maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Fremantle/N900 - Problems with MADDE installed by root (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=39635)

finlaybob 2010-01-07 19:50

Fremantle/N900 - Problems with MADDE installed with root
 
Hi all its been a while.

Possible noob problem here, but im taking the risk, I don't want to break anything!

I'm fairly new at linux, I had been using MADDE very successfully when i was running ubuntu 9.10 straight from HD on my PC

I was just running through some simple things using Qt and sending them to the device, familiarizing myself as I've not used C++ for about a million years.

I have upgraded my PC however, and as I'm a game-a-holic, have windows running now, with VMware running Ubuntu.

Code:

neil@neil-desktop:~$ mad-admin create fin -a 192.168.2.100
mkdir: cannot create directory `/home/neil/.madde/0.5/runtimes': Permission denied
Creating runtime fin with address 192.168.2.100 failed


I checked permissions and apparrently owner of "/home/neil/.madde/" (amongst other things madde needs) has been created by root, thus root is owner and i'm guessing the mad-admin command can't access it.

I've tried:
Code:

neil@neil-desktop:~$ sudo mad-admin create fin -a 192.168.2.100
[sudo] password for neil:
sudo: mad-admin: command not found

This of course is my fault (i cant remember using sudo to install it :( )

So I guess the question is, how do I fix this?

Delete everything MADDE related and reinstall?

Or would i be able to just reinstall madde over the top of everything? I'm guessing i need root permission to overwrite the dirs/files and the same thing would happen..

possibly chown everything to myself?

Any helps appreciated.

Sasler 2010-01-07 20:19

Re: Fremantle/N900 - Problems with MADDE installed with root
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by finlaybob (Post 457955)
I have upgraded my PC however, and as I'm a game-a-holic, have windows running now, with VMware running Ubuntu.

If I understood correctly, you are running a Windows PC now. If this is the case, why don't you run MADDE straight from Windows? :)

finlaybob 2010-01-07 20:23

Re: Fremantle/N900 - Problems with MADDE installed with root
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sasler (Post 458005)
If I understood correctly, you are running a Windows PC now. If this is the case, why don't you run MADDE straight in Windows?

I couldnt get it working as seamlessly as linux while using windows last time around, also the SDK itself wont run

However, that is an awesome plan! Dunno why i didnt think of that :confused:

Gonna download now

fatalsaint 2010-01-07 20:32

Re: Fremantle/N900 - Problems with MADDE installed by root
 
Code:

sudo chown -R neil: /home/neil/.madde

ansoni 2010-01-07 20:33

Re: Fremantle/N900 - Problems with MADDE installed by root
 
The command not found looks like a PATH issue when your sudo gets its root shell. Updating the root profile /root/.bash_profile to set the PATH variable would fix that. Also, giving an absolute path to mad-admin in the sudo command would work as well.

PATH=/home/neil/bin:$PATH;export PATH

My vote would be to fix the permissions. You can do that with a recurisve chown(chown -R neil /home/neil)

finlaybob 2010-01-07 20:43

Re: Fremantle/N900 - Problems with MADDE installed by root
 
Thanks guys, i love the fact its taken just over half an hour to fix this

i did

Code:

sudo chown -R neil /home/neil/.madde
Code:

neil@neil-desktop:~$ mad-admin create fin -a 192.168.2.100
Device runtime 'fin' initialized!



it appears to be working fine now

As I said i wasnt sure if i could do that without breaking anything etc., it seems to be okay thus far.

Thanks again!


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8