maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   OS2008 / Maemo 4 / Chinook - Diablo (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   unrar on x-terminal (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=18387)

mssg131187 2008-03-27 07:44

unrar on x-terminal
 
I am trying to unrar a file using x-terminal, but the problem is I don't know how to use x-terminal. I have to extract it in the same folder. It would be really appreciated if someone could help.
p.s, I have the unrar application installed on the tablet (using xarchiver). Its on os2008.

Thanks :)

danguyf 2008-03-27 10:02

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
1.) Start up xterm.
2.) Change to the directory with the rar file in it. ("cd /home/user/MyDocs/" or some such. If you don't know where it is, do a "find / -name [tar file name]" to find it.)
3.) Type "tar xvf [tar file name]".

That should do it.

Ali 2010-02-11 15:08

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
can somebody help me how to unrar a file in xterminal i want to know exactly what to type to unrar a file

thanks

Rob1n 2010-02-11 15:14

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ali (Post 521269)
can somebody help me how to unrar a file in xterminal i want to know exactly what to type to unrar a file

thanks

If you already have unrar installed, then it should just be:
Code:

unrar x filename.rar

fatalsaint 2010-02-11 15:26

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ali (Post 521269)
can somebody help me how to unrar a file in xterminal i want to know exactly what to type to unrar a file

thanks

Considering that your filename could be anything.. and your path be anywhere.. this is unlikely.

What I can tell you is that there is "unrar" and "p7zip" in Extras-Devel (standard kill your kitten warning applies), both of which will unrar a file - but are both command line only applications.

The suggestion above (danguyf) uses Tar and is not for RAR files.. different compression.

With unrar you can unrar a file with:

Code:

unrar x filename.rar
With p7zip it's:

Code:

7zr e filename.rar
or
7zr x filename.rar

(I believe, haven't used p7zip yet).

Ali 2010-02-11 18:48

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
hi again i have tried to find a unrar app which works on N900 but i can't find any !
can someone help with a working unrar app for N900??

Need help please

Ali 2010-02-11 18:50

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1n (Post 521278)
If you already have unrar installed, then it should just be:
Code:

unrar x filename.rar


where to get an unrar app for N900?

i can't find any to install so could u help me please:)

Rob1n 2010-02-11 19:10

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ali (Post 521667)
where to get an unrar app for N900?

i can't find any to install so could u help me please:)

You'll need to set up and enable the extras-testing repository and have the rootsh package installed. Then run (in X Terminal):
Code:

sudo gainroot
apt-get install unrar

If you're not already using the extras-testing repository (with an awareness of the potential issues involved) then you should immediately disable/delete the repository afterwards.

Ali 2010-02-11 19:17

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
/home/user # apt-get install unrar
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package unrar is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
E: Package unrar has no installation candidate
/home/user #


this is what i get what to do now?

Rob1n 2010-02-11 19:21

Re: unrar on x-terminal
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ali (Post 521716)
/home/user # apt-get install unrar
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package unrar is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
E: Package unrar has no installation candidate
/home/user #


this is what i get what to do now?

That's odd - according to this it's in extras-testing. You may need to add the extras-devel repository as well then.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8