maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Alternatives (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=34713)

qole 2010-04-26 21:07

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Hiya Addison,

Try doing this, and see if it fixes your missing libuuid.so.1 problem:

Code:

sudo apt-get install libuuid1
I think using the Ubuntu Live CD would be a good idea. You can use Linux on your desktop to do all of these things, instead of trying to do them on your tablet.

Addison 2010-04-27 03:49

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Okay qole.

Can you help me just a titch on this?

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/3302/screenshotvv.png

I'm getting permission denied.

What's the correct way to extract your rootfs to the memory card through ubuntu?

Thanks buddy! :)

Addison 2010-04-28 20:56

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Well, I stopped by over at #ubuntu on Freenode last night to ask for some help on this.

That was a mistake. :(

The place was packed butts to elbows in there and I could barely get in a word without it immediately scrolling off the screen.

I tried downloading your rootfs file directly to the ext2 partition but Mozilla refuses.

Magic Partition won't recognize the memory card since I don't have some confusing executable file on it.

Looks like I'm going to go nerd hunting in real life and try to snag me a geek brain dork to abuse for a day. :)

I feel like such a toolie over this whole thing it's ridiculous

qole 2010-04-28 21:13

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Addison: the instructions I gave above are very similar to Ubuntu LiveCD instructions. You should not have problems gaining root with "sudo", but if you need a root password, enter "sudo passwd root" and enter a password.

Fire up Ubuntu LiveCD
Plug in SD card / reader
open a terminal
Code:

df -h
Look for your SD card in that list. There will be two partitions. Under "Mounted on," it should start with "/media" ... For the purposes of these instructions, let's just say that the FAT32 partition is mounted on /media/disk-1 and the ext2 partition is mounted on /media/disk-2.

First thing to do is reformat your ext2 partition. So look for the line that has /media/disk-2 under "Mounted on" and look at what the device is called in the "Filesystem" column. Let's say it is "/dev/sdb2" for these instructions.

Code:

sudo umount /dev/sdb2
sudo mkfs.ext2 -m 0 -L debian /dev/sdb2
sudo mount /dev/sdb2 /floppy

For the purposes of these instructions, lets say you've put the debian-m5-v3b-rootfs.tar.bz2 file on the FAT32 partition of your SD card.

Code:

cd /floppy
sudo tar xjvf /media/disk-1/debian-m5-v3b-rootfs.tar.bz2

That should dump everything to the card.

Code:

cd ~
sudo umount /floppy
sudo umount /media/disk-1

Now you can pull out the card and try it in your tablet.

Addison 2010-04-30 22:28

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Thanks a bunch qole!

I'll be hitting this hard later tonight. :)

One other thing, and I'm hoping you might know something on this, my tablet keeps acting like an hysterical old maid in constant menopause. *lol*

Every clean memory card I put into MMC1, the tablet states that it's corrupted. This has been going on for a couple of weeks now.

I'll pull the card out and look at it under Windows XP and it's working just fine.

I'll reformat the whole card, put nothing on it, and still the tablet goes nuts for no reason that I can tell.

I'll press okay for the tablet to try and repair the memory card but it only chucks out a message saying that it's unable to do so.

The only way it seems to resolve the issue is.
root
shutdown -r now

That works for awhile then the whole thing starts over again.

I don't think I'm running anything off of the memory card except for whatever it's doing in the tmp folder by default.

Also, I'm getting splash marks for easy-chroot 0.2.3-1diablo1
and
easy-deb-chroot 0.9.35-2diablo1
from the app manager.

Easy chroot complains about not having easy-deb-chroot
and
Easy-deb-chroot complains about not having wget and easy-deb-chroot (0.9.35-2diablo1)


Oh, and even reformatting the whole memory card to fat32 still produces the same crap errors.

I'm thinking about reflashing later tonight and starting all over again unless you have a brain idea on what's going on here. :)

Thanks chief!

qole 2010-05-01 09:00

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Addison, I'm very worried that your tablet may be broken. Seriously.

Addison 2010-05-04 08:28

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Hi qole!

Okay, I think I may have figured out all of the weirdness that's been going on for me.

I have an external hard drive that is hooked up to the USB port on the front of my computer.

I'm constantly unplugging that and then using the USB port for the tablet then plugging back in the hard drive once again.

For some reason the computer keeps changing drive letters on me and I think that could be causing the trouble here.

I won't get a chance until this weekend but I'm feeling a little confident for once and can't wait to try this again. :)

Addison 2010-05-04 16:15

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Looks like I now understand why everything is funk on my end.

I've got the "recycler virus" mounted on all of my memory cards and external hard drive as well.

Ugh.

Stupid thing is, I most likely picked it up when googling how to partition and mount my memory card since I barely go anywhere online.

Why does there have to be so much nerd rage on the internet? *lol*

Addison 2010-05-12 17:33

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
This is going too sound really sad, but honestly, could someone just VNC into my computer and do this themself?

You all have honest faces. :)

I've read your post a dozen times qole, I'm just not seeing the same messages on my computer for some reason.

Apparently my brain is leaking and I'm incapable of following even the simplest of instructions. *lol*

qole 2010-05-12 17:36

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Addison, what I don't understand is your determination to do this. Why not just give up with the whole partition thing and use the image file instead? The speed improvement with a partition isn't that big of a deal, considering the pain and bloodshed you've been through here.

Just put one big FAT partition on your card, drop the image file on there, and you're good to go.

The whole point of this project is that it is supposed to be Easy Debian. If it ain't easy, then it ain't worth it.

Addison 2010-05-12 17:45

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Okay.

Yeah the image file was fluffy cake to install, I'll just go back to using that instead.

It mostly had to do with hearing reports of Open Office launching 90 seconds faster with the rootfs method and got a little too excited about that. :D

It still would be nice to score me a nerd friend though.

I've always wanted one. :)

qole 2010-05-12 18:15

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Addison (Post 655499)
It still would be nice to score me a nerd friend though.

I've always wanted one. :)

Me too....

dan15 2010-05-23 13:32

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Hello,

a small up for this thread. did you make any change ?

qole 2010-05-23 18:51

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
dan15: What change would you like me to make?

dan15 2010-05-23 21:28

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
when i use synaptic, he tells me that ther is a lot of update. if i accept, i lost office-calc.

after this upgrade, if i redo synaptic, he tells me than there is a lot of upgrade for office. if i accept, i completely lost office. so may be could you upgrade office directly in your image file?

qole 2010-05-26 16:30

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
dan15: I plan to release an updated image file when OpenOffice is stable. They've been having serious problems with it at Debian. The answer for now is:

Don't update OpenOffice!

dan15 2010-05-26 19:40

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
ok! well understand ... :-)

wolfs are great!!! 2010-06-05 04:58

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Hey, Qole:
I can not get my ubuntu-md5-v1.img.ext2 file to work.
I extracted it. It would not start. I used Vim to edit my /home/user/.chroot file to include:

IMGFILE=/media/mmc[12]/*.img*

I got a dialogue saying:

ERROR!

The image specified (/media/mmc1/ubuntu-m5-v1.img.ext2) does not exist or is neither
a regular nor a block special file.

First parameter must be an image file or partion

when I try to start with the debian LXDE menu selection.
I ran debbie and got:

~ $ debbie
Starting Debian shell...
No chroot dir specified; using /debian
/media/mmc[12]/*.img* specified in ~/.chroot
gxmessage[11952]: GLIB MESSAGE Gtk - Failed to load module "libgtkstylus.so": libgtkstylus.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Cancelling chroot...
~ $

Could Qole or at least SOMEONE help me!!!
:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

wolfs are great!!! 2010-06-05 05:00

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(

qole 2010-06-05 05:07

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
wolfs:

try

Code:

sudo qmount /media/mmc1/ubuntu-md5-v1.img.ext2 /debian
Use Tab to complete the filename to make sure it exists...
What do you get back?

wolfs are great!!! 2010-06-05 05:15

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
I get the same error dialog as before. Tab will not complete the filenane. When I checked it out:

/home $ cd ..
/ $ cd ..
/ $ cd media
/media $ cd mmc1
/media/mmc1 $ ls
ls: ./ubuntu-m5-v1.img.ext2: Value too large for defined data type
Carman backups camera docs music piano vids
/media/mmc1 $

wolfs are great!!! 2010-06-05 05:37

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
By the way,
you posted 2x qole.

qole 2010-06-05 05:48

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
wolfs:

Yeah, sorry, as we discovered earlier in this thread, the 2GB N900 images (with m5 in the name) are too big for the N810 for some reason. Either use an older, smaller Ubuntu image or use the special N8x0 Debian image I made a little while ago.

wolfs are great!!! 2010-06-05 13:41

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
But I want Ubuntu!!!
Can you make a smaller Ubuntu???

hordeman 2010-06-11 15:03

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Would anyone happen to know how to add fonts?

Using OOo Writer on the road has been fantastic, but I would like to use the Arial font which is not currently available. Thanks!

qole 2010-06-11 17:16

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
hordeman: make a directory called .fonts in your home directory and put all your custom fonts in there. They'll be available to Easy Debian apps and (some) Maemo apps too.

hordeman 2010-06-12 18:55

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Thank you so much! That did the trick. I learn a new thing every day! :D

kingoddball 2010-06-12 23:08

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Since the newest (previous two, even) updates I can not get right click (touch and hold) on the menu's to bring up the context menu so I can edit the appearance of the menus.

Has this been removed or just tweaked?

dcy 2010-08-11 18:56

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by qole (Post 700637)
wolfs:

Yeah, sorry, as we discovered earlier in this thread, the 2GB N900 images (with m5 in the name) are too big for the N810 for some reason. Either use an older, smaller Ubuntu image or use the special N8x0 Debian image I made a little while ago.

I did neither use an img file nor a partition, but simply a directory on a big partition on my N810. This is how I did:

Mount the image on a linux desktop,

Share the dir by NFS, and copy the content of the mounted image to /debian on the tablet.

In .chroot, put whatever name in IMGFILE, uncomment CHROOT

As root edit /sbin/debian and comment the part that tries to mount the image.

Et voilą. A part from the fn key that does not work, everything is fine. I might have to modify /sbin/debbie as well, though.

VicUser 2011-02-23 01:54

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
My apologies if this problem has been addressed before, but I conducted a search on this thread, and I read the wiki, and didnt see it.

I have the virtual keyboard running on my n800/Diablo. The keyboard is there, covering the bottom third of my screen. However, in Iceweasal, Epiphiny, or Open Office Writer, when I use the stylus to click on a letter, nothing happens. The cursor is blinking, the stylus is able to function as a mouse and even click on links within the browsers, but the keyboard isn't working.

Ideas?

johndoe32102002 2011-02-24 15:01

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
I remember running Debian on my N810, and I remember having the same problem: the virtual keyboard would not work stabily for various programs. Luckily, for me, I had the built-in keyboard on the N810. I would recommend using another virtual keyboard package from Debian instead of the default one (unless you decide to buy a hardware one).

VicUser 2011-02-24 21:41

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Thanks! I actually prefer the virtual keyboard. You wouldn't have a link you could share?

qole 2011-02-24 21:59

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
VicUser: Are you talking about the Maemo virtual keyboard, running Debian apps in Maemo, or are you talking about the xvkbd virtual keyboard inside LXDE?

TheOneWolf 2011-02-27 06:47

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
I can't install it. I get an error. I am about to use XTerm to see the problem.

Code:


BusyBox v1.6.1 (2010-08-15 19:12:28 BST) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

~ $ sudo gainroot
Root shell enabled


BusyBox v1.6.1 (2010-08-15 19:12:28 BST) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/home/user # apt-get install easy-deb-chroot
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  unrar unzip libqt4-dbus libqtcore4 libqt4-xml libqt4-designer libqtgui4
  libqt4-phonon libqt4-script
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
The following extra packages will be installed:
  dmsetup easy-chroot
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  dmsetup easy-chroot easy-deb-chroot
0 upgraded, 3 newly installed, 0 to remove and 2 not upgraded.
Need to get 324kB of archives.
After unpacking 1057kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
WARNING: The following packages cannot be authenticated!
  dmsetup easy-chroot easy-deb-chroot
Install these packages without verification [y/N]? y
Get:1 http://repository.maemo.org diablo/free dmsetup 2:1.02.27-maemo5 [37.1kB]
Get:2 http://repository.maemo.org diablo/free easy-chroot 0.2.3-1diablo1 [74.0kB]
Get:3 http://repository.maemo.org diablo/free easy-deb-chroot 0.9.35-2diablo1 [213kB]
Fetched 324kB in 2s (155kB/s)
Selecting previously deselected package dmsetup.
(Reading database ... 19430 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking dmsetup (from .../dmsetup_2%3a1.02.27-maemo5_armel.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package easy-chroot.
Unpacking easy-chroot (from .../easy-chroot_0.2.3-1diablo1_armel.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package easy-deb-chroot.
Unpacking easy-deb-chroot (from .../easy-deb-chroot_0.9.35-2diablo1_armel.deb) ...
Setting up dmsetup (2:1.02.27-maemo5) ...
ln: /etc/udev/rules.d/65_dmsetup.rules: File exists
dpkg: error processing dmsetup (--configure):
 subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 1
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of easy-chroot:
 easy-chroot depends on dmsetup; however:
  Package dmsetup is not configured yet.
dpkg: error processing easy-chroot (--configure):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of easy-deb-chroot:
 easy-deb-chroot depends on easy-chroot; however:
  Package easy-chroot is not configured yet.
dpkg: error processing easy-deb-chroot (--configure):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Errors were encountered while processing:
 dmsetup
 easy-chroot
 easy-deb-chroot
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
/home/user #

It appears that a file called 65_dmsetup.rules that already exists is causing the problem. Should I uninstall and delete it? Oh, whatever, I'll do it anyways.

Nwm, after using MC to delete the file it worked:
Code:


BusyBox v1.6.1 (2010-08-15 19:12:28 BST) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

~ $ sudo apt-get remove easy-deb-chroot easy-chroot dmsetup; sudo apt-get install easy-deb-chroot
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  gnutar bzip2 unrar unzip libqt4-dbus libqtcore4 libqt4-xml libqt4-designer
  libqtgui4 libqt4-phonon libqt4-script
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  dmsetup easy-chroot easy-deb-chroot
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 3 to remove and 2 not upgraded.
3 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0B of archives.
After unpacking 1057kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
(Reading database ... 19554 files and directories currently installed.)
Removing easy-deb-chroot ...
Removing easy-chroot ...
rm: cannot remove '/sbin/ezchroot': No such file or directory
Removing dmsetup ...
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  unrar unzip libqt4-dbus libqtcore4 libqt4-xml libqt4-designer libqtgui4
  libqt4-phonon libqt4-script
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
The following extra packages will be installed:
  dmsetup easy-chroot
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  dmsetup easy-chroot easy-deb-chroot
0 upgraded, 3 newly installed, 0 to remove and 2 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/324kB of archives.
After unpacking 1057kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
WARNING: The following packages cannot be authenticated!
  dmsetup easy-chroot easy-deb-chroot
Install these packages without verification [y/N]? y
Selecting previously deselected package dmsetup.
(Reading database ... 19430 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking dmsetup (from .../dmsetup_2%3a1.02.27-maemo5_armel.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package easy-chroot.
Unpacking easy-chroot (from .../easy-chroot_0.2.3-1diablo1_armel.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package easy-deb-chroot.
Unpacking easy-deb-chroot (from .../easy-deb-chroot_0.9.35-2diablo1_armel.deb) ...
Setting up dmsetup (2:1.02.27-maemo5) ...
Setting up easy-chroot (0.2.3-1diablo1) ...
Setting up easy-deb-chroot (0.9.35-2diablo1) ...
Cache file created successfully.
~ $


VicUser 2011-02-28 02:04

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by qole (Post 954822)
VicUser: Are you talking about the Maemo virtual keyboard, running Debian apps in Maemo, or are you talking about the xvkbd virtual keyboard inside LXDE?

The one in LXDE. I click on the menu item for it either before or just after I load the Easy Debian desktop. As I say, using the hardware keys will cause it to appear, but clicking on the keys with the stylus doesnt do anything, even though the cursor is clearly blinking within a textbox.

qole 2011-02-28 03:37

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Hi VicUser,

I understand your problem now. The keyboard you get when you click on a menu item in Maemo has no effect on applications inside LXDE. You have to use the keyboard on the LXDE menu instead.

VicUser 2011-02-28 14:58

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by qole (Post 957002)
Hi VicUser,

I understand your problem now. The keyboard you get when you click on a menu item in Maemo has no effect on applications inside LXDE. You have to use the keyboard on the LXDE menu instead.

Well, now I'm feeling stupid. Thanks, that helped alot. Now I can type!

bonushenricus 2011-03-10 00:02

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Hi all.
First: my english is not the best: sorry!
I see that the users use this thread to speak about Easy Debian Diablo, so I use it.
Easy Debian work completely in my Nokia n800
but I not be able to install new software:
when I try
Code:

apt-get install ...
the output is
Code:

.../var/cache/debconf/config.dat-new ... /var/lib/dpkg/updates/tmp.i ... No space left on device ... /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)
The internal memory has 95 Mb free, the mmc1, where is put the debian image, has 2.2 Gb free.
Before I had problem with the cache: I resolved this with Dir::Cache string in apt.conf ... but now I don't know.
I read in the wiki of easy-debian that
Quote:

More advanced users can put a minimal system into an empty image and build a custom set of apps using this post
: what post? Maybe is my case!?
Thank you

johndoe32102002 2011-03-12 01:46

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Try to clear more space than 95 MB. Try:
apt-get autoremove && apt-get autoclean

I think you need space to un-bzip the target tar file on the device. The temporary directory is probably needing more than 95 MB.

You could also un-bzip the file on another computer and:
tar -xvpf *.tar
the file to uncompress the filesystem right on the MMC card.

bonushenricus 2011-03-14 06:35

Re: Easy Debian Diablo Beta Testing
 
Hi and thank
... but is it possible to set the apt system for to resolv the problem?


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8