maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Nokia N900 (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=60320)

ceroberts75 2010-08-26 17:09

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lemmyslender (Post 799041)
OK - since you are using Titian's power kernel, you are off to a good start.

1) Download disable script and enable script and save in MyDocs
2)Open Xterm, and gain root, and switch to MyDocs directory
Code:

sudo gainroot
cd MyDocs

3a) copy the disable script to /etc/network/if-down.d
Code:

cp 00_disable_apn_ipv6 /etc/network/if-down.d
3b) copy the enable script to /etc/network/if-up.d
Code:

cp 00_enable_apn_ipv /etc/network/if-up.d
4a) Modify the enable script to reflect your normal APN (epc.tmobile.com for higher priced plan or internet2.voicestream.com for $10 plan) check in setup - internet connections - connections - T-Mobile Internet - Edit -Next, to see which one you are using. Use your favorite editor, I use leafpad
Code:

leafpad /etc/network/if-up.d/00_enable_apn_ipv
4b) Change sip.intdt.intra to your ipv4 APN value (epc.tmobile.com or internet2.voicestream.com)
Code:

### IPv4 APN value to hook up when activating IPv6 APN ###
MY_IPv4_APN="sip.indt.intra"

4c) Change ipv6.indt.intra to ccinternet2.t-mobile.com
Code:

### IPv6 APN value ###
MY_IPv6_APN="ipv6.indt.intra"

4d) Make sure name and password are blank, not indt
Code:

### IPv6 APN username ###
MY_IPv6_USERNAME="indt"

### IPv6 APN password ###
MY_IPv6_PASSWORD="indt"

4e) Change no to yes
Code:

### Add prioritary IPv6-specific DNS server? ###
ADD_IPv6_DNS="no"

4f) Save and exit.
5) Make sure the scripts are executable
Code:

chmod ugo+x /etc/network/if-up.d/00_enable_apn_ipv6
chmod ugo+x /etc/network/if-down.d/00_disable_apn_ipv6

6) You should now be set to run ipv4+ipv6. Disconnect from your 3g connection, then reconnect. Alternately, you could just reboot. Make sure you are on a 3g connection and not a wifi connection.

THANK YOU for this!!!!

if the ip6v doesnt work the way we need it to, do you know how we would go about getting back to the original configuration?

frostbyte 2010-08-26 17:11

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
ipv6 only: http://code.google.com/p/n900ipv6/wiki/README

had problems with ipv4/ipv6 while using JoikuSpot. the ipv6-only setup leaves the ipv4 alone allowing two independent connections. works well!

lemmyslender 2010-08-26 17:32

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
Just for completeness I am going to add a step to check for the proper DNS server

Check to verify newer DNS server is used, this should be 2607:FB90:BEEF:A::1, if not change it.
Code:

### Prioritary IPv6-specific DNS server ###
IPv6_DNS="2607:FB90:beef:3::2"


ddrown 2010-08-26 23:45

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ceroberts75 (Post 799269)
THANK YOU for this!!!!

if the ip6v doesnt work the way we need it to, do you know how we would go about getting back to the original configuration?

To disable the dual v4+v6, just do:

mv /etc/network/if-*.d/*apn_ipv6 /home/user

This prevents the scripts from being run by putting them in your home directory

geneven 2010-08-27 00:08

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
So, dumb question here. What happens when the beta testing ends? Do they roll ipv6 into their regular offerings? And, btw, was there a statement of how long the beta period is projected to be?

ddrown 2010-08-27 00:17

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by geneven (Post 799558)
So, dumb question here. What happens when the beta testing ends? Do they roll ipv6 into their regular offerings? And, btw, was there a statement of how long the beta period is projected to be?

I have no knowledge of tmobile's plans, but I expect they will add v6 into their regular offerings. It's cheaper for their network, and should make it easier for developers targeting mobiles.

ceroberts75 2010-08-27 00:46

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
Quote:

4a) Modify the enable script to reflect your normal APN (epc.tmobile.com for higher priced plan or internet2.voicestream.com for $10 plan) check in setup - internet connections - connections - T-Mobile Internet - Edit -Next, to see which one you are using. Use your favorite editor, I use leafpad
Code:
leafpad /etc/network/if-up.d/00_enable_apn_ipv4b) Change sip.intdt.intra to your ipv4 APN value (epc.tmobile.com or internet2.voicestream.com)
Code:
### IPv4 APN value to hook up when activating IPv6 APN ###
MY_IPv4_APN="sip.indt.intra"4c) Change ipv6.indt.intra to ccinternet2.t-mobile.com
Code:
### IPv6 APN value ###
MY_IPv6_APN="ipv6.indt.intra"4d) Make sure name and password are blank, not indt
Code:
### IPv6 APN username ###
MY_IPv6_USERNAME="indt"

### IPv6 APN password ###
MY_IPv6_PASSWORD="indt"4e) Change no to yes
Code:
### Add prioritary IPv6-specific DNS server? ###
ADD_IPv6_DNS="no"4f) Save and exit.
im a bit confused by this. was fine until i got to 5. where it said save and exit.

so do all those codes get typed in order to the leafpad?

how are they spaced and where do the get save to and what should they be named?

i was entering them in the cd MyDocs in xterm...didnt get any errors and wasnt directed to do differently.

when it said leafpad, i installed it then used your code. just pasted the ccinternet2.t-mobile.com and taped save, then went on.

thank you.

lemmyslender 2010-08-27 01:07

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ceroberts75 (Post 799582)
im a bit confused by this. was fine until i got to 5. where it said save and exit.

so do all those codes get typed in order to the leafpad?

how are they spaced and where do the get save to and what should they be named?

i was entering them in the cd MyDocs in xterm...didnt get any errors and wasnt directed to do differently.

when it said leafpad, i installed it then used your code. just pasted the ccinternet2.t-mobile.com and taped save, then went on.

thank you.

Dang! sorry looks like cut'n'paste failed me. the command in 4a should be
Code:

leafpad /etc/network/if-up.d/00_enable_apn_ipv6
I dropped a "6" at the end of the line.

That should open up the script in leafpad. Scroll through to find the sections I posted and replace the appropriate parts.

*EDIT* fixed in original post. You guys should probably go back and re-quote me or edit your posts to remove most of the quote to avoid confusion.

Upon further testing, I can normally get SIP working on ipv6 only. TOR still errors with "network unreachable". In the meantime, ipv4+ipv6 works just fine, will hold connection for several hours.

Anyone else out there using TOR?

lemmyslender 2010-08-27 01:19

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by geneven (Post 799558)
So, dumb question here. What happens when the beta testing ends? Do they roll ipv6 into their regular offerings? And, btw, was there a statement of how long the beta period is projected to be?

I imagine that at some point more and more mobiles will be programed to use ipv6 exclusively. Those mobiles that can will be able to take advantage of the ipv6 connection. Those that can't will use the "old" ipv4 network.

The beta is just to help tmo iron out the wrinkles. Think gmail or google voice. beta first, then free to everyone later.

If I were tmo, I'd offer a cheaper rate to ipv6 uses to encourage adoption.

ceroberts75 2010-08-27 02:17

Re: IPv6 T-Mobile US Beta Test
 
i am sorry for asking....

i think my eyes are just hurting from this ...lol.

but i believe it is almost there thanks to that.


i remember reading somewhere a url to type into microb that would allow me into the settings to enable the ipv6 in the browswer.


after going through all the steps. and looking like it was all in ok...it still is giving me an ipv4 from the www.whatismyipv6.com website.


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:46.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8