maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   MADDE with N900 emulator (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=54225)

rontti 2010-05-28 11:49

MADDE with N900 emulator
 
There is N900 emulator with MADDE since version 0.6.72.
Download MADDE from here:
http://tablets-dev.nokia.com/MADDE.php

An emulator instance needs to created before it can be used. It is done by command:

Code:

  mad-admin create rx51-fremantle-pr12
It takes a while to start up.
After creation an instance can be started and stopped by commands:

Code:

mad remote -r rx51-fremantle-pr12 poweroff
 mad remote -r rx51-fremantle-pr12 poweron

Try also these. All commands should be work same way than
with real N900 device runtime.

Code:

  mad remote -r rx51-fremantle-pr12 ping
Code:

  mad remote  -r rx51-fremantle-pr12 shell
Code:

  mad remote  -r rx51-fremantle-pr12 mount <some directory>
If you wanna take backup from your emulator state you should first
stop it (poweroff). Then you are able to clone your instance by command.
Code:

mad-admin clone -r rx51-fremantle-pr12 my_backup
Now you have two emulator instances rx51-fremantle-pr12 and
my_backup.

Note! if 'mad list' shows that runtime is default you don't need
-r <name> option with commands.

- MADDE team

Spazzymoto 2010-06-16 12:53

Re: MADDE with N900 emulator
 
Hey i wonder if u can help? i run mad remote -r n900 poweron and i recieve this error "/madlib/ma-remote.sh: line 102: qemu: unbound variable"

jessi3k3 2010-06-16 17:47

Re: MADDE with N900 emulator
 
Hi rontti. I would like to know if there is a way to improve the speed at which the emulator runs. I know at the moment MADDE is a tech preview but the emulator runs super slow. The emulator updates the frame once every 2-3 seconds and is very unresponsive to clicks due to this.

My dev env:
Windows 7 prof x64
4 gb ram, 2.0 ghz core2duo
Nvidia GeForce 7900GS

nicolai 2010-06-19 10:26

Re: MADDE with N900 emulator
 
Is there any way to see syslog messages?
And It would help to see all the debugging messages,
which are normally seen when working with
scratchbox and xephyr.

regards nicoai

Diph 2010-06-20 07:33

Re: MADDE with N900 emulator
 
I have the same problem. It might take more than 5 seconds to open a menu etc.

Ubuntu 10.04.
3 GHz Core 2 Duo.
Ati Radeon HD 4850.

I will add more information later...

TheAccountant 2010-06-20 16:00

Re: MADDE with N900 emulator
 
I believe that it could be due to how the acceleration mode used by xorg.conf.

Take a copy of /etc/X11/xorg.conf in case it breaks and you need to restore it!

add the line:
Code:

Option "AccelMethod" "EXA"
In Section "Device"

EDIT::

If that doesnt work, try

Code:

Option "AccelMethod" "XAA"

You could also try adding the following section into xorg.

Code:

Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "enable"
EndSection

Thanks.

jessi3k3 2010-06-20 23:12

Re: MADDE with N900 emulator
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheAccountant (Post 722712)
I believe that it could be due to how the acceleration mode used by xorg.conf.

Take a copy of /etc/X11/xorg.conf in case it breaks and you need to restore it!

add the line:
Code:

Option "AccelMethod" "EXA"
In Section "Device"

EDIT::

If that doesnt work, try

Code:

Option "AccelMethod" "XAA"

You could also try adding the following section into xorg.

Code:

Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "enable"
EndSection

Thanks.

Hi, where can i find such file in windows 7?

jrx 2010-06-21 10:37

Re: MADDE with N900 emulator
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nicolai (Post 721492)
Is there any way to see syslog messages?
And It would help to see all the debugging messages,
which are normally seen when working with
scratchbox and xephyr.

You can use ctrl+alt+3 keycombo to switch to the root console of the emulated device. Ctrl+alt+1 will bring you back to the graphics display.

too 2010-06-21 11:11

Re: MADDE with N900 emulator
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Spazzymoto (Post 717472)
Hey i wonder if u can help? i run mad remote -r n900 poweron and i recieve this error "/madlib/ma-remote.sh: line 102: qemu: unbound variable"

You are poweron:ing device runtime ?

But good point; poweron command should complain
in this case.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:12.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8