maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   QT Packaging help needed please (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=65781)

noobmonkey 2010-11-17 17:47

QT Packaging help needed please
 
Hi Alls - have tarr'd up my app here and trying to figure out why there is no application in the application menu! (Not the icon disappearing issue, but it is literally not in the app menu)
http://ubuntuone.com/p/Pia/ (Edit - i'm assuming you can see this? first time on ubuntu and using ubuntu one lol)

i'm getting really confused with all the packaging guides, etc etc, and my main key areas of confusion are:
The file structure needed, and how this changes depending on what you put in certain files.
Also, what all the lines in certain files do, and how they affect things. Have seen many many examples, but none that shed light on the whole process yet.

(Yes i'm aware there are many many ways of packaging, developing etc)

I'm developing in the Nokia QT SDK, the app works fine on the device in testing.

So i then put all these files in their right places,
use mad dpkg-buildpackage
then
mad dpkg-buildpackage -sa -S

I then get my dsc, changes and tar file, upload and it builds fine :)

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

nicolai 2010-11-17 19:08

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by noobmonkey (Post 876268)
Hi Alls - have tarr'd up my app here and trying to figure out why there is no application in the application menu! (Not the icon disappearing issue, but it is literally not in the app menu)

No surprise, the contents of your deb-file:
Code:

dpkg --contents maecount_0.8.3_armel.deb
drwxr-xr-x root/root        0 2010-11-17 18:22 ./
drwxr-xr-x root/root        0 2010-11-17 18:22 ./usr/
drwxr-xr-x root/root        0 2010-11-17 18:22 ./usr/share/
drwxr-xr-x root/root        0 2010-11-17 18:22 ./usr/share/doc/
drwxr-xr-x root/root        0 2010-11-17 18:22 ./usr/share/doc/maecount/
-rw-r--r-- root/root      1379 2010-11-14 22:16 ./usr/share/doc/maecount/copyright

Quote:

Originally Posted by noobmonkey (Post 876268)
I'm developing in the Nokia QT SDK, the app works fine on the device in testing.

Do you use the latest QT SDK?

I am sorry I can not help more, but I use scratchbox most
of the time and don't know exactly which files are generated
by the Nokia SDK.

Nicolai

kif 2010-11-17 21:40

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Hi noobmonkey

If all you want is an installation package (.deb) to install on your n900, the Nokia QT SDK can create the package for you, all you have to do is to select the Maemo build target, and build !

To get an desktop icon you have to create an <your application>.desktop file and include it in the package (under projects / build steps/files to deploy) to be installed in /usr/share/applications/hildon, and of course you should include an icon too.

Kim

robertnl 2010-11-17 21:48

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Well, I'm working on that for the second night ... unsuccesfull ... (but still having fun with QT ;-)

I'm using QtCreator 2.1 BETA. This version does a lot for you. It creates the package, deploys it to your n900 and install that one. So far, so good.

The net has enough information about the content of the desktop file (should be in /usr/share/applications/hildon) and the icon (should be in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/64x64). But there is something that I haven't figured out yet.

Or I put these files in the same directory as the source files and I add a specific command in the Project file to copy them to the correct directory on the n900. But what command do I use?

Or I put these files in a path that matches the path on the n900. But what is the correct path?

Any help is welcome!

robertnl 2010-11-17 21:53

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Hi kif,

I can not find "projects/build steps/files to deploy". I do have "files to install" under RUN SETTINGS. But I do not work out how I can add files to that list.

kif 2010-11-17 22:14

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
You need to change to Build settings, there you should be able to set the package settings (version, build etc).

Kim

kif 2010-11-17 22:20

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Something like this

http://lpws.mine.nu/s1.png

In files to deploy you setelt source file and anter target path & filename.

Kim

robertnl 2010-11-17 22:35

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Well, now I see the issue! Thanks for your post!

I'm using Qtcreator 2.1 BETA at the moment. In that version I do not have the 'create package' under Build settings. I do see "files to deploy" under "Run Settings". Unfortunaly. that one does not have the '+' and '-' buttons.

I've read that the final version of QtCreator 2.1 will do everything automatically for you. That explains why the 'create package' is missing. Unfortunaly "everything" automatically is not 100% correct yet in this BETA. I'll drop the team a mail. I think I have to switch back to 2.0.1. till this issue is solved (or I've found a workaround)

Thanks for your image!

kif 2010-11-17 22:43

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Ok, you can copy the extra files into the debian directory, and then build your project, this will include the extra files.

You will find the debian directory in <your appplication>-build-maemo/debian/<your application>/debian, here you put the files in the
coresponding directory structure as it should have on your n900.

Kim

mece 2010-11-18 00:04

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by noobmonkey (Post 876268)
Hi Alls - have tarr'd up my app here and trying to figure out why there is no application in the application menu! (Not the icon disappearing issue, but it is literally not in the app menu)
http://ubuntuone.com/p/Pia/ (Edit - i'm assuming you can see this? first time on ubuntu and using ubuntu one lol)

i'm getting really confused with all the packaging guides, etc etc, and my main key areas of confusion are:
The file structure needed, and how this changes depending on what you put in certain files.
Also, what all the lines in certain files do, and how they affect things. Have seen many many examples, but none that shed light on the whole process yet.

(Yes i'm aware there are many many ways of packaging, developing etc)

I'm developing in the Nokia QT SDK, the app works fine on the device in testing.

So i then put all these files in their right places,
use mad dpkg-buildpackage
then
mad dpkg-buildpackage -sa -S

I then get my dsc, changes and tar file, upload and it builds fine :)

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

found a solution:

edit rules,
change APPNAME to maecount
rename MaeCount.pro to maecount.pro
in pro file change target.path to /usr/bin
in desktop file change exec to lowercase maecount

Works for me.

rmerren 2010-11-18 04:18

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
I wrote a guide to packaging a Qt app for the extras repository. Hope it helps: http://wiki.maemo.org/Packaging_Qt_C...r_Maemo_Extras

noobmonkey 2010-11-18 10:37

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Wooohooo cheers alls! - will check the guide tonight, and mece, will give it a go!
Thank you so much everyone for helping out! :)

(Getting the deb to the device is easy! hehe) It's the maemo packaging for extras devel etc thats the mare!

noobmonkey 2010-11-18 20:54

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Ok i'm getting there, the error appears in the rules files now, as you will see, i've tried many a different way around! All erroring though!

(Start of rules file (now!))
Code:

#!/usr/bin/make -f
APPNAME := maecount
builddir:
        mkdir -p builddir
 
builddir/Makefile: builddir
        cd builddir && /opt/qt4-maemo5/bin/qmake PREFIX=/opt ../$(APPNAME).pro


I have tried many many versions of this, and the error allways seems to be
/scratchbox/tools/bin/sh: line 1: /opt/qt4-maemo5/bin/qmake: No such file or directory

(Now replace /opt/qt4-maemo5/bin/qmake with many many variants, and PREFIX with /usr)

Please can someone let me know what it should be? :)


edit - example failed notice - https://garage.maemo.org/builder/fre...log.FAILED.txt
+ Scroll down the bottom to see how many attempts!
https://garage.maemo.org/pipermail/e...er/thread.html

nicolai 2010-11-18 21:02

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
1. Does /opt/qt4-maemo5/bin/qmake exists?
Where is your qmake program.
2. Do you use unix or dos line breaks?

nicolai

noobmonkey 2010-11-18 21:02

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Its the autobuilder so i dont know :)
and erm, using ubuntu, so unix :)

noobmonkey 2010-11-18 21:05

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
cd builddir && qmake-qt4 PREFIX=/usr ../maecount.pro
/scratchbox/tools/bin/sh: line 1: qmake-qt4: command not found


Just tried again

nicolai 2010-11-18 21:22

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Can you send me the source?
(I am sure it is because you use
wrong linebreaks)

nicolai

noobmonkey 2010-11-18 21:24

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
<NooBmonk3y> Turski, i want your babies!!!!!!!!!!!
<NooBmonk3y> maecount 0.8.5 Fremantle Extras-devel free i386 Build succeeded System 2010-11-18 21:23 UTC

^^ yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!

noobmonkey 2010-11-18 21:34

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
Ok i'm 99.9% there!
It builds....
The icon (app) appears in the application menu! (that was the problem 4 days ago! - it didnt)

Now all thats left is when i tap the app in the menu, it highlights it but runs nothing!

nicolai 2010-11-18 21:41

Re: QT Packaging help needed please
 
1. There are still dos line breaks in your .desktop file
2. the desktop file names
Exec=maecount
as execution path. But your executable is installed in
/usr/bin/maecount/maecount.

Solution
- set
target.path = /usr/bin
instead of
target.path = /usr/bin/maecount
in your .pro file
- or set the full path in the desktop file:
Exec=/usr/bin/maecount

Nicolai


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:58.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8