maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Newbie (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Save scripts.. What extension do i need? (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=11582)

Eismaus 2007-11-11 14:50

Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
I hope someone can give me a few good pointers.

I have googled the standart shell commands. ls is the is the counterpart to dir and so on.
Now, in dos i can write batch files, with would have the ending .bat so my pc knows what to do with them.
While searching the web, i read it would be .sh in linux, but it didn't work for me.

What file extension do i need for linux?

To be sure, there are no file links, I tried notesm, leafpad and PyTKEditor for writing the scripts.
Also, on some messed up pc's i have to tell windows, that .bat files are executet in the comandline..

Do i have to make such a conection on my N800 too?

I have installed xterm and i can access root with "sudo gainroot" ..
Haven't done much more until know, because i want to understand what i do, before i messed up.

Thanks for your help,
Eismaus

paulh 2007-11-11 15:25

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
The extension doesn't matter (although .sh is sometimes used).

What is missing is the correct permission on the file, you need to do something like this:
chmod ugo+x somescript

meaning set eXecutable attribute for the file's User,Group and Other (i.e. everyone) users. The other attributes are r=Read and w=Write, which can all be set independently for the User, Group and 'Other'.

Additionally, the filesystem that holds the file needs to be executable - the memory card is not, so that command would not help for files stored there.

One other pitfall if you're used to DOS, the current directory is NOT part of the path searched for executables (for security reasons). So you need to specify a path to run the script even if it's in the current directory.

It can be a relative path, so this will do:

./somescript

dormant 2007-11-11 16:40

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
In Linux scripts, the first line tells the script what interpreter to use, using a special "#!" syntax. To the unaware, it looks like a comment line.

On the n800 etc, a script using sh would start like this:

#!/bin/sh

TA-t3 2007-11-11 17:32

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by paulh (Post 93266)
chmod ugo+x somescript

meaning set eXecutable attribute for the file's User,Group and Other (i.e. everyone) users. The other attributes are r=Read and w=Write, which can all be set independently for the User, Group and 'Other'.

.. which can be shortened to just 'chmod a+x somescript' (a = all)

ichmoimeyo 2007-11-11 18:14

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eismaus (Post 93260)
...
I have googled the standart shell commands...

Hi Eismaus:
I am using linuxcommand.org's reference to brush up on shell commands etc:
online version
downloadable version

Eismaus 2007-11-11 20:56

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
@ichmoimeyo Thanks for the links, i downloaded the file and i'll read it on my way to work tomorrow.

@dormant I had #!/bin/bash because my live-cd used this. I corrected it.

@paulh & @TA-t3 So i have to make the file executable first. And i could not save the script on the memory card. Ok, this i understand.
Saving the file in the MyDokuments wouldn't work too, would it?

But I'm not sure if i understand, what you mean with :
Quote:

Originally Posted by paulh (Post 93266)
One other pitfall if you're used to DOS, the current directory is NOT part of the path searched for executables (for security reasons). So you need to specify a path to run the script even if it's in the current directory.

It can be a relative path, so this will do:

./somescript

Do i have to put the path into the script? or do i need it when i execute the script?

What i was trying to do. Save the skript as a file and execute it with a pen tab/klick.

Thanks again for the help!
Eismaus

TA-t3 2007-11-12 11:13

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
- Programs and scripts are executable anywhere on the internal flash, so in MyDocuments would work too.
- You need the path to the file when you execute the script, unless the directory where the script resides is in the PATH environment variable.

You can check the current value of the environment variable with
Code:

env | grep PATH
(ignore GTK_PATH, you're just interested in PATH).
It's probably something like bin:/usr/bin
(I'm not certain what the default path is, because I have changed mine. More on that below.)

Now, it's possible to extend the default path. You could make a directory $HOME/bin (which is the same as /home/user/bin) with 'mkdir', and put your script(s) there. If you create or edit the file .profile (note leading dot) in the home directory and add the line
Code:

PATH=$HOME/bin:$PATH
then all scripts put in /home/user/bin/ will be executable without having to specify the path, e.g. just 'somescript.sh'.

But then you wanted to execute the script by just a stylus click.. that was more tricky! But I seem to remember someone had hacked together a little applet or other gui program to just execute commands or scripts -- maybe they will step forward?

Eismaus 2007-11-12 14:48

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
Ah, now it is clear. Thanks for the explantion.

I have successfully written an easy script with i can execute from the shell.
The next step is to mapp and unmap my work/Home direktory with a script.

If someone have more information about this applet/programm, please tell?

Thanks all for your help.
Eismaus

technut 2007-11-12 20:51

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
Get an app called "load-applet-run". It creates an icon in the status bar and you can add run commands to the dropdown list. It's also just a nice icon/app that shows time, CPU and memory graphs too... worth having.

http://downloads.maemo.org/product/load-applet-runn/

Works fine on my N800.

technut 2007-11-15 02:07

Re: Save scripts.. What extension do i need?
 
I may have named the wrong applet above... the one I was thinking of is "Clockified osso-statusbar-cpu".
http://maemo-hackers.org/wiki/OssoStatusbarCpu


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8