maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Nokia N810 (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Help:bootmenu.conf mess up (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=20296)

bunanson 2008-05-21 06:53

Help:bootmenu.conf mess up
 
N810, would like option to boot from mmc1/part 2/ext2, so I edit the following bootmenu.conf, by # out choice 3 and made a new choice 3:
__________________________________________________ ________
# bootmenu customisation file
#
# included from bootmenu.sh after default menu is defined
# you can change some items or redefine menu completely

# timeout for automatic selection when no key is pressed
# set to -1 for no timeout (not recommended, can drain battery when device reboots unatteded)
MENU_TIMEOUT=30

# IP address for USB networking
#USB_IP=192.168.2.15

# dim screen when in menu
#/usr/sbin/dsmetest -l 1 #for OS2006/7
#/usr/sbin/dsmetest -l 3 #for OS2008, 1 turns screen completely off

# menu items
MENU_MIN=1 # first item index

#no need to redefine
#MENU_1_NAME="Internal flash"
#MENU_1_ID="flash"

MENU_2_NAME="Internal MMC card, partition 2, ext2"
MENU_2_ID="mmc2"
MENU_2_DEVICE="${INT_CARD}p2"
MENU_2_MODULES="mbcache ext2"
MENU_2_FSTYPE="ext2"
MENU_2_FSOPTIONS="noatime"
[ -d "/sys/block/${INT_CARD}/${MENU_2_DEVICE}" ] || MENU_2_NAME="(${MENU_2_NAME}) N/A"

#MENU_3_NAME="Internal MMC card, partition 3, ext2"
#MENU_3_ID="mmc3"
#MENU_3_DEVICE="${INT_CARD}p3"
#MENU_3_MODULES="mbcache ext2"
#MENU_3_FSTYPE="ext2"
#MENU_3_FSOPTIONS="noatime"
#[ -d "/sys/block/${INT_CARD}/${MENU_3_DEVICE}" ] || MENU_3_NAME="(${MENU_3_NAME}) N/A"
MENU_3_NAME="External MMC card, partition 2, ext2"
MENU_3_ID="mmc3"
MENU_3_DEVICE="${EXT_CARD}p2"
MENU_3_MODULES="mbcache ext2"
MENU_3_FSTYPE="ext2"
MENU_3_FSOPTIONS="noatime"
[ -d "/sys/block/${EXT_CARD}/${MENU_3_DEVICE}" ] || MENU_3_NAME="(${MENU_3_NAME}) N/A"


MENU_4_NAME="External MMC card, partition 2, ext3"
MENU_4_ID="mmc12"
MENU_4_DEVICE="${EXT_CARD}p2"
MENU_4_MODULES="mbcache jbd ext3"
MENU_4_FSTYPE="ext3"
MENU_4_FSOPTIONS="noatime" #",data=writeback"
[ -d "/sys/block/${EXT_CARD}/${MENU_4_DEVICE}" ] || MENU_4_NAME="(${MENU_4_NAME}) N/A"

MENU_5_NAME="Power off (when not on charger)"
MENU_5_ID="off"

#last item index, change if you add/remove items
MENU_MAX=5
__________________________________________________

Result: the n810 menu showed up but with some funny characters at the end...(this is NOT funny though), but Dpad is NOT able to move the choices, so the n810 is frozen..........this is very sad, I have tuned my n810 for a month, oh well. I reflashed it and is scare to put any bootmenu now. Suggestions? Comments? Help? Could somebody, Fanoush, or guru just make a bootmenu.conf for me, please, this is all greek to me. My cloned mmcboot is on mmc1/partition2/ext2. TIA,

Edit: I did move the bootmenu.conf into a PC, renamed it into bootmenu.conf.txt and edit as above using wordpad, then renamed it back to bootmenu.conf and txf back to the tablet. Would wordpad added those funny characters and mess up the bootmenu?


bun

fanoush 2008-05-21 07:49

Re: Help:bootmenu.conf mess up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bunanson (Post 183998)
N
Edit: I did move the bootmenu.conf into a PC, renamed it into bootmenu.conf.txt and edit as above using wordpad, then renamed it back to bootmenu.conf and txf back to the tablet. Would wordpad added those funny characters and mess up the bootmenu?

Yes, Wordpad was not best choice, Notepad would be a bit better but still the line-endings should be in unix style (LF) and notepad adds MS_DOS style ones (CR+LF) so even using notepad in not good choice.

Best is to edit in directly on the tablet (vi, mcedit, nano, ..) or if you want to go the windows route you can try pspad http://www.pspad.com/ or Notepad++ http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

Both tools are pure text editors and can preserve or convert to unix line endings.

fanoush 2008-05-21 07:59

Re: Help:bootmenu.conf mess up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bunanson (Post 183998)
.........this is very sad, I have tuned my n810 for a month, oh well. I reflashed it and is scare to put any bootmenu now. Suggestions?

Don't chicken out too quickly ;-)

1. you don't need to completely reflash, you can reflash just initfs part with linux flasher
Code:

flasher-3.0 -n initfs.jffs2 -f
2. there is escape mode in bootmenu, when booting and you see the "press menu key ..." message, try to press escape (the arrow) key instead, bootmenu should be skipped completely and it should boot just like original initfs (=from internal flash), then you can fix bootmenu.conf and reflash initfs

GeneralAntilles 2008-05-21 08:08

Re: Help:bootmenu.conf mess up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fanoush (Post 184009)
1. you don't need to completely reflash, you can reflash just initfs part with linux flasher
Code:

flasher-3.0 -n initfs.jffs2 -f

Do as fanoush says. :D

On an unrelated note, it'd be nice if flasher had managed some consistency in the casing of options every other image option is lowercase except for FIASCO and reboot is uppercase for some reason. They really should've had all image options consistent and all action (load, boot, reboot, etc) consistent. . . .

fanoush 2008-05-21 08:41

Re: Help:bootmenu.conf mess up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GeneralAntilles (Post 184010)
and better put a -R in there for good measure. ;)

Well I guess it is not needed in this case. Just removing usb cable should do the trick and boot process will continue (with new initfs) without power cycling HW and going through the bootloader again. Still it is good measure and won't hurt anyway. It is really needed when flashing bootloader of full FIASCO. It does hurt when trying to load kernel (-k zImage -l) temporarily, though.

bunanson 2008-05-21 11:33

Re: Help:bootmenu.conf mess up
 
Fanoush, GA: Is my bootmenu.conf works alright, the one I # out 3, will that allows me to boot from mmcblk1p2 (?) or I have to do something different?

I will use leafpad or emelfm2 and see how it goes.

____________________________
MENU_3_NAME="External MMC card, partition 2, ext2"
MENU_3_ID="mmc3"
MENU_3_DEVICE="${EXT_CARD}p2"
MENU_3_MODULES="mbcache ext2"
MENU_3_FSTYPE="ext2"
MENU_3_FSOPTIONS="noatime"
[ -d "/sys/block/${EXT_CARD}/${MENU_3_DEVICE}" ] || MENU_3_NAME="(${MENU_3_NAME}) N/A"


Edit: Oh weeeeeeeeeeeeee, problem solved. I am booting from mmcblk1p2 and the default is what I want. Thanks Fanoush and GA. I did loss all my tuning for the last month. The good part is now I can tune my n810, that is fun. I never look at it as chore :)








_________________________________________


bun


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8