maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=34579)

detronizator 2009-11-16 17:41

Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK
 
Hello.
I'm facing a weird problem.

The SDK 1.0 (and the 1.0-update1) brought us a big deal of stability. That's cool!

But there is something weird going on in the Qt area.
I have a simple browser up that I built for experimentation purpose and I'm unable to get connectivity. I didn't try to open QSockets directly, so I don't know if it's only a problem for QWebKit (that I'm using of course) or something else.

What happens his:
1) I create the QWebView
2) I load a URL (tried different of them)
3) Messages appear on the console (I'm using /scratchbox for this):
With 4.5
Code:

QMaemoInternetConnectivity has received an error message.
Name:  "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown"
Message:  "The name com.nokia.icd was not provided by any .service files"

With 4.6
Code:

QMaemoInternetConnectivity has received an error message.
Name:  "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown"
Message:  "The name com.nokia.icd was not provided by any .service files"
NOTE: Please ignore this error message if you are running your application in scratchbox
Warning: Qt GConf backend has got a NULL value for the key: "/system/osso/connectivity/IAP/last_used_network"
QMaemoInternetConnectivity has received an error message.
Name:  "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown"
Message:  "The name com.nokia.icd_ui was not provided by any .service files"
NOTE: Please ignore this error message if you are running your application in scratchbox

Anyone is having the same problem out there?

Didn't try yet on hardware, though.

Thanks

www.rzr.online.fr 2009-11-18 08:09

Re: Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK
 
I can try this on diablo to compare

danielwilms 2009-11-18 09:05

Re: Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK
 
Hi,

this is not a Qt problem, but the problem is that internet connectivity daemon does not run inside scratchbox. There might be a possibility to run and test it there. I will try to figure that out.

Cheers Daniel

quipper8 2010-02-15 01:05

Re: Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK
 
***BUMP***

I am starting out on scratchbox with an app using qtwebkit too and am getting the exact same error.

Did y'all figure out how to get icd to run in scratchbox if that is what is necessary?

detronizator 2010-02-15 15:10

Re: Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK
 
Double check the "/etc/resolv.conf" in your scratchbox: if different from your host environment, just copy it over.

nilsbenson 2010-02-15 16:01

Re: Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK
 
This doesn't work. Without the Internet Connectivity Daemo (ICD) Qt apps won't talk to the internet. They will appear to work in some cases (for example, using a QHttp) but won't ever get any data.

I have been working on a Qt app and ran across this. There are two ways to move forward:

1) just develop your app's network functionality using something like Qt Creator and run it locally on your Linux/Windows box since it won't require ICD on it.

2) Do all your network debugging on a real device using ESBox or something similar so you can do remote debugging.

Since I am using Python, the easiest way was #2 -- I do all my GUI work/testing that doesn't require network under the FREMANTLE_X86 target so it's fast and all on 1 screen, then when I need the network I run it remotely on my n900.

It's a real pain and I hope this gets fixed at some point. It took me two days to figure out what was going on, but I am surprised that there's less talk about it here..

real_ate 2011-04-09 15:03

Re: Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK
 
Has anyone solved this problem? I am still getting this when I try and use a Web View in the Nokia 1.1 SDK Release Candidate

jtitoo 2011-05-11 21:20

Re: Qt and Internet connectivity on Fremantle Stable SDK
 
I've the same problem. I'm using QtNetwork 4.7 and trying to simulate my app in scratchbox, but when the app try to get Internet Connection it doesn't get it. In my N900 the app works perfect.


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:33.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8