maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Share your Widgets! (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=59798)

techie 2010-08-05 15:37

Share your Widgets!
 
5 Attachment(s)
Hi, this thread is for everyone to share & discuss their custom widgets made using Queen Beecon Widget or Desktop Command Execution Widget.

Let me start with mine,the Overclock Control Panel QBW widget.
For references check these old posts
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...154#post759154
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...215#post761215

This is a new version.Let me just recap what this widget does
  • Display temperature and perform smart overclocking i.e set max cpu clock according to how hot/cool the device is (runs at specified intervals).
  • A stock profile to revert to default kernel, disables smart overclocking.
  • An ideal profile to switch to ideal kernel, disables smart overclocking.
  • Display the current maximum cpu frequency.
  • In temperature(profile 1) auto mode, locking the device changes the limits to 250 500, unlocking makes it clock according to temperature again.
Installation:

Extract the contents of zip to a folder "occp" under MyDocs.
Run the following commands in terminal (may need to be root)
Code:

mv /home/user/MyDocs/occp/overclock /usr/local/bin/
mv /home/user/MyDocs/occp/underclock /usr/local/bin/
chmod +x /usr/local/bin/overclock
chmod +x /usr/local/bin/underclock
mv /home/user/MyDocs/occp/default.png /home/user/MyDocs/.images/queen_beecon_dir/
mv /home/user/MyDocs/occp/profile* /home/user/MyDocs/.images/queen_beecon_dir/
mv /home/user/MyDocs/occp/.OCCP /home/user/.OCCP

Now import the beecon file.Instructions here

You can switch between 3 profiles by clicking them
Attachment 12732
To use your own profiles go into advanced settings of the widget.
Only edit the first 5 lines:
Name_Profile_1=<actual name eg ideal, ulv etc>
Name_Profile_2=<actual name>
Disp_Name_Profile_2=<what you want to be displayed>
Name_Profile_3=<actual name>
Disp_Name_Profile_3=<what you want to be displayed>

Update and save the widget

Some variations requested by users:
beecon_OCCP_minfreq ........................ beecon_OCCP_min+batt
Attachment 12737
Another variation by gft2k1 here

If temperature is not displayed, run the following lines in terminal
Code:

sudo gainroot
modprobe bq27x00_battery
echo bq27x00_battery >> /etc/modules

Thanks to sacal for help with testing.
@moepda I created new images for the battery one, so it should look nice:)

##################################################
Other widgets shared on this thread
##################################################

NOTE : For power kernel 47 and above use the scripts here to fix the temperature issue in OCCP widget.Thanks to misiak

CasTTeLLo 2010-08-05 15:46

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
cool mate....thanks

Bratag 2010-08-05 16:18

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Its a shame your instructions do not represent the actual QBW interface.

techie 2010-08-05 16:47

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Kindly clarify.Those screenshots are from my device.In case you are seeing it full of some pale color then that means the images did not copy correctly to their locations.Please verify.

moepda 2010-08-05 19:21

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Nice update techie , may i ask in simplified terms the difference betwen this new version and previous occp ?
cheers moepda

ironm8 2010-08-05 19:44

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
my temp isnt being reported, rest is working! :)

can you refresh my memory where do i see all the OC profiles?

thank you

leetut 2010-08-05 19:50

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
i always prefered to put my overclock buttons in the status menu drop box, as i was always accidently hitting the QBC buttons on the desktop

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/8...0080520310.png

original info here:
http://www.symbian-freak.com/forum/v...start=120#wrap

moepda 2010-08-05 20:03

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
likewise got that also leetut buddy but this qbw serves me better for info as i rarely use other clocks only under/overclock generally and this looks good on desktop and informative to boot :)

sacal 2010-08-05 20:25

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by moepda (Post 776923)
Nice update techie , may i ask in simplified terms the difference betwen this new version and previous occp ?
cheers moepda

I can try to answer your question.

1 - In the first release all the code was in the qbw instance cmd. As the code was a bit large there where some doubts that qbw could handle that properly. In this new release most part of the code is in a separate file so the code in qbw instance cmd is mush smaller.
2- This new version also handles timer refresh in a smart way. If the phone is locked there is no need for timer updates and so there will be less battery drain.
3- As asked by some occp users (myself included) in this new version the frequencies only change in temperature mode. If the chosen profile is stock or ideal there will be no change in frequencies even if the phone is locked.

ironm8 2010-08-05 20:39

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
In the temprature column all i see is C as there is no number,
do you have any clue why?
btw already found how to make my OC profile :)

xopher 2010-08-05 20:40

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Thanks for sharing, this works nicely.

@ironm8 look to the top of the thread, you have to add the battery module to your kernel for the temp to display. Instructions are there in the "code" section below the images

ironm8 2010-08-05 21:01

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
hehe i saw the word battery there multile times so i just ignored it.
however when i put the first line in terminal i get " sh: modprobe: not found"
resulting in this not working :?

sacal 2010-08-05 21:16

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ironm8 (Post 777021)
In the temprature column all i see is C as there is no number,
do you have any clue why?
btw already found how to make my OC profile :)

Have you tried the following code from 1st post:

If temperature is not displayed, run the following lines in terminal
Code:

Code:

modprobe bq27x00_battery
sudo gainroot
 echo bq27x00_battery >> /etc/modules

Edit:

try sudo modprobe bq27x00_battery

gft2k1 2010-08-06 14:11

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
techie, your widget update is fantastic, my modified script of previous version eat more battery energy because update on timer remain still active even when widget is set to "stock" or "ideal" or when phone is locked........:)

You are a genius ! :D

In your last version in .OCCP file i replaced all "sudo" with "rootsh" otherwise underclock and overclock don't work for me.

I try rootsh 1.8 but still don't work with "sudo".

I currently use rootsh 1.5 and all works fine (with "rootsh", obviously).

There's something wrong in my N900 ?

techie 2010-08-06 18:00

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Thanks for the nice words:)
Nothing is wrong with your N900, I had the same issue too.Don't know why it happens on some devices and not others.Although I was able to make sudo work by modifying the sudoers file,it is highly NOT recommended.
Just keep ver 1.5 and use rootsh instead of sudo where required.

gft2k1 2010-08-07 15:52

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
ok, thank you again...........;)

I have modified (for my need) the script so now i have battery % + rootfs %, if you want i can send you..........:)

I hope you figure out why sudo don't work for all..........:confused:

I also trying to change the color of displayed temperature, battery and rootfs in according to status (example: if battery is over 60% green, below 60% yellow and below 30% red.)

ivnvir 2010-08-07 16:03

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
I would like to have some help here:

I use "Scrobbler" (last.fm and libre.fm) and it doesn't have a turn on/off feature.
I've made a beecon to control it, but not the way I would like to, it's a simple on/off, text based.

I would like to see this pic: http://www.worldradio.ch/wrs/bm~pix/lastfm-icon.png

when it's on, and when I press it, this pic in grey, for example (wich I can provide if anyone is interested).

Can anyone help me with that? My script is here:

#!/bin/sh

LINHAS=`ps aux | grep scrobbler | grep -v grep | wc -l`;

if [ $LINHAS -gt 0 ] ; then
echo "dsmetool -k /usr/bin/scrobbler" | sudo gainroot | echo "";
kill -9 `ps aux | grep scrobbler | grep -v grep | awk '{ print $1; }'`;
echo "Scrobbler off"
else
run-standalone.sh /usr/bin/scrobbler &
echo ""
echo "Scrobbler on"
fi


So it's basically: when is on, last.fm pic, when I press again, it'll turn off and the picture will be last.fm pic in grey (another pic).
It can be any size, and I would like not to see those bees, just the image!

Thanks in advance!

techie 2010-08-07 16:57

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
@gft2k1
Boy! Color output based on result, that sure looks like a lot of code.Good luck with that:D

@ivnir
Every parameter of QBW can be modified through dbus call.Refer here.I think the following should work for you hoping what you have is a snippet

Code:

#!/bin/sh

LINHAS=`ps aux | grep scrobbler | grep -v grep | wc -l`;

 if [ $LINHAS -gt 0 ] ; then
echo "dsmetool -k /usr/bin/scrobbler" | sudo gainroot | echo "";
 kill -9 `ps aux | grep scrobbler | grep -v grep | awk '{ print $1; }'`;
echo "Scrobbler off"
run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw<QBW_ID> oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"resImgFilename" string:scrobbler_off_img.png string:""
else
run-standalone.sh /usr/bin/scrobbler &
echo ""
echo "Scrobbler on"
run-standalone.sh dbus-send --session --type=method_call --dest=oh.no.more.qbw /oh/no/more/qbw<QBW_ID> oh.no.more.qbw.set_param_string string:"resImgFilename" string:scrobbler_on_img.png string:""
 fi

This will change the cmd result image based on output.You have to replace the <QBW_ID> part with the id of the snippet you have,something like "id1" etc.You may also need to tweak size,command image visibility etc.

ivnvir 2010-08-07 23:32

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
@techie I'll give it a try soon. Thanks!

BTW, why cant I use the return codes? Like, return 1, on img, 0, off img?
Also, my snippet get the progress animation when the process is running, even with &

techie 2010-08-08 07:11

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ivnvir (Post 779122)
@techie I'll give it a try soon. Thanks!

BTW, why cant I use the return codes? Like, return 1, on img, 0, off img?
Also, my snippet get the progress animation when the process is running, even with &

You can, I did mention in case you were using a snippet.Set up a beecon and configure images on return statuses.Use the QBW wiki to find some examples.
To disable the progress animation go into settings and set the frames to disabled.

g-man 2010-08-08 14:55

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sacal (Post 777068)
Have you tried the following code from 1st post:

If temperature is not displayed, run the following lines in terminal
Code:

Code:

modprobe bq27x00_battery
sudo gainroot
 echo bq27x00_battery >> /etc/modules

Edit:

try sudo modprobe bq27x00_battery

Hi.
I think this widget/app is super!
EDIT: the above didn't work as I didn't have "Enhamced Linux Kernel..." installed as mentioned below..

techie 2010-08-08 19:08

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
You DO have titans power kernel installed right?

munkiii 2010-08-09 15:17

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
2 Attachment(s)
I've installed this today and like it better than the old one, but, only 1 problem...

I've increased the image sizes from 190x87 to 400x110.
I've increased the font sizes to how i want them, and everything looks how i want it to.

But the buttons don't work as i want them to. I've described in GREEN BOXES how the buttons actually work.

How do i edit the area for button presses?

techie 2010-08-09 18:41

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by munkiii (Post 780483)
I've installed this today and like it better than the old one, but, only 1 problem...

I've increased the image sizes from 190x87 to 400x110.
I've increased the font sizes to how i want them, and everything looks how i want it to.

But the buttons don't work as i want them to. I've described in GREEN BOXES how the buttons actually work.

How do i edit the area for button presses?

The edited image is better, I couldn't make sense of the original one:).Also I think you should ideally be getting only the right half of ideal button responsive.
You cannot edit the area for button press.QBW divides it into an equal grid of 3x3, maybe in a future version it could be possible to define custom areas (send a request to QBW author).For now thats how it will work or you can reduce the width.

gft2k1 2010-08-09 19:38

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
1 Attachment(s)
hello techie, i finally made a version of your OCCP Control Panel with temperature, battery and rootfs who change their colors in according to status........:)

This is the result:

PipoXtreme 2010-08-09 19:42

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gft2k1 (Post 780717)
hello techie, i finally made a version of your OCCP Control Panel with temperature, battery and rootfs who change their colors in according to status........:)

This is the result:

and the code please ;P

gft2k1 2010-08-09 20:25

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
sorry, i can't post the code without the permission of author (techie)........:p

You can ask techie and if he agreed i post the code........:)

PipoXtreme 2010-08-09 20:48

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
@techie

I saw last days that you upload a code for the rootsh 1.8 version.
When you give the ok for this.. can you modify please this code to the 1.8 version ?! Thx for that..

gft2k1 2010-08-09 21:52

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PipoXtreme (Post 780795)
@techie

I saw last days that you upload a code for the rootsh 1.8 version.
When you give the ok for this.. can you modify please this code to the 1.8 version ?! Thx for that..

@techie:
Although I was able to make sudo work by modifying the sudoers file,it is highly NOT recommended.
Just keep ver 1.5 and use rootsh instead of sudo where required.

Translate:

You can use ver 1.5 and everything work fine, otherwise modifying the sudoers file the risk is that you must reflash your N900.

Erazor 2010-08-10 03:11

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
hey thx for the nice job :) it works well.

BUT can you explain, why the cpu speed doesn't go under 500MHz@idle???

The Screen says 250-900
but conky shows 500-900

can you help please?!

techie 2010-08-10 06:06

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
@gft2k1
Feel free to post, looks nice

@PipoXtreme
You will need to replace sudo with rootsh in .OCCP file

@Erazor
You have 250 in list of avoid frequencies,you need to remove it from there so that cpu can use it.More information can be found in the overclock thread.

Erazor 2010-08-10 09:16

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by techie (Post 781144)
@Erazor
You have 250 in list of avoid frequencies,you need to remove it from there so that cpu can use it.More information can be found in the overclock thread.

OMFG so please don't lol @ me :D but now it workd o.O
without any changes :D

strange things are happening

but thx for the answer :)

Greetz
Erazor

gft2k1 2010-08-10 10:58

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
4 Attachment(s)
Thanks to techie, this is my last version of OCCP (with code :)) who change the color of displayed temperature, frequency, battery and rootfs in according to status..............:D

PipoXtreme 2010-08-10 12:58

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
with the code there is something strange.. when I'm import it to the buffer the code doesn't look like before with the other code's from techie and the widget doesn't work as well.

gft2k1 2010-08-10 13:43

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PipoXtreme (Post 781544)
with the code there is something strange.. when I'm import it to the buffer the code doesn't look like before with the other code's from techie and the widget doesn't work as well.

If you have only this widget on dektop you must delete the file ".queen_beecon" in /home/user on your N900 with CuteExplorer or Open SSH Server and recreate the widget from zero before import it to buffer, otherwise Queen Beecon Widget create a duplicate of your current widget with another ID.

The code doesn't look like the others from techie because i made some modifications for change color status..........:)

gft2k1 2010-08-10 14:03

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PipoXtreme (Post 781544)
with the code there is something strange.. when I'm import it to the buffer the code doesn't look like before with the other code's from techie and the widget doesn't work as well.

Another thing:

You have rootsh 1.5 installed, right?
You must replace all "sudo" with "rootsh" in your .OCCP file in /home/user on your N900 otherwise the widget work for someone but don't for all. This is a know issue with rootsh app and require a modifications of sudoers file but THIS IS HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED but if you want to reflash your N900.......:D

PipoXtreme 2010-08-10 14:35

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
1 Attachment(s)
here you can see the problem ->

techie should see which problem I have :)

techie 2010-08-10 14:47

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PipoXtreme (Post 781633)
here you can see the problem ->

techie should see which problem I have :)

Update to 1.0.2 from devel that should fix it now

gft2k1 2010-08-10 14:53

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Or change your theme ! :D

sacal 2010-08-10 16:58

Re: Share your Widgets!
 
Multiboot 0.2.5 and autoloading bq27x00_battery.

For those like me that are running OCCP widget and titan's power37 or 39 with multiboot 0.2.5, there is the need of loading bq27x00_battery module after every reboot.

As Jay-C, the author of multiboot stated here there are problems autoloading that module.

So for those interested i have added some lines of code to the /home/user/.OCCP file to autoload the bq2700_battery module so that the temperature is displayed in the OCCP widget:

Code:

QBW_REMEMBER_ME=${7}
if [ "$(cat /sys/class/power_supply/bq27200-0/temp)" == "" ] ; then
  sudo modprobe bq27x00_battery > /dev/null ;
fi

if [ "$QBW_REMEMBER_ME" -eq 3 ] ; then



All times are GMT. The time now is 14:36.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8