maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Design (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Replace Boot image? (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=42840)

Untouchab1e 2010-01-31 11:45

Replace Boot image?
 
Hi!

Thanks to the great work of people here on the forums I have changed the boot up animation movie. However, I would like to change the Nokia boot image as well. Anyone know how?

rapante 2010-01-31 12:21

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
I second that question, also crossed my mind a few times :)

leetut 2010-01-31 12:27

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
not possible on n900 yet, im sure we need a hack to get access to the hidden files

misterm 2010-01-31 13:00

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
How about here? http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=14310

joppu 2010-02-01 14:21

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
It's /usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/hildon/ , probably

tangs 2010-02-03 14:17

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
is it possible to replace the video boot without using "sudosomething" ? lile i'm just a regular man that don't want life to be complicated :)
someone could give a simple, usefull, straight way to explain how to do it ?


thaaaaaaanx :)

b666m 2010-02-03 14:24

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tangs (Post 508649)
is it possible to replace the video boot without using "sudosomething" ? lile i'm just a regular man that don't want life to be complicated :)
someone could give a simple, usefull, straight way to explain how to do it ?


thaaaaaaanx :)

hm? y?
that are just 4 lines in x-term to change the boot video in an optified way?!

but you could do it via mc as root (but that's not optified until you symlink the files but that's only possible with x-term).

or you can setup a ssh server on the n900 and a client (winscp for windows) on your pc.

but: as you can see... command line is the best way to go in this case ;)

vdx29 2010-02-04 16:31

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by b666m (Post 508661)
hm? y?
that are just 4 lines in x-term to change the boot video in an optified way?!

but you could do it via mc as root (but that's not optified until you symlink the files but that's only possible with x-term).

Hi
I'm trying to optify my boot video but it doesn't seem to be working. I have created a custom boot video and placed it in my video folder. Then i created a symlink to this video where the boot video is suppose to go. Here is what I have done

Code:

sudo gainroot
cd /usr/share/hildon-welcome/media
ln -s /home/user/MyDocs/.videos/customboot.mp4 customboot

Then I changed the default.conf (under /etc/hildon-welcome.d/) to

Code:

[hildon-welcome]
filename=customboot

After all this the boot video doesn't load at device startup. FYI it was loading fine when it was directly in the /usr/share/hildon-welcome/media/ directory, so it's not the video.
I'm still trying to learn linux and this is my first time with the ln command. I'm probably missing something. :o

Any help?

Edit= Sorry for hijacking the thread. Couldn't find any other mention of optifying boot video and it doesn't seen to be worth a new thread.

DrWilken 2010-02-04 16:34

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
I believe You have to place in another filesystem than /home/user/MyDocs (that filesystem propably isn't mounted at than point)... :)

Place the file in /opt (2GB partition) instead... :)

b666m 2010-02-04 16:37

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vdx29 (Post 510594)
Hi
I'm trying to optify my boot video but it doesn't seem to be working. I have created a custom boot video and placed it in my video folder. Then i created a symlink to this video where the boot video is suppose to go. Here is what I have done

Code:

sudo gainroot
cd /usr/share/hildon-welcome/media
ln -s /home/user/MyDocs/.videos/customboot.mp4 customboot

Then I changed the default.conf (under /etc/hildon-welcome.d/) to

Code:

[hildon-welcome]
filename=customboot

After all this the boot video doesn't load at device startup. FYI it was loading fine when it was directly in the /usr/share/hildon-welcome/media/ directory, so it's not the video.
I'm still trying to learn linux and this is my first time with the ln command. I'm probably missing something. :o

Any help?

don't know why you're using a folder in MyDocs.
place the video in /opt/.
i created a folder /opt/media and moved the Hands-video there too. (saves some more space on rootfs ^^)
then i symlinked the /opt/media folder to /usr/share/hildon-welcome/media.

your default.conf seems to be ok.
you may have a problem because the MyDocs folders are getting mounted after the playback of the bootvideo?! (don't know, i'm just guessing, but that could be the point)

try /opt or (better for your own overview if you have more than one video) /opt/media ;)

vdx29 2010-02-04 16:53

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DrWilken (Post 510599)
I believe You have to place in another filesystem than /home/user/MyDocs (that filesystem propably isn't mounted at than point)... :)

Place the file in /opt (2GB partition) instead... :)

Thanks. :D
I thing you and b666m are right. It loaded fine once I moved it to /opt. I guess the /home/user/ partition is the last to be mounted.

Just for info, is this because it is a windows formatted partition (fat/ntfs) rather than etx?

And also is there anyway to make the boot video play with full volume at startup? I can barely hear it atm.

b666m 2010-02-04 17:09

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vdx29 (Post 510628)
Just for info, is this because it is a windows formatted partition (fat/ntfs) rather than etx?

i don't think so.
i think that this is because of performance issues (MyDocs can be VERY large ^^).

Quote:

And also is there anyway to make the boot video play with full volume at startup? I can barely hear it atm.
just raise the volume to max before shutting down the device?! :P
(don't know if there is a file which controls the behaviour and which can be edited)

DrWilken 2010-02-08 19:44

Re: Replace Boot image?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vdx29 (Post 510628)
Thanks. :D
I thing you and b666m are right. It loaded fine once I moved it to /opt. I guess the /home/user/ partition is the last to be mounted..

Actually the big (28GB) FAT32 partition is mounted on /home/user/MyDocs:
Code:

N900:~$ df -h | grep MyDocs
/dev/mmcblk0p1        28G  3,0G  25G  12% /home/user/MyDocs

/opt is a link (or "shortcut" if You like) to /home/opt:
Code:

N900:~$ ls -ld /opt
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 9 2009-10-30 12:36 /opt -> /home/opt

And /home is a 2GB filesystem:
Code:

N900:~$ df -h | grep home
/dev/mmcblk0p2        2,0G  809M  1,1G  43% /home
...

In short: /home/user isn't a filesystem/partition but /home (ext3) and /home/user/MyDocs (FAT32/vfat) are... :D


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:05.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8