![]() |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Edit: Quote:
I cannot play some videos from time to time, but IIRC both players should immediately show an error in that case and rebooting helps. No 30-second delays or endless dots. Maybe reinstalling some MAFW-related packages would help? Or resetting Tracker database? Oh, and I don't have the HD codecs installed (using N900 mainly for music). |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
@gidzzz
Btw, with the position fix it seems to work better.. and the number of retries you are required to do before obtain the video are really decreased. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Further tests..
"stracing" openmediaplayer i have discovered that when a video does not starts there is an error "resource not available" calling mafw-gst-renderer. Instead reboot, i have killed mafw-gst-renderer and tryed again the play. Voilą! Video is working! Until the thing is fixed, (WARNING: quick and dirty solution..) i have replaced openmediaplayer with a script that kills mafw-gst-renderer at every start, something like: #!/bin/sh kill -9 $(busybox ps |grep mafw-gst-renderer | grep -v grep | awk '{ print $1}') openmediaplayer.orig $@ kill -9 $(busybox ps |grep mafw-gst-renderer | grep -v grep | awk '{ print $1}') EDIT: Now the scripts kills mafw-gst-renderer also after OMP exits. This avoids that a monster mafw-gst-renderer process of 30/40MB remains loaded in memory (when hanged) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
As I reported some time ago, kill mafw-dbus-wrapper also does the trick, i.e. makes unplayable videos playable without rebooting. Of course xes's solution got much more sense (I think), just wanted to note it, in case it could be important.
/Estel |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
And do you really think that exchanging an integer over D-Bus once per second has any noticeable impact when watching a movie or listening to music? Polling is enabled only when the screen is unlocked AND there's something playing AND you are in Now Playing window AND position slider is visible. IMO the only possible tweak is to reduce the frequency of polling and predict what the playback time should look like in between. Polling still has to take place in case there's some delay in playback and doing it every 5 seconds instead of 1 is a negligible saving to an already negligible matter. Moreover, it comes at the cost of worse synchronization and increased complexity. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Anyway, please don't forget that the syslog messages are just the secondary effect that apperared evident while checking why the playback wasn't starting.
In that situation the phone hasn't an high cpu load and seems to react pretty well. (in fact, the polling doesn't seems to create too much speed problems) The first and real trouble is with mafw-gst-renderer that sometime is freezed not allowing the playback. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
I remember memory leak in dbus-daemon which appeared some years ago which does not free memory for every dbus call. When I called some dbus function every 0.5s after 2 days dbus-daemon has eaten 200MB. Maybe this is fixed, but I do not trust dbus anymore and I will never use it for polling...
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Something undocumented? Grepping for conjunction of "position" and "change" in the sources of libmafw, mafw-gst-renderer and mafw-shared yields nothing interesting. The only position callback is for responding to "get position" request, and that's what OMP uses (and the stock MP too).
Quote:
After that, upon the first attemp to play a video, the screen was black and nothing was happening. A few attempts later I got an error popup ("Unable to play media/Unsupported media") and that's what I 'm getting every time since then (have not restarted the device yet, killing mafw-dbus-wrapper does not help). The error reported by the renderer on D-Bus is "couldn't start node", which apparently has its origin in "/usr/lib/gstreamer-0.10/libgstdsp.so". I have no idea what it means, but the problem does not seem tie lie in MAFW (unless it was the renderer doing funny things and breaking DSP for the whole system), because the camera app was crashing when trying to record a video (now it does not crash anymore, but the view goes black when recording and it still produces broken videos). The only other clue I have found so far is "procwrap_detach: deprecated dspbridge ioctl", which appears in dmesg (I do not remember seeing it before) when trying to play a video using MAFW or when recording. CSSU-thumb, no HD codecs installed. xes, if you started dbus-monitor before playing a video and pasted its output after a failure happens, we could check if that's the same thing or just gather more info. Also check if video recording works and look for anything interesting in dmesg output. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
so...
when mafw-gst-renderer is ~freezed, it seems to continue doing something with the last video i tried to start. (and uses a lot of ram ..reserved: 30-40MB) As soon as i start again openmediaplayer without killing mafw-gst-renderer, if i place an strace to mafw-gst-renderer, i obtain: writev(3, [{"l\2\1\1\223\0\0\0\274\2\0\0\"\0\0\0\6\1s\0\6\0\0 \0:1.477\0\0\5\1u\0!\0\0\0\10\1g\0\4uuis\0\0\0\0\0 \0\0", 56}, {"\6\0\0\0\2\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\202\0\0\0localtagfs::vi deos/%2Fmedia%2Fmmc1%2FFILM%2FcuteTube%2FIron%20Maiden% 20-%20Fear%20of%20the%20Dark%20-%20Rock%20in%20Rio%202013.mp4\0", 147}], 2) = 203 poll([{fd=4, events=POLLIN}, {fd=6, events=POLLIN}, {fd=7, events=POLLIN}, {fd=12, events=POLLIN}, {fd=3, events=POLLIN}], 5, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLIN}]) read(3, "l\4\1\1\24\0\0\0@\0\0\0\226\0\0\0\1\1o\0(\0\0 \0/com/nokia/mafw/source/upnpcontrolsource\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\2\1s\0\30\0\0\0c om.nokia.mafw.extension\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\3\1s\0\20\ 0\0\0property_changed\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\10\1g\0\2sv\ 0\7\1s\0\5\0\0\0:1.68\0\0\0\10\0\0\0activate\0\1b\ 0\1\0\0\0", 2048) = 188 read(3, 0x150fa0, 2048) = -1 EAGAIN (Resource temporarily unavailable) poll([{fd=4, events=POLLIN}, {fd=6, events=POLLIN}, {fd=7, events=POLLIN}, {fd=12, events=POLLIN}, {fd=3, events=POLLIN}], 5, 0) = 0 (Timeout) poll([{fd=4, events=POLLIN}, {fd=6, events=POLLIN}, {fd=7, events=POLLIN}, {fd=12, events=POLLIN}, {fd=3, events=POLLIN}], 5, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLIN}]) read(3, "l\1\0\1\0\0\0\0%\0\0\0\277\0\0\0\6\1s\0<\0\0\0com .nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer\0\0\0\0\1\1o\0$\0\0\0/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer\0\0\0\0\2\1s\0\27\0\0\0com.nokia.mafw. renderer\0\3\1s\0\n\0\0\0get_status\0\0\0\0\0\0\7\ 1s\0\6\0\0\0:1.477\0\0", 2048) = 208 read(3, 0x150fa0, 2048) = -1 EAGAIN (Resource temporarily unavailable) Please note, i have just opened OMP and i'm still at the first window (music/video/radio/random) In the meanwhile, dbus-monitor reports: method call sender=:1.480 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.playlist serial=53 path=/com/nokia/mafw/playlist/6; interface=com.nokia.mafw.playlist; member=get_size method return sender=:1.152 -> dest=:1.480 reply_serial=53 uint32 53 method call sender=:1.480 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=54 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_status method return sender=:1.327 -> dest=:1.480 reply_serial=54 uint32 6 uint32 2 int32 0 string "localtagfs::videos/%2Fmedia%2Fmmc1%2FFILM%2FcuteTube%2FIron%20Maiden% 20-%20Fear%20of%20the%20Dark%20-%20Rock%20in%20Rio%202013.mp4" When everything works, dbus-monitor polls continuosly: method call sender=:1.484 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=121 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position method return sender=:1.481 -> dest=:1.484 reply_serial=121 uint32 62 method call sender=:1.484 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=122 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position method return sender=:1.481 -> dest=:1.484 reply_serial=122 uint32 63 method call sender=:1.484 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=123 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position method return sender=:1.481 -> dest=:1.484 reply_serial=123 uint32 64 method call sender=:1.484 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=124 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position method return sender=:1.481 -> dest=:1.484 reply_serial=124 uint32 65 method call sender=:1.484 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=125 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position method return sender=:1.481 -> dest=:1.484 reply_serial=125 uint32 66 method call sender=:1.484 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=126 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position method return sender=:1.481 -> dest=:1.484 reply_serial=126 uint32 67 method call sender=:1.484 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=127 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position method return sender=:1.481 -> dest=:1.484 reply_serial=127 uint32 68 method call sender=:1.484 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=128 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position method return sender=:1.481 -> dest=:1.484 reply_serial=128 uint32 69 ........fear of the dark? PS: I'm using: cssu thumb hd codecs kp52git Just changed the "quick and dirty" OMP start script here: http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...postcount=1563 |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
when playing flac audio and OMP is on background and xterm windows is visible I see this in dbus-monitor:
Code:
ethod call sender=:1.397 -> dest=com.nokia.mafw.renderer.Mafw-Gst-Renderer-Plugin.gstrenderer serial=1008 path=/com/nokia/mafw/renderer/gstrenderer; interface=com.nokia.mafw.renderer; member=get_position now I looked at stock media player and it not doing any polling. when windows is activated (from task manager or unlocked screen) it call get_position only once. so I think it using some timer to update internal position every second until som stop/pause/error/background/lockscreen signal is not received. so can be this implemented in omp? (sorry I cannot look at it, my devel machine with scratchbox not working :-() |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
xes, by "starting before playing a video" and "pasting after a failure" I meant the time span between starting a video and the moment at which you can be sure that the video which you just started will not be able to be played. What about camera recording and dmesg?
And as I have written before, I doubt it's a problem with OMP, so if I was you, I'd uninstall HD codecs, reinstall MAFW, GStreamer and any extra decoders, reset the Tracker database, and see if that fixes the problem. Quote:
You can check this even without ssh: simply leave the task navigator open so that you can see both the terminal and the stock MP at the same time. You should see the terminal scrolling every second with the same kind of output that you have pasted for OMP. Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
@gidzzz
ok, i will start another debug session. (unfortunately, omp playing a video + dbus-monitor + tail syslog + strace... is a pretty hard set of tasks for the N900 cpu) Talking directly about the problem, i don't think it's related to the hd codecs. In fact, you said that you are experiencing the same behavior and you don't have the hd codecs installed. My opinion is that there is a bug in mafw-gst-renderer or OMP sometimes leaves mafw-gst-renderer in a "strange" condition after the playback. ...But so far is just an idea. Could you check the actions that omp does when closing a running video with the "back" arrow? |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
I started dbus-monitor in xterm and then activated OMP to foreground. I did same with stock MP. And in dbus-monitor there was no periodical polling when stock MP was activated and was playing flac files... Any idea?
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
And why do you insist on on checking it the hardest way? Try with SSH or activate the task switcher and watch the windows side-by-side. Or at least pipe dbus-monitor to something like "grep get_position -A 2" and really, really carefully watch the numbers. Open Media Player 20140219-1 is out. It features some significant changes that were needed for lyrics and video thumbnails to work at all times, and should also make it possible to cleanly implement some interesting stuff like tags via RDS or voice (eSpeak). However, I'm not sure if any of the latter should belong to the core and might be better handled by a plugin system or a customizable shell script. Quote:
The changelog:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
An issue that still exists in the latest thumb version: when gPodder tries to play a podcast when OMP is closed, OMP opens and plays the file that was open when it last closed; if OMP's open the correct file is played.
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
is omp able to play streams piped from stdout?
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
@gidzzz - there is a long standing "feature" in OMP - trying to change the language while in playlist search mode (songs, etc) brings plyback window. That feature comes from https://gitorious.org/qt-mediaplayer...icator.cpp#L76
Now, my understanding is that no application should override system shortcuts unless really needed. Which is not the case here IMO. Please advice on how to proceed (doing MR on gitorious seems too heavy for a one-liner patch) |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Quote:
Open Contacts for example, input language can be switched *before* you've typed anything. And that is more logical than OMP's behaviour, where you have to type something, switch the language, then clear what you've typed, then type again. Not to say that a system-wide shortcut should not be overtaken by an application unless really needed. I don't see why OMP needs exactly ctrl-space for opening the "Now Playing" window. That one could be shift-space, shift-enter or ctrl-enter as well(or some other combo), without breaking language switching capability. Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Quote:
{Ctrl,Shift}+Enter are used for menus. I prefer most shortcuts with Ctrl rather than Shift, so I'd rather have Ctrl+P than Shift+Space. If there are no hard objections or better ideas, I think I can change all instances of Ctrl+Space to Ctrl+P (see http://wiki.maemo.org/Open_Media_Player#Controls for the list of affected contexts) and assign Ctrl+Space to toggle input language in most windows, of course provided I can find out how to do that (it doesn't look like it's as simple as calling something over D-Bus, any hints?). But doesn't that sound like a job for Qt, not individual applications? |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Try it: 1. open google in microb 2. click outside of the search field, 3. type something (so microb address field to appear and you to check your current language). 4. click somewhere on the page (so address field to disappear). 5. Press ctrl-space 6. go to 3 Quote:
Code:
connect(new QShortcut(QKeySequence(Qt::CTRL + Qt::Key_Space), this), SIGNAL(activated()), this, SLOT(openWindow())); ctrl-space is a system-wide shortcut handled by hildon-input-method framework (if I am not mistaken) which switches the currently active input language for the hardware keyboard. The above code makes that sequence be handled by the application(or rather NowPlayingIndicator) itself *when* an object of class NowPlayingIndicator (or its parent) is active(visible). IIUC. So, HIM does not have any chance to switch the language. From Qt help: http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.7/qshortcut.html Code:
A shortcut is "listened for" by Qt's event loop when the shortcut's parent widget is receiving events. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
I understand what QShortcut does and what you're saying, but until now (the example with MicroB) I thought that you have based your claims on not enough apps. I'll install ukeyboard and try some other things tomorrow if I can find a free moment. It would be nice if in the meantime also somebody else could share their observations.
Below are some applications that I've checked, I can't see any interesting pattern here: :(
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
You should try with default mediaplayer, it only starts and stops playing: The ctrl button is fully ignored as normal space does the same!
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Actually it is not pointed to anyone specific but you said that ctrl-space shouldn't be overriden by an application. Well, a good point, seems quite a good guideline and common sense. But, it's a non-existing real requirement as even the default player has not that behaviour and if you look at Gidzzz list, there are even more default application that dont follow that rule.
You, FMG, presented it as an Already existint rule but that's not the case, that rule doesn't exist. Though I agree it should be a rule, even if not all application allow that. It just is more logical; what if a application on desktop overrides all system shortcuts Like alt-tab, how should one switch an application? So in short: That isnt an existing rule/guideline, but I agree it should be one |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
I wonder why is that difference (ukeyboard?). Even if it is because of ukeyboard, I think we should treat it(the shortcut) as a stock system rule, because ukeyboard is the only way I know for non-stock languages to be supported. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Also on my second N900 that shortcut doesn't work. None of these have Ukeyboard installed. So I suppose UKeyboard somehow fixes that
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
I installed ukeyboard, rebooted, disabled QtLockscreen, Qalendar and camkeyd, but it made no difference. Camera Lens Launcher was probably the only non-standard thing running in the background at that time. After tinkering with ukeyboard settings I discovered that with some layouts Ctrl+Space language switching doesn't work at all, and that's it.
Seeing no objections to the new shortcut, I've uploaded an update, although it's Ctrl+L instead of Ctrl+P, because the related Ctrl+Shift+P would cause another collision. The changelog for OMP 20140307-1:
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
A feature request: to download lyrics for track(s) from selected provider (if there exist). For some artists the lyrics on darklyrics are inaccurate, for other they are, but lyrics wiki is inaccurate. And changing the global settings isn't handy...
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Maybe a "Get Lyrics" Action item in Now Playing could solve both problems. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
It used to be, when I pressed a song in a play-list, it started palying, and then continued to play the rest of the play-list.
Now, for about two(ish) versions, when I press a song in a play-list, nothing happens. This is for old and new play-lists. The only workaround is to long press a song or play-list and select "Add to currently playing". Is anyone else seeing this issue? Is there any way I can debug it? Thanks. |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
As a temporary workaround you can tap and highlight the first song then press up key and enter for shuffle or enter for play. There is no debug information in a terminal. It affects all automatic and saved playlists. I have also noticed "Recently played" and "Most played" are stuck on "3 songs" in Playlist menu, but I have actually played "38 songs" when I open them which is correct. Not sure if this is tracker related issue. Not sure if this is also related but my first saved playlist is now corrupt for some reason. 90 songs worth of "Information not available". |
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
After the last update, I had no music listed, and the play lists said similar. After I forced a tracker restart and did a reboot, it all came back as normal. You could see if the songs in that play list are listed, and/or try a tracker restart?
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Quote:
Quote:
OMP 20140326-1:
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Playlist bug confirmed fixed on my device (at least). Many thanks. :)
|
Re: [ANNOUNCE] Alpha release of Open Media Player
Please add an option to stretch video to whole screen & ability to cycle between audio streams during video playback. Ability to use external audio stream (i.e. separate file) would be great as well. :rolleyes:
|
All times are GMT. The time now is 23:27. |
vBulletin® Version 3.8.8