maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Mods ]Browser Mods (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=50644)

lifenexus 2010-04-21 09:48

[Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Browser Mods

Hello everyone. I wanted to share some maemo browser(MicroB) mods.
These do not require some additional softwares because its using firefox configs.
Im using the settings i use on my desktop firefox.

First go to the address bar in the browser window and type
Code:

about:config
Click on "ill be careful"


http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/9...0042100225.png

Network pipelining
This is a feature thats speeds up my browser on desktop.
Click on the textbox next to filter and type NpipN and press enter.
You should see the filtered options

To change any value, click on the value and press enter. If its a boolean value(true or false), it will change states between true and false. If the value is a text field, a new popup shows up asking you for a new value.

Change the values according to my screenshot below. The ones in bold are the values i edited. As for the max requests, experiment from 4 to 30 and see which works. after your done, restart MicroB.

http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/6...0042100362.png

Address bar Google search.

By default, when you type anything in the address bar and press enter, it searches in google mobile which can be annoying. If u want it to search in google desktop, go back to about:config,
in the filter type, "keyword".
click on "keyword.url" and press enter. change the tect to
Code:

http://www.google.com/search?btnG=Google+Search&q=
If u want it to use "im feeling lucky" ie, when you search for anythin it wll dip theirst website from sarch results automatically,
change the smae keyword.url to
Code:

http://www.google.com/search?btnI=I%27m+Feeling+Lucky&q=
Tracemonkey
Tracemonkey is the fastest javascript engine from mozilla. Usually its found in the sesktop versions and speeds up browsing. Remember that tracemonkey is not the fastest javascript engine as google has a faster one in chrome. I do not know if it will have any improvements in your browsing or not but its sure worth a try. To enable tracemonkey, in the filter type "jit".
Find "javascript.options.jit.chrome" and "javascript.options.jit.content". Click on it and press enter. It should change its value to true.

Let me know about your experiencs and contributios.

Crugath 2010-04-21 12:28

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Thanks for the tips. I've tried out enabling Tracemonkey, which I've found makes things a lot slower when javascript was concerned. I went to Chromeexperiments.com and tried some of the examples there. The one I tried "Ball Pool" with and without javascript.options.jit.chrome/content enabled and I've found that when that is disabled, it's a lot quicker.

I like the change of google search settings though, I hate having to use Google Mobile when I can use full-fat Google instead.

MiK546 2010-04-21 13:06

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Is there any way to add a new value in N900. I would like to add "nglayout.initialpaint.delay", as descripted in here as this makes Firefox show everything as soon as they are loaded and therefore make it a lot faster.

lifenexus 2010-04-21 13:08

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Crugath (Post 620935)
Thanks for the tips. I've tried out enabling Tracemonkey, which I've found makes things a lot slower when javascript was concerned. I went to Chromeexperiments.com and tried some of the examples there. The one I tried "Ball Pool" with and without javascript.options.jit.chrome/content enabled and I've found that when that is disabled, it's a lot quicker.

I like the change of google search settings though, I hate having to use Google Mobile when I can use full-fat Google instead.

i noticed that too. maybe someone can try it out to some good.

lifenexus 2010-04-21 13:09

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MiK546 (Post 620984)
Is there any way to add a new value in N900. I would like to add "nglayout.initialpaint.delay", as descripted in here as this makes Firefox show everything as soon as they are loaded and therefore make it a lot faster.

i couldnt find a way to rightclick

mornage 2010-04-21 16:19

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
I aint been able to find a way to do this in MicroB, but Fennac makes it easy to add new values. This has sped it up quite a bit so definitely worth doing. Probably wont help the performance of flash though so will probably still be using MicroB as my browser of choice!


Edit: just realised my tests are under 3G. Gonna try on wifi later!

lifenexus 2010-04-21 17:02

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mornage (Post 621215)
I aint been able to find a way to do this in MicroB, but Fennac makes it easy to add new values. This has sped it up quite a bit so definitely worth doing. Probably wont help the performance of flash though so will probably still be using MicroB as my browser of choice!


Edit: just realised my tests are under 3G. Gonna try on wifi later!

let us know if there are any advantages. the tracemonkey is no good

AndrewG 2010-04-21 17:06

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Is there any mod that will open google.com when I press the web icon rather than opening the bookmarks? That'd be a great one for me.

mornage 2010-04-21 17:35

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lifenexus (Post 621259)
let us know if there are any advantages. the tracemonkey is no good

fennec is definately quicker with the tweaks (not tried tracemonkey on it though) played iplayer no problem when opened in a new window. pages load much quicker with the additional value added (cant remember which value it was and i have lost the side of the screen since clicking in this box so cannot see it when i scroll down).

apart from the time it takes to start up, i think fennec is much quicker than microB now. although there are some things that need addressing (such as losing the side after focusing on texts boxes) but it is the beta....


Edit: nglayout.initialpaint.delay is the string I couldn't remeber or see!

mornage 2010-04-21 18:13

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
oh yeah, I did also adjust:

network.http.max-connections-per-server to 32
network.http.max-connections to 16

as shown here

dsawhney 2010-04-21 18:21

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MiK546 (Post 620984)
Is there any way to add a new value in N900. I would like to add "nglayout.initialpaint.delay", as descripted in here as this makes Firefox show everything as soon as they are loaded and therefore make it a lot faster.

You can manually add the value in ~/.mozilla/fennec/*.default/prefs.js. Make sure to backup the file first.

salawat 2010-04-21 19:34

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
the mod for searching google at normal view works only when typing words then hitting the enter button however when you tap the bit where it says for example im searching for maemo. the bit where it says Google Search: 'maemo' when you tap that it still searches in mobile mode. how can i take tht off and make it normal view

TomJ 2010-04-21 20:33

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lifenexus (Post 620710)

Address bar Google search.

By default, when you type anything in the address bar and press enter, it searches in google mobile which can be annoying. If u want it to search in google desktop, go back to about:config,
in the filter type, "keyword".
click on "keyword.url" and press enter. change the tect to
Code:

http://www.google.com/search?btnG=Google+Search&q=
If u want it to use "im feeling lucky" ie, when you search for anythin it wll dip theirst website from sarch results automatically,
change the smae keyword.url to
Code:

http://www.google.com/search?btnI=I%27m+Feeling+Lucky&q=

(Taken wholesale from my post in the main mod thread, and with due credit to the posters who did most of the work, noted below)

It is possible to make the default web browser's address bar search use more than just google, a la Opera or (I'm told) Firefox.

What to do:

Download this file to your N900, prefereably to the Documents folder.

In XTerminal enter the command

Code:

mv MyDocs/.documents/search.txt search.htm
(NB If you saved to a folder other than Documents from the webbrowser MyDocs/.documents will need to be changed to the requisite path)

In the web browser go to the page about:config
Read the "Here be dragons" warning and promise to be careful.

Find the setting keyword.URL by typing key into the filter box at the top of the page. Select the line keyboard.URL by tapping it and press enter.

Put
Code:

file:///home/user/search.htm?
in the dialogue box that appears and tap Done.

Now when you type a search into the address bar you can choose the following search engines by prefixing them with the letters lited below:

go - regular Google search (not mobile!)
wiki - wikipedia
map - Google Maps UK
ebay - eBay UK
php - PHP manual
mysql - MySQL manual
acronym - acronymfinder.com
urban - urbandictionary.com

(eg ebay n900 in the address bar will seach ebay.co.uk for an N900, wheras wiki n900 will search wikpedia)

You can add to or edit the choice of engines by editing search.htm - I would advise using pygtkeditor, which I think any serious modder should have installed unless they like vim or emacs. I, for instance, have edited the line
Code:

urls['go']='http://www.google.com/search?q=%s';
to read
Code:

urls['g']='http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=%s';
which means that instead of typing
Code:

go foo
into the address bar to get a search for foo from the full-fat google.com I type
Code:

g foo
to search google.co.uk.

A further change I have made is to add the lines
Code:

urls['tt']='http://traintimes.org.uk/%s';
into the search engine list block of code and
Code:

redirUrl = redirUrl.replace(/%2F/g,"\/");
before the line
Code:

document.location.replace(redirUrl);
This allows you to replicate the bookmarkable search function for UK train journeys on the excellent traintimes.org.uk by typing, for instance
Code:

tt hitchin/york/1000/tomorrow
to search for tomorrow's departures from Hitchin to York at around 1000.
The second line of code needs to be added as else between the script and the browser / is replaced with %2F which confuses the website. For more on how to use this look at the traintimes.org.uk frontpage; you can click the iCal links from its search results to get the times entered into your n900 calendar.

Hat-tips to evad for coming up with the idea and Viqsi for the device-side rather than online evolution of the idea in this thread.

lifenexus 2010-04-22 01:40

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
i didnt know it was posted before. forgive me

lifenexus 2010-04-22 05:59

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
in the new fennec version, one can ad new values from the about config page

TomJ 2010-04-22 06:43

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lifenexus (Post 621816)
i didnt know it was posted before. forgive me

No worries... the more people find out about the various tricks the better. Incidentally, I've found a page in the wiki about changing the default search which I've tidied up and added my little bit to.

lifenexus 2010-04-22 10:29

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
thx. ill experiment with configuration files and see what i can do

F2thaK 2010-04-22 11:44

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mornage (Post 621363)
oh yeah, I did also adjust:

network.http.max-connections-per-server to 32
network.http.max-connections to 16

as shown here

it is

network.http.max-connections-per-server to 16
network.http.max-connections to 32

F2thaK 2010-04-22 11:57

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
anyone know where the microb config file is on the phone (i want to backup)

thx

euanandrews 2010-04-22 12:50

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Woop woop!
Have def seen a speed increase in my browser....and I have changed the default Google Mobile search to Google New Zealand...nice

mihapodb 2010-04-22 13:26

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Is there any way of opening pages in "new tab" in BACKGROUND? So I just open new tabs in backgrounds instead I have to always switch back to original webpage?

Thanks

lifenexus 2010-04-22 16:34

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
let me check the background tabs thing

dsawhney 2010-04-22 17:31

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by f2thak (Post 622393)
anyone know where the microb config file is on the phone (i want to backup)

thx

should be ~/.mozilla/microb/prefs.js

F2thaK 2010-04-24 09:53

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
can anyone confirm that the files in

usr/share/microb-engine/greprefs

are config files for microb? I edited configuration but file time stamp did not change.. I copied it too my computer and if/when I flash, Ill use them and see if they are..

Jinux 2010-04-24 12:05

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Always, I change browser.urlbar.clickselectsall to true

F2thaK 2010-04-24 13:16

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jinux (Post 625745)
Always, I change browser.urlbar.clickselectsall to true

you cannot with microb on n900. theres "browser.urlbar.clickSelectsAll" T/F , false by default.
edit: yes you can, I misread your post.. :D

what does "browser.urlbar.clickselectsall to true " do?

Jinux 2010-04-24 13:36

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by f2thak (Post 625820)
you cannot with microb on n900. theres "browser.urlbar.clickSelectsAll" T/F , false by default.


What does "browser.urlbar.clickselectsall to true " do?

It makes it so you only have to tap once in the address bar to select all text within it, instead of the Linux default of 3 taps.

You can change it because I have! :D

EDIT: Attached a screen shot

F2thaK 2010-04-24 14:31

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jinux (Post 625851)
It makes it so you only have to tap once in the address bar to select all text within it, instead of the Linux default of 3 taps.

You can change it because I have! :D

it does that for me by default, and my setting is false for "browser.urlbar.clickSelectsAll"
EDIT: i thought it did it, but it didnt :) turned it on, and now it does work


okay browser backup file is
/home/user/.mozilla/microb/prefs.js

GameboyRMH 2010-04-24 15:12

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
I came up with a proper Flashblock solution:

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p=625937&postcount=3

RobbH 2010-04-24 15:14

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Has anyone found a way to enable "spatial navigation" or even Lynx-style navigation in any browser that runs on the N900?

What I'm looking for is the ability to select links with the arrow keys and activate the selected link with the "enter" key, as in the OS2008 version of MicroB.

mihapodb 2010-04-24 15:15

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mihapodb (Post 622490)
Is there any way of opening pages in "new tab" in BACKGROUND? So I just open new tabs in backgrounds instead I have to always switch back to original webpage?

Thanks

Anyone yet?

GameboyRMH 2010-04-24 15:19

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbH (Post 625973)
Has anyone found a way to enable "spatial navigation" or even Lynx-style navigation in any browser that runs on the N900?

What I'm looking for is the ability to select links with the arrow keys and activate the selected link with the "enter" key, as in the OS2008 version of MicroB.

I'd like this as well, this is one of the things I miss from my Treo.

dsawhney 2010-04-24 17:45

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mihapodb (Post 625976)
Anyone yet?

firefox mobile allows you to open tabs in background and the latest 1.1beta is quite fast compared to the original release

ednunez70 2010-04-24 18:14

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
I am using fennec 1.1 beta2 in my n810 and all that is stopping me from making fennec my every day browser is flash support, after checking the flash add-ons for firefox i found one that maybe can help with the fennec flash problem, the name of the add-on is MediaPlayer Connectivity this will open flash video in a different application outside from the browser like in mytube.
What do you all think about this?

Thank you

Ed

evad 2010-04-25 00:58

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
The only MicroB hack I'd love to see is the one that would fix the lag between entering an URL in address bar and the moment when page actually starts loading. See here for more detailed description of this issue (copy below).

Quote:

I frequently experience very weird and frustrating problem with built-in web
browser in my N900, which is basically quite long lag between launching a
given URL and getting that URL to actually start loading. Say I type a "
www.google.com" URL in address bar, hit enter and expect the page to load
instantly (assumed stable and fast internet connection in the background,
obviously), however what *usually* happens is that progress bar under the
address bar slides right<->left back and forth for quite a while (sometimes
couple of seconds, sometimes tens of seconds!) before it eventually "clicks"
and starts loading the page - which is quite instant itself. It's
*just*about that lag before the page loading occurs.

Firefox/Fennec, apart from being a massive resource hog to the point where
whole device becomes unusable, is very good with instant page loading, so I
think background internet connectivity issues are beyond the suspicion.

Does anyone experience that problem? Is that something that could be
tweaked/managed or it's just a bug to be filed in bugzilla?


F2thaK 2010-04-25 03:02

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GameboyRMH (Post 625968)
I came up with a proper Flashblock solution:

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p=625937&postcount=3


what does this do? block flash??

NokiaRocks 2010-04-25 03:06

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by f2thak (Post 626577)
what does this do? block flash??

What else should a flashblock app do ? xD

F2thaK 2010-04-25 03:19

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
i just wasnt sure why youd want to block flash. but i can see why i guess

GameboyRMH 2010-04-25 15:26

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by f2thak (Post 626587)
i just wasnt sure why youd want to block flash. but i can see why i guess

It doesn't block it entirely, it just keeps Flash objects from running until you click on them, like the Flashblock plugin for Firefox. And it loads everything locally unlike adflashblock-css.

It frees up A LOT of system resources and makes the web browsing experience less annoying on certain sites.

Viqsi 2010-04-25 18:06

Re: [Mods ]Browser Mods
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbH (Post 625973)
Has anyone found a way to enable "spatial navigation" or even Lynx-style navigation in any browser that runs on the N900?

What I'm looking for is the ability to select links with the arrow keys and activate the selected link with the "enter" key, as in the OS2008 version of MicroB.

Presumably you could set snav.enabled to "true" in about:config. I have no idea if it would actually work, tho - I can't stand it personally, and kept trying to find ways to disable it and keep it disabled on my n810. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8