maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Newbie (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Stupid Question: How to take screenshots? (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=24887)

rjzak 2008-11-11 13:27

Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
I looked around and couldn't find a way to take screenshots. The apps aren't in the repo, or not for Diablo. What does everyone here use to take screenshots on their N810s?

TA-t3 2008-11-11 13:37

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
Check out some of those status bar 'load' applets. Several of them have a built-in screenshot capability: In addition to show you your current CPU usage, you can click on it and a little menu will pop up - in some of these tools there's a screenshot option. Look for the status bar applet applications, check the description, and see if it mentions screenshot.

I use 'load-applet-run' (if I recall the name correctly), but I'm not sure if it's still available for OS2008. I'm on OS2007.

brendan 2008-11-11 14:15

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
like ta-t3 said, you can use load applets to start the process. I have osso-statusbar-cpu installed, and use two custom commands to take screenshots using the below code to call osso-screenshot-tool. the code takes a parameter of seconds (0 or 3 or whatever you want).

the custom commands that i have are:

Desc: Take screenshot now
Command: sh /home/user/sShot.sh 0

Desc: Take screenshot - 3 secs
Command: sh /home/user/sShot/sh 3

this assumes that you have the osso-screenshot-tool installed, and that the code below is in a file called sShot.sh and is located in /home/user/ and is set to executeable ("chmod 700 /home/user/sShot.sh" without the quotes, from command line using xterm). i also use flite to synth the completion. you can comment it out, or remove the line if you dont want to use it.
_____________________________________________
#!/bin/bash
sleep $1

stamp=`date +%Y%m%d-%H%M`
i=1
path=/home/user/MyDocs/.images
if mount | grep -q mmc
then
path=/media/mmc1
fi

while [ -f $path/shot-$stamp-`printf %02d $i`.png ]
do
i=$((i+1))
done
osso-screenshot-tool $path/shot-$stamp-`printf %02d $i`.png
flite "Screenshot complete"
_____________________________________________

dglent 2010-02-28 19:09

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
i did nt understand you have to install an application ?

RockCreek1 2010-02-28 19:11

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
A related question: on the N900, is it possible to take a screen shot of the front camera image (using the "mirror" app)?

Thanks!

EIPI 2010-02-28 19:12

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
The dates of the original threads indicate that the N900 wasn't in consumer existence yet. On a N900, you simply press Ctrl+P to capture a screenshot.

dglent 2010-02-28 19:20

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
i cant do it,
the ctrl is in the top right of the keyboard ? with the symbol ctrl+sym ?

AndrewG 2010-02-28 19:24

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dglent (Post 550133)
i cant do it,
the ctrl is in the top right of the keyboard ? with the symbol ctrl+sym ?

Press Sym Ctrl and the shift key (white arrow) and P all at the same time

EIPI 2010-02-28 19:24

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
Yes, hit that button and 'p' at the same time.

On the N900, the screenshot is saved in the 'images' folder

dglent 2010-02-28 19:43

Re: Stupid Question: How to take screenshots?
 
ok i did it :) thanks


* Do you know any manuel of keybord shortcuts, tips like copy paste etc ?


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:24.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8