maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Introducing BlueMaemo (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=24396)

allnameswereout 2008-11-02 11:01

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Unfortunately, the BlueTooth applet in Intrepid's GNOME is a bit broken. Intrepid just came out, so expect some rough edges to be fixed. If you know what package the KDE program you're using is in you could install that package on Ubuntu and use this applet in Ubuntu's GNOME.

Or follow this procedure: first, install the package bluez-compat using your package manager. Now, put BlueTooth on the N810 visisble. Then use hcitool to scan. After you got the BlueTooth address, write it down (in case for usage next time). Now use hidd to connect.

One could put something like

Code:

#!/bin/bash
hidd --connect uu:vv:ww:yy:xx:zz

In a file called btnit.sh
Then chmod this +x
And put this on the desktop or in ~/bin

Then you can easily make it work.

Kytrix 2008-11-02 18:31

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Thanks it works !

i didn"t get the double dash !!

Kytrix 2008-11-02 21:08

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
IT IS ANSOME !
here is my script on my computer :

Code:

#!/bin/bash
sudo  hidd --connect 00:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

next i add the following line with visudo:

Code:

myuser ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/hidd
for the next section you need ssh on tablet, computer with keys working (so ssh can connect without password but with secure keys)

i run on my tablet :
Code:

]sudo bluemaemo & sleep 10 && ssh myuser@mycomputer_ip /home/myuser/software/scripts/bluemaemo.sh
and now i can connect on my computer without touch it ;)

so fun :)


Thanks guys.

allnameswereout 2008-11-02 21:43

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Good one.

Here is a guide to set up SSH RSA keys (don't have to contain a password, but that is recommended). You have to set this up on the NIT.

I suppose some people use Windows or MacOS X on their computer. It'd be interesting if there are some command line utilities for setting this up remotely on these OSes. A guide like the one by Kytrix is appreciated.

Laughing Man 2008-11-03 03:15

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
I've never been able to get past this step.

ssh-copy-id -i ~/.ssh/id_rsa.pub username@host

I've tried the command both from the server (my tablet using username@host being my laptop or desktop). And vice versa my laptop or desktop to the server (thus username@host being my tablet). Neither works..

Kytrix 2008-11-03 09:17

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
you have to clean on server files .ssh/authorized_keys and authorized_keys2 if never used before
in state of ssh-copy-id you can scp your key.pub from client to .ssh/ on server
then connect on server and do : cat key.pub > authorized_keys
sometimes it's authorized_keys2

on the client do cleaning in .ssh/know_hosts .. duplicate keys can doing mess.

.. try to connect and look at /var/log/auth.log on server

on client do ssh -vv user@server and look messages

you can also try a DSA key by : ssh-keygen -r dsa

first times it's sometimes not easy to get it works, but after it works like a charm !

Kytrix.

allnameswereout 2008-11-03 12:33

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Kytrix you are using > this means the file is erased. You need to use >> in case the user already made her own authorized_keys. In general, one doesn't have to delete these unless one knows what one is doing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Laughing Man (Post 238914)
I've never been able to get past this step.

ssh-copy-id -i ~/.ssh/id_rsa.pub username@host

I've tried the command both from the server (my tablet using username@host being my laptop or desktop). And vice versa my laptop or desktop to the server (thus username@host being my tablet). Neither works..

On the NIT you create your key. Then you copy this to your server (with scp or ssh-copy-id). Then you add the content to ~/.ssh/authorized_keys. Then you might have to enable public key authentication in the server SSHd: make sure PubkeyAuthentication is set to yes in /etc/ssh/sshd_config and restart SSHd with /etc/init.d/ssh restart (might differ a bit per OS but in general this is the way to Rome).

Laughing Man 2008-11-03 23:44

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Hmm, not sure if it's using it though (Pubkeyauthentication is set to yes in the ssdh_config).And I did copy the key (though manually by hand over [opened text editors for both and copied and pasted]. I just don't know if it's actually using it or not.

allnameswereout 2008-11-04 00:45

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Aha. Then, ssh -v to the host, and check what it says. Or read the syslog on the sshd host.

Laughing Man 2008-11-04 04:00

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Code:

vforviktor@vendetta-laptop:~$ ssh user@192.168.1.104 -v -p 666
OpenSSH_5.1p1 Debian-3ubuntu1, OpenSSL 0.9.8g 19 Oct 2007
debug1: Reading configuration data /etc/ssh/ssh_config
debug1: Applying options for *
debug1: Connecting to 192.168.1.104 [192.168.1.104] port 666.
debug1: Connection established.
debug1: identity file /home/vforviktor/.ssh/identity type -1
debug1: identity file /home/vforviktor/.ssh/id_rsa type -1
debug1: identity file /home/vforviktor/.ssh/id_dsa type -1
debug1: Remote protocol version 2.0, remote software version OpenSSH_4.7p1  Debian-12.maemo2
debug1: match: OpenSSH_4.7p1  Debian-12.maemo2 pat OpenSSH*
debug1: Enabling compatibility mode for protocol 2.0
debug1: Local version string SSH-2.0-OpenSSH_5.1p1 Debian-3ubuntu1
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEXINIT sent
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEXINIT received
debug1: kex: server->client aes128-cbc hmac-md5 none
debug1: kex: client->server aes128-cbc hmac-md5 none
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEX_DH_GEX_REQUEST(1024<1024<8192) sent
debug1: expecting SSH2_MSG_KEX_DH_GEX_GROUP
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEX_DH_GEX_INIT sent
debug1: expecting SSH2_MSG_KEX_DH_GEX_REPLY
debug1: Host '[192.168.1.104]:666' is known and matches the RSA host key.
debug1: Found key in /home/vforviktor/.ssh/known_hosts:1
debug1: ssh_rsa_verify: signature correct
debug1: SSH2_MSG_NEWKEYS sent
debug1: expecting SSH2_MSG_NEWKEYS
debug1: SSH2_MSG_NEWKEYS received
debug1: SSH2_MSG_SERVICE_REQUEST sent
debug1: SSH2_MSG_SERVICE_ACCEPT received
debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey,password
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/vforviktor/.ssh/identity
debug1: Trying private key: /home/vforviktor/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/vforviktor/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Next authentication method: password


I'm guessing that it's not working since it's trying the next authentication method?

And on a sidenote: Bah, stupid Vista. I uninstalled the drivers for my bluetooth dongle, and now it won't reinstall.

Thesandlord 2008-11-04 04:57

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
is anyone having problems running ssh in the new ubuntu 8.10? Before, everything worked fine, but now it says that the display can not be found and stuff. I am not trying to x-forward, just use normal ssh to control the computer! I WANT it to run on the server, not the nokia, but nothing works.

$ ssh -l name@ip firefox
cannot find display (or something like that)

I have dsa keys already setup, and they work...

Nothing works, but I have not tried cmd line apps yet... It would be great if i could get the auto connect to work...

Kytrix 2008-11-04 08:28

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
There was problem with somes keys,
look at your host messages (/var/log/auth i guess)
if you get a message like
48:de:55:22:xx:yy:zz:yy:xx:yy:zz:yy::88:e8:87:47 blacklisted (see ssh-vulnkey(1))
that's you need to re-create your key on client and re-send on host.

Kytrix

allnameswereout 2008-11-04 16:10

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Thesandlord (Post 239191)
is anyone having problems running ssh in the new ubuntu 8.10? Before, everything worked fine, but now it says that the display can not be found and stuff. I am not trying to x-forward, just use normal ssh to control the computer! I WANT it to run on the server, not the nokia, but nothing works.

$ ssh -l name@ip firefox
cannot find display (or something like that)

I have dsa keys already setup, and they work...

Nothing works, but I have not tried cmd line apps yet... It would be great if i could get the auto connect to work...

Try ssh -l user@ip DISPLAY=:0.0 firefox

qole 2008-11-04 17:41

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Thesandlord (Post 239191)
is anyone having problems running ssh in the new ubuntu 8.10? Before, everything worked fine, but now it says that the display can not be found and stuff. I am not trying to x-forward, just use normal ssh to control the computer!

$ ssh -l name@ip firefox
cannot find display (or something like that)

I have dsa keys already setup, and they work...

Nothing works, but I have not tried cmd line apps yet...

You realize that if you don't use X-Forwarding, you can only do command line apps, right? Graphical apps require X-Forwarding or VNC.

Unless... you're trying to start an application from the ssh command line, and have it run on your primary computer's display?

Kytrix 2008-11-04 20:22

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
maybe he just want to launch firefox on remote computer Xorg ...

Thesandlord 2008-11-04 20:29

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by qole (Post 239322)
Unless... you're trying to start an application from the ssh command line, and have it run on your primary computer's display?

Exactly. I have no idea why this is not working. I'll try some stuff like the DISPLAY and see what happens.

But, does anyone use the new ubuntu and have these problems? Is it to do with the new Xorg configuration (or lack thereof)?
Code:

ssh thesandlord@172.16.10.13
Linux thesandlord-desktop 2.6.27-7-generic #1 SMP Thu Oct 30 04:18:38 UTC 2008 i686

The programs included with the Ubuntu system are free software;
the exact distribution terms for each program are described in the
individual files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright.

Ubuntu comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by
applicable law.

To access official Ubuntu documentation, please visit:
http://help.ubuntu.com/
Last login: Mon Nov  3 19:37:49 2008 from 172.16.10.50
thesandlord@thesandlord-desktop:~$ firefox
Error: no display specified
thesandlord@thesandlord-desktop:~$ rhythmbox
Cannot open display:
Run 'rhythmbox --help' to see a full list of available command line options.
thesandlord@thesandlord-desktop:~$

It also looks like 8.10 hates static IP, so now my internet is broken. Back to 8.04 for me...

Edit: I don't want to hijack this thread, and I don't think its a tablet problem, so...

allnameswereout 2008-11-05 02:27

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
No, it has nothing to do with Ubuntu.

I told you:

DISPLAY=:0.0 firefox

Now, listen.

Laughing Man 2008-11-05 04:37

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kytrix (Post 239219)
There was problem with somes keys,
look at your host messages (/var/log/auth i guess)
if you get a message like
48:de:55:22:xx:yy:zz:yy:xx:yy:zz:yy::88:e8:87:47 blacklisted (see ssh-vulnkey(1))
that's you need to re-create your key on client and re-send on host.

Kytrix

Hmm the only file in /var/log/ is crontab.

I guess I'll check if logging is enabled in sshd_config. Don't know why I'm doing all this hehe.. I still gotta plug in the bluetooth dongle into my laptop when I wanna use it.

Thesandlord 2008-11-05 05:29

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
The DISPLAY worked, even though it is horribly slow... Due to a number of problems, im switching back to 8.04 or Mint, in which Bluemaemo work perfectly, ssh did not need all this complicated stuff, networking actually allowed static IP...

allnameswereout 2008-11-05 15:54

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
8.10 just came out. Give it some time. Any new software release has rough edges. 8.10 (+ GNOME) also has some issues with BlueTooth. People report issues with suspend to RAM (I can confirm).

If you SSH into a computer it should not have a DISPLAY variable set. You have to do this manually. It should not be horribly slow, and this shouldn't have anything to do with SSH because the command is running remotely. Does it work fast when you run the application local? If you put ssh -fXT user@ip DISPLAY=:0.0 $1 in script.sh, chmod +x, and then ./script.sh firefox you have no TTY is assigned and the command is forked into the background. It then runs remotely, and shows on remote screen.

If you'd add the -X flag to the ssh command you'd run it local without assigning TTY, forking in background. You can also add -C for compression (but overhead on lil NIT might or might not be worth it; I don't know).

You can also run QtNX a client for running remote X applications with low latency, heavy compression, and resuming on the server. Its like a 'screen for X' with the speed of RDP.

Latter 2 are for showing the application on the NIT running the app remotely.

PS: If you run nothing on the remote computer except a plain X server with no apps running, and you fire up Firefox, a lot of libraries have to be loaded. This takes some time. If you'd already run GNOME (with GTK2, and a lot of other libraries) many of these libraries are already loaded. [This is only true for shared libraries; but that is the case here.]

Kytrix 2008-11-12 09:18

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
There is a way to get bluemaemo work over wifi ?
.. maybe another program can do that ?

.. because i would use it on a computer without bluetooth
(not want a dongle too)

Kytrix.

VDVsx 2008-11-12 11:28

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kytrix (Post 241263)
There is a way to get bluemaemo work over wifi ?

Kytrix.

No, to do that, all the communications process must be rewrite, and also you will need a app in your computer to receive and process the events (a different app for each OS).

tso 2008-11-12 15:59

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
thats, imo, a strength of bluetooth over wifi or wusb. it defines specific protocols/profiles for different things.

with wifi or (w)usb, there is just the "cable", the rest one need to come up with each time more or less.

still, i think intel was working on turning wifi into some kind of bluetooth using multiple ad-hoc connections. im not sure if they plan to include profiles tho...

traveller604 2008-11-12 17:00

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Sure would be suh-weet if it worked with Mac ;)

HeadbangerX 2008-11-20 15:39

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Anybody know of anyway to make it reconnect? I know that reconnect will be added to the program, but I figure there has to be some BT managing software for Vista that makes it automatically reconnect. Love this app, but it isn't really useful or practical without being able to reconnect.

FRZ 2008-11-20 19:54

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Can I use this as a tv remote? If so, what kinda of TV does it support? Thanks

VDVsx 2008-11-20 20:03

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by FRZ (Post 243502)
Can I use this as a tv remote? If so, what kinda of TV does it support? Thanks

You can use if the Tv supports the Bluetooth HID profile, I don't know any Tv that support that profile.

slip 2008-11-21 22:29

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Feature Request: Add Vertical Scroll Bar to Keyboard Mode

It would be great if there was a scroll bar in the keyboard mode, just like the one that is in the mouse mode. This would be especially useful when doing internet browsing, because you often have to scroll down when viewing longer web pages. Since the keyboard mode already has a small "touchpad" area for mouse movement, you could really just use this one mode for lots of web browsing behaviors.

Added to Garage feature request list:
https://garage.maemo.org/tracker/ind...=765&atid=2867

peterbird 2008-12-21 09:37

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HeadbangerX (Post 243438)
Anybody know of anyway to make it reconnect? I know that reconnect will be added to the program, but I figure there has to be some BT managing software for Vista that makes it automatically reconnect. Love this app, but it isn't really useful or practical without being able to reconnect.

I agree wonderful app but without auto connection not yet practical on our htpc. Anybody got this working somehow. BlueMaemo works wonderful on my htpc except for the connect issue. If I could solve that it would sure become my default controller.


thanks,

peter

allnameswereout 2008-12-21 15:37

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by VDVsx (Post 243504)
You can use if the Tv supports the Bluetooth HID profile, I don't know any Tv that support that profile.

In theory one could use a STB + (flat) screen + DVB to get this working, but the software (e.g. MythTV) has to support this as well.

Just wondering though. Is anyone using this together with thier phone?

bhaskarm 2008-12-22 04:33

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by peterbird (Post 251393)
I agree wonderful app but without auto connection not yet practical on our htpc. Anybody got this working somehow. BlueMaemo works wonderful on my htpc except for the connect issue. If I could solve that it would sure become my default controller.


thanks,

peter

Same situation here. It works great with my HTPC but i uninstalled it after a day since it would not reconnect. Still waiting for the next version that will implement this feature.

phutterman 2008-12-22 07:06

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Hey so...I just tried it on my Mac and it worked beautifully...I just had to lie to it and say the question mark was to the left of right shift.

Did something change? Is my Mac just special?

EDIT: Keyboard and mouse work fine. Connection must be initiated from the machine (as expected). The only drawback so far is that I'm unsure if it's possible/how to send a Command key with it, as lot's of things are easier with that key...I think Macs treat Meta/Windows keys as Cmd, so not sure if the N810/Bluemaemo can send it.

Otherwise, though it's great. Works well for FrontRow, and saved me buying an Apple Remote.

VDVsx 2008-12-22 15:21

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bhaskarm (Post 251630)
Same situation here. It works great with my HTPC but i uninstalled it after a day since it would not reconnect. Still waiting for the next version that will implement this feature.

I will try to implement the reconnection feature ASAP, right now I'm swamped with University assignments :(

Cheers.

VDVsx 2008-12-22 15:25

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by phutterman (Post 251654)
Hey so...I just tried it on my Mac and it worked beautifully...I just had to lie to it and say the question mark was to the left of right shift.

Did something change? Is my Mac just special?

EDIT: Keyboard and mouse work fine. Connection must be initiated from the machine (as expected). The only drawback so far is that I'm unsure if it's possible/how to send a Command key with it, as lot's of things are easier with that key...I think Macs treat Meta/Windows keys as Cmd, so not sure if the N810/Bluemaemo can send it.

Otherwise, though it's great. Works well for FrontRow, and saved me buying an Apple Remote.

Humm, it seems that you are the first guy that successfully connect BlueMaemo to a Mac machine ;) .
Which version of Mac OS are you using ?
Can you explain the steps that you done, in order to help other Mac users ?

Best regards,

allnameswereout 2008-12-30 22:03

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
In my S60 phone (Nokia E71) I have BlueTooth set up (they can tether, send/receive files, use GPS). Now I fire up wireless keyboard on the phone. BlueTooth is enabled. Then it says. Cannot connect. And BlueMaemo always says waiting for connection. What am I doing wrong?

phutterman 2008-12-31 08:43

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Sorry it took me so long to respond, I've been busy.

I connected it to my machine (white MacBook) running 10.5.6, uh, normally.

FWIW, I hadn't previously paired the MacBook and the N810.

I just tried it again from scratch, and the steps to do so are as follows:

1. Turn bluetooth on on both devices. Set the N810 discoverable.
2. In the Mac Bluetooth menu (ie, from the menu bar) click "Set Up Bluetooth Device."
3. On the N810, start BlueMaemo.
4. On the Mac, it will ask what type of device. I chose "Any Device." It will search; choose the N810 and enter a passkey. Shortly, the passkey dialog should appear in front of BlueMaemo on the N810. Enter your passkey.
5. Click "Continue" on the Mac dialog box. It may ask you if you want to use the N810 as a headest (why?) or a remote control for the computer. I left remote control checked but unchecked headset.

I think that pretty much does it. The first time I did it (I think maybe I chose "Keyboard" instead of "Any Device") it went and asked me to hit the key to the right of the left shift and the left of the right shift (to which I pressed Z and ? on the N810 keyboard). This second time, starting again from scratch, it didn't, but both keyboard and mouse work fine.

To reconnect it, you have to first start BlueMaemo then click on the Mac Bluetooth menu and go N810 > Connect.

I hope this helps other Mac users out there to use this awesome program!

Thanks for writing it! It saved me buying an Apple Remote and it's WAY cooler...Now I just wish I could make my own layouts for it (I want one to control Logic/Garageband!).

EDIT - noticed one thing, not sure if this is normal or not. When in the Keyboard view with the onscreen keyboard and small mousing area, both OSK and N810 hard keyboard work. But in any of the other views (eg, the bigger mousing area view), the hard keyboard doesn't work. Is this just me? Or is this just how it works for the moment? If so, that would be a great improvement, so we 810 users could make the most of both screen and keyboard.

VDVsx 2009-01-02 20:51

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by allnameswereout (Post 253571)
In my S60 phone (Nokia E71) I have BlueTooth set up (they can tether, send/receive files, use GPS). Now I fire up wireless keyboard on the phone. BlueTooth is enabled. Then it says. Cannot connect. And BlueMaemo always says waiting for connection. What am I doing wrong?

BlueMaemo doesn't work with the Nokia S60 Bluetooth HID keyboard app :(

nilchak 2009-01-02 21:16

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Is there going to be the revision in BlueMaemo which will allow reconnect option ?
I thought the developer was going to bring out the version with reconnect option - been quite a long wait now ...

Without the reconnect option BlueMaemo is not really exploring its full potential.

VDVsx 2009-01-02 21:23

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nilchak (Post 254111)
Is there going to be the revision in BlueMaemo which will allow reconnect option ?
I thought the developer was going to bring out the version with reconnect option - been quite a long wait now ...

Without the reconnect option BlueMaemo is not really exploring its full potential.

I'm full of university assignments :(. I only have some spare time to work in BlueMaemo in the beginning of February.

phutterman 2009-01-03 07:37

Re: Introducing BlueMaemo
 
This appeared in my Mac directions post above, but is (I think) worth re-asking:

Is it normal/expected behavior that the N810 hard keyboard doesn't work when the program is in the mouse mode?

If it is, that's a change I would suggest; that way those of us with hard keyboards can make the most of the screen/keyboard real estate. If not, then something isn't working. Now, when it's in keyboard mode, where there's a small mousing area and an on-screen keyboard, the hardware keyboard also works, but half of the screen is wasted with the (very nice) on-screen keyboard.


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:50.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8