maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Games (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900 (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=68066)

strange1712 2011-01-09 19:15

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
Really Nice Game!! Way better than Tiltlaby, and that one costed me 40 MXN! (about 3 USD)...

dwaradzyn 2011-01-09 19:30

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zehjotkah (Post 916064)
It is possible to create 800x480 pixel levels with that editor?
My father does have teeter on his HTC Touch HD, so there ARE levels in that resolution..

This Editor supports both VGA and WVGA:
http://rapidshare.com/files/19308943...t_1.4_full.zip

http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/6...editorwvga.jpg

zehjotkah 2011-01-09 21:02

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
Okay, downloaded, installed, copied WVGA level files from my dad's HTC Touch HD to my PC, opened them, works.
How do I convert them to Mokomazes level-format now?
I searched via google, but the only thing google finds regarding this topic is this very thread...
Before I start to create own levels I would like to try the converting with existing ones in the correct resolution.

edit: excluding "teeter" from the search query at google will find a little bit more.
The level files from teeter are only text files with numbers for the objects and coordinates. Just like the ones from Mokomaze afaik.
Maybe they're compatibel? Where are they stored on the N900?

woussie 2011-01-09 21:30

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
@ zehjotkah:
Code:

/home/opt/mokomaze/data/main.levelpack.json

tho 2011-01-09 21:38

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
Great game, in my opinion better then labyrinth. Thank You.

zehjotkah 2011-01-09 21:57

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
Okay, modified my first level.
In Mokomaze "language" it looks like this:
Code:

"comment": "level 1",
       
            "boxes": [
                { "x1": 150,        "y1": 110,        "x2": 160,        "y2": 639 },
                { "x1": 320,        "y1": 0,        "x2": 330,        "y2": 529 }
            ],
       
            "holes": [
                { "x": 289,        "y": 199 },
                { "x": 191,        "y": 427 }
            ],
       
            "checkpoints": [
                { "x": 410,        "y": 65 }
            ],

            "init": {
                "x": 77,        "y": 567

In Teeter "language" the same level (optimized for 800x480, though) does look like this:
Code:

B 76 566

E 410 65

W 150 110 160 799

W 320 0 330 690

H 288 198

H 190 426

Now I have to write a script which translates the Teeter language into Mokomaze language.
Any help appreciated.

edit:
"init" = B
"checkpoints" = E
"boxes" = W
"holes" = H

x = first number
y = second number

Mentalist Traceur 2011-01-09 22:18

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
I'm not that proficient at the command line, but it looks like a shell script that just picks every value, assigns it to some variable based on position and the preceding text, and then writes it accordingly in the output file, shouldn't be too hard.

If no one who's actually good at this stuff writes it soon, I'll be happy to try, but I suspect the task is more efficiently fulfilled by someone who can actually write that kind of shell script intuitively and without having to look up every other command that needs to be written.

zehjotkah 2011-01-09 22:38

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
I've converted the level and edited the main.levelpack.json file by hand now (also changed the resolution).
Also I've edited the config.json to match the 800x480 pixel resolution.
Unfortunately the right part of the level (the 160 pixel for 640 to 800) won't show up.
Don't know why.

edit: forgot to "Resize desk.png and wall.png located in /opt/mokomaze/data."
stupid me...

edit2: and the result:
http://lh6.ggpht.com/_ytorvCxRjxo/TS...109-235521.png

Mentalist Traceur 2011-01-09 23:00

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
I always find myself amazed by how much better, quicker, and generally more effectively things get done when software is open source and contributions are welcome.

I mean, really, if this game had been closed, not only would we not have had this port, but even if we did, how much time would we have to wait until the available devs decided to provide new levels, or anything else for that matter.

And I personally didn't care much whether the levels fit the entire screen or had those slight black bars in the corners, but I won't deny that it's nice and aesthetically pleasing for that improvement to have been made.

And all it took is one person with the motivation to spend a few hours on it, and a couple more people posting some information the first person needed.

woussie 2011-01-09 23:01

Re: [Announce] Mokomaze - great opensource Labirynth clone ported to N900
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dwaradzyn (Post 915615)
Yes I have noticed it - when those yellow messages disappear the contents of screen is shifted left.

When a level is finished I wanted to display next level's number and description using yellow notification but due to this bug I could not do that.

This is however an SDL bug, not Mokomaze's one. Mokomaze refreshes only the areas that have changed since last frame. It could refresh the whole screen every frame but that would be quite an overhead and performance penalty and this glitch would be still visible during one frame.

This is a minor issue and I am not planning to correct it.

Actually; this "bug" resolves itself if you set the game resolution to 800*480 - if you do that, the screen content doesn't shift to the left! I just tried that. So if we make all levels in WVGA, maybe you can implement that notification feature that you were talking about ;) ?


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:02.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8