maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Nokia N900 (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   [SOLVED] Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=69458)

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-07 03:18

[SOLVED] Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
So my n900's touchscreen has completely stopped working after a few weeks of working on and off, but before I send it away for repairs, I'd like to completely back it up since it will undoubtedly be wiped at Nokia/Optus.

However, as well as not having a working touchscreen, it also doesn't automatically connect to the internet when it's booted up, so all the SSH related solutions I've found are somewhat unhelpful in this situation...

If I can connect to a saved WiFi connection via terminal or keyboard shortcuts, I'm guessing I should be able to use SSH...

Does anyone know how I'd be able to back up everything? (Contacts, SMS, Applications and their settings, files, etc)

I'd also like to be able to export my contacts into something like an Excel spreadsheet so I can access certain numbers

I pretty much just want to be able to go back to the exact same phone when it comes back from repairs...

Thanks in advance!

9000 2011-02-07 03:28

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 937871)
So my n900's touchscreen has completely stopped working after a few weeks of working on and off, but before I send it away for repairs, I'd like to completely back it up since it will undoubtedly be wiped at Nokia/Optus.

However, as well as not having a working touchscreen, it also doesn't automatically connect to the internet when it's booted up, so all the SSH related solutions I've found are somewhat unhelpful in this situation...

If I can connect to a saved WiFi connection via terminal or keyboard shortcuts, I'm guessing I should be able to use SSH...

Does anyone know how I'd be able to back up everything? (Contacts, SMS, Applications and their settings, files, etc)

I'd also like to be able to export my contacts into something like an Excel spreadsheet so I can access certain numbers

I pretty much just want to be able to go back to the exact same phone when it comes back from repairs...

Thanks in advance!

How about backupmenu by Rob Simpson (aka RobbieThe1st here)?

To install without touchscreen, you may press CTRL-SHIFT-X at desktop. The Xterminal will be popped up, then type the following (hopefully you have rootsh installed)

Code:

root
apt-get install backupmenu

Then reboot the device with keyboard opened.

Actually I could tell you how to get SSH and VNC to control your N900 remotely in PC. Tell me if you'd prefer it. I'll show you.

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-07 03:33

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Yes please, I'm sure that'd make this a whole lot easier!

Will those terminal commands work without an internet connection?

Or do you know how I can establish an internet connection without the touchscreen?

Thanks for the quick reply!

9000 2011-02-07 03:40

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 937873)
Yes please, I'm sure that'd make this a whole lot easier!

Will those terminal commands work without an internet connection?

Or do you know how I can establish an internet connection without the touchscreen?

Thanks for the quick reply!

Oh you need to get Wifi works first? Here you go:

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"IAP_ID" uint32:0
Replace the IAP_ID with the name you saved for your Wifi connection. If you've forgot what you've saved, you may use the following command to get the IAP_ID:

Code:

gconftool -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP | grep name
(or just gconftool -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP if you've problem typing "|" in xterminal)

If you need further help in getting SSH or VNC, let me know. Hope this helps.

Reference: http://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#...ved_connection

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-07 03:50

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
I've got SSH running, but I don't have VNC installed yet, if I could just get some help with that please?

I'm bout to head off to work, but I'll be trying all this as soon as I get home tonight, thanks again for your help!

9000 2011-02-07 03:58

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 937882)
I've got SSH running, but I don't have VNC installed yet, if I could just get some help with that please?

I'm bout to head off to work, but I'll be trying all this as soon as I get home tonight, thanks again for your help!

NP, I use VNC on daily basis so it's no sweat for me: ;)

Code:

root
apt-get install x11vnc
x11vnc -speeds 10,60000,1 -cursor X -remap Return-KP_Enter -display :0

On the PC side you need the vncviewer. I'd recommend TightVNC, though I'm sure there's better alternative around.

You may download the vncviewer from the TightVNC official site here.

Run vncviewer with the IP of your N900.

Hope this helps.

RobbieThe1st 2011-02-07 04:54

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
As 9000 said, a good method of backup/restore is my Backupmenu application - And just about the only method of actually -restoring- a complete backup.
It also doesn't require touchscreen access, which is obviously a plus.

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-07 12:46

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
9000, I'm having issues connecting to the saved WiFi connection, I'm possibly getting the Saved network name incorrect, but I'm 90% sure I'm not.

That second command you gave is problematic because is rushes up the screen, so I'm only getting info on the last saved network, which isn't what I'm after.

Is there a way to slow this down?

Alternatively, is there a Terminal command to connect to a Wifi network directly? ie, entering the SSID?

RobbieThe1st 2011-02-07 13:29

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Way to slow it down? Yea, pipe it through less - "*command* | less" - but the pipe character(|) probably needs the touchscreen to be used :\

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-07 13:39

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
It looks like it does, its one of those characters that comes up when the BlueArrow/Ctrl shortcut is used... >.<

How about connecting to a hidden (non-broadcasted), unsecured WiFi network, ie, only needing to enter a SSID?

retsaw 2011-02-07 13:47

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 938074)
That second command you gave is problematic because is rushes up the screen, so I'm only getting info on the last saved network, which isn't what I'm after.

Is there a way to slow this down?

I can't think of a way that doesn't use the pipe symbol (the "|" symbol) which has been relegated to the virtual keyboard. What you might be able to do is remap the keyboard to give you access the the pipe symbol and any others that you might need from the hardware keyboard.

slender 2011-02-07 13:51

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Hmmm...Looks pretty hard. Why not just simply run Nokias own backup app and install ssh server on n900 and then copy everything to desktop pc (If usb-mass-storage mode is impossible without touch screen).

Or even better buy microsdhc card and put it inside of n900 and run nokias own backup app and make backup to card and additionally copy whole filesystem also to card. Nokias own backup app saves PIM info from phone. You can also use fast application manager to save you application list so that you can restore it.

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-07 14:09

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Looks like remapping involves a lot of code, but aside from that, wouldn't I need to type the | in order to remap it? or am I understanding the code incorrectly?

Having just looked at that again, that looks fairly out of my depth, I've failed programming courses a few times...

What if I program a script to connect to a Wifi network, and install the VNC and get it up and running, place it on to a microsd card, and run that from xterm?

EDIT: I realise I've contradicted myself with my lack of programming knowledge, what I mean is, what if someone else programs a script :D

vitaminj 2011-02-07 14:17

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
use gconftool --all-dirs /system/osso/connectivity/IAP to list the dirs and then go through them one by one with gconftool -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP/GUID?

pelago 2011-02-07 14:18

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Instead of doing:
Code:

gconftool -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP
which gives a recursive list of all things under that gconf folder, try:
Code:

gconftool --all-dirs /system/osso/connectivity/IAP
which will list all the subfolders. Then for each folder name (it will be a pain to type them in as they are so long), do for example:
Code:

gconftool -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP/abcd1234-4321-abcd-5678-defa01234321ba
to see the details inside that particular folder. Repeat until you find out which one is the connection you require.

EDIT: vitaminj beat me to it!

thp 2011-02-07 14:20

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by retsaw (Post 938129)
I can't think of a way that doesn't use the pipe symbol (the "|" symbol) which has been relegated to the virtual keyboard.

If you have vim installed, you can write a shell script and execute that. In vim, you can insert a pipe using Ctrl+V and then x7c in insert mode (7c is the hex code for the pipe character).

RobbieThe1st 2011-02-07 14:23

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Ncc - Just make a textfile, name it x.sh

In it, place the commands you want to run, in order.
Copy it to the n900, then type: "sh /path/to/x.sh". It should run.
You can try it with the above network command.

Alternately, grab backupmenu and it's dependancies(you need the armel .deb files), and install (as root) with "dpkg -i /path/too/pkg.deb"

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-07 14:42

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
I'm guessing I'm getting the file path wrong. I've placed the x.sh file into the root of the microsd, and tried

"sh /media/mmc1/x.sh"

which came back with "sh: can't open /media/mmc1/x.sh"

retsaw 2011-02-07 15:12

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 938141)
Looks like remapping involves a lot of code, but aside from that, wouldn't I need to type the | in order to remap it? or am I understanding the code incorrectly?

Um, that didn't occur to me. :rolleyes:
But it doesn't actually involve much typing.

Actually, I just checked, you don't need to type that character, it is called "bar" in that file. And it is possible to modify the keymap without using the touchscreen. I did run into a minor snag in that vi/vim require you to press Escape to leave "insert" mode, but I worked around that by copy and pasting the letter I needed using "visual mode" (press "v" to enter visual mode, use arrow keys to select text, press "y" to yank/copy selection into buffer and "p" to put/paste buffer contents after the cursor, you can also use "d" followed by left/right to delete the character left/right of the cursor the "d" can be prefixed by a number to delete multiple characters.) For my test I replaced "Eurosign" (you only need to change the first one on the line, the second is for function+shift) with "bar" in "english_base" to achieve the desired result, but if you are not using the English layout you need to change it in the section for the layout you are using.

retsaw 2011-02-07 15:17

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by thp (Post 938150)
If you have vim installed, you can write a shell script and execute that. In vim, you can insert a pipe using Ctrl+V and then x7c in insert mode (7c is the hex code for the pipe character).

You sure you got that right? I tried it on my N900 and my Ubuntu netbook and it didn't work.

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-07 15:24

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Ok, turns out I wasn't saving the notepad file properly... easy mistake at 2am!

New problem is that it turns out I WAS correct about the saved WiFi name, the original command I was given on the first page didn't work for some reason, it would just pause for a moment, and then show a blank prompt ready for input...

The command I'm attempting is:

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"Home WiFi" uint32:0
Is that right?

pelago 2011-02-07 16:16

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
I'm pretty sure the string, where you currently have "Home WiFi" should be the GUID of the connection, e.g. something like:
Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"abcd1234-4321-abcd-5678-defa01234321ba" uint32:0

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-08 01:03

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Is there a way to print the output from a command to a text file? I've now had to go back to the

Code:

gconftool --all-dirs /system/osso/connectivity/IAP
command in order to get the proper input for the WiFi connection, however it's skipping past the connection I need, by about 4 - 5 lines.

I tried the 'less' command via an sh script,

Code:

gconftool --all-dirs /system/osso/connectivity/IAP | less
but that came back with

Code:

/media/mmc1/x1.sh: line 1: less: not found

9000 2011-02-08 01:47

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 938184)
Ok, turns out I wasn't saving the notepad file properly... easy mistake at 2am!

New problem is that it turns out I WAS correct about the saved WiFi name, the original command I was given on the first page didn't work for some reason, it would just pause for a moment, and then show a blank prompt ready for input...

The command I'm attempting is:

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"Home WiFi" uint32:0
Is that right?

This should work. Look at mine:
Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"Home" uint32:0
The extra space in your wifi connection string shouldn't have any impact to the connection, as my 3G string has a space in it.

However, if you're still getting stuck with scrolling of the results of gconf, I guess you can try the following:

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"[ANY]" uint32:0
This connect to the last connection you've made.

Hope this helps.

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-08 01:57

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Unfortunately I can't click the Thanks more than once, but if I could, I would!

I'm now connected to my WiFi, but can't access backupmenu or x11vnc, as I'm getting

Code:

E: Couldn't find package x11vnc
when I attempt

Code:

apt-get install x11vnc

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-08 02:45

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
I'm able to SSH into the phone, is there a way I can place all the files necessary to install x11vnc onto the phone, and install it locally?

9000 2011-02-08 03:14

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 938601)
Unfortunately I can't click the Thanks more than once, but if I could, I would!

I'm now connected to my WiFi, but can't access backupmenu or x11vnc, as I'm getting

Code:

E: Couldn't find package x11vnc
when I attempt

Code:

apt-get install x11vnc

May be you don't have the extras-* enabled? Look at mine:

Code:

cat /etc/apt/sources.list.d/hildon-application-manager.list
deb https://downloads.maemo.nokia.com/fremantle/ssu/apps/ ./
deb https://downloads.maemo.nokia.com/fremantle/ssu/mr0 ./
deb https://downloads.maemo.nokia.com/fremantle1.2/ovi/ ./
deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras/ fremantle-1.3 free non-free
deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel/ fremantle free non-free

If you've missed the last two lines then you could add them back manually:

Code:

root
echo deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras/ fremantle-1.3 free non-free >> /etc/apt/sources.list.d/hildon-application-manager.list
echo deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel/ fremantle free non-free >> /etc/apt/sources.list.d/hildon-application-manager.list
apt-get update
apt-get install x11vnc backupmenu


Ncc Tardis 2011-02-08 03:17

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
I've got VNC up and running, but can't connect, I keep getting a connection timed out error of 10060

I did run the command you suggested back on page one, but it still doesnt seem to work...

9000 2011-02-08 03:23

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Since you got SSH works the ip must be right.

What did you type into the dialog box of TightVNC?

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-08 03:26

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Yes, definitely have the correct ip address

when I enter that command after setting up x11vnc, it outputs a lot of text before ending up with text promoting another command to attempt, but theres no input, I'm just typing into blank space

9000 2011-02-08 03:29

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 938629)
Yes, definitely have the correct ip address

when I enter that command after setting up x11vnc, it outputs a lot of text before ending up with text promoting another command to attempt, but theres no input, I'm just typing into blank space

You got that part right. The x11vnc server is starting on your N900 and it'll wait for connection request until you kill it. So it responds to nothing but CTRL-C.

At this stage you should run the vncviewer.exe (TightVNC) in your PC and enter the IP address of your N900 to start the VNC session. I was asking whether you've entered correctly in this dialog box of vncviewer.exe

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-08 03:46

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Yep, sorry, managed to get it all working, I believe I was adding a space where I shouldn't have somewhere in the code.

Thanks again for all your help with VNC!

At this point I'm now trying to back everything up, I'll try and get backupmenu from the application manager if I can, as for myDocs, I should be fine just copying that to a local drive through SSH, right?

9000 2011-02-08 04:04

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 938632)
Yep, sorry, managed to get it all working, I believe I was adding a space where I shouldn't have somewhere in the code.

Thanks again for all your help with VNC!

At this point I'm now trying to back everything up, I'll try and get backupmenu from the application manager if I can, as for myDocs, I should be fine just copying that to a local drive through SSH, right?

While I absolutely trust Rob is writing quality codes in backmenu, I'd recommend you to run the backup program provided by the system first before using backupmenu.

Your MyDocs would be just fine copying to local drive via SCP yes. However, don't you have the USB cable that can connect your MyDocs as a remote storage in your PC? It's faster copying this way.

One more thing you'd like to backup is a list of packages you've installed. You could get that list by running:

Code:

maemo-list-user-packages
or dpkg (my preference):
Code:

dpkg --get-selections | grep '\binstall\b' | awk '{print $1}' > package.list
EDIT: Revised the package listing method.

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-08 04:18

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Will do. Had a blonde moment in forgetting I could now activate mass storage mode...

thanks again for all the help!

EDIT: Those two commands that you just suggested, I should be able to use print those commands to text files using

Code:

*command* > output.txt
right?

9000 2011-02-08 04:27

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Right.

You may edit your topic and put a [SOLVED] prefix in the subject now. :D

Good luck ;)

pelago 2011-02-08 11:57

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis (Post 938580)
Is there a way to print the output from a command to a text file? I've now had to go back to the

Code:

gconftool --all-dirs /system/osso/connectivity/IAP
command in order to get the proper input for the WiFi connection, however it's skipping past the connection I need, by about 4 - 5 lines.

I tried the 'less' command via an sh script,

Code:

gconftool --all-dirs /system/osso/connectivity/IAP | less
but that came back with

Code:

/media/mmc1/x1.sh: line 1: less: not found

I know you have now solved this, but just for interest:

To redirect output to a text file, use "> filename.txt" rather than "| command". I didn't mention that earlier when you had your initial problems because you can't type ">" without a working touchscreen either. You could then type "more filename.txt" to see the contents of the output.

The reason "less" didn't work is because it isn't installed on the N900 by default. "| more" would have worked.

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-09 06:13

Re: [SOLVED] Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Just wanted to say Thank You again to everyone who helped out with this, the phone is currently on its way to a repair centre, and I should have it back in about 2 weeks, fingers crossed it comes back working!

Thanks again!

Ncc Tardis 2011-02-21 02:10

Re: [SOLVED] Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Just got the phone back, turns out this was all much ado about nothing!

They didn't even wipe the memory, just replaced the entire Touch screen!

Thanks again everyone!

shovelend 2012-12-17 13:29

Re: Full Back-Up with NO Touchscreen or Internet
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 9000 (Post 937872)
How about backupmenu by Rob Simpson (aka RobbieThe1st here)?

To install without touchscreen, you may press CTRL-SHIFT-X at desktop. The Xterminal will be popped up, then type the following (hopefully you have rootsh installed)

Code:

root
apt-get install backupmenu

Then reboot the device with keyboard opened.

Actually I could tell you how to get SSH and VNC to control your N900 remotely in PC. Tell me if you'd prefer it. I'll show you.

what if i dont have installed the rootsh? my touchscreen is bad, so i cant download it with app manager... i have connected to a wifi with x-term and i want to connect my pc with the phone. what can i do?


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:19.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8