maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;) (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=73068)

MasterZap 2011-05-30 08:51

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusse (Post 1018381)
V45 caused a huge battery drain due to reason that it left GPS on even time out was set to 30s. I used GPS only mode because GSM cell gives wrong location in my home area (don't know why and don't care).

Hmm, that is VERY strange, since 44 and 45 is functionally the same here, only the UI is different (i.e. daemon code is identical - except that you can set the timeout), 44 has a different UI (pull down menu rather than 2 checkboxes - but they set the same values) and 30 seconds are hardcoded.

At least, that's what's supposed to happen.... maybe there is an issue w. the default of the timeout or something....

I would suggest you re-test 45 in verbose mode, i.e. open XTerm and type

Code:

python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -v
...and read that after 30 seconds it should say one of
a) "A good location fix was acquired within the timeout: Good"
or
b) "No fix acquired for X seconds - doing a forced location push"

EITHER WAY, at that point it should turn the GPS back off.

Let me know if that happens or not. It sure happens here...!!

/Z

MasterZap 2011-05-30 08:58

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xudonax (Post 1018378)
Well, this happens as soon as I tick the Facebook Places checkbox. So at this point the app doesn't even know what kind of profile picture I have...

Ah, right. The code tries to get your profile image before you are authorized.... apparently, facebook still returns SOMETHING in that case (the other services just causes an error, which my code handles, but it seems that facebook gives some odd result, and then my code tries to load that as an image)... anyhoo... fixable.

/Z

Gusse 2011-05-30 09:19

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MasterZap (Post 1018389)
I would suggest you re-test 45 in verbose mode, i.e. open XTerm and type

Code:

python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -v
...and read that after 30 seconds it should say one of
a) "A good location fix was acquired within the timeout: Good"
or
b) "No fix acquired for X seconds - doing a forced location push"

EITHER WAY, at that point it should turn the GPS back off.

Let me know if that happens or not. It sure happens here...!!

/Z

Updated to v45 and started Zaploc from X-term.
Code:

~ $ python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -v
Starting ZapLoc daemon...
Location method: GPS only
30 minutes between samples
12:02:46: Starting GPS...
12:02:47: Actual GPS interval 75 minutes (low battery!)
12:02:47: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc nan), Mode 1 (Estimate) - IGNORED
12:02:48: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
12:02:48: Sample mode 2 (Cell-tower) - IGNORED
12:03:02: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
12:03:02: Sample mode 2 (Cell-tower) - IGNORED
12:03:17: No fix acquired for 30 seconds - doing a forced location push!
12:03:17: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
12:03:17: Sample mode 2 (Cell-tower) - IGNORED
12:03:17: Force-Sleeping [*bonk!*].... Zzzzzz
12:03:20: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), Mode 0 (Cached) - IGNORED

Seems that working OK from command line. Then started Zaploc via menu icon and enabled background updates.

Code:

4335 user 50076 S /usr/bin/python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -d
Then GPS is all the time ON.

MasterZap 2011-05-30 09:24

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusse (Post 1018410)
Then GPS is all the time ON.

Just dumb question to be sure, but you closed ZapLoc itself, right? That also uses the GPS.

This is incredibly strange, because there is no functional difference whatsoever between you running the daemon on the command line, and starting it in background.... it's the exact same code doing the same thing (except the background mode doesn't print out a bunch of crap to nowhere)

Very Very Strange. Especially if you see a difference w. version 44, because there IS no difference in the daemon (except it reads the number "30" from the config file instead of being hardcoded) ....

Edit: Actually I found a bug in that code, it DOESN'T read it properly from the config file, it is ALWAYS 30 seconds. Which means there is even less of a difference!!!

Sorry, I have zero explanation what is going on :(

/Z

Gusse 2011-05-30 09:28

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MasterZap (Post 1018415)
Just dumb question to be sure, but you closed ZapLoc itself, right? That also uses the GPS.

This is incredibly strange, because there is no functional difference whatsoever between you running the daemon on the command line, and starting it in background.... it's the exact same code doing the same thing (except the background mode doesn't print out a bunch of crap to nowhere)

Very Very Strange. Especially if you see a difference w. version 44, because there IS no difference in the daemon ....

Sorry, I have zero explanation what is going on :(

/Z

Zaploc is closed and there is no other application using GPS. Only zaploc-daemon is running in background.
Code:

4335 user 50076 S /usr/bin/python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -d

MasterZap 2011-05-30 09:40

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
This is very strange. As I said in the edit above, a bug causes 45 daemon NOT to read the fix timeout correctly. Which means it is always 30 seconds. Which means... it is completley identical 100% to build 44.

I don't quite understand why you find a difference :(

/Z

Gusse 2011-05-30 09:59

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Code:

python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -v
This seems to put GSP in sleep.

Code:

python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -d
Keeps GSP on all the time.

Edit:
Code:

python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -d -v
With both options "-d" and "-v", it put GSP to sleep???

MasterZap 2011-05-30 10:01

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
That's... odd. Very very very very very very very very very odd.

What about without the "-v"? (Only difference is it should print less crap than with "-v")

/Z

fleetwood 2011-05-30 11:12

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Very nice application and it works quite well, but why all selection buttons are empty/without any text? Anyone else seen this?

Gusse 2011-05-30 11:39

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MasterZap (Post 1018443)
That's... odd. Very very very very very very very very very odd.

What about without the "-v"? (Only difference is it should print less crap than with "-v")

/Z

Code:

~ $ python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py
Starting ZapLoc daemon...
Location method: GPS only
30 minutes between samples
14:29:05: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
14:29:19: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
14:29:33: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
14:33:02: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
14:35:57: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
14:35:59: Got loc data xx.388344,yy.100560 (acc 404.265000), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0

GSP never enter sleep mode. With -v it goes to sleep. Strange?!?

MasterZap 2011-05-30 12:23

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Thank you this is helpful. STRANGE... but helpful :)

P.S: I was able to reproduce it here. My problem is that I live in an area with way too good GPS reception I basically have to wrap the phone in grounded aluminium foil or go into our dirt cellar to kill the signal :)

LOL, see the error. Some code that actually does stuff had slipped into a case only true when verbose=1. OOPS :)

/Z

MasterZap 2011-05-30 12:42

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Ok, when build 47 shows up it will have this fixed (as well as the facebook problem posted before here).

I'm actually more surprised how build 44 ever worked ;)

/Z

Xudonax 2011-05-30 12:47

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MasterZap (Post 1018566)
Ok, when build 47 shows up it will have this fixed (as well as the facebook problem posted before here).

Zaploc v47 is in the repository, testing now... (for Facebook Places)

EDIT: It works \o/
May I request a feature? It would be nice to add a Facebook Place to my existing Zaplocs. This way I wouldn't have to delete and recreate all my Zaplocs :)

MasterZap 2011-05-30 12:59

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xudonax (Post 1018569)
Zaploc v47 is in the repository, testing now... (for Facebook Places)

EDIT: It works \o/
May I request a feature? It would be nice to add a Facebook Place to my existing Zaplocs. This way I wouldn't have to delete and recreate all my Zaplocs :)

You actually don't need to delete them, you can just re-create them, and any zaploc reffering the same "true" spots gets auto-deleted. So it's *almost* like editing, but not really. :)

(I.e. if a spot references Gowalla place "Bobs House", Fourquare spot "Bobs Rezidenze", and you create a new ZapLoc reffering either of those (or both), the original one will disappear (you can't have two ZapLoc's reffering to the same database item).

I have no plan to add an explicit editing interface... really. Not something you do very often, methinks. But who knows. Some day. Maybe. Don't hold your breath, though, unless blue is your color :)

/Z

Gusse 2011-05-30 12:59

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
If good GPS reception then no problems, if not then it never goes to sleep. I could reproduce problems also with v44, so I was just lucky to receive GPS signal then. This just verifies your assumtion about root cause.

Thanks again! Your software is great and support even better :)

MasterZap 2011-05-30 13:01

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusse (Post 1018578)
. I could reproduce problems also with v44, so I was just lucky to receive GPS signal then.

Ah, that will help me sleep a little better. I know I'm getting old and my memory is hazy, but I had no memory touching that corner of the code. It should have been broken in 44 as well.

/Z

Xudonax 2011-05-30 13:02

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MasterZap (Post 1018577)
You actually don't need to delete them, you can just re-create them, and any zaploc reffering the same "true" spots gets auto-deleted. So it's *almost* like editing, but not really. :)

Well, if it is that easy then there is no need for an explicit interface. Thank you!

Gusse 2011-05-30 18:17

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
I have an issue with Zaploc and network connection.
I'm using "AutoDisconnect" to kill unused network connection to save the battery. If there is less than 2kB/min during 3min period, connection will be closed.

ZapLoc should update location but without connection it makes an error.
Code:

20:13:11: Got loc data xx.465109,yy.356086 (acc 206.965000), head 2.250000, speed 1.584000, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
20:13:11: Latitude update xx.465109,yy.356086 (acc 206.965000)
20:13:11: Error updating location <class 'httplib2.ServerNotFoundError'>
20:13:11: Sleeping... Zzzzz
20:13:11: Force-Sleeping [*bonk!*].... Zzzzzz
20:13:14: Got loc data xx.465109,yy.356086 (acc 206.965000), Mode 0 (Cached) - IGNORED

To sync the mails, phone is set to connect to net in every 30min. (internet connections). More detail explanation why and how is below.
AutoDisconnect Wiki and autosync

Phone Control (DBUS)
Connect to any saved connection
Disconnect internet (This is probably not needed due to usage of AutoDisconnect)

Could similar functionality be included to Zaploc?
Example: When ZapLoc is trying to update location, then run the dbus command to initiate connection (even if connection is already open).

EDIT: This could be like an additional option that user can select from background updates (force to open network connection)

MasterZap 2011-05-31 06:00

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Heh, I just realized that the GPS code I use is off by an order of magnitude in the "accuracy" returned. No wonder we get so weird accuracies from cell towers et. al.... the value should be 10 times bigger than it was displayed before.

I'll fix this... not that it matters for much usefulness-wise, but it will at least display the accuracies correctly..


/Z

ndi 2011-05-31 10:43

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
It finally works, giving up if no location. Coincidentally, my GPS died.

Off to Nokia it goes.

MasterZap 2011-05-31 12:16

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
I hope I didn't wear out the electrons in your GPS? ;)

/Z

ndi 2011-05-31 15:51

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
You obviously did. Either you send me some of your GPS elecrons or the mods will be hearing about this.

Board seems to be on its way out. First GSM modem, now GPS. I have scheduled it for Nokia care these days, they seem to really want to help. With luck, it'll be in shop tomorrow.

Man I feel naked without N900. Internet stinks without microb, and capacitive screen with no keyboard is a nightmare. No Series Finale, no hi-precision screen. OTOH, I get home with 75 percent battery left. This is new.

woody14619 2011-05-31 16:26

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
I just found this, and can't wait to try it out. I have one major question and a request for a feature:

Does this use the v2 API for Facebook? I know BarioSquare does not, and that's what I've been using up till now. The v1 interface is slated to go away very soon.

As for the request: Could you have the daemon check for the connected WIFI spot (and/or nearby spots) and just use that if it's something useful, avoiding the need for a GPS fire up?

I ask this because I would love to let this check me in to places, but many times the places I am at can't get a valid GPS lock, and AGPS is very inaccurate in my area. In most cases though, there are wifi hot spots that I'm either connected to or that are clearly visible that would indicate my location. It would be great for it to see my work wifi network and just check me in at work. Same with home, and/or a few other places I frequent. And since just checking which SSID I'm connected to takes almost no power (vs a GPS fire-up), it would drain the battery quiet a bit less.

I'd be even happier with adding an option to only check the currently connected wifi spot (no GPS check) while the app is not running. That would be the ideal method for me, since most places I go have some form of wifi, but are enclosed enough to make a GPS lock hard to get. And the few that aren't are places I could manually run the app at to check into.

Great app though, and thanks for all it does already! I really like the interface, and the ability to group spots from other services into one, and locally correct their GPS spots when they're off a bit on the service! All great features!

MasterZap 2011-06-01 07:11

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by woody14619 (Post 1019532)
Does this use the v2 API for Facebook? I know BarioSquare does not, and that's what I've been using up till now. The v1 interface is slated to go away very soon.

You mean FourSquare? Yes.

And it's a quite simple API, I don't know how the v1 looked, but I don't quite get what is holding BarrioSquare up in upgrading it?


Quote:

Originally Posted by woody14619 (Post 1019532)
As for the request: Could you have the daemon check for the connected WIFI spot (and/or nearby spots) and just use that if it's something useful, avoiding the need for a GPS fire up?

Hah, that is a thought I had myself. In some future this may happen (but don't hold your breath).

The big issue is really how you would associate a GPS position with a WiFi network... since the nokia location layer doesn't use WiFi at all (as far as I know, anyway), it would mean that you yourself basically have to define "my wifi is over here". Which could be done. Maybe just allow you to associate a WiFi network with a ZapLoc? Could be done.

Good thought. May happen. Not guarantee it. And probably not terribly soon...

EDIT: Does anyone know how to get the current WLAN id from python?

/Z

mr_jrt 2011-06-01 12:53

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Just been looking over my latitude history, and it seems to be off. They're all roughly in the right area (within 100-200m or so), but the accuracy radii shown are far too precise, so clearly something's amiss. It never used to look like this with other updaters.

Incidentally, do you think it'd be worthwhile to get together with the other devs and modularise the service bits of your software, so that we only have one latitude, etc daemon running but used by multiple GUIs? Or even just multiple deamons exporting compatible interfaces so they can all be used interchangeably - UNIX style. Seems like an awful duplication of effort, and it's a pain when I want to use a latitude client to view my friends (which then wants to update my location) whilst zaploc's also trying to update my location, etc....that's all.

thegman 2011-06-01 13:26

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

EDIT: Does anyone know how to get the current WLAN id from python?
I'm sure there must be an easier way (over DBus) than this, but there is a python-wifi package in the repo's which should do what you need?
Example usage here.

MasterZap 2011-06-01 15:21

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mr_jrt (Post 1020148)
Just been looking over my latitude history, and it seems to be off. They're all roughly in the right area (within 100-200m or so), but the accuracy radii shown are far too precise, so clearly something's amiss. It never used to look like this with other updaters.

If you look back a little in the thread you'll see I just figured out that the code I use to read the GPS is actually misreporting the accuracy by a factor of 10.


Quote:

Originally Posted by mr_jrt (Post 1020148)
Incidentally, do you think it'd be worthwhile to get together with the other devs and modularise the service bits of your software, so that we only have one latitude, etc daemon running but used by multiple GUIs? Or even just multiple deamons exporting compatible interfaces so they can all be used interchangeably - UNIX style. Seems like an awful duplication of effort, and it's a pain when I want to use a latitude client to view my friends (which then wants to update my location) whilst zaploc's also trying to update my location, etc....that's all.

Nice thought. While the code has some small level of modularity to it, it is really only on the level of adding an additional service to it shuold be "not super hard".

But the code isn't really made to be pretty, reusable, or shiny... just to work ;)

/Z

MasterZap 2011-06-01 15:22

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by thegman (Post 1020182)
I'm sure there must be an easier way (over DBus) than this, but there is a python-wifi package in the repo's which should do what you need?
Example usage here.

Thanks - but I think this library is overkill. It seems to be much more low level than I need.

Instead, I found "conic" library which seems to help me a lot with this. It almost works too :) Build 50 has a first stab at implementing this; you'll find your WiFi network as a choice in the list of distances to autocheck in from. Lemme know if it explodes. (Note that also Latitude will be updated from the ZapLoc wifi locatoin in this case, keeping the GPS completely off all the time)

/Z

Gusse 2011-06-02 18:38

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Hi Zap,

Any changes to get network access initiation when Zaploc needs to update information to Internet (earlier post)?
Time to time Zaploc updates info OK (set 30min), but sometimes there are several hour gaps. Both, in case you are in the same place longer time or locations are changed.

lidow 2011-06-03 05:49

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
What about adding a place with ZapLoc? Is this possible?

Sorry if this is answered before, but I cannot find a hint in the first post.

MasterZap 2011-06-03 09:50

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lidow (Post 1021451)
What about adding a place with ZapLoc? Is this possible?

Sorry if this is answered before, but I cannot find a hint in the first post.

It's answered before. The short answer is: No. :)

The long answer: none of the API's except FourSquare even allows adding a place AT ALL, and there is perfectly usable mobile websites to add spots for all FourSquare (www.cothin.com/m) and Gowalla (m.gowalla.com).The problem is Facebook - for which I currently have no good solution at all, I'm afraid. You can't do it via the API, and the old touch.facebook.com (where it USED to work) has been cancelled by facebook :(

/Z

MasterZap 2011-06-03 09:52

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusse (Post 1021180)
Hi Zap,

Any changes to get network access initiation when Zaploc needs to update information to Internet (earlier post)?
Time to time Zaploc updates info OK (set 30min), but sometimes there are several hour gaps. Both, in case you are in the same place longer time or locations are changed.

You'll like next build :)

Adding the conic library (which I use to detect which WiFi spot you are connected to, and associate a ZapLoc with a WiFi network) made this stupidly trivial to add.

There is in build 51 an option in background updates to choose what it does when there is no network connection, either "do nothing, don't post" or "try to start the network, then post".

/Z

MasterZap 2011-06-04 16:49

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Did everyone fall asleep? :)

/Z

petur 2011-06-04 17:07

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
yeah, sorry ;)

ndi 2011-06-05 18:39

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Mine's in the shop.

Gusse 2011-06-05 19:17

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Now network updates are working well :)
I got one error during testing.
Code:

17:58:10: Connection is up - Good!
17:58:31: Error updating location <class 'socket.sslerror'>
17:58:31: Sleeping... Zzzzz

Any idea what is causing this? This update never reached latitude server.
I have more complete log if needed.

montun 2011-06-06 12:40

Bug: Only Latitude is configured, gps stays on forever
 
The gps icon in the top bar is never turned off after starting the daemon when only google latitude is configured.

Here is the output when running the daemon in verbose mode

Code:

$ python /opt/zaploc/zaploc-daemon.py -v
Starting ZapLoc daemon...
    Location method: Cell-tower only
    0 minutes between samples
14:18:56: CONNECTED (MYAP, xxxx-9cc3-4a06-9de1-xxxxxxx, WLAN_INFRA, 0, 0)
14:18:59: Starting GPS...
14:19:00: Got loc data xx.yy1775,xx.yy1240 (acc 1281.3), head nan, speed nan, Mode 2 (Cell-tower), Try 0
14:19:00: Last used sample 1.5 minutes ago
14:19:00: Last used sample 0.0 meters away
14:19:00: Latitude updates within 150 meters and within 24 hours - not sending
14:19:00: General location update xx.yy1775,xx.yy1240 (acc 1281.3)
14:19:00: No services configured - doing nothing.
14:19:00: Awaiting next cell tower change...


petur 2011-06-06 12:42

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
set the option to update at least every x hours.... From the log it looks like it got a celltower fix, I assume you have it configured to use towers only?

petur 2011-06-06 12:43

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Does "0 minutes between samples" means that it is configured to auto-detect changes in position? I thought that didn't work yet

montun 2011-06-06 13:21

Re: [Announce] ZapLoc - a Gowalla/Foursquare/Facebook places/Latitude aggregator - "All your location based services are belong to us" ;)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by petur (Post 1023245)
set the option to update at least every x hours.... From the log it looks like it got a celltower fix, I assume you have it configured to use towers only?

Yes towers only, and "check if location has changed" set to "when cell tower change". To debug I delete my configuration ~/.zaploc and enabled latitude and set "check if location has changed" to "when cell tower change". The same thing happend the gps icon did not go away (wheter it means gps is on and draining the battery, i do not know).

Trying other settings for "check if location has changed" set to "every XX minutes". Works, the gps icon is only on for a few seconds.

The problem must be in the "cell tower change" configuration


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:01.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8