maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=55884)

Rob1n 2010-06-11 10:05

[ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
I think I've now managed to decode enough of the auto-complete dictionary format to implement a basic editor - it works for me anyway :D

So, I'd like to announce the snappily-named "AutoComplete Editor", coming shortly to an extras-devel repository near you. It allows deletion and addition of terms from the custom auto-complete dictionary. I'm not sure how well this'll handle international character sets, so I'd appreciate some feedback from anyone using those.

For future reference, the custom auto-complete dictionary (/home/user/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary) format is:

An 8 byte header, consisting of a 3-byte hex sequence 80 00 01 (though I've also seen 01 00 01), followed by a single byte indicating the number of different dictionaries, followed by a single byte indicating the file size (in 256-byte multiples, so 0x04 indicates a 1kb file), followed by 0x00, followed by a 2-byte sequence indicating the position the padding starts.

This is followed by one or more 8-byte dictionary entries, consisting of a 2-byte sequence indicating the dictionary language (or 0x00 followed by a single byte), then a 2-byte sequence indicating the start position of the dictionary entries, followed by a 2-byte sequence indicating the number of entries in the dictionary, followed by a 2-byte hex sequence 00 00.

The dictionary data is stored as a single byte indicating the string length, followed by the string itself. The multiple entries follow straight on from each other, with no other delimiters.

Here's a screenshot for 0.0.4 (there's been no major changes to the default layout since then):
http://www.robinhill.me.uk/share/Aut...itor_0.0.4.png

Current releases are:

0.0.12 in extras-devel. This allows:
  • Editing auto-complete dictionary
  • Deleting entries with/without warnings, or instantly by selection
  • Moving entries to a blacklist
  • Editing of entry blacklist
  • Auto-application of blacklist without launching GUI (suitable for scripting or scheduling)
  • Overriding of character set used to encode/decode dictionary entries

For those having issues, please see this post for how to generate a clean dictionary file. If this doesn't show the same issue then please consider sending me the original dictionary - all received files will be kept completely confidential and will be deleted as soon as I've fixed the relevant issue. Any dictionaries can be emailed to me at: maemo at robinhill.me.uk

DaSilva 2010-06-11 10:12

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Sounds good, I will try it as soon as it is available with umlauts :D

pelago 2010-06-11 10:15

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Sounds interesting and useful, thanks.

If you haven't done so already, I think an interesting option to implement would be for your app to check the "apparently fixed" things, and if they don't match your expected values, asking the user to contact you, just in case these bytes aren't fixed after all.

ivgalvez 2010-06-11 10:19

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Thanks, thanks, thanks, thanks!

For me the auto-complete feature have been turned completely useless due to misspelled words added to the dictionary, mixing of Spanish and English words, etc.

Rob1n 2010-06-11 10:53

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pelago (Post 710177)
If you haven't done so already, I think an interesting option to implement would be for your app to check the "apparently fixed" things, and if they don't match your expected values, asking the user to contact you, just in case these bytes aren't fixed after all.

A very good suggestion - I'll look at adding that in.

Rob1n 2010-06-11 13:03

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1n (Post 710239)
A very good suggestion - I'll look at adding that in.

Version 0.0.2 is now available, with this check.

maddler 2010-06-11 13:46

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Just tried it but got error:
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/AutoCompleteEditor.py", line 17, in <module>
w.loadData()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_gui.py", line 157, in loadData
self._dict = ACEFile()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 34, in __init__
self.read()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 119, in read
Wasn't able to catch the whole stuff.
Any clue?

pelago 2010-06-11 13:49

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Out of interest, how did you determine the format anyway? It's a shame it isn't documented openly by Nokia.

Rob1n 2010-06-11 14:07

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by maddler (Post 710464)
Just tried it but got error:
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/AutoCompleteEditor.py", line 17, in <module>
w.loadData()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_gui.py", line 157, in loadData
self._dict = ACEFile()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 34, in __init__
self.read()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 119, in read
Wasn't able to catch the whole stuff.
Any clue?

That's an entry count mismatch error - it's failed to read the correct number of entries before hitting the padding start point. Would it be possible for you to email/PM me your ~/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary file?

Rob1n 2010-06-11 14:15

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pelago (Post 710467)
Out of interest, how did you determine the format anyway? It's a shame it isn't documented openly by Nokia.

Basically I just removed the dictionary & rebooted (making sure I was starting with an empty file). I then just use Notes and added a single new word at a time, copying the dictionary file out each time. I then looked through the different files and noted the differences.

From there it's just a matter of trying to figure out what each means - the format used for the dictionary entries was fairly straightforward (once I realised that the delimiter between the words was the length indicator), so it was just the header changes that I needed to look at. Some of those are pretty trivial (the number of entries increments by one each time, so it's clear what that is) but some of it is pretty much guesswork - the file size (in 256-byte multiples) for example - it's a pretty random thing to store and I don't really see why it's necessary, but that's the only thing I could figure it as being.

cjp 2010-06-11 15:07

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Sorry for being the dummy here, but eactly how can I edit AutoCompletion with this? Or is the point simply that this is a tool for me to edit AutoComplete behaviour now?

maddler 2010-06-11 15:12

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1n (Post 710496)
That's an entry count mismatch error - it's failed to read the correct number of entries before hitting the padding start point. Would it be possible for you to email/PM me your ~/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary file?

Well... I actually tried editing it by hand sometime ago ;)
So I guess I'm gonna deleting it.

Thx
William

EDIT: no way. Just tried deleting my messed up personal dict, nothing changed. Same result removing .used_dictionary. Anything else?

Rob1n 2010-06-11 15:12

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cjp (Post 710599)
Sorry for being the dummy here, but eactly how can I edit AutoCompletion with this? Or is the point simply that this is a tool for me to edit AutoComplete behaviour now?

When you run it, it should load up your current custom auto-complete dictionary (that's the list of terms that you've used in any auto-complete enabled application which aren't in the base dictionary).

You can then select terms from the list and delete them (e.g. passwords that have been automatically added at some point, or misspelled words), or add new terms to the dictionary (this shouldn't really be necessary though, as any terms you use in applications will get automatically added).

Finally, click the "Save changes" button to write out the new dictionary and force the OS to reload it.

Rob1n 2010-06-11 15:14

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by maddler (Post 710604)
Well... I actually tried editing it by hand sometime ago ;)
So I guess I'm gonna deleting it.

Probably safer deleting it, yes - you'll need to reboot (or kill hildon-input-method) to force the OS to drop it's cache of the old file though (otherwise it'll just write it out again).

nrajesh 2010-06-11 15:51

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by maddler (Post 710464)
Just tried it but got error:
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/AutoCompleteEditor.py", line 17, in <module>
w.loadData()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_gui.py", line 157, in loadData
self._dict = ACEFile()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 34, in __init__
self.read()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 119, in read
Wasn't able to catch the whole stuff.
Any clue?

same here. what shd I do now?

Rob1n 2010-06-11 15:54

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by maddler (Post 710604)
EDIT: no way. Just tried deleting my messed up personal dict, nothing changed. Same result removing .used_dictionary. Anything else?

You get the same error with a brand new .personal.dictionary file? In that case, could you send me a copy of it?

Rob1n 2010-06-11 15:56

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nrajesh (Post 710706)
same here. what shd I do now?

If possible, could you send me a copy of the dictionary file (/home/user/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary) via email/PM? I'd suggest checking the file with more, notepad, or something similar to make sure it doesn't contain anything personal first though!

maddler 2010-06-11 16:18

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
No way. I've removed bot personal and used dicts, but still getting errors. :|

Rob1n 2010-06-11 18:44

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
For anyone getting errors, please send me a copy of the dictionary file. I'd suggest the following process, to make sure that no personal data is contained in the file:
  • Backup the dictionary: "mv /home/user/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary /home/user/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary.old"
  • Kill hildon-input-method to clear the cache: "killall hildon-input-method"
  • Launch the Notes application and type in a new word (any random set of characters should work fine)
  • Retry AutoComplete Editor to make sure you still get an error
  • Copy the new dictionary, which can now be safely sent to me: "mv /home/user/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary /home/user/MyDocs/failing_personal_dictionary
  • Replace your original dictionary: "mv /home/user/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary.old /home/user/.osso/dictionaries/.personal.dictionary"
  • Kill hildon-input-method again to clear the cached data: "killall hildon-input-method"

You can now send me (via email, PM, or attaching to a message here) the /home/user/MyDocs/failing_personal_dictionary file.

youngcalihottie 2010-06-11 23:22

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
im going to give this a try...

maddler 2010-06-11 23:34

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
1 Attachment(s)
Ok, at last I was able to make the app start. Not it just complains about the file not being in any known format, but it the correctly shows content.

File attached. Just le me know if you need anything else.

Laughing Man 2010-06-12 01:17

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Same issue as maddler, though I only got to it because I went ahead despite the warning message about the file not being in any known format. Which then resulted in the python error maddler had. Deleting it resulted in the same issue. Let me know if you want mine too.

youngcalihottie 2010-06-12 01:33

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
it seemed to work great on first use. but then i noticed it didnt really delete all the stuff i deleted. so i tried to go back to the app and then got all the same errors as everyone else. maybe upon deleting its not properly recalculating the number of entries remain? i think i saw somewhere that you said the number is stored. i used ctrl to delete many at a time. maybe it only reduced the number by 1 when i hit delete?

edit:
also when i was done deleting stuff, i hit save and nothing seemed to happen. i figured it just happened quickly since its just text. but maybe it didnt really save? because all my wrong words still existed even after rebooting first then typing text. i hit save many times since nothing seemed to happen. could that have messed up the word count? it would be nice to get a maemo note 'Auto Complete Dictionary Saved' or something like that.

oh another thing... when scrolling down the list, it would keep highlighing words above the point where i let go of the sreen to stop scrolling. it was annoying. i had to basically do one page of words at a time because of this.

thanks for the app it will be so useful once you get things worked out. i didnt even realize all the misspellings i had!!!!!

Rob1n 2010-06-12 16:01

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by maddler (Post 711450)
Ok, at last I was able to make the app start. Not it just complains about the file not being in any known format, but it the correctly shows content.

File attached. Just le me know if you need anything else.

Many thanks for that. Looks like you've got a 3F instead of 03 in the header - I wonder what that signifies :confused:

The rest of it looks the same as mine though, so I guess I'll just make note of the value and write it back out when saving (in case it's important somehow).

Rob1n 2010-06-12 16:03

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Laughing Man (Post 711519)
Same issue as maddler, though I only got to it because I went ahead despite the warning message about the file not being in any known format. Which then resulted in the python error maddler had. Deleting it resulted in the same issue. Let me know if you want mine too.

If you could do, yes please - the more examples I have, the better the chance of actually figuring out what the format is.

qwerty12 2010-06-12 16:05

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
I don't know if you know this, apologies if you do, but it seems like there's a limit imposed by HIM on how many words can be stored:
Quote:

Originally Posted by syslog
Jun 12 11:50:23 Nokia-N900 hildon-input-method[1373]: GLIB MESSAGE default - Adding of word failed, enlarging Personal dictionary
Jun 12 11:50:23 Nokia-N900 hildon-input-method[1373]: GLIB WARNING ** default - The dictionary limit reached ... aborting


Rob1n 2010-06-12 16:19

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by youngcalihottie (Post 711529)
it seemed to work great on first use. but then i noticed it didnt really delete all the stuff i deleted. so i tried to go back to the app and then got all the same errors as everyone else. maybe upon deleting its not properly recalculating the number of entries remain? i think i saw somewhere that you said the number is stored. i used ctrl to delete many at a time. maybe it only reduced the number by 1 when i hit delete?

No, it does a count of the entries at the end, so there's no risk of that being the issue. Can you send me a copy of the file that's giving you the errors?

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngcalihottie (Post 711529)
also when i was done deleting stuff, i hit save and nothing seemed to happen. i figured it just happened quickly since its just text. but maybe it didnt really save? because all my wrong words still existed even after rebooting first then typing text. i hit save many times since nothing seemed to happen. could that have messed up the word count? it would be nice to get a maemo note 'Auto Complete Dictionary Saved' or something like that.

I'll look into adding that - thanks for the suggestion.

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngcalihottie (Post 711529)
oh another thing... when scrolling down the list, it would keep highlighing words above the point where i let go of the sreen to stop scrolling. it was annoying. i had to basically do one page of words at a time because of this.

That must be a problem with the multi-select functionality - I'll have a look at whether there's anything I can do to tweak that.

Rob1n 2010-06-12 16:24

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by qwerty12 (Post 712100)
I don't know if you know this, apologies if you do, but it seems like there's a limit imposed by HIM on how many words can be stored:

I knew there must be a limit - there's only 2 bytes for the number of entries, so logically there's a 65k limit on entries. If I'm right about the one byte for the file size, then there's also a 64k limit on the that (hmm - perhaps there's only 2 bytes for the padding offset then - there doesn't seem a lot of point in having 3 bytes if the maximum will fit in 2).

I'll have a play around with generating a very large dictionary and see whether I can hit the upper limits (and whether they help tell me anything about the format).

andrew_85 2010-06-12 16:32

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
i also got an error

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/AutoCompleteEditor.py", line 17, in <module>
w.loadData()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_gui.py", line 157, in loadData
self._dict = ACEFile()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 34, in __init__
self.read()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 139,

what should i do??

Rob1n 2010-06-12 17:19

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by andrew_85 (Post 712144)
i also got an error

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/AutoCompleteEditor.py", line 17, in <module>
w.loadData()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_gui.py", line 157, in loadData
self._dict = ACEFile()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 34, in __init__
self.read()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 139,

what should i do??

Please see this message for how to generate a clean dictionary file. If you can then attach it to a message here, I'll take a look at why it's failing.

Rob1n 2010-06-12 18:54

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
I've just uploaded version 0.0.3 to the autobuilder, so it should be in extras-devel shortly. The changes are:
  • Information popup when the file has been saved.
  • Uses multi-selection instead of extended selection (just tap to select each additional value, no using ctrl or shift)

Additionally, there's now an extra byte read from the header (and written out when the file is saved). This should fix the loading error several people have had (and thanks to those who've sent me a copy of their dictionary files). I've still no idea what this byte signifies - it's obviously not static but as nothing else is different, it also doesn't seem too important.

DaSilva 2010-06-12 21:11

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
I still have the same error with the new version or do I have to reboot after the installation? :(

Rob1n 2010-06-13 12:08

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DaSilva (Post 712484)
I still have the same error with the new version or do I have to reboot after the installation? :(

Thanks for sending me your file. Unfortunately it's in a totally different format :mad: Would it be possible for you to follow the instructions here and send me copies of the dictionary file after adding 1, 2, and 3 terms? I really need some extra data to figure out where the key fields are in this format.

DaSilva 2010-06-13 12:19

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
I could do that but I thought that it would be more useful to send you a "real" file.

Rob1n 2010-06-13 13:46

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DaSilva (Post 713054)
I could do that but I thought that it would be more useful to send you a "real" file.

It is, yes, but I now need several files with different numbers of terms, so I can see where the changes are happening. As I said, your file is in an entirely different format (with a 32-byte header instead of the normal 16-byte header), so it's not just a case of reading in an extra byte or two (which is all that I've needed to do to get the other files working).

Oleg 2010-06-14 18:21

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi,
after installation I got this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/AutoCompleteEditor.py", line 17, in <module>
w.loadData()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_gui.py", line 165, in loadData
self._dict = ACEFile()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 39, in __init__
self.read()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 149, in read
raise ACEFileReadException('Entry count mismatch')
ACEFileReadException: 'Error reading dictionary: Entry count mismatch'

After I moved my .personal.dictionary and typed a few words in Notes app. the application started OK but it doesn't display cyrillics in the right encoding, so I couldn't tell one Russian word from another.
I attached the newly created file just in case. Let me know if the original file could be of use.
Attachment 11050

Rob1n 2010-06-14 19:16

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Oleg (Post 714866)
Hi,
after installation I got this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/AutoCompleteEditor.py", line 17, in <module>
w.loadData()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_gui.py", line 165, in loadData
self._dict = ACEFile()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 39, in __init__
self.read()
File "/opt/AutoCompleteEditor/ACE_file.py", line 149, in read
raise ACEFileReadException('Entry count mismatch')
ACEFileReadException: 'Error reading dictionary: Entry count mismatch'

After I moved my .personal.dictionary and typed a few words in Notes app. the application started OK but it doesn't display cyrillics in the right encoding, so I couldn't tell one Russian word from another.
I attached the newly created file just in case. Let me know if the original file could be of use.
Attachment 11050

Thanks for that. The format looks standard at least, so I just need to look at how to decode the data into cyrillic. I'm not sure why your original one came up with the mismatch error though - perhaps you could post that as well & I'll have a look. It may be I need to relax some of the checks.

Tomaszd 2010-06-14 20:02

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Please use XB-Maemo-Display-Name field in debian/control to beautify the name (e.g. Auto-Complete Editor). I had a surprisingly hard time finding this app after reading its name in the thread title.

Rob1n 2010-06-14 20:32

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tomaszd (Post 715038)
Please use XB-Maemo-Display-Name field in debian/control to beautify the name (e.g. Auto-Complete Editor). I had a surprisingly hard time finding this app after reading its name in the thread title.

Sorry, I've been using py2deb, which seems to be missing any way to set this field. I'll switch to editing the debian files directly in future.

Rob1n 2010-06-14 20:39

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Auto-Complete Editor
 
Woohoo! I've had a bit of a breakthrough :)

The dictionary file can actually hold multiple dictionaries (if you change the dictionary used in Settings). That explains some of the differing file formats I've been sent.

This is going to mean a fair bit of reorganisation/redesign needed, and I still need to figure out how to decode the dictionary language ID to a language name (and text codec).


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8