maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Alternatives (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=49811)

hidetoshi777 2010-07-02 13:11

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
EUREKA!!! IT START!!! LONG LIFE TO DJ-STEVE / E-yes and Toja

ToJa92 2010-07-02 14:05

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hidetoshi777 (Post 738554)
EUREKA!!! IT START!!! LONG LIFE TO DJ-STEVE / E-yes and Toja

You got it working with the autoinstaller?
If so, there are at least three guys that got it working with it...

dj_steve 2010-07-02 14:06

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
we are making slow progress on not requiring R&d mode also but not their yet

ToJa92 2010-07-02 14:13

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dj_steve (Post 738619)
we are making slow progress on not requiring R&d mode also but not their yet

Have Jay-C released his/her kernel yet?

dj_steve 2010-07-02 14:16

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
yep but it doesnt play ball with r&d, due to the older bootmenu not doing certain things, being worked on though :)

maemosboy 2010-07-02 14:42

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hidetoshi777 (Post 738554)
EUREKA!!! IT START!!! LONG LIFE TO DJ-STEVE / E-yes and Toja

What you did to get it working????

hidetoshi777 2010-07-02 14:57

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by maemosboy (Post 738648)
What you did to get it working????

I've follow the guide of nitroid.com, I used Virtual box and Linux Mint.

BrettQ 2010-07-02 15:03

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ToJa92 (Post 738616)
You got it working with the autoinstaller?
If so, there are at least three guys that got it working with it...

Make that 4...kind of. I had to kill the android.ext.item file and recreate it on the device, but after that it works fine.

I know that you guys are not there yet, but if you want to talk to someone else about getting access to Marketplace, I know that the Archos 5 IT users hacked together a solution. I know this is an actual Android device, but Archos did some things very different and Android Marketplace was not available without some patching.

Some links that might help:
http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php...d_Market_Patch
http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php...t_with_Android

ToJa92 2010-07-02 15:05

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hidetoshi777 (Post 738659)
I've follow the guide of nitroid.com, I used Virtual box and Linux Mint.

FYI theres a autoinstaller which will do almost everything automatically, you only need to flash the kernel and enable R&D mode on a computer manually.

EDIT: Forgot the link, here: http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...postcount=1793

(will do a wiki page soon)

Quote:

Originally Posted by BrettQ (Post 738662)
Make that 4...kind of. I had to kill the android.ext.item file and recreate it on the device, but after that it works fine.

I know that you guys are not there yet, but if you want to talk to someone else about getting access to Marketplace, I know that the Archos 5 IT users hacked together a solution. I know this is an actual Android device, but Archos did some things very different and Android Marketplace was not available without some patching.

Some links that might help:
http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php...d_Market_Patch
http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php...t_with_Android

Market and all other Gapps was working in 2.1 but DJ_Steve have not found a way to get it onto 2.2 yet...

meShell 2010-07-02 15:51

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Found this Project "iDROID", they seem to have some kind of SDCard emulation working:

http://www.idroidproject.org/forum/index.php


Extract from Tutorial for iPhone:

http://www.idroidproject.org/forum/v...php?f=14&t=545

Code:

Step 4:
At this point, we have OpeniBoot and Android installed on our device. Let's create an SDCard.
In Linux (I prefer to use Ubuntu trough VMWare in Windows 7), open a Terminal window. In this window put the following commands:
CODE: SELECT ALL
cd ~/Desktop
dd if=/dev/zero of=sdcard.img bs=1024 count=500000
mkfs.ext2 sdcard.img


There should now be a file called 'sdcard.img' on your Ubuntu desktop. You can just drag this file from VMWare onto your actual desktop and it will be copied. Now transfer the file 'SDCard.img' from your desktop into '/private/var/' trough FileZilla. When this is done (it will take a while) set the permissions to 777.

That's it! Now you have Android thinking you have a 488MB SDCard mounted. If you want a bigger SDCard, you have to replace the number in "count=500000".

Step 5:
There are people who are having trouble with getting the SDCard to work with stuff they download from the Browser. To fix this issue, first try to download a file. It will say that you have unsufficient space on your SDCard. After you get this error, ADB into your device (how?) and type 'adb shell'. This will bring you into the terminal of the phone. You should now see '#' in the terminal.

Enter these commands:
CODE: SELECT ALL
chmod 6777 /sdcard
chmod 6777 /sdcard/download


Now try to redownload the file. It should not give you the insufficient space-error  Let's get the GApps working!

Step 6:
First of all, we need to transfer the GApps into Android. Download this script and this file. Unzip the 'installer.zip'. This will give you a *.sh file. Put the installer.sh file (the one you just extracted) and the other file you just downloaded (signed-dream_devphone_userdebug-ota-14721.zip) onto your Ubuntu(!) desktop. If you are using VMWare, you can just drag&drop it.

You also need to get the 'system.img' that you are using onto the Ubuntu desktop. The system.img is in the "idroid-release-0.2-3g_rooted_with_sd_emulation_backlight_and_dns_fixed" folder that we downloaded at step two. Drag the 'system.img' onto the Ubuntu desktop.

Step 7:
When you got all the files ready, run 'installer.sh' with Terminal (in Ubuntu). After running the script successfully (make sure to run it as root! use 'sudo', else it will fail!) don't close Terminal just yet. Enter these commands:
CODE: SELECT ALL
cd ./Desktop
mkdir system
sudo mount -o loop system.img system
cd system/app
sudo chmod 6755 *.apk
cd ../..
sudo umount system


Step 8:
Now, your system.img file is ready. SSH it into your iPhone (boot into iPhone OS if you haven't already, use FileZilla to connect to your iPhone and go to '/private/var/', delete the current system.img and copy your new system.img into it. Be sure to set the permissions to 777 again!). Now boot into Android!


pax2fast 2010-07-02 16:26

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
iphone on a n900???

meShell 2010-07-02 16:29

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
No, Android on iPhone ... but maybe there are some ideas for the developers, but I think they already know this project ... but many infos collected here:

http://www.idroidproject.org/wiki/Special:AllPages


Here about SDCard-Emulation:
http://www.idroidproject.org/wiki/SDcard_emulation

pax2fast 2010-07-02 16:34

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
funktioniert das market4archos auf dem n900??

cpate99 2010-07-02 16:48

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
im about to attempt it using this guide.
http://wiki.nitdroid.com/index.php?title=N900-install
dont know much but I like messing around and learning on this awesome device and am curious... SMart move????

ToJa92 2010-07-02 17:24

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cpate99 (Post 738750)
im about to attempt it using this guide.
http://wiki.nitdroid.com/index.php?title=N900-install
dont know much but I like messing around and learning on this awesome device and am curious... SMart move????

You may want to use the Autoinstaller script instead, its easier to use http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...postcount=1793

cpate99 2010-07-02 17:28

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Is that dual boot?

dj_steve 2010-07-02 17:30

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
yes it is dual boot

cpate99 2010-07-02 17:36

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
whats the size of fat 32?? How do I get?

cpate99 2010-07-02 17:39

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
At last, type "./installer.sh <size of FAT32 partition in MB>"

cpate99 2010-07-02 18:14

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Im using a 2gb memory card the last step confuises me

gowen 2010-07-02 18:21

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Is it possible to get root access in the Terminal Emulator or do I have to go through adb?
If I try su I get a message like "su not available to user 10025".

ear0wax 2010-07-02 18:34

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
dj_steve whats the status of porting opengl drivers? (i know its being looked at) Do you think the drivers from a motorola droid rom would work? The n900 and droid have the same OMAP 3430.

bipinbn 2010-07-02 18:38

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
@dj_steve.. buddy I have a question for you..

Is BME a vendor specific entity.. is it possible for BME from some android phone to work on N900

new_bee 2010-07-02 18:41

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cpate99 (Post 738806)
At last, type "./installer.sh <size of FAT32 partition in MB>"

it is the size of fat32 partition you want to keep in the memory card required for maemo. put 256 for 256 mb or 1980 for 1.9 gb etc.

giannoug 2010-07-02 18:46

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
The Pre also has the same GPU and a port of the drivers is available I think.

Some references:
http://code.google.com/p/beagleboard...XunderAngstrom

ToJa92 2010-07-02 18:47

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gowen (Post 738854)
Is it possible to get root access in the Terminal Emulator or do I have to go through adb?
If I try su I get a message like "su not available to user 10025".

IIRC you must use ADB for this

Dousan 2010-07-02 18:59

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
I've just been playing around with Nitdroid and found that i cant type numbers in passwords on webpages and the flashplayer 10.1 doesn't work for me? It says that i've to download the latest version, but when i try i don't have permision to do it? The flash plugin says 'computing'. I'm not sure wich build i'm on but pretty sure it's 0.0.4-3. How can i check that? And how to fix the flashplayer if possible? Sorry if it has been mentioned before :)

bonkel 2010-07-02 19:03

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dousan (Post 738898)
I've just been playing around with Nitdroid and found that i cant type numbers in passwords on webpages and the flashplayer 10.1 doesn't work for me? It says that i've to download the latest version, but when i try i don't have permision to do it? The flash plugin says 'computing'. I'm not sure wich build i'm on but pretty sure it's 0.0.4-3. How can i check that? And how to fix the flashplayer if possible? Sorry if it has been mentioned before :)

use the bugtracker please:

http://bugs.nitdroid.com/

pax2fast 2010-07-02 20:15

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
würde iDROID auf nitdroid gehn?

bonkel 2010-07-02 20:25

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
idroid is an app for the iphone,
nothing to do with android/nitdroid...
btw. the browser in nitdroid is the original browserfrom android ^^

kingoddball 2010-07-02 22:28

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
type SU into the terminal on android.
works for me :)

for adb you need to setup usb networking om linux box.

dj_steve 2010-07-02 22:44

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
gl drivers are not all thats needed for gfx we need correct kernel modules to match em. unless anyone fancys trying to backport the pvr drivers from the droid/milestones kernel to nokias one.

as for bme no i think its tied to device

nax3000 2010-07-03 00:53

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dj_steve (Post 739074)
gl drivers are not all thats needed for gfx we need correct kernel modules to match em. unless anyone fancys trying to backport the pvr drivers from the droid/milestones kernel to nokias one.

as for bme no i think its tied to device

Do you also need drivers for the DSP support?

ArchiMark 2010-07-03 02:45

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ToJa92 (Post 735461)
OK now everything should be sorted with the installer, it's available here as it should be http://downloads.nitdroid.com/autoin...r/installer.sh

Thanks, ToJa92, for the installer and instruction!

In process of Stage 2 now on N900, but want to make that I'm clear about your instruction:

Quote:

and at last "./installer.sh <size of FAT32 partition in MB>" where the FAT32 partition size is your choice.
I did:

Code:

# ./installer.sh 256
Is that OK or should I have typed '256MB' or 256M' ?

Meanwhile, on Stage 2, I see an error message:

Quote:

E: Couldn't find package bootmenu-900
Just before line 'Downloading the latest NITDroid rootfs to MyDocs'

Is this a problem? If so, what to do?
Thanks!

Descalzo 2010-07-03 04:26

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Don't you have to enable extras-devel?

ZShakespeare 2010-07-03 05:14

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dj_steve (Post 739074)
gl drivers are not all thats needed for gfx we need correct kernel modules to match em. unless anyone fancys trying to backport the pvr drivers from the droid/milestones kernel to nokias one.

as for bme no i think its tied to device

Yeah I tried plugging the milestone drivers in today, and have yet to have any sucess. Are there any prospects for getting the bme working at all?

ToJa92 2010-07-03 06:46

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ArchiMark (Post 739191)
Thanks, ToJa92, for the installer and instruction!

In process of Stage 2 now on N900, but want to make that I'm clear about your instruction:



I did:

Code:

# ./installer.sh 256
Is that OK or should I have typed '256MB' or 256M' ?

Meanwhile, on Stage 2, I see an error message:



Just before line 'Downloading the latest NITDroid rootfs to MyDocs'

Is this a problem? If so, what to do?
Thanks!

No 256 is correct. Do you actually see "bootmenu-900" ? The package name is "bootmenu-n900", and you'll need extras devel to install it IIRC.

Also, there's a Wiki page for the autoinstaller now. I will probably remove the instructions from my post, so look here for further reference http://wiki.nitdroid.com/index.php?t...-Autoinstaller

(also there's a improved version on its way)

e-yes 2010-07-03 08:34

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
NitDroid Froyo - accelerometer demo (Speed Forge 3D)

+ R&D disabled
+ sensors library (accelerometer)
+ lights library (LCD and keyboard backlight)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMkO1guE35o

P. S. dsme && bme runs ok, i hope battery charging would work soon.

kingoddball 2010-07-03 08:55

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
RD disabled now? :(
Does it use more cpu and make Android slower while it's poking the watchdogs (if that's what is being done)?

With the newer builds, if RD is not necessary, can I still run it with RD is ON?

ToJa92 2010-07-03 09:06

Re: [Android] NITDroid V2 Development Topic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by e-yes (Post 739338)
NitDroid Froyo - accelerometer demo (Speed Forge 3D)

+ R&D disabled
+ sensors library (accelerometer)
+ lights library (LCD and keyboard backlight)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMkO1guE35o

P. S. dsme && bme runs ok, i hope battery charging would work soon.

Is it up for grab yet?
Also, post #2000 (in this thread)


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:05.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8