
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
thanks:) i didnt think whoami was what i was supposed to type , but just wanted to make sure LOL
|
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
GeraldKo: If you could find a macro program that would do that, you would be able to launch the macro from personal menu. I don't know of any macro typers for Maemo, but if you find a good, lightweight Linux one there is a possibility of a port.
|
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
did you read my other question a page or so back about , in what folder do i put or what do i do to be able to use my own icons for a few apps. all are .png files i created in paintshop and used with idea before i started using your program.
|
Re: [Updated] OS2008 Personal Menu
munky, I must have missed that one. Put your icons in:
Code:
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/hildon Code:
gtk-update-icon-cache --force /usr/share/icons/hicolor Alternatively, you can put them in a different folder under "/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/" such as "applications" and then you don't have as long a list to scroll through when selecting them (after changing the folder to "Applications" at the top of the icon selection dialog) |
All times are GMT. The time now is 16:54. |
vBulletin® Version 3.8.8