maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   General (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   need to move a file (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=70549)

eefo 2011-03-02 10:49

need to move a file
 
hey there , i have .desktop file and i have to move it in /usr/share/applicaations/hildon/

but every time i try it says path has non-directory component .

what i am doing is .

cp MyDocs/desktop_lock.desktop /usr/share/applications/hildon/

what should i do ?

ejasmudar 2011-03-02 10:54

Re: need to move a file
 
Hmm, i am no expert but a few points crop up in my mind:
a. Did u become root before doing this?
b. are you in /home/user/ folder? Else you will have to do cd /home/user/MyDocs/.....

eefo 2011-03-02 11:12

Re: need to move a file
 
yeah , before putting this command i do sudo gainroot and yeah the file is in MyDocs !

i tried with filebox terminal aswell .

Switch_ 2011-03-02 11:16

Re: need to move a file
 
become root through sudo gainroot,
Code:

cd /home/user/MyDocs
, then use
Code:

mv desktop_lock.desktop /usr/share/applications/hildon/
instead of
Code:

cp

Switch_ 2011-03-02 12:30

Re: need to move a file
 
Allright, from the top then:

Open leafpad from xterm using
Code:

leafpad
Create a .desktop file that looks like this:
Code:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=0.1
Type=Application
Name=Lock
Exec=dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.req_tklock_mode_change string:"locked"
Icon=general_locked

Once that is done click on the top bar, and go to "Save As" - name the file "lock.desktop" and where it asks for location (currently says "/") change that to your device (click on the "/" button then click on your device name on the next pop-up - this will be the root of MyDocs folder in your device)

Open a new terminal window and become root
Code:

root
mv /home/user/MyDocs/lock.desktop /usr/share/applications/hildon/

Next open the settings on your desktop and "Add Shortcut" - add the shortcut called "Lock" and press it for fullscreen lockery shenanigans. Enjoy.

eefo 2011-03-02 12:48

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Switch_ (Post 958807)
Allright, from the top then:

Create a .desktop file that looks like this:
Code:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=0.1
Type=Application
Name=Lock
Exec=dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.req_tklock_mode_change string:"locked"

Save it as lock.desktop

Copy this onto your phone using USB or alternatively create it natively and save it to your /MyDocs (default location).

Open a new terminal window and become root
Code:

root
mv /home/user/MyDocs/lock.desktop /usr/share/applications/hildon/

Next open the settings on your desktop and "Add Shortcut" - add the shortcut called "Lock" and press it for fullscreen lockery shenanigans. Enjoy.



ignore the msg reply here .
just let me know how to save the script in the file ?
i am having problem only with saving it in a file :$
else is easy .
can i save it using leafpad ?

Switch_ 2011-03-02 12:55

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eefo (Post 958812)
ignore the msg reply here .
just let me know how to save the script in the file ?
i am having problem only with saving it in a file :$
else is easy .
can i save it using leafpad ?

See edit above - post amended with simpler instructions.

eefo 2011-03-02 12:57

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Switch_ (Post 958817)
See edit above - post amended with simpler instructions.


lol
thanks :D
and yeah , you can post it in a new thread for noobs and i hope it will be useful for others as well :P

eefo 2011-03-02 13:08

Re: need to move a file
 
i have a shortcut now . but as you said , it didn't work for me either :$
did it work at your side ?

Switch_ 2011-03-02 13:08

Re: need to move a file
 
use the code
Code:

mv /ho<TAB>use<TAB>My<TAB>loc<TAB> /us<TAB>sha<TAB>appli<TAB>hildon/
TAB is found at the bottom left hand side of the terminal window and it autocompletes the names for you. with this you can't really go wrong. Befoer we go too much further, you did use copy-paste technology on the dbus script if nothing else, right? You didn't actually go to the lengths of handwrinting it all in? Before it all goes tits up again!


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:41.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8