maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=12660)

fanoush 2008-07-07 21:35

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
Yes, just checked and the problem is mainly in newer system version. The line
Code:

OSVER=$(cut -d _ -f 2 /etc/osso_software_version)
in btkbd script sets OSVER variable to DIABLO now, not 2008SE like in previous system. Quick fix is to modify btkbd and add second line to set it back to known value
Code:

OSVER=$(cut -d _ -f 2 /etc/osso_software_version)
[ "$OSVER" = "DIABLO" ] && OSVER=2008SE

With this line it mostly works. There is some minor issue with setting key repeat rate, will try to fix it and update kbdd.tar.gz archive.

fanoush 2008-07-07 23:09

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
OK, fixed for Diablo and uploaded. For OS2008 now it also turns bluetooth adapter on if it is currently turned off (= no bt icon in statusbar).

kudos1uk 2008-07-08 22:56

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fanoush (Post 200409)
OK, fixed for Diablo and uploaded. For OS2008 now it also turns bluetooth adapter on if it is currently turned off (= no bt icon in statusbar).

I can't access your site at the moment.

I added

Code:

[ "$OSVER" = "DIABLO" ] && OSVER=2008SE
which got it working again

are there other changes I can just edit in my existing file?

Thanks T

fanoush 2008-07-10 13:07

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kudos1uk (Post 200699)
are there other changes I can just edit in my existing file?

Yes, setting keyboard repeat rate didn't work in Diablo too and there is also code that tries to enable bluetooth before searching for keyboard. Both changes are not critical.

kudos1uk 2008-07-11 21:02

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
Wish I had left it alone, now when I enter (as root) ./btkbd in terminal I get:

/bin/sh: ./btkbd: permission denied

fanoush 2008-07-12 06:57

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
chmod +x btkbd should fix it, maybe you copied it to/from memory card? FAT filesystem cannot store executable permission flag

kudos1uk 2008-07-12 11:16

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
Thanks your right I did use a memory card.

That stopped the error but it still does not connect, in terminal is enter ./btkbd and get:

"root shell enabled" screen goes white for a second as the onscreen keyboard goes.

but then nothing more.

If I "sudo gainroot" first I get the same but as expected without the "root shell enabled"

I downloded the file again directly to my N800 and replaced everything, then copied and pasted my old config file into the new one but thill the same - nothing.

I enabled debug but cant find a log file anyware.

Any thoughts what could be wrong, my config file was fine before so I dont understand why this does not work with the exact same config?

kudos1uk 2008-07-13 10:20

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
OK this is very wierd,

when I download and set up, nothing works.

If I replace btkbd with my old one that I had added:

Code:

[ "$OSVER" = "DIABLO" ] && OSVER=2008SE
it all work again?

Quote:

kbdd.tar.gz - this now includes support for OS2008
Is this the correct file on your site? When I open btkbbd I can't find diablo mentioned which leads me to this this is the older copy which did not support diablo which would explain why its not working for me?

kudos1uk 2008-07-13 10:47

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
For me at least: http://fanoush.wz.cz/maemo/kbdd.tar.gz

does not work with Diablo unless I add the line

Code:

[ "$OSVER" = "DIABLO" ] && OSVER=2008SE
too btkbd, i'm sure it must be an old copy of the file

Im up and working which is the main thing

fanoush 2008-07-22 08:08

Re: OS2008 and iPaq Bluetooth kbd
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kudos1uk (Post 202422)
For me at least: http://fanoush.wz.cz/maemo/kbdd.tar.gz

does not work with Diablo unless I add the line

Code:

[ "$OSVER" = "DIABLO" ] && OSVER=2008SE
too btkbd, i'm sure it must be an old copy of the file

Yes, it is old copy, just redownload. Can be also bug in your browser or some web proxy on the way to you. I tried to download it with Firefox and it always gives me new version which is fixed for Diablo.


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:50.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8