maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;) (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=73068)

MasterZap 2011-05-17 13:25

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by thegman (Post 1008112)
I used this bit of python code (uses dbus) for listening to CellID changes when I threw together "Rest in Peace": http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...628#post428628

It could be modified for your needs to only ask location updates when the CellID changes

Thanks... not sure I need that, since when position is set to cell id, you only get updates when position changes anyway.

The trick is that my code is totally based around a sort of loop that enables the whole location subsystem at given intervals, which is backwards to the way it need to be if I need to listen to location changes instead... so either way it's a bit of "turning the code inside out" to make this do what I want for cell tower changes.

Not a high priority to fix, but I'm surely thinking about it.

But many thanks!!

/Z

morti 2011-05-17 13:54

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Still having issues when ZapLoc is running in background mode and fails to get a perfect gps lock, e.g.
- In offline mode (no signal)
- Indoors (coarse location)

It seems the daemon keeps trying to get a lock for a long time (gps icon is almost constantly flashing in status bar), which quickly drains the battery.

Is there or should there be some kind of a timeout in place for when the phone fails to get a location or gets only cell location?

Anyone else having the same issue?

MasterZap 2011-05-17 13:59

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
I still havn't solved the offline thing.

Also, I simply wait until 3 samples come in. I guess when it finds zero GPS, then there will not come in any samples. So yeah, a timeout..... sounds smart.

Can anybody help me figure out how to detect off-lined-ness from Python? I sure can't.

/Z

morti 2011-05-17 14:21

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
I'm less worried about the offline thing, since for now I can just turn off background updates, in the future command line options will make this even easier, and anyway I'm sure you'll find a solution sooner or later.

But do you think the same issue can be causing the battery loss during weak signal? This is my biggest/only concern currently with the otherwise excellent software ;)

thegman 2011-05-17 14:38

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Can anybody help me figure out how to detect off-lined-ness from Python? I sure can't.
This should work from the shell (untested):
Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.get_device_mode
If it does, you should be able to fire the same dbus call from python

Edit:
Just tested it, and it returns "flight" or "normal" depending on device mode (flight === offline)

rmayrink 2011-05-17 15:11

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Any news about map bug?

Thanks.

MasterZap 2011-05-17 16:38

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by morti (Post 1008207)
I'm less worried about the offline thing, since for now I can just turn off background updates, in the future command line options will make this even easier, and anyway I'm sure you'll find a solution sooner or later.

But do you think the same issue can be causing the battery loss during weak signal? This is my biggest/only concern currently with the otherwise excellent software ;)

Command line options are coming for sure; I loved that idea.

/Z

MasterZap 2011-05-17 18:08

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rmayrink (Post 1008240)
Any news about map bug?

Thanks.

The south-of-the-equator issue? Yep, 'tis fixed. It was a stupid mistake in the code. I had forgotten half the planet :)

Get the new version, it's fixed.

/Z

Reflektorfalke 2011-05-17 19:06

Re: *ZapLoc* - Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;) - testers wanted
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Reflektorfalke (Post 1007711)
I have authorized ZapLoc with my Facebook account successfully.
But whenever I hit the Facebook places button after searching for a second or two (showing the moving 110101 signs) it gives me an error, in XTerm it tells me
" Unexpected error: <class ´urllib2.HTTPError´> "

Anyone knows what the problem is here?

Hi MasterZap,

sorry for asking once again, but as you haven´t replied so far I assume you missed my post!?

Just updated to latest version and still have this urllib2 error - any idea whats wrong?

EDIT:
SOLVED by purging, reinstalling and reauthorizing to Facebook using MicroB instead of Opera Mobile. Seems like authorization does not complete correctly.

rmayrink 2011-05-17 19:08

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MasterZap (Post 1008427)
The south-of-the-equator issue? Yep, 'tis fixed. It was a stupid mistake in the code. I had forgotten half the planet :)

Get the new version, it's fixed.

/Z

No update available this time (apt-get update/upgrade as root). I did an update today, but the problem still happens. The update is already available?

EDIT 1: I will try to remove e install ZapLoc again.
EDIT 2: Version 0.9.4-27 installed: Same error.
EDIT 3: From terminal and ZapLoc showing "Loading":

~ $ /opt/zaploc/zaploc.py
Daemon is not running - starting it
Starting ZapLoc daemon:
Location method Cell-tower
5 minutes between samples
(-15.809755073860288, -47.84617337398231, nan, 1048.0)
(-15.801646169275045, -47.842374695464969, 59240.0, 1048.0)
(-15.801646169275045, -47.842374695464969, 59240.0, 1048.0)
(-15.801646169275045, -47.842374695464969, 59240.0, 1048.0)
(-15.810280367732048, -47.846128363162279, 21456.0, 1053.0)
Et tu, Brute...


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:08.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8