maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Maemo 5 / Fremantle (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   ssh to N900 fails (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=43638)

joschum 2010-02-07 13:32

ssh to N900 fails
 
Hi,

I am trying to ssh into my Nokia N900 but it fails. I set up usb0 and made sure that wireless is turned on:

Trying to access the N900 from my laptop I get the following message:

Code:

schm@epithalamus:~$ ssh root@192.168.254.219
ssh: connect to host 192.168.254.219 port 22: No route to host

The same happens when trying to access it via USB:

Code:

schm@epithalamus:~$ ssh root@192.168.2.15
ssh: connect to host 192.168.2.15 port 22: No route to host

Any ideas how to fix this?
joschum

hawaii 2010-02-07 14:49

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
I am actually experiencing this also.

I have verified SSHd is running, confirmed the IP address of the N900 on my WLAN, and also confirmed connectivity. I can get a secure shell on the N900 from loopback, localhost and the internal LAN address when SSH'ing directly on the device.

I just can't hit it from any other machine. I am running down ssh configs right now to see if anything randomly changed.

flya320 2010-02-07 14:50

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
looks like a problem with your ip address setup / routing

on your n900 issue the following commands as root and post the output:

cat /etc/ssh/sshd_config
route
ifconfig -a

on your computer from which you are trying to connect, issue:

ifconfig -a
route, or route print, or ip route show

b666m 2010-02-07 14:53

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
try (while connected to the phone)

ifconfig usb0 down
ifconfig usb0 up

then try to ssh in again

hawaii 2010-02-07 14:55

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
For some reason I am experiencing decay on WiFi. I open a constant ping session on the N900 to my workstation, and everything works fine.

joschum 2010-02-08 09:37

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by flya320 (Post 514369)
looks like a problem with your ip address setup / routing

on your n900 issue the following commands as root and post the output:

cat /etc/ssh/sshd_config
route
ifconfig -a

on your computer from which you are trying to connect, issue:

ifconfig -a
route, or route print, or ip route show

OK, here is the output of

cat /etc/ssh/sshd_config

Code:

# Package generated configuration file
# See the sshd(8) manpage for details

# What ports, IPs and protocols we listen for
Port 22
# Use these options to restrict which interfaces/protocols sshd will bind to
#ListenAddress ::
#ListenAddress 0.0.0.0
Protocol 2
# HostKeys for protocol version 2
HostKey /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key
HostKey /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key
#Privilege Separation is turned on for security
UsePrivilegeSeparation yes

# Lifetime and size of ephemeral version 1 server key
KeyRegenerationInterval 3600
ServerKeyBits 768

# Logging
SyslogFacility AUTH
LogLevel INFO

# Authentication:
LoginGraceTime 120
PermitRootLogin yes
StrictModes yes

RSAAuthentication yes
PubkeyAuthentication yes
#AuthorizedKeysFile        %h/.ssh/authorized_keys

# Don't read the user's ~/.rhosts and ~/.shosts files
IgnoreRhosts yes
# For this to work you will also need host keys in /etc/ssh_known_hosts
RhostsRSAAuthentication no
# similar for protocol version 2
HostbasedAuthentication no
# Uncomment if you don't trust ~/.ssh/known_hosts for RhostsRSAAuthentication
#IgnoreUserKnownHosts yes

# To enable empty passwords, change to yes (NOT RECOMMENDED)
PermitEmptyPasswords no

# Change to yes to enable challenge-response passwords (beware issues with
# some PAM modules and threads)
ChallengeResponseAuthentication no

# Change to no to disable tunnelled clear text passwords
#PasswordAuthentication yes

# Kerberos options
#KerberosAuthentication no
#KerberosGetAFSToken no
#KerberosOrLocalPasswd yes
#KerberosTicketCleanup yes

# GSSAPI options
#GSSAPIAuthentication no
#GSSAPICleanupCredentials yes

X11Forwarding yes
X11DisplayOffset 10
PrintMotd no
PrintLastLog yes
TCPKeepAlive yes
#UseLogin no

#MaxStartups 10:30:60
#Banner /etc/issue.net

# Allow client to pass locale environment variables
AcceptEnv LANG LC_*

Subsystem sftp /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server

#UsePAM yes

And this is the output of route:

Code:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination    Gateway        Genmask        Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.254.0  *              255.255.255.0  U    0      0        0 wlan0
default        192.168.254.1  0.0.0.0        UG    0      0        0 wlan0

Output of
ifconfig -a

Code:

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:12609 (12.3 KiB)  TX bytes:12609 (12.3 KiB)

phonet0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 15-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:4000  Metric:1
          RX packets:7120 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:187 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:152828 (149.2 KiB)  TX bytes:3334 (3.2 KiB)

upnlink0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 1B-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:49152  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

usb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 36:F6:2A:9E:74:0F 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:388 (388.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr A8:7B:39:DC:87:B6 
          inet addr:192.168.254.219  Bcast:192.168.254.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:887 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:811 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:510308 (498.3 KiB)  TX bytes:166707 (162.7 KiB)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-1F-DF-A8-3C-E4-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

On my laptop computer the output of
ifconfig -a
gives:

Code:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:68:0c:62:fb 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Memory:f0600000-f0620000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:98323 (98.3 KB)  TX bytes:98323 (98.3 KB)

usb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 02:80:37:ec:02:00 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vmnet1    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:01 
          inet addr:192.168.177.1  Bcast:192.168.177.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vmnet8    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:08 
          inet addr:172.16.23.1  Bcast:172.16.23.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:21:6a:1e:92:86 
          inet addr:192.168.254.222  Bcast:192.168.254.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::221:6aff:fe1e:9286/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:25628 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:20439 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:23174401 (23.1 MB)  TX bytes:5773662 (5.7 MB)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-21-6A-1E-92-86-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP RUNNING  MTU:0  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Is this a problem with my routing table?

SubCore 2010-02-08 10:50

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by joschum (Post 515833)
Is this a problem with my routing table?

first of all it's a problem with your usb0 interfaces :)

neither has an IP address configured, your "/etc/network/interfaces" is probably missing some bits.
once both interfaces have the correct IPs (192.168.2.14 and .15), the routing table should be updated automatically.

Blackbeard 2010-02-08 11:00

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
When trying to log in over wireless I suggest to check how close to access point your N900 is. Once I moved my phone to the other side of the room my troubles went away. I think N900 is somewhat susceptible to near field problems.

joschum 2010-02-08 12:00

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SubCore (Post 515920)
first of all it's a problem with your usb0 interfaces :)

neither has an IP address configured, your "/etc/network/interfaces" is probably missing some bits.
once both interfaces have the correct IPs (192.168.2.14 and .15), the routing table should be updated automatically.

Yes, usb0 seems to be disconnected but ssh to the N900 via wireless by
ssh root@192.168.254.219
should work since both the laptop and the N900 are in the same subnet. I also moved the N900 close to the access point but it doesn`t work. ssh from the N900 to another computer works.
Any ideas?

Rob1n 2010-02-08 12:05

Re: ssh to N900 fails
 
Is the routing table on your laptop correct?


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:02.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8