maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Maemo 5 / Fremantle (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=61744)

eitama 2010-09-05 11:04

[Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Hi,

Some of you may know, I am the author of horizontal-call (in the sig),
I have had some people ask me for the ability to add an option to append or prepend numbers/chars to all outgoing calls made by horizontal call.

Specifically, codes that control if your number is sent or the caller ID is hidden. I tried adding the following string
Code:

#31#
inside the C++/Qt code of the app just to test it, but the call won't go through.

Also if i try to add that to the contact, and dial it with horizontal-call it also fails, I get a message from my operator that "This number is not a valid number and cannot be dialed".

So my question is, what does one need to send to the dbus call to the gsm module in order to call for example :
Code:

#31#0544724972
Fictional number ofc :0)

I'd appreciate any help in the field.

Thanks,
Eitam.

chillout 2010-09-05 18:38

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Hello eitama,

Actually i see a mistake in the way you are trying to dial and that's the reason your operator sends error.

First off:
#31# - Hide ID
*31# - Show ID

So if my number is 0898 123 456 and my country code is 359 the number you have to dial looks like this - +359 898 123 456
When you add the code it should look like this - *31#+359898123456

I have tested the exact same way with the N900 official dialing program and it works .... doesn't work without the + before the country code.

Hope this helps.
Best regards!

eitama 2010-09-05 18:47

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chillout (Post 808032)
Hello eitama,

Actually i see a mistake in the way you are trying to dial and that's the reason your operator sends error.

First off:
#31# - Hide ID
*31# - Show ID

So if my number is 0898 123 456 and my country code is 359 the number you have to dial looks like this - +359 898 123 456
When you add the code it should look like this - *31#+359898123456

I have tested the exact same way with the N900 official dialing program and it works .... doesn't work without the + before the country code.

Hope this helps.
Best regards!

Dialing #31#05447246135 from the built in app works, dialing that from horizontal-call doesn't. I am using a standard dbus call to make the calls, I guess i Just doesn't support it, or makes changes before dialing that I am not making.

Still need more info sadly.

chillout 2010-09-10 09:21

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Hello there eitama and all that have my problem,

I am puzzled about why i didn't think of this simple fix to my problem earlier, i could have spared you the time and efford to help me.
I've just found out that deactivating/activating my CLIR function takes about 10 secs and considering i don't hide my number at all i guess this could pass for a solution :)

Horizontal-Call works like a charm now, thanks for this great app!!

Thanks eitama!

zimon 2010-09-10 09:30

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
There is also starhash-enabler application which brings support to these *#-codes.
http://my-maemo.com/software/applica...to=1622&faq=42

MohammadAG 2010-09-10 09:51

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zimon (Post 812471)
There is also starhash-enabler application which brings support to these *#-codes.
http://my-maemo.com/software/applica...to=1622&faq=42

He knows the codes are supported, he's asking if there's a way to use dbus calls to dial them, using dbus here just fails with the codes, I even tried escaping the # with a \ but it didn't work :(

peterleinchen 2011-09-21 21:52

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Sorry for reviving this thread. But I do want exactly that. Set the call forwarding (with USSD codes) by means of dbus call from within a script.
(I have dual SIM adapter and want the forwarding to be en-/disabled automatically on switching.)

Already puzzled with USSD packages, but no success. Also tried to escape/bundle those characters in string....

So, anybody got a solution here?
Could also be anything else, but I need to get those codes activated from within a script.

P.S.: of course got *#-enabler installed and working fine fom call-ui...

peterleinchen 2011-11-04 18:20

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
So, no chance to use *# from a dbus call (just call-ui)?
If anybody is out there who knows, then he may speak now ...

--edit
this is how a call with dbus works
/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"0123456789" uint32:0

and this is what I want to achieve, e.g.:
/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"*21*0987654321#" uint32:0
or simply just
string:"*21#"
string:"#21#"

jonwil 2011-11-04 23:06

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
For USSD, you need to use com.nokia.csd.SS.USSD
And no I dont know how you use that.

peterleinchen 2011-11-05 11:42

Re: [Help Needed] Using dbus to make a call with USSD code inside the number doesn't work
 
Thanks for the hint, but could not get it...
Maybe because of case-sensitivity or wrong type/function call?

Is there anywhere a list with those dbus destinations, types and functions?


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:50.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8