maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=16574)

fiferboy 2008-02-13 15:32

[Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock - updated
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hello all,

After reading a post on the Maemo UI improvements blog (http://tabletui.wordpress.com/) I realized that I would really like to see a clock in the statusbar of my N810. After a little while I also realized that I could do this myself, so I did.

A note before installing! I have tested this on my N810 (after doing a backup first ;) ) and have had no problems. In theory it should work on any N810 or N800 running OS2008, but my testing has been minimal. It ran overnight with no performance issues, and it can be added and removed from the statusbar without crashing the desktop (now). Please use this at your own risk, as I am not responsible for any loss of data or damage that may occur.

That being said, it is a very simple application and should not have any problems.

The way the Maemo statusbar is designed I could not fit a full clock in the limited width available, so I took another idea from Maemo UI improvments - a double wide "din" plugin. It is actually two plugins, one for the hour display and one for the minutes display. You should list minutes first when arranging them in the control panel. I would recommend placing it at the very top of the list, but it should be fine anywhere. Too low in the list, however, and you run the risk of having the display split when the statusbar extends two a two-level statusbar.

Currently the font size (18) and colour (white) are hardcoded. I think this should be fine with most themes, and I plan on making it configurable in the future. The only customization at this point is in ".statusbar_clock.rc" in your home directory. Change the line with "ampm" to switch between 24 hour mode and AM/PM mode.

If anyone wants the source, let me know since I have not uploaded it anywhere yet. I am a programmer, but I just hacked this together after looking at a few statusbar plugins.

Please let me know if there are any issues or improvements you can find. I'm sure some people may find this a complete waste of space given the limited real estate of the statusbar, but for anyone who would like the option of a clock in the statusbar - enjoy!

EDIT: Source code (and installable package) now available at
http://andrew.olmsted.ca/maemo/statusbar-clock

UPDATE: I have now made version 0.0.2 available. Improvements include:
  • Hide leading zero in AM/PM mode
  • Popup menu on click
  • Show current date (in popup menu)
  • Launch world clock (from popup menu)
  • Easily set 24 hour time (check item in popup menu)

UPDATE: 0.0.3 is available. It adds a configuration dialog to select the font and font colour. Hopefully alarm interface will be coming with the next version.

UPDATE: A garage project has been created for statusbar-clock. Please visit https://garage.maemo.org/projects/statusbarclock/ for the latest release and source code (I will leave the package for 0.0.3 here until the next release, then packages will only be available on the garage site)

UPDATE: Version 0.5 is now available at the garage page mentioned above. This version adds "stacked" mode for displaying the minutes over top of the AM/PM indicator. There is also a lot of cleanup and a few bug fixes which should result in reduced CPU usage.

UPDATE: Version 0.6 has been released at the garage page. This version adds an alarm interface and upcoming alarm notification via user selectable colours.

zeez 2008-02-13 15:48

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
One suggestion: it would be nice if clicking the icon (well either one in this case) would launch the clock.. Very very nice! Thanks a lot!!

Benson 2008-02-13 15:52

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Cool, but, yeah, with the current limited status-bar room... not so useful for me.

What's that half-n-half icon for volume and ???(brightness maybe?)?

fiferboy 2008-02-13 15:54

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Benson (Post 141969)
Cool, but, yeah, with the current limited status-bar room... not so useful for me.

What's that half-n-half icon for volume and ???(brightness maybe?)?

That is the Advanced Backlight Statusbar Applet. It does indeed control brightness and volume, saving a bit of space that I use up with the clock ;)

http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ad.php?t=16531

Thanks for the comment.

Benson 2008-02-13 16:07

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Must be a new version, I have an older one. Many thanks!

/me goes to find and install new version.
/me returns with big :D.

You know, I currently use osso-statusbar-cpu (or something like that) to display CPU and mem with overlayed clock. But the clock is small and hard to read. It'd be cool to get this 'fat clock' with CPU under hours and mem under minutes, and the ability to run commands from it. So, at some point, I could really use that source code. (I don't have SDK set up yet, and it'll prob'ly be at least a month before I get time... But if the source is released now, I can always hope someone else fixes it in the mean time.)

fiferboy 2008-02-13 16:11

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Benson,

I was thinking of overloading the plugins so they had something "useful" running underneath. CPU and MEM are a good idea, as is launching commands. I will look at it, but it probably won't make it in for a couple of releases (if I can work it at all).

I am looking at uploading the source and package somewhere. I have a homepage, but the server has been a bit up-and-down lately. I also have an unrelated garage page that I could maybe put this on.

traveller604 2008-02-13 16:16

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fiferboy (Post 141959)
The only customization at this point is in ".statusbar_clock.rc" in your home directory. Change the line with "ampm" to switch between 24 hour mode and AM/PM mode.

Umm where? There are no files in my home directory apart from 1 folder, "user".

Also what do I have to change the line to to get a 24h format?

Thanks..

fiferboy 2008-02-13 16:19

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
traveller,

It is a hidden file that gets created after the first time you load the plugin. To change the file from XTerm run the command:

Code:

vi ~/.statusbar_clock.rc
Then change the line that says:

Code:

ampm=true
to

Code:

ampm=false
Let me know if that works for you. To have the change take effect, unload the plugins from control panel, then load them again.

zeez 2008-02-13 16:19

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Your home dir is the user dir in /home/.
Change the line to ampm=false

Damn too slow...

TA-t3 2008-02-13 16:20

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Your home directory is /home/user/
ls -lAC (in xterm)
will show any file .statusbar_clock.rc, if it exists.

EDIT: Even more too slow.. triple is better than none I expect though ;)

traveller604 2008-02-13 16:25

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fiferboy (Post 141987)
traveller,

It is a hidden file that gets created after the first time you load the plugin. To change the file from XTerm run the command:

Code:

vi ~/.statusbar_clock.rc
Then change the line that says:

Code:

ampm=true
to

Code:

ampm=false
Let me know if that works for you. To have the change take effect, unload the plugins from control panel, then load them again.

Yeah thanks, was pretty obvious as soon as I found the file. Didn't know ls -l doesn't display everything :confused:

What goes for "vi".. never :p nano all the way :D

But thanks it works now :)

N800 with latest released OS 2008.

Thank joo

PJE 2008-02-13 16:28

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Hi fiferboy,

Thanks for the applet, keep up the good work...

...How about combining this with your previous brightness/volumne applet and add a bar graph above (brightness) and below (volume) the time. This you'll get all the functionality in a single applet.

fiferboy 2008-02-13 16:32

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PJE (Post 141996)
Hi fiferboy,

Thanks for the applet, keep up the good work...

...How about combining this with your previous brightness/volumne applet and add a bar graph above (brightness) and below (volume) the time. This you'll get all the functionality in a single applet.

Another good idea. I didn't mean to take credit for the Advanced Backlight Applet, though. Someone else did the good work on that. I am still looking into how to best overload the plugin to provide more functionality for the sacrificed screen space.

Once I post the source somewhere it will probably be much easier for someone who has written a useful plugin to add clock functionality. It is extremely simple code.

Benson 2008-02-13 16:35

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by traveller604 (Post 141992)
What goes for "vi".. never :p nano all the way :D

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
Thou shalt use JOE!!!!!!
joe is, among other things, stylus friendly. And better. Than everything else! :p

fiferboy 2008-02-13 16:37

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
I didn't mean to turn this into an editor flamewar! :D

I will check out Joe (stylus friendly has me curious) but I usually use vi for small files on the tablet or quick programming on a Linux desktop.

fiferboy 2008-02-13 16:51

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
I updated the first post to include a link to the source code (please let me know if you see any problems or potential memory leaks! I am always a little bit hazy on when GTK needs me to free something manually and when it does it itself)

The source is here:
http://andrew.olmsted.ca/maemo/statusbar-clock

Benson 2008-02-13 17:17

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fiferboy (Post 142007)
I didn't mean to turn this into an editor flamewar! :D

I will check out Joe (stylus friendly has me curious) but I usually use vi for small files on the tablet or quick programming on a Linux desktop.

Edit .joerc and enable -mouse, makes stylus tap => position the cursor, and stylus drag => select block (in joe, not just xterm select).

Also, joe relies heavily on ^K (as a command prefix). With an N810, or a BT keyboard, you're fine, but on an N800 you need a solution for that. I defined an F2 key in the xterm toolbar. Then I changed .joerc so that all the ^K commands could also be used with .k2 (termcap for F2), allowing F2 X for save and exit, instead of ^K X.

PJE 2008-02-13 18:25

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fiferboy (Post 142001)
Another good idea. I didn't mean to take credit for the Advanced Backlight Applet, though. Someone else did the good work on that. I am still looking into how to best overload the plugin to provide more functionality for the sacrificed screen space.

Once I post the source somewhere it will probably be much easier for someone who has written a useful plugin to add clock functionality. It is extremely simple code.

fiferboy, For some reason I thought you'd done both applets... Ooops!

I'd still like to combine the clock with some other functionality if I were to give up so much valuable space... Possibly a Bluetooth switch.

bexley 2008-02-13 18:42

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zeez (Post 141967)
One suggestion: it would be nice if clicking the icon (well either one in this case) would launch the clock.

I've got to strongly back this suggestion. Is it possible?

Like many people, I don't keep the clock applet on, and the worst part of that is that it makes setting an alarm a bit of a pain (set clock applet on, set alarm, set applet off).

fiferboy 2008-02-13 18:47

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bexley (Post 142063)
I've got to strongly back this suggestion. Is it possible?

Like many people, I don't keep the clock applet on, and the worst part of that is that it makes setting an alarm a bit of a pain (set clock applet on, set alarm, set applet off).

I'm working on this one. It will definitely be in the next update, then I will look at overloading the plugin to display some more useful information.

If anyone knows the command to launch the clock, it would save me some digging.

Betty Woo 2008-02-13 18:47

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Oooooooh... I'm so torn.

1. I love the idea of cleaning up the present clock applet 'cause all that white background with the date takes up a lot of real estate on my pretty background pictures.

2. However, I do love the ability to see the dates because half the time I use the clock functionality specifically to get the date.

Decisions, decisions... .

In my screenshot image at http://internettablettalk.com/forums...&postcount=224, the far right icon will drop down a tier and show me my email notification and processes.

No idea how the tier icon was created. Methinks it was when I added the 'load applet'?

Would it be possible to somehow get my screen setting icon down onto that tier to make room for this status bar clock?

Or can someone direct me on how to add lesser-used statusbar icons to the tier to make room, in general?

Oh, and if somehow has some time on their hands, how 'bout the FM radio appearing in the status bar, too?

Yeah. Thought that was too much to ask :D

But I must congratulate fiferboy. A simple clock in the status bar seems like such a "d'huh" kind of thing that I'm surprised it wasn't just an option from the get-go... .

traveller604 2008-02-13 18:48

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Benson (Post 142004)
:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
Thou shalt use JOE!!!!!!
joe is, among other things, stylus friendly. And better. Than everything else! :p


stylus friendly like nano -m ? ;)

bexley 2008-02-13 18:58

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
> No idea how the tier icon was created. Methinks it was when I added the 'load applet'?

Yea, that drop-down icon is created when the limit of statusbar icons is reached. Annoyingly, it takes up a full icon spot itself.

> Would it be possible to somehow get my screen setting icon down onto that tier to make room for this status bar clock? Or can someone direct me on how to add lesser-used statusbar icons to the tier to make room, in general?

Yea, you can set the order of the icons. Control Panel -> Panels -> Status bar tab.

Tabster 2008-02-13 19:02

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
thanks fiferboy :)

I have a feature request. Can there be an option to show or hide the leading zero on the hour? So I can change the display from 01:57p to be 1:57p

also - an option for 24 hour clock would be nice :) e.g. 13:57


thanks

bexley 2008-02-13 19:03

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
And thanks for the response, fiferboy. I hope you get a quick lead on that clock command.

I don't think this app needs features like mem and CPU info, personally, but if it can be done well without cluttering the feel and usability of the app, I've got nothing against it.

Besides the ability to launch the clock, some quick way to show the date would perfect this applet and really make the desktop clock obsolete.

What would be truly great is if, upon selecting the icon, the drop-down displays the date and any alarms that are set.

GeneralAntilles 2008-02-13 19:06

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tabster (Post 142077)
also - an option for 24 hour clock would be nice :) e.g. 13:57

Did you read the announcement . . . ?

fiferboy 2008-02-13 19:07

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tabster (Post 142077)
thanks fiferboy :)

I have a feature request. Can there be an option to show or hide the leading zero on the hour? So I can change the display from 01:57p to be 1:57p

also - an option for 24 hour clock would be nice :) e.g. 13:57


thanks

Hi Tabster,

There is an option for 24 hour clock, although it is not the easiest to get at right now (I will work at a more friendly configuration dialog). Please read the first page for some details on how to set it.

Hiding the leading zero for AM/PM time is a good idea (in 24H time does the leading zero get displayed or hidden?)

Tabster 2008-02-13 19:21

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fiferboy (Post 142081)
Hi Tabster,

There is an option for 24 hour clock, although it is not the easiest to get at right now (I will work at a more friendly configuration dialog). Please read the first page for some details on how to set it.

Hiding the leading zero for AM/PM time is a good idea (in 24H time does the leading zero get displayed or hidden?)

thanks for the nice reply. I am looking forward to the friendly configuration.
yes, I think the leading zero should show in the 24hr mode

Did you ever use StatusBarClock (PanelClock) on os2007 ?
Find it here https://garage.maemo.org/projects/statusbar-clock
This showed the time in one status bar position (in a small font obviously). It also showed the date when you clicked on it if I recall.
I like your large font though.

qole 2008-02-13 19:49

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Thanks for this! I've been waiting for a replacement for StatusBarClock for two months now. I'm torn by the big, two-position font. On the one hand, I really like the big font. On the other hand, I only have one free spot on my status bar, and when I add the clock, I have two icons drop to the second tier. Sigh.

frasej 2008-02-13 22:00

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
After installing on my n800, all I see are the minutes and "a" or "p", but no hours.

edit: Oops. Never mind. I didn't realize it was a seperate item.

Benson 2008-02-13 22:41

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Betty Woo (Post 142065)
In my screenshot image at http://internettablettalk.com/forums...&postcount=224, the far right icon will drop down a tier and show me my email notification and processes.

No idea how the tier icon was created. Methinks it was when I added the 'load applet'?

I assume you mean the far left icon? Or I guess it's on the tablet's right... I'm too user-centric! ;)

Once you have too many applets selected to fit in the tray, it drops off to another layer. The leftmost applets fall off. So to control which applets fall off, you just move them to the left end.

To do that, open the Control panel, select Panels, and go to the Status bar tab. Here you can check and uncheck applets, as well as reorder them by a less-than-intuitive method. Select the icon in the list box, then use the /\ and \/ buttons to move it up or down in the list. Up is right, down is left. So just move what you want on the second tier down to the bottom of the list. And if the clock starts on the bottom, move it towards the top.

But an important detail: when applets fall off into the second tier, the direction is reversed! So the two clock halves would have to be in the opposite order if you were put them down there. (I know that's not what you said, but if someone does scoot the clock down, they should know...)

ARJWright 2008-02-13 23:01

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
Thanks for making this; I've wanted this since reading that TabletUI Blog post as well.

linux_author 2008-02-14 01:36

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
- just finishing configuring the clock...

- the 24-hour mode nicely solves (at least superficially) a long-standing problem with the NIT's OS: Namely, Nokia's insistence that 24-hour mode be based on region...

- one suggested workaround by a bugzilla poster was to edit /etc/osso-af-init/locale and reboot after editing in:

export LC_TIME=de_DE

(this did allow display of 24-hour mode, but introduced other subtle probs, such as use of German names for days of the week in calendaring and other apps)

- so a *BIG* thank you for bringing some sanity to our UI!

:-)

fiferboy 2008-02-14 02:56

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
linux_author: I was considering making 24 hour mode region-based, but I think I will leave it as it is (although more easy to configure). Thanks for the comment.

z2n 2008-02-14 05:02

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
First of all, I want to thank you for writing this app. Having a readable clock on the statusbar is a terrific improvement to the tablet.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bexley (Post 142078)
I don't think this app needs features like mem and CPU info, personally, but if it can be done well without cluttering the feel and usability of the app, I've got nothing against it.

Besides the ability to launch the clock, some quick way to show the date would perfect this applet and really make the desktop clock obsolete.

I agree completely. The applet doesn't need to be overloaded with CPU graphs or other unrelated features.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bexley (Post 142078)
What would be truly great is if, upon selecting the icon, the drop-down displays the date and any alarms that are set.

The alarm feature in Maemo is pretty weak. As it is, the clock is a big improvement. A logical next step would be a day/date display from a single click on the clock.

An interface to the existing alarm would be good, and a better alarm application would be great.

One way of saving the precious real estate on the statusbar would be to change the time display when an alarm is set instead of having a separate icon showing the alarm clock. For example, the numerals could be shown in a box, or underlined, or the numbers could be a different color (red or bright yellow) if an alarm is set.

fiferboy 2008-02-14 14:26

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
I have updated the first post in this thread with a download for the next version of statusbar-clock. Improvements are mostly to do with a popup menu. Thanks everyone for all the suggestions!

jdr93 2008-02-14 14:28

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
would it be possible to gain some free real estate by moving the icons closer together?

i like the idea of changing the colour of the clock display if an alarm is set. no need for a redundant icon. another method might be to put a couple of ellipses above the A or P to indicate the alarm sound.

getting rid of the leading zero on the 12 hour clock would look better though it wouldn't solve much of the 'space' problem.

i replaced the osso-statusbar-cpu icon with the clock. the view of the efforts the cpu was going to was interesting but didn't lead me to any new way of using the nit to relieve the work the cpu needed to do.

john

fiferboy 2008-02-14 14:30

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
john,

Unfortunately statusbar plugins have a fixed width that cannot (as far as I know) be changed, so I cannot move them closer together.

I just updated the plugin to remove the leading zero in 12 hour mode, but you are correct - this does not make it take up any less room.

It's nice to hear people are actually using this plugin.

jdr93 2008-02-14 15:05

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
fiferboy:

the site you set up (andrew.olmsted.ca) still has the old version of the clock. (a few minutes ago anyway)

i installed the new version and i like the appearance without the 0. i notice though that the 24 hour clock still reserves room for the A or P. a little squinching could happen if that space were removed.

the pop up menu works great too, though i would prefer it to offer a choice between set /forget an alarm and the whole world clock page.

thanks for your efforts at making the nit a better tool.

john

fiferboy 2008-02-14 15:12

Re: [Announce] OS2008 Statusbar Clock
 
john,

The site should be updated now. I did the update a few minutes after I posted, so you may have looked before it.

24 hour does not really reserve room for the A or P - it just uses the same size font and there is nothing to go after it. The minute plugin is aligned to the far left of the available space so there is no gap between hours and minutes. It is just a bonus that the A or P fits in without have to resize.

I think the alarm notification is a great idea, thanks to everyone who mentioned it. I am looking at the documentation for the alarm interface and would like to (if possible) have a visual indicator that an alarm is set and an option in the popup menu to bring up the alarm window.


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:05.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8