maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Games (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   [Announce] GnGeo-gui (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=72574)

droll 2011-06-09 18:47

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
after the latest upgrade, mine now crashes upon start.

droll 2011-06-09 18:52

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
looking in /opt/gngeo-gui

i tried this:
a) gngeo-gui.py doesn't have the +x permission on it. applied it with chmod.
b) launching it from command line, i see a bunch of errors:
./gngeo-gui.py: line 1: import: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 2: import: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 3: from: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 4: from: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 6: COMMENT_CHAR: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 7: OPTION_CHAR: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 8: syntax error: unexpected "("

Megaltariak 2011-06-09 19:08

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
You are starting a python program like a shell script.
Start it with
python gngeo-gui.py
not with
./gngeo-gui.py
and python programs doesn't need the executable bit, in fact, only native binaries need it.

ade 2011-06-09 19:14

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1025947)
looking in /opt/gngeo-gui

i tried this:
a) gngeo-gui.py doesn't have the +x permission on it. applied it with chmod.
b) launching it from command line, i see a bunch of errors:
./gngeo-gui.py: line 1: import: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 2: import: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 3: from: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 4: from: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 6: COMMENT_CHAR: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 7: OPTION_CHAR: not found
./gngeo-gui.py: line 8: syntax error: unexpected "("

gngeo-gui.py should not have the execute permission. The way you execute it, it is interpreted as shell script. It is not shellscript, but python as the extension already suggest.
Please try to start from the menu. If you really want to execute it from the x-terminal:
Code:

cd /opt/gngeo-gui/
python gngeo-gui.py

If this gives problems, please report the error message.

I see Megaltariak just explained it before I could post my answer :)

droll 2011-06-09 19:28

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
ah thanks guys. my bad - don't really understand python. let me try again.

droll 2011-06-09 19:30

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
/opt/gngeo-gui $ python gngeo-gui.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "gngeo-gui.py", line 3, in <module>
from PySide.QtCore import *
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/__init__.py", line 2, in <module>
import private
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/private.py", line 2, in <module>
from QtCore import __moduleShutdown
ImportError: /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener8instanceEv
/opt/gngeo-gui $

ade 2011-06-09 19:57

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1025976)
/opt/gngeo-gui $ python gngeo-gui.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "gngeo-gui.py", line 3, in <module>
from PySide.QtCore import *
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/__init__.py", line 2, in <module>
import private
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/private.py", line 2, in <module>
from QtCore import __moduleShutdown
ImportError: /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener8instanceEv
/opt/gngeo-gui $

Hmm, this looks more like a broken PySide package or some kind of version conflict.
Could you try the following:
Code:

sudo gainroot
apt-get --reinstall install python-pyside.qtcore

And if it does not help, show me the output of this.

The following command might indicate undefined symbol problems (if you have ldd installed)
Code:

ldd -r /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so
And see if it says something about undefined symbols.

P.s. can any other person confirm a problem after the last update? I cannot reproduce it...

ade 2011-06-09 20:28

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1025976)
/opt/gngeo-gui $ python gngeo-gui.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "gngeo-gui.py", line 3, in <module>
from PySide.QtCore import *
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/__init__.py", line 2, in <module>
import private
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/private.py", line 2, in <module>
from QtCore import __moduleShutdown
ImportError: /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener8instanceEv
/opt/gngeo-gui $

If it is really related to this version of gngeo-gui (which looks unlikely to me), you could revert to the previous version and see if it works again:
Code:

sudo gainroot
apt-get install gngeo-gui=0.0.2-1


droll 2011-06-09 22:41

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Nokia-N900:~# ldd -r /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so'
libpyside-python2.5.so.1.0 => /usr/lib/libpyside-python2.5.so.1.0 (0x40367000)
libpython2.5.so.1.0 => /usr/lib/libpython2.5.so.1.0 (0x4038d000)
libshiboken-python2.5.so.1.0 => /usr/lib/libshiboken-python2.5.so.1.0 (0x404b1000)
libQtCore.so.4 => /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4 (0x404cf000)
libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0x407bd000)
libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0x4089e000)
libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x40914000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x40926000)
libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x40a4b000)
libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x40a6c000)
libutil.so.1 => /lib/libutil.so.1 (0x40a77000)
libz.so.1 => /usr/lib/libz.so.1 (0x40a82000)
libgthread-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgthread-2.0.so.0 (0x40a9a000)
librt.so.1 => /lib/librt.so.1 (0x40aa6000)
libglib-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0 (0x40ab5000)
/lib/ld-linux.so.3 (0x2a000000)
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener8instanceEv (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener6listenEP7QObject (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide7WeakRef6createEP7_objectPFvPvES3_ (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)

guess the problem is on my phone? :(

running apt-get didn't fix the issue.

droll 2011-06-09 23:01

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
prior to upgrading, gngeo-gui worked for me. now installing the previous version also has the same problem - it crashes.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "gngeo-gui.py", line 3, in <module>
from PySide.QtCore import *
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/__init__.py", line 2, in <module>
import private
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/private.py", line 2, in <module>
from QtCore import __moduleShutdown
ImportError: /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener8instanceEv
/opt/gngeo-gui $

droll 2011-06-09 23:31

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
i also have no other dependencies on pyside qtcore other than gngeo-gui. so i went ahead and removed and reinstalled everything. no luck still :(

gleydsonpr 2011-06-10 04:07

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
I haven't update mine yet as I see droll is having problems, anyway what is new in this version? Thanks.

Manatus 2011-06-10 05:39

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
The new version of GnGeo-Gui works for me. However, my installation might not be comparable to a fresh start (meaning I have several gngeo binaries all around the place).

ade 2011-06-10 07:15

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026099)
Nokia-N900:~# ldd -r /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener8instanceEv (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener6listenEP7QObject (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide7WeakRef6createEP7_objectPFvPvES3_ (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)

guess the problem is on my phone? :(


running apt-get didn't fix the issue.

This output confirms me for 99.9% your pyside installation is broken in some way. Gngeo-gui only uses it and of course does no modifications to it. The installation of the new gngeo-gui version has no impact on pyside itself.

It's very hard for me to see what is wrong with pyside.
We could try to deinstall all the pyside packages and reinstall them.

First find out what pyside packages you have:
Code:

dpkg --get-selections|grep -i pyside
Then deinstall all the installed packages:
Code:

sudo gainroot
apt-get remove <installed pyside package>

Then reinstall all the just deinstalled packages:
Code:

apt-get install <deinstalled pyside package>
Then reinstall gngeo-gui

droll 2011-06-10 07:31

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
after doing the above, i now get a segmentation fault when i run gngeo-gui.

ade 2011-06-10 08:31

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026268)
after doing the above, i now get a segmentation fault when i run gngeo-gui.

Gives the "ldd" still the undefined symbol errors?

What if you create and run the following testscript with content:

Code:

import sys
from PySide.QtCore import *
from PySide.QtGui import *
print "test"

Save it as "test.py", and run it with "python test.py"

droll 2011-06-10 08:50

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
ldd = no more undefined errors.
running the above python script = no errors. i see "test" as output.

droll 2011-06-10 08:55

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
i deleted the config file. i see the traceback reaching

line 627, ui = Ui_MainWindow()
line 47, self.gui_opts = parse_config(self,GNGEOGUI_CFG_FILE)
finally, line 19, f = open(filename)

then i see IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/home/user/.gngeo-gui/gngeo-gui.cfg

and finally i see Segmentation fault.

so it seems it's segfaulting after the config file loading part??

ade 2011-06-10 09:04

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026310)
i deleted the config file. i see the traceback reaching

line 627, ui = Ui_MainWindow()
line 47, self.gui_opts = parse_config(self,GNGEOGUI_CFG_FILE)
finally, line 19, f = open(filename)

then i see IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/home/user/.gngeo-gui/gngeo-gui.cfg

and finally i see Segmentation fault.

so it seems it's segfaulting after the config file loading part??

Good news then, the PySide reinstall seems to have helped to correct your PySide issues!

The error you now getting seems logical. If you start gngeo-gui from the menu (not from the xterminal), it will create the needed initial config file.

So please start gngeo-gui from the menu, and your problems may be gone....

droll 2011-06-10 09:10

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
still crashes when i launch from gui. but thanks for the tip for fixing pyside! :) :) :)

nothing to do with the config file i think because i already had the config file from a previous version of gngeo-gui. i was just testing to see if the config file version was incompatible with this version of gngeo-gui and if that could be the cause of the segfault.

ade 2011-06-10 09:19

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026320)
still crashes when i launch from gui. but thanks for the tip for fixing pyside! :) :) :)

nothing to do with the config file i think because i already had the config file from a previous version of gngeo-gui. i was just testing to see if the config file version was incompatible with this version of gngeo-gui and if that could be the cause of the segfault.

It could be we are now facing permission issues because of some manual actions with the config file.
Try:
Code:

sudo gainroot
chown user:users /home/user/.gngeo-gui
chown user:users /home/user/.gngeo-gui/gngeo-gui.cfg

And then start gngeo-gui from the menu.

droll 2011-06-10 09:24

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
same thing. still segfaulting....

droll 2011-06-10 09:30

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
i did a bit of debugging and figured out which line in your code is causing the segfault.

line 80 -> fin,fout = os.popen4(ListCmd)

that line causes the segfault. ListCmd shows a value of "/opt/gngeo/bin/gngeo --scandir=/home/user/MyDocs/roms/neogeo"
when i run that command from the command line, the scandir works fine and neogeo finds all the roms i have in that folder.

ade 2011-06-10 09:31

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026326)
same thing. still segfaulting....

Could you post the current error from the gngeo-gui start within x-terminal?

droll 2011-06-10 09:32

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
the error just says "Segmentation fault" from the command line.

droll 2011-06-10 09:57

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
no matter what i change ListCmd to be

Code:

fin,fout = os.popen("ls -al")

ListCmd = "ps -ef"
fin,fout = os.popen4(ListCmd)

etc

it still crashes with a segmentation fault. is there a bug with Python?! or is my phone the problem? hmmmmmmm.

if i create a test.py with

Code:

import os

fin,fout = os.popen4("ls -al")
print fout.read()

everything works fine.

droll 2011-06-10 10:15

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
anyway, ade, i'll check in again later. gotta run now for something.

thanks for PM-ing me.

ade 2011-06-10 17:40

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Just a quick fixrelease send to the buildserver.

I noticed I had the maxvalue of the keyconfig codes set to 300, while the three most left keys have higher values. Maxvalue is now set to 307.
Next to that, I have have put a version number in the about. In fixrelease version 0.0.3-2 I did not change all the maxvalues, in 0.0.3-3 I did.

droll 2011-06-10 18:17

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
still crashes for me. i think i'm going to try and hack a temporary workaround. sigh.

ade 2011-06-10 18:24

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by droll (Post 1026644)
still crashes for me. i think i'm going to try and hack a temporary workaround. sigh.

This fix has nothing to do with your issue. Perhaps you can answer your PM for that.

gleydsonpr 2011-06-10 18:36

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Can someone tell me what is new or added in this version? I see the update on App Man but don't want to have these issues as the user droll.

ade 2011-06-10 19:11

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gleydsonpr (Post 1026652)
Can someone tell me what is new or added in this version? I see the update on App Man but don't want to have these issues as the user droll.

Changes: see the first post of this thread, or look at the change history in the Application Manager.

The problems droll is facing seem related to his python installation and the related gngeo-gui code has not been changed since the initial release. I have not heard any other users about it.

It's up to you: living on the edge or go for certainty. It is the extra devel repository :) :) :)

droll 2011-06-10 22:58

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
i think it is an issue on my phone. you guys should be able to run the new version without any problems. i might have to hard code something in ade's sources to get it to run on my phone.

gleydsonpr 2011-06-11 05:24

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Thank you both, it is alwais good to have the latest versions of apps, well not alwais... But I feel that I have to update, probably GnGeo emulator will be still the same (very good 'OCled' to 800, good at stock), if not, I try to downgrade hopefully, will report back if any changes.

ivgalvez 2011-06-11 09:10

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
I'm still not able to assign all the keys from a Spanish keyboard.

I can't attach a picture at this moment but I'm trying to use the key at the right of 'p' which is used for accents in the Spanish keyboards '` and fits into Gamegripper layout button A

Seems that with version 0.0.3-3 is unable to use that key.

ade 2011-06-11 10:14

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ivgalvez (Post 1026982)
I'm still not able to assign all the keys from a Spanish keyboard.

I can't attach a picture at this moment but I'm trying to use the key at the right of 'p' which is used for accents in the Spanish keyboards '` and fits into Gamegripper layout button A

Seems that with version 0.0.3-3 is unable to use that key.

Here I found a picture of the Spanish N900 keyboard:
http://www.gsmspain.com/foros/attach/20/206821.jpg

For me, the code is 276. But because it is a special character on the spanish keyboard, I might have to translate it to another value What does it show you when you push it in the keyconfig?

I had made a litte testprogram to read keyvalues, but have thrown it away in the assumption I didn't need it anymore :(
I could recreate it, so we can read your keycodes...

ivgalvez 2011-06-11 11:42

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ade (Post 1027004)
Here I found a picture of the Spanish N900 keyboard:
http://www.gsmspain.com/foros/attach/20/206821.jpg

For me, the code is 276. But because it is a special character on the spanish keyboard, I might have to translate it to another value What does it show you when you push it in the keyconfig?

I had made a litte testprogram to read keyvalues, but have thrown it away in the assumption I didn't need it anymore :(
I could recreate it, so we can read your keycodes...

That's it, but the keyconfig shows nothing.

ade 2011-06-11 11:47

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
1 Attachment(s)
ivgalvez,

Just another question. What is the code you need for the A button when entered manually? I presume that's still 276.

I have attached a python script to test the keycodes.
Could you unzip it, put it on your N900 and execute it with:
Code:

python keypressed.py
Of course I am mostly interested in what value your gamegripper A button returns.

There could be similar differences with for example German keyboards....

Acidspunk 2011-06-11 11:54

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ivgalvez (Post 1027035)
That's it, but the keyconfig shows nothing.

You can try a workaround. Go to settings, input and change the keyboard layout to english, nederlands. I also have one with an Iberian layout and that little trick works wonders with a bunch of apps.

ivgalvez 2011-06-11 18:17

Re: [Announce] GnGeo-gui
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ade (Post 1027042)
ivgalvez,

Just another question. What is the code you need for the A button when entered manually? I presume that's still 276.

I have attached a python script to test the keycodes.
Could you unzip it, put it on your N900 and execute it with:
Code:

python keypressed.py
Of course I am mostly interested in what value your gamegripper A button returns.

There could be similar differences with for example German keyboards....

I have tried your Python script but I think it has the same problem than the Gngeo Gui. When I press the key, no code is shown. Think that this is a modifier key to print an accent over a vowel, so I have to press any other key to obtain a code from the application (and the code is the one from the latest key pressed).


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:38.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8