maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Maemo 5 / Fremantle (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=68294)

ade 2011-11-14 19:30

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
Pali,

I do get a 3 as return value in both cases.

But it may very well be caused by my test: my TV does not have a video-in plugin, so I used the "Y Pb Pr" connector, which gives me a black and white display of my N900 screen. Maybe the "wrong" connector influences the return value. In that case it is just a bad testcase from my part and not a bug.

pali 2011-11-14 19:30

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
This code is in kernel module nokia-av, file kernel-2.6.28/drivers/misc/nokia-av.c

Code:

enum {
        UNKNOWN,
        HEADPHONES, /* or line input cable or external mic */
        VIDEO_CABLE,
        OPEN_CABLE,
        BASIC_HEADSET,
};

And statusmenu plugin read value each 5 seconds and if output is 2 show status menu button (otherwise hide).

2 = VIDEO_CABLE
3 = OPEN_CABLE

So problem is maybe in kernel.

pali 2011-11-14 19:35

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ade (Post 1123555)
Pali,

I do get a 3 as return value in both cases.

But it may very well be caused by my test: my TV does not have a video-in plugin, so I used the "Y Pb Pr" connector, which gives me a black and white display of my N900 screen. Maybe the "wrong" connector influences the return value. In that case it is just a bad testcase from my part and not a bug.

If you did not get output on your TV, then it is ok that status menu plugin is not visible. Status menu plugin should be visible only when TV output is ready.

ade 2011-11-14 19:49

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
I do get output, but in B&W (by using the Y plug from Y Pb Pr for the video signal instead of video-in).
It's logical the plugin does not appear when the value does not change. Most likely it's because of the different signal it returns and no bug. Sorry I can't test it on a proper video-in (my TV is too recent to still support it :().

maacruz 2011-11-15 00:10

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
After a full reboot (there goes my uptime :-( )all the settings work.
kernel detection still refuses to work (tested with stock nokia kernel and my own build)

pali 2011-11-15 07:21

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
Stupid question, but is your TV ouput (on TV) working if kernel detection not? I think that kernel sysfs file is used if output could be enabled or not.

Gusse 2011-11-15 08:04

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
I notided quite huge battery drain right after installing these 3 files from Pali's directory. I rebooted, took battery off, but didn't change drain.

Now, recovered with backupmenu. Let's see if things are back to normal.
Anybody else noticed extensive battery drain?

EDIT: After backup all OK again.

maacruz 2011-11-15 15:12

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pali (Post 1123772)
Stupid question, but is your TV ouput (on TV) working if kernel detection not? I think that kernel sysfs file is used if output could be enabled or not.

TV output works fine (tested with a variety of devices).
dmesg shows the gpio headphones message each time I plug in the cable.
nokia-av.ko shows nothing strange in dmesg at insertion and removal.

maacruz 2011-11-16 13:23

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusse (Post 1123786)
I notided quite huge battery drain right after installing these 3 files from Pali's directory. I rebooted, took battery off, but didn't change drain.

Now, recovered with backupmenu. Let's see if things are back to normal.
Anybody else noticed extensive battery drain?

I can confirm a battery drain of about 8%/hour with the device idle in flight mode.
The drain persisted after uninstalling the debs and forcing a hildon-statusmenu restart (didn't restarted hildon-desktop though) till I rebooted the device (no time to try restarting hildon-desktop). No noticeable cpu usage associated to the battery drain.

pali 2011-11-16 14:52

Re: [ANNOUNCE] TV out control home plugin
 
Can you check if this same battery drain problem is wil OLD tvout control desktop widget too?


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:10.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8