maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   SailfishOS (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=52)
-   -   SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=100891)

oenone 2020-11-10 15:30

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Stupidly tried to update on reasonably functional 3.3.0.16 Pro1 using:

Code:

pkcon refresh
pkcon update

Alright, cool, got some updates. But I think it did not work correctly.

Went to upgrade to 3.4.0.24 using:

Code:

ssu release 3.4.0.24
version --dup

Code:

Error: Unit home.mount failed to load: No such file or directory.
Finished transaction (status-2, runtime=0ms)
UPGRADE NOT COMPLETE - Retry 1 of 9
Waiting 1 seconds before retry.

This carries on ten times and it fails.

Ok, how about using zypper?

Code:

zypper ref
zypper up

A large group of updates are found, but running the updates keeps spilling an error for each package:

Code:

Applying delta: ./package.drpm........[error]
applydeltarpm failed.

Ok, how about PackageKit?

Code:

pkcon refresh
Failed to contact PackageKit: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.freedesktop.PackageKit: Unit home.mount failed to load: No such file or directory.

Odd. Do I have PackageKit installed?

Code:

zypper install PackageKit
Loading repository data...
Reading installed packages...
'PackageKit' is already installed.
No update candidate for 'PackageKit-1.1.13+git9-1.14.5.jolla.arm7hl'. The highest available version is already installed.
Resolving package dependencies...

Nothing to do.

Huh, it is already there. Maybe the service needs to be started?

Code:

systemctl start PackageKit
Failed to start PackageKit.service: Unit PackageKit.service failed to load: No such file or directory.

How about trying to find PackageKit?

Code:

find /home/ -name 'PackageKit-*'
Find yields no result.

Folks, I'm not entirely sure of what I should do next to resolve this issue. Any advice would be great.

epninety 2020-11-10 18:24

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Having reread the thread on the sfos forum, it seems that Battery Overlay was the source of the problem for me.

Just enough time to uninstall it on boot :)

Camera no longer works, otherwise everything seems normal.

Oddly, the camera not functioning at all makes it less irritating than usual trying to take pictures :o

oenone 2020-11-15 03:24

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Reinstalled 3.3.0.16 using the image from the F(x)tec forums, and then upgraded it to 3.4.0.24 using the command line

Code:

ssu release 3.4.0.24
version --dup

The upgrade seems to have worked.

However, the issue of three-dozen partitions appearing in the storage settings has returned, and none of the partitions is the microSD card so restoring the backup taken is not possible.

Code:

pkcon ref
pkcon up

doesn't do anything as everything is already up to date.

The device is fantastic, but it seems like the adaptation needs to be polished a bit, and there doesn't seem to be an easy way to contribute financially to the porter to allow them to spend the time to polish the port of SailfishOS to the Pro1 to prevent such issues as what I am encountering.

EDIT: The way to contribute financially to the port is actually simple and easy and I just wasn't paying attention to the first post.

Kabouik 2020-11-15 12:48

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Actually all three porters have donation links if you want to support them:

- https://paypal.me/rthekit
- https://paypal.me/piggz
- https://paypal.me/MisterMagister

I don't have the partition issue but I still haven't updated to 3.4.

oenone 2020-11-15 17:25

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kabouik (Post 1570198)
Actually all three porters have donation links if you want to support them:

- https://paypal.me/rthekit
- https://paypal.me/piggz
- https://paypal.me/MisterMagister

I don't have the partition issue but I still haven't updated to 3.4.

Thank you kindly.

I am in agreement that indeed, staying on 3.3 is the better course of action for now. Had to reinstall again, but I'd rather a stable system with usable microSD storage.

mosen 2020-11-16 00:10

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Sorry for repetitiveness.
The port is not ready to be updated to 3.4 for daily drivers according to the porters.

I promise to get really loud here as soon as indication of a change happens.

And since Kabouik seems to be shy, i promote our feature in netmans "In-Depth Review" Video.

A 40 minute long dive into the details of the Proš by netman. Plus Kabouik and me playing around with the sfos port and lxc a little since it was "underrepresented" during the Proš-X campaign.

The video is hilarious, thanks again netman for the feature parts :D

EDIT, WOOW, missed the Backlog. Sorry Kabouik :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXDkbUzGthw

piggz 2020-11-16 18:44

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Ill just chip in here....

What @mosen says is correct, its best not to update to 3.4 prior to me releasing it, as I want to make the build LVM based, including encryption. I cant do this as an update from the old layout without (soft) bricking the device, so, ive chosen 3.4 as the time.

All ports are still waiting on Jolla to add 3.4 to OBS, this is taking longer than usual.

We use patched plugin for the paritions, so, if you manually udpate to 3.4, likely you would get the non-patched version, and that will cause this issue.

As always, im best contacted on telegram as @adampigg, and join the SFOS Pro1 Users group at https://t.me/sfos_user_pro1

Fellfrosch 2020-11-16 19:05

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Do I understand it right, that updating to 3.4 will bring encryption without the necessity to reflash???
If so I think about to wait for 3.4.

I have already plans to reflash my pro1 because I'm not really happy with it's actual state. It eats by far to much battery and bluetooth compatibility with my car multimedia is lost since I bricked my device when I decided to update, while being on unstable release and you started to implement encryption.

This is by the way absolutely no critic! I'm absolutely impressed and grateful for this port. Keep up your great work !!!!

piggz 2020-11-16 19:17

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Fellfrosch (Post 1570206)
Do I understand it right, that updating to 3.4 will bring encryption without the necessity to reflash???
If so I think about to wait for 3.4.

I have already plans to reflash my pro1 because I'm not really happy with it's actual state. It eats by far to much battery and bluetooth compatibility with my car multimedia is lost since I bricked my device when I decided to update, while being on unstable release and you started to implement encryption.

This is by the way absolutely no critic! I'm absolutely impressed and grateful for this port. Keep up your great work !!!!

No, 3.4 will require a re-flash (unless you already flashed the devel version and have the encryption)

What do you mean the BT is lost since you bricked?

Fellfrosch 2020-11-16 19:23

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
OK, than I will do the reflash in 2 weeks, when I have holidays.

I haven't lost BT. I just can't connect to my car anymore. I'm still able to connect to some bluetooth speakers.

epninety 2020-11-23 22:03

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
According to Adam (piggz) via the fxtec forum, 3.4 is now ready for the Pro1 :D

Many thanks are due to Adam and the SFOS portersfor their sterling work - Thanks guys!

epninety 2020-11-25 17:52

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
It seems that in 3.4.0.24, Bluetooth has taken another big step sideways. None of my paired devices are remembered after a reboot.

I only succesfully managed to route audio to the headset in a call on one out of two devices (both newish Plantronics, but different models).
That's probably the same as I saw on previous SFOS versions, but the total amnesia is new to me.

Bundyo 2020-11-25 19:41

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
This is strange. I only paired my Pebble, but it is still there and reconnects on reboot.

Btw, there was a fix or two lately, make sure you do a zypper ref & dup, might help.

epninety 2020-11-25 21:23

That's a good idea Bundyo. I'll give it a try....Nope. No devices listed after reboot. :(

Bundyo 2020-11-27 07:01

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
How did you upgrade to 3.4? You did reflash, right?

epninety 2020-11-27 15:40

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
It was installed by a reflash. I was previously running 3.4 installed via zypper, but I don't know if the problem existed then. It's only because of the 'proper' new release that I bothered plugging in a sim and trying to use the Pro1 as a telephone instead of a desk toy.

Fellfrosch 2020-12-02 13:36

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
I have reflashed today with 3.4. And I'm setting up my Pro1 at the moment, which is quite painful again.

That's not the fault of the port but has different reasons. Flashing process has improved and is now really easy.

What is not so easy:
Installing apps, There are a quite big amount of apps which are not installable via Storeman (package not found). Downloading from openrepos and installing them manually works almost every time.

Some apps/patches are not able to run under 3.4. I think mostly because of the change of the username.

Next annoyance: I made a backup before I reflashed. Unfortunately this backup didn't include my contacts. I have no clue why. Lucky me, I have still an older vcf export. I hope not to many contacts are missing.

Fingerprint has worked at the beginning but after some time it stopped to work again. I have no clue what I have installed which prevents the fingerprint reader to work. Is there any suggestion how to debug?

My first impression regarding battery life is, that it went to normal again which is good because it made me really mad to have a device which just with luck survived the day.

I will report when I finished the setting up my pro1, if there are further things, I encountered.

epninety 2020-12-02 15:34

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
I reflashed SFOS 3.4 today (via UBPorts and back to stock android) and it seems to have cured my 'forgetting bluetooth devices' issue :)

xman 2020-12-02 17:23

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Fellfrosch (Post 1570363)
What is not so easy:
Installing apps, There are a quite big amount of apps which are not installable via Storeman (package not found). Downloading from openrepos and installing them manually works almost every time.

Did you happen to check the date? I know on the PinePhone I had this issue for some apps and it was that my year was far into the future. After changing that it work fine to install.

x

Fellfrosch 2020-12-02 17:34

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Thanks for the hint, but my device lives in the here and now. :D
It is just a minor annoyance, as long as I can install them.
So I will probably not investigate further.
By the way, after deinstalling some outdated stuff Fingerprint works again.

taixzo 2020-12-02 22:31

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Fellfrosch (Post 1570363)
Some apps/patches are not able to run under 3.4. I think mostly because of the change of the username.

What do you mean? Did the username change from "nemo" to something else in 3.4?

peterleinchen 2020-12-02 23:14

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by taixzo (Post 1570373)
What do you mean? Did the username change from "nemo" to something else in 3.4?

Yes. From.3.4 on if the device is flashed the new default user name is 'defaultuser'.
Devices updated OTA to 3.4 will keep 'nemo'.

Zeta 2020-12-02 23:21

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Fellfrosch (Post 1570363)
Next annoyance: I made a backup before I reflashed. Unfortunately this backup didn't include my contacts. I have no clue why. Lucky me, I have still an older vcf export. I hope not to many contacts are missing.

I got the same problem : backup did not restore all successfully, and contacts, notes and browser favorite did not make it.

However the problem was not in the backup part, only in the restore step.

If you open the backup archive, you can find the vcf data that you can extract and import manually. At least it did it for me.
Path inside the backup archive is : /./People/data/all.vcf

taixzo 2020-12-03 07:01

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by peterleinchen (Post 1570374)
Yes. From.3.4 on if the device is flashed the new default user name is 'defaultuser'.
Devices updated OTA to 3.4 will keep 'nemo'.

Ah, good to know. Need to go check all my scripts and applications to see if any have a hardcoded home directory.

Kabouik 2020-12-03 10:28

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
I was thinking recently that I should do the same yes, but I've been lazy so far.

From the user's perspective, a workaround that someone suggested is to make a symlink to /home/nemo.

Fellfrosch 2020-12-03 11:21

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
That helps for some apps. But others still have problems. I have no clue if it's caused by the username. Wunderfitz for example is crippled. I'm able to install it and use it with the build in Nowegian dictonary. But importing dictionaries is impossible.

At the moment I also struggle to set up a running debian container in lxc. But that also happened in the past, so I'm fiddeling around a little bit.

For the Wunderfitz problem I will have a look, if I can get some data from another phone.

Bundyo 2020-12-04 07:02

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kabouik (Post 1570379)
I was thinking recently that I should do the same yes, but I've been lazy so far.

From the user's perspective, a workaround that someone suggested is to make a symlink to /home/nemo.

More like the other way round - from /home/defaultuser to /home/nemo (assuming fresh install of 3.4).

Fellfrosch 2020-12-04 11:48

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Symlink is working fine.
So my last problem is, that I'm still not able to create a working debian container. Has anybody a running Container on the Pro1, running 3.4?

robthebold 2020-12-04 16:54

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by taixzo (Post 1570378)
Ah, good to know. Need to go check all my scripts and applications to see if any have a hardcoded home directory.

That problem came and bit me on the butt when I tried to run a python script I'd written on my SFOS device on my desktop. :( At least I'm now prepared for that one very specific migration problem.

cartron 2020-12-23 09:50

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Fellfrosch (Post 1570402)
Symlink is working fine.
So my last problem is, that I'm still not able to create a working debian container. Has anybody a running Container on the Pro1, running 3.4?

I recently bought a 2nd hand Pro1, and installed Harbour-containers on it yesterday, with Debian Buster.
I do have shell access, but Xsession does not work (yet), although I haven't spent time on it to understand why.

epninety 2020-12-23 13:44

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
I have previously had Xsession working in 3.3, but I've never managed to get it working in 3.4

xman 2020-12-23 18:17

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
How much are those going for @Cartron? Seem like people don't let them go unless they just don't like it.

x

cartron 2020-12-23 21:43

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by xman (Post 1570541)
How much are those going for @Cartron? Seem like people don't let them go unless they just don't like it.

x

I got mine at 320€ including shipping, which is a really nice price.
The Pro1 is not new and has some (very small) scratches on the back, but apart from that it works great.

I bought it from someone who bought a Volla phone and didn't need it anymore.

xman 2020-12-23 22:25

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Realy nice find and great price. Good on you mate!

x

madcheeze 2021-03-27 05:11

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by epninety (Post 1570540)
I have previously had Xsession working in 3.3, but I've never managed to get it working in 3.4

Hey Epninety, i have the same issue. if you are talking about LXC containers?

have you been able to fix it?

epninety 2021-03-27 10:04

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by madcheeze (Post 1571383)
Hey Epninety, i have the same issue. if you are talking about LXC containers?

have you been able to fix it?

I've not spent any time on it at all, but it looks like others have had success

Fellfrosch 2021-03-27 11:23

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
But as it seems, just with user nemo...

taixzo 2021-03-27 18:46

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
I've noticed an issue with the camera: if I record a video, stop, and then switch the camera into photo mode, the camera freezes and is unusable until I reboot.

epninety 2021-03-27 19:17

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by taixzo (Post 1571393)
I've noticed an issue with the camera: if I record a video, stop, and then switch the camera into photo mode, the camera freezes and is unusable until I reboot.

That must be really annoying - I don't think I've ever managed to use the camera app without at least once accidentally putting it in video mode and starting recording instead of taking a shot.

Wikiwide 2022-01-30 08:01

Re: SFOS on F(x)tec Proš: progress, issues, tricks, free chat
 
Could somebody please share Sailfish OS 3.3.0.16 image for F(x)tec Proš? Google Drive link in https://community.fxtec.com/topic/24...or-fxtec-pro1/ is apparently broken.

I have recently turned my device into a brick by software updates - apparently, fixing ca-certificate issue, after many months of being unable to contact repositories due to curl error 60, is liable to bring problems. See https://irclogs.sailfishos.org/logs/...01-29.log.html for details. I will likely have to reinstall Sailfish altogether - after I adb pull all my photographs/videos/documents/audio-recordings/downloads/whatever from the device. It takes time because my laptop doesn't have enough free space for all the files (~100GB) at the same time.

Perhaps, I could use adb shell and adb push to patch the problems on my device to fix the issue - that is, if I knew what the issue is that makes the device unbootable.

I do have a sailfishos-t5-release-3.2.1.20-devel-20200122.zip on my laptop, from the last time I had to reflash my device. Could use that in a pinch... But am hoping somebody has 3.3.0.16 somewhere.

Thank you. Best wishes.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Per aspera ad astra...


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:12.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8