maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Games (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=5686)

ukki 2009-01-09 16:22

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Addison (Post 255830)
So maybe have a feature where you can select two possible keyboard layouts instead of just one? Meaning, one for each side of the screen if needed.

Ok, will do. Should these layouts be available online too? Meaning you could create them and put them to RubyBox database so anyone can fetch them to RubyBox with a click? I doubt there's need to upload them from RubyBox.

Pushwall, should we do the same for mapper-files? Put all available under download section.

Pushwall 2009-01-09 16:28

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ukki (Post 255850)
Pushwall, should we do the same for mapper-files? Put all available under download section.

Yes that would be great too instead of searching through these forums for the link. Good thought.

yukky 2009-01-10 08:33

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ukki (Post 255777)
This would be an easy feature to add. Ruby should hit extras soon, so I could put RubyBox there too (if Arnims does the same for his dosbox). How would you guys like this implemented? RubyBox could search for keyboard layouts from a certain directory and let you choose one for each game for example.

That would be awesome!

The keyboard layout for Monopoly that Addison showed is a good example, but I've seen quite a few games where certain shortcuts like F1, F2... could be renamed to something more useful.

We really need a wiki for all this stuff :D

yukky 2009-01-10 09:04

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Just noticed that there is a bug in Rubybox, where if there is an & (ampersand) in the executable name or directory, dosbox fails to start.

ukki 2009-01-10 14:03

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by yukky (Post 256092)
Just noticed that there is a bug in Rubybox, where if there is an & (ampersand) in the executable name or directory, dosbox fails to start.

Hmm, worked for me when I tested.

yukky 2009-01-11 03:04

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Hmmm...
my source/directory was

/media/mmc2/dos/l&d/l&d.exe

when i took out the ampersands it seemed to work.. any idea?

ukki 2009-01-11 14:01

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by yukky (Post 256335)
Hmmm...
my source/directory was

/media/mmc2/dos/l&d/l&d.exe

when i took out the ampersands it seemed to work.. any idea?

Are you using the latest RubyBox 0.3.8 and the latest Dosbox 0.72? I just tested with the exact name and the game started fine.

ukki 2009-01-13 16:04

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
New update with the requested features. Bad news is that you have to start using the new Ruby packages. So please remove the old RubyBox and all Ruby libraries that you have installed.

Then add this repository to your application manager:

Code:

Catalogue Name: Ruby1.8 for Maemo
Web address: http://stage.rubyx.co.uk/maemo/
Distribution: diablo
Components: user

Then run these commands as root:

Code:

apt-get install libhildon1-ruby1.8 libruby1.8 libconic-ruby1.8 ruby1.8 libosso-ruby1.8
wget http://stage.rubyx.co.uk/projects/ruby-maemo/packages/maemo4/armel/libxml2-ruby1.8_0.9.7-0maemo1_armel.deb
dpkg -i libxml2-ruby1.8_0.9.7-0maemo1_armel.deb

Finally download and install the latest RubyBox from here.

Thanks to Pushwall for testing. And Pushwall, you should install this update too because of few new changes.

Also note that dosbox automatically runs the default xkbd layout if xkbd is installed. It's hardcoded into the binary, so you should become root and run this command:

Code:

mv /usr/share/dosbox/dosbox.xkbd /usr/share/dosbox/dosbox2.xkbd
Addison's keyboard layouts and Pushwall's mapperfile can be downloaded from the download section. Let me know if you issues.

Addison 2009-01-14 00:25

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Hi Ukki!

Any reason for why I'm receiving the abort message?

Quote:

0 upgraded, 11 newly installed, 0 to remove and 4 not upgraded.
Need to get 2609kB of archives.
After unpacking 9425kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
Abort.
Thanks ahead.

ukki 2009-01-14 09:35

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Addison (Post 257383)
Hi Ukki!
Any reason for why I'm receiving the abort message?
Thanks ahead.

Does that come after trying to install all the Ruby libs? Try running the command again and press lowercase y. I don't see a reason why it would abort.

Addison 2009-01-14 14:58

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Same thing with lower case, tried that before even posting last question.

Latest Diablo, nothing much of anything installed on it, also cleaned out every Ruby package that was on it as well.

Quote:

Nokia-N800-43-7:~# apt-get install libhildon1-ruby1.8 libruby1.8 libconic-ruby1.8 ruby1.8 libosso-ruby1.8
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
libatk1-ruby1.8 libcairo-ruby1.8 libgdk-pixbuf2-ruby1.8 libglib2-ruby1.8
libgtk2-ruby1.8 libpango1-ruby1.8
The following NEW packages will be installed:
libatk1-ruby1.8 libcairo-ruby1.8 libconic-ruby1.8 libgdk-pixbuf2-ruby1.8
libglib2-ruby1.8 libgtk2-ruby1.8 libhildon1-ruby1.8 libosso-ruby1.8
libpango1-ruby1.8 libruby1.8 ruby1.8
0 upgraded, 11 newly installed, 0 to remove and 4 not upgraded.
Need to get 2609kB of archives.
After unpacking 9425kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
Abort.

ukki 2009-01-15 17:51

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Hmm, try adding
Code:

-y --force-yes
after apt-get install or try installing the libxml package with dpkg first. It should complain about missing dependencies. After it's installed, try running
Code:

apt-get -f install
as root and see what happens. If you are doing this on the device and not via ssh, try rebooting the device. Maybe xkbd has messed up something. Also make sure you have enough space left.

Addison 2009-01-16 09:49

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Ayup!

Adding -y --force-yes did the trick for some reason.

I'm really digging the high standard of your RubyBox.

Great work! :D

mfsamuel 2009-01-28 20:27

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
I had a question about the mouse click functionality, but what I really want is some advice on how to properly work with dos applications that use relative positioning of the mouse. has a solution been worked out for these programs?

Pushwall 2009-01-30 17:00

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mfsamuel (Post 260584)
I had a question about the mouse click functionality, but what I really want is some advice on how to properly work with dos applications that use relative positioning of the mouse. has a solution been worked out for these programs?

There are only a couple options that I know of that affect the mouse. In Rubybox on the main parameter screen you'll see a parameter called 'sdl sensitivity' set to a default of 100. Try adusting that up or down 5 points. In the advanced screen of Rubybox there is a parameeter called 'sdl autolock' which is set to a default of 'true'. Try setting that to 'false'. Between those 2 settings I've been able to get mouse positioning to work on many games. Of course there are always some buggers that just won't work no matter what.

jeremiahL 2009-02-04 19:40

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Is the source for the maemo version of DosBox posted somewhere? Or is it totally unmodified from upstream DosBox? If unmodified, I'd love to see the rules file for building the deb and try building it myself.

Also I noticed that this page exists:

https://garage.maemo.org/projects/dosbox/

It would be great to get your work integrated into this site. The existing site is just an empty placeholder.

ukki 2009-02-04 20:15

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremiahL (Post 262115)
Is the source for the maemo version of DosBox posted somewhere? Or is it totally unmodified from upstream DosBox? If unmodified, I'd love to see the rules file for building the deb and try building it myself.

Also I noticed that this page exists:

https://garage.maemo.org/projects/dosbox/

It would be great to get your work integrated into this site. The existing site is just an empty placeholder.

ArnimS probably has the sources, but I doubt he's reading these forums anymore.

qole 2009-02-04 22:18

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ukki (Post 262121)
ArnimS probably has the sources, but I doubt he's reading these forums anymore.

Why do you doubt he's reading these forums anymore?

I just checked, he hasn't been on since Dec 31, 2008...

Bundyo 2009-02-04 22:27

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Yes, he shows from time to time, even responds here and there.

Addison 2009-02-05 00:31

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hey Ukki, I think I might have done something terribly wrong with your new layout settings.

Right now, this is all I'm seeing for this file:
/usr/bin/dosboxkbd
#!/bin/sh


Whatever keyboard I select, it just throws it on the right side of the screen and is also offset by 1 pixel both on the X and Y axis so it's not tightly snugged against the screen like intended.

If I choose another keyboard, like wanting to have one on the left side, it's just dumping it on top of the right one.

What filthy piece of crap did I screw up on this? :D

Also, when you have the time, could you upload and package my Monopoly keyboard and have it so one could have it displayed on either the right or let side by choice?

It should be easy enough for anyone to edit it using Emelfm2 so one can simply custom design a few hotkeys for whatever game or application they are using.

Thanks ahead buddy!

ukki 2009-02-05 08:52

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Addison, try rubybox_0.4.0.deb. It's not perfect, but it tries to parse the keyboard size and then show it at the defined position. Most problems can be fixed by fixing the keyboard file so that it defines col width and height at least once for every row. Also the xkbd geometry parameter works pretty weirdly imo, let me know if you have suggestions on how to fix it.

Thanks for the ArnimS info, should have checked better, it's just that I haven't seen his posts in ages.

Addison 2009-02-05 09:27

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Heya Ukki!

Quote:

Also the xkbd geometry parameter works pretty weirdly imo, let me know if you have suggestions on how to fix it.

Yeah, it does show signs of unnecessary weirdness.

I found a way to trick it awhile back though.

Any right side keyboard should be started with this command:
xkbd -geometry +722+65536

Any left side keyboard is this:
xkbd -geometry +65536+65536

Strange as it might seem, it actually works.

I can't program a single thing but I've always been good with numbers and theory. :D

Any chance you could update your Rubybox again to allow for better positioning of the keyboards along with that Monopoly file I post before?

Thanks ahead.

ukki 2009-02-05 09:34

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Try the 0.4.0 first, you can position your keyboards with it by selecting the position from the dropdown after the keyboard name. Remember to click somewhere after selecting the keyboard or it won't save the change.

Addison 2009-02-05 10:00

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Hey, I'm always excited about another new release!

The turd with me though is that I usually don't have the time to post back on it for at least a week.

Give me some time to enjoy your new feature and I'll write a response.

Again, could you please package that Mono keyboard? I think a few of us here might enjoy being able to modify it for their custom needs.

ukki 2009-02-05 12:33

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
It's now part of your keyboard package. Let me know if you want admin rights to RubyBox so you can update stuff like that yourself.

Pushwall 2009-02-05 19:23

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Oh wow this a version up from the one I'm using. I'm installing this bad boy right away! :cool:

Addison 2009-02-06 02:52

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Hey Ukki!

Great update!

Keyboards are still off by one pixel though.

Simple fix is to add 65536 to all of the dimensions that you have programmed already.

Does that make sense to you?

Thanks ahead chief. :)

ukki 2009-02-06 06:15

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
No, it does not :) Only way I could get them properly positioned was to use +X+Y format. But for some reason +0+0 doesn't work. +1+1 (which positions the keyboard at 1,1) works which of course makes it 1 pixel off. But that way I can at least get them close enough. But I'll look at using those coords wherever I can. Thanks a lot.

Addison 2009-02-06 06:40

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

No, it does not Only way I could get them properly positioned was to use +X+Y format. But for some reason +0+0 doesn't work. +1+1 (which positions the keyboard at 1,1) works which of course makes it 1 pixel off. But that way I can at least get them close enough.
Yeah, you're exactly right on that.

So for your +X+Y format go with +65536+65536.

Xkbd will interpret those numbers as +0+0 values.

Give it a tug yourself and try it! :D

ukki 2009-02-07 04:44

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Thanks a lot Addison, that did the trick:

rubybox_0.4.1.deb

Addison 2009-02-07 05:39

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Oh yeah baby!

And with that, I call this project a wrap!

I can't think of anything else to add unless there might be more requests that Pushwall might suggest.

But for me, I have nothing because it's now total perfection!

Thank you so much for the time you put into building this project.

Where would you like me to mail your free box of malt liquor for what you've done, Ukki? :D

ukki 2009-02-07 07:15

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Addison (Post 262711)
Oh yeah baby!

And with that, I call this project a wrap!

I can't think of anything else to add unless there might be more requests that Pushwall might suggest.

But for me, I have nothing because it's now total perfection!

Thank you so much for the time you put into building this project.

Where would you like me to mail your free box of malt liquor for what you've done, Ukki? :D

Don't go making promises you can't keep :) But seriously, it could look a bit better and settings window feels a bit too crowded for my taste. Hopefully I get the energy to fix that someday.

And I don't need liquor atm, my bar cabinet is quite full. But maybe Pushwall would like it, I heard he enjoys getting drunk when playing with dosbox.

qole 2009-02-07 18:02

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
I wish you could push everything into Extras.

ArnimS, where are you, we need your source code!

ukki 2009-02-07 20:08

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by qole (Post 262805)
I wish you could push everything into Extras.

ArnimS, where are you, we need your source code!

ArnimS is not the problem here, Ruby is. And I think it's now safe to say it's never gonna happen, sorry.

Pushwall 2009-02-07 23:00

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ukki (Post 262720)
Don't go making promises you can't keep :) But seriously, it could look a bit better and settings window feels a bit too crowded for my taste. Hopefully I get the energy to fix that someday.

And I don't need liquor atm, my bar cabinet is quite full. But maybe Pushwall would like it, I heard he enjoys getting drunk when playing with dosbox.

Ukki you know me too well. No malt liquor for me though. A little Mad Dog 20/20 and RubyBox, and I'm in 7th heaven! :D

Seriously I too want to thank you for a great job on RubyBox. This makes playing DOS games on my tablet extremely easy. In fact I play more games with RubyBox now than any other games on my Nokia. You just can't beat these old DOS games for fun and playabiltiy. Again,...nice work! :cool:

Pushwall 2009-02-08 02:55

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Been playing some more RubyBox and sipping the Mad Dog. Another shout-out goes to Addison and his keyboards. Those rock too! :cool::cool::cool:

Addison 2009-02-08 07:05

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
For some reason I can picture Pushwall drinking from a box of Wild Berry Mad Dog, singing "Freebird", all while trying to flush his curtains down the toilet. :D

Anyway, I think I'm missing some concept and what Pushwall's mappers is supposed to do.

I went to KB Mappers and downloaded his mapper file and was given a message of "Installation complete" or something.

However, the folder where I asked to place it, nothing happened.

Also, I can choose "mappercsa" now but when I save, it just goes back to "mapper".

So I don't get it.

I think I would like to have privileges to your site, Ukki, so I can upload some junk I think most will find very attractive.

Some of them will also come with different mapper files as well, so what would be the easiest way of having these packaged together?

PM me so that I know how to log into your site if the offers still there.

Thanks!

ukki 2009-02-08 07:45

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Thanks for noticing the bug, mapper was only saved when advanced preferences were visible. It's now fixed, just update with the updater.

ltrinh 2009-02-09 18:39

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
OSEmutech or anyone who can help,

I've used bochs and successfully created a working windows95 image. It boots in bochs and runs smoothly. I would like to get it running on my n810 through dosbox but I'm testing it out on dosbox on my xp machine first. My problem is that I can't get the image to boot in dosbox.

I've tried things like "boot windows.img" which brings up a message saying "booting from A"

I've then tried imgmount from using the example from this page:
http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=7260

But when I type in the following:
imgmount c c:\win95\windows.img -size 450,63,16,914 -t hdd -fs fat

I get a message saying "can't create drive from file"

I've been at this for hours trying to figure this out and I cannot get a grip on getting this to boot.

Can someone please help me boot this through dosbox?

Thanks

ltrinh 2009-02-09 18:40

Re: DOSBox 0.65 ... ftw
 
Oh btw, I'm using .72 version of dosbox which is the latest and windows 95b


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:01.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8