maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Maemo 5 / Fremantle (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95 (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=49903)

niv 2010-05-15 23:36

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
forum: email me , when new post in here

damagedspline 2010-06-01 03:05

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
I started looking at the waze code at the direction of attempting to port it to QT.
I'm new to QT and also to the waze code, but as far as I've seen ( 2 hrs) the protocol code is wrapped in roadmap_input.c among other c files.
I thought about creating a QT widget that will be a start for a replacement to the agg canvas.
Once I have a base widget that wraps the base protocol and draws an hardcoded location... Well, I'll call it a success. (it may take months...)

I'll create a source repository and upload my current workarea in the next couple of days so anyone with C/C++ or QT knowledge can help or take control.

I think that there are 2 threads directly related to waze on n900 that can be merged.

eitama 2010-06-13 14:40

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by damagedspline (Post 692878)
I started looking at the waze code at the direction of attempting to port it to QT.
I'm new to QT and also to the waze code, but as far as I've seen ( 2 hrs) the protocol code is wrapped in roadmap_input.c among other c files.
I thought about creating a QT widget that will be a start for a replacement to the agg canvas.
Once I have a base widget that wraps the base protocol and draws an hardcoded location... Well, I'll call it a success. (it may take months...)

I'll create a source repository and upload my current workarea in the next couple of days so anyone with C/C++ or QT knowledge can help or take control.

I think that there are 2 threads directly related to waze on n900 that can be merged.

Any updates my dear friend?

damagedspline 2010-06-13 19:41

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eitama (Post 713210)
Any updates my dear friend?

:)
The only update I can give for now is that I am currently working on the compilation environment through the QTCreator. I am now at a phase where I am looking for all of the must have stub functions that require reimplementation.

Since Waze was only compiled with makefiles for iphone (in contrast to roadmap) it is taking sometime to add QT build manifest. Thank God that atleast QTCreator has auto makefile generator.

I am in an argument with myself whether to go opengl with that or not.

Once I create the stub functions with TODOs body I'll upload it to a source control site as GPL.

Joorin 2010-06-13 20:16

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
After a quick look, this looks very much like a C backend with some windows on top where the GUI is dictated by the platform.

The source bundle include freetype, libz and libpng which makes it a bit ... swollen. Compiling the backend and then using Qt (or GTK+) for widgets looks like the right way to move forward.

niv 2010-09-14 22:05

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
posted a bounty on this:
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...986#post815986

ZogG 2011-03-11 19:10

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
There is API for WEB so we can make app with Qt Webkit

damagedspline 2011-05-11 05:34

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ZogG (Post 965940)
There is API for WEB so we can make app with Qt Webkit

I've had a few days off, so I made an attempt with QML against the waze test site.

So far it shows the map, allow pan & zoom.

Downsides:
1) maps cannot be cached so it depends on 100% internet connection
2) find address API requires callback function - I'll need to see what to do about that
3) I dont know if their API allow setting the "up" to be other than north
4) navigation is possible, but currently will lack voice guidance (eg. "turn right")

Update:
After a small POC, it is possible but does require 100% internet connection.
Implementation will be tough. I will finish the address search feature and upload it somewhere (dont expect much, its just a POC)

damagedspline 2011-05-13 16:41

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
1 Attachment(s)
So far I got the following in pure QML:
1) map showing
2) zoom-in/out
3) panning left/right/up/down
4) location awareness ("show my location" button is working)

i was unable to implement the search - for now.

to have a test run at what is currently running:
1)
Code:

apt-get install libqtm-12-dec* qt4-experimental-declarative-qmlviewer
2) upzip the attached file to some directory
3) in terminal change to the dir you extracted and run
Code:

qmlviewer -I /opt/qtm12/imports main.qml
I will upload all that I have for now to source controled site so that if any with to help, there will be a way.
Once I do that, I will create a new thread with Announce statement.

dimbert 2011-05-13 23:54

Re: [Workaround] I bought the N900, but I am missing WAZE which ran great on my N95
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by damagedspline (Post 1005636)
So far I got the following in pure QML:
1) map showing
2) zoom-in/out
3) panning left/right/up/down
4) location awareness ("show my location" button is working)

i was unable to implement the search - for now.

to have a test run at what is currently running:
1)
Code:

apt-get install libqtm-12-dec* qt4-experimental-declarative-qmlviewer
2) upzip the attached file to some directory
3) in terminal change to the dir you extracted and run
Code:

qmlviewer -I /opt/qtm12/imports main.qml
I will upload all that I have for now to source controled site so that if any with to help, there will be a way.
Once I do that, I will create a new thread with Announce statement.

Great Job!!! Keep on that!


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:54.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8