maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Maemo 5 / Fremantle (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=61744)

eitama 2010-09-05 11:04

[Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Hi,

Some of you may know, I am the author of horizontal-call (in the sig),
I have had some people ask me for the ability to add an option to append or prepend numbers/chars to all outgoing calls made by horizontal call.

Specifically, codes that control if your number is sent or the caller ID is hidden. I tried adding the following string
Code:

#31#
inside the C++/Qt code of the app just to test it, but the call won't go through.

Also if i try to add that to the contact, and dial it with horizontal-call it also fails, I get a message from my operator that "This number is not a valid number and cannot be dialed".

So my question is, what does one need to send to the dbus call to the gsm module in order to call for example :
Code:

#31#0544724972
Fictional number ofc :0)

I'd appreciate any help in the field.

Thanks,
Eitam.

chillout 2010-09-05 18:38

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Hello eitama,

Actually i see a mistake in the way you are trying to dial and that's the reason your operator sends error.

First off:
#31# - Hide ID
*31# - Show ID

So if my number is 0898 123 456 and my country code is 359 the number you have to dial looks like this - +359 898 123 456
When you add the code it should look like this - *31#+359898123456

I have tested the exact same way with the N900 official dialing program and it works .... doesn't work without the + before the country code.

Hope this helps.
Best regards!

eitama 2010-09-05 18:47

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chillout (Post 808032)
Hello eitama,

Actually i see a mistake in the way you are trying to dial and that's the reason your operator sends error.

First off:
#31# - Hide ID
*31# - Show ID

So if my number is 0898 123 456 and my country code is 359 the number you have to dial looks like this - +359 898 123 456
When you add the code it should look like this - *31#+359898123456

I have tested the exact same way with the N900 official dialing program and it works .... doesn't work without the + before the country code.

Hope this helps.
Best regards!

Dialing #31#05447246135 from the built in app works, dialing that from horizontal-call doesn't. I am using a standard dbus call to make the calls, I guess i Just doesn't support it, or makes changes before dialing that I am not making.

Still need more info sadly.

chillout 2010-09-10 09:21

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Hello there eitama and all that have my problem,

I am puzzled about why i didn't think of this simple fix to my problem earlier, i could have spared you the time and efford to help me.
I've just found out that deactivating/activating my CLIR function takes about 10 secs and considering i don't hide my number at all i guess this could pass for a solution :)

Horizontal-Call works like a charm now, thanks for this great app!!

Thanks eitama!

zimon 2010-09-10 09:30

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
There is also starhash-enabler application which brings support to these *#-codes.
http://my-maemo.com/software/applica...to=1622&faq=42

MohammadAG 2010-09-10 09:51

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zimon (Post 812471)
There is also starhash-enabler application which brings support to these *#-codes.
http://my-maemo.com/software/applica...to=1622&faq=42

He knows the codes are supported, he's asking if there's a way to use dbus calls to dial them, using dbus here just fails with the codes, I even tried escaping the # with a \ but it didn't work :(

peterleinchen 2011-09-21 21:52

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Sorry for reviving this thread. But I do want exactly that. Set the call forwarding (with USSD codes) by means of dbus call from within a script.
(I have dual SIM adapter and want the forwarding to be en-/disabled automatically on switching.)

Already puzzled with USSD packages, but no success. Also tried to escape/bundle those characters in string....

So, anybody got a solution here?
Could also be anything else, but I need to get those codes activated from within a script.

P.S.: of course got *#-enabler installed and working fine fom call-ui...

peterleinchen 2011-11-04 18:20

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
So, no chance to use *# from a dbus call (just call-ui)?
If anybody is out there who knows, then he may speak now ...

--edit
this is how a call with dbus works
/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"0123456789" uint32:0

and this is what I want to achieve, e.g.:
/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"*21*0987654321#" uint32:0
or simply just
string:"*21#"
string:"#21#"

jonwil 2011-11-04 23:06

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
For USSD, you need to use com.nokia.csd.SS.USSD
And no I dont know how you use that.

peterleinchen 2011-11-05 11:42

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Thanks for the hint, but could not get it...
Maybe because of case-sensitivity or wrong type/function call?

Is there anywhere a list with those dbus destinations, types and functions?

peterleinchen 2011-12-15 23:40

Nearly solved (at least for my needs)
 
Dear fellows out there,

I found today the solution for my problem!
I am now able to activate/cancel my call forwarding (divert) settings from command line (script).

I checked today just for curiosity the phone wiki page again (last time in September) and voila, there was an entry for one dbus command to activate forwarding calls. It was not 100% correct, but activated some forwarding and showed me the way.
Many many thanks to the unkwon contributor at the wiki.
I was so free to find out all commands and also the cancel method and edited the wiki
http://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#Phone

P.S.: I am almost sure there is similar command for all USSD codes ...


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:03.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8