maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   General (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   need to move a file (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=70549)

eefo 2011-03-02 10:49

need to move a file
 
hey there , i have .desktop file and i have to move it in /usr/share/applicaations/hildon/

but every time i try it says path has non-directory component .

what i am doing is .

cp MyDocs/desktop_lock.desktop /usr/share/applications/hildon/

what should i do ?

ejasmudar 2011-03-02 10:54

Re: need to move a file
 
Hmm, i am no expert but a few points crop up in my mind:
a. Did u become root before doing this?
b. are you in /home/user/ folder? Else you will have to do cd /home/user/MyDocs/.....

eefo 2011-03-02 11:12

Re: need to move a file
 
yeah , before putting this command i do sudo gainroot and yeah the file is in MyDocs !

i tried with filebox terminal aswell .

Switch_ 2011-03-02 11:16

Re: need to move a file
 
become root through sudo gainroot,
Code:

cd /home/user/MyDocs
, then use
Code:

mv desktop_lock.desktop /usr/share/applications/hildon/
instead of
Code:

cp

Switch_ 2011-03-02 12:30

Re: need to move a file
 
Allright, from the top then:

Open leafpad from xterm using
Code:

leafpad
Create a .desktop file that looks like this:
Code:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=0.1
Type=Application
Name=Lock
Exec=dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.req_tklock_mode_change string:"locked"
Icon=general_locked

Once that is done click on the top bar, and go to "Save As" - name the file "lock.desktop" and where it asks for location (currently says "/") change that to your device (click on the "/" button then click on your device name on the next pop-up - this will be the root of MyDocs folder in your device)

Open a new terminal window and become root
Code:

root
mv /home/user/MyDocs/lock.desktop /usr/share/applications/hildon/

Next open the settings on your desktop and "Add Shortcut" - add the shortcut called "Lock" and press it for fullscreen lockery shenanigans. Enjoy.

eefo 2011-03-02 12:48

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Switch_ (Post 958807)
Allright, from the top then:

Create a .desktop file that looks like this:
Code:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=0.1
Type=Application
Name=Lock
Exec=dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.req_tklock_mode_change string:"locked"

Save it as lock.desktop

Copy this onto your phone using USB or alternatively create it natively and save it to your /MyDocs (default location).

Open a new terminal window and become root
Code:

root
mv /home/user/MyDocs/lock.desktop /usr/share/applications/hildon/

Next open the settings on your desktop and "Add Shortcut" - add the shortcut called "Lock" and press it for fullscreen lockery shenanigans. Enjoy.



ignore the msg reply here .
just let me know how to save the script in the file ?
i am having problem only with saving it in a file :$
else is easy .
can i save it using leafpad ?

Switch_ 2011-03-02 12:55

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eefo (Post 958812)
ignore the msg reply here .
just let me know how to save the script in the file ?
i am having problem only with saving it in a file :$
else is easy .
can i save it using leafpad ?

See edit above - post amended with simpler instructions.

eefo 2011-03-02 12:57

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Switch_ (Post 958817)
See edit above - post amended with simpler instructions.


lol
thanks :D
and yeah , you can post it in a new thread for noobs and i hope it will be useful for others as well :P

eefo 2011-03-02 13:08

Re: need to move a file
 
i have a shortcut now . but as you said , it didn't work for me either :$
did it work at your side ?

Switch_ 2011-03-02 13:08

Re: need to move a file
 
use the code
Code:

mv /ho<TAB>use<TAB>My<TAB>loc<TAB> /us<TAB>sha<TAB>appli<TAB>hildon/
TAB is found at the bottom left hand side of the terminal window and it autocompletes the names for you. with this you can't really go wrong. Befoer we go too much further, you did use copy-paste technology on the dbus script if nothing else, right? You didn't actually go to the lengths of handwrinting it all in? Before it all goes tits up again!

Switch_ 2011-03-02 13:09

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eefo (Post 958826)
i have a shortcut now . but as you said , it didn't work for me either :$
did it work at your side ?

Works fine, see previous post. Copy and paste technology mate, copy-pasta!

eefo 2011-03-02 13:11

Re: need to move a file
 
yeah i did copy paste :$
so you mean that i should write all the script ?

eefo 2011-03-02 13:14

Re: need to move a file
 
ahhhhhhhh wait a min .
i am having the a shortcut on the desktop it means that i have worked in a right way ?
right ?
nothing wrong with the commands and stuff ?
but what happens when i tab on the icon a new window pop ups and then nothing .
may be i should restart my cell.
wait lemme check .

Switch_ 2011-03-02 13:15

Re: need to move a file
 
shouldn't have any real bearing on it but I missed the
Code:

Icon=general_locked
from the end of the file, you can check the previous post as it is now added and I know it works fine on my system. Ensure that the dbus command string is exactly as it is in the post and it should run just fine.

eefo 2011-03-02 13:24

Re: need to move a file
 
:$ i am a noob :$
dont know much about dbus thinngy :$
how to check it ?

Switch_ 2011-03-02 13:27

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eefo (Post 958849)
:$ i am a noob :$
dont know much about dbus thinngy :$
how to check it ?

read it letter by letter, symbol by symbol, check all the spaces are in the right place, you haven't missed anything out, etc etc.

_FACEPALM_

How else, really, do you think you check it???

eefo 2011-03-02 13:29

Re: need to move a file
 
opppss :P
sorry for being annoying :P

Switch_ 2011-03-02 14:04

Re: need to move a file
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eefo (Post 958860)
opppss :P
sorry for being annoying :P

We all gotta learn somewhere, just use some common sense mate, yeh? Got it working yet?

eefo 2011-03-02 14:10

Re: need to move a file
 
awesome :p
you are the man :D
yeah it is working :D

eefo 2011-03-02 14:10

Re: need to move a file
 
p.s wait let me do something for you now :D

eefo 2011-03-02 14:13

Re: need to move a file
 
done :D :D


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:50.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8