maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Maemo 5 / Fremantle (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   programatically enable/disable HSDPA (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=61860)

Marius Trestioreanu 2010-09-07 12:56

programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
Hi,

Is there a way to programatically enable/disable HSDPA? Does dbus-send or other command support this setting?

Thank you,
Marius

mail_e36 2010-09-07 13:19

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
How would you know if you are in a HSDPA area, without doing a speed test?

shadowjk 2010-09-07 13:22

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
I think you can only enable/disable 3g as a whole

Marius Trestioreanu 2010-09-07 13:42

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
The phone GUI allows enabling/disabling HSDPA, so is there a maemo API exposed for this setting?

shadowjk 2010-09-07 22:48

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
Uh, the phone gui let's you enable/disable 3G (wcdma). 3g/2g switcher widget also does it, so look at its source code to find out how it does it, I guess. I forget if that applet is actually opensource or not...

joa 2010-09-07 23:01

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
http://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#Radio_mode

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.phone.net /com/nokia/phone/net Phone.Net.set_selected_radio_access_technology byte:1
will set 2G mode

mail_e36 2010-09-08 19:57

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
Folks,

How would you know if you are in a HSDPA area as opposed to a 3G area? (without having to do a speed test)

Benson 2010-09-09 02:35

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mail_e36 (Post 810965)
Folks,

How would you know if you are in a HSDPA area as opposed to a 3G area? (without having to do a speed test)

You would see the "3.5" under the signal-strength bars (when transfering data) instead of "3G" (UMTS, used either in a non-HSDPA cell, or when data is not being transferred) or "2.5" (meaning EDGE (which of course is technically 3G, despite being a bitrate enhancement of GPRS, but is usually referred to as 2.75G, 2.9G, or similar, reserving "3G" for UMTS) and I believe would also show for plain GPRS, although I'm uncertain there).

I'm a little unclear as to why one would want to disable HSDPA, could someone explain?

mail_e36 2010-09-09 14:33

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
I am on Tmobile (in the USA) and it seems I ALWAYS get a reading of "3.5G" when transferring data when I am in a 3G area, but my download transfer speeds would be as low as 15-30 KB/s which I think means I could not possibly be on HSDPA?

Are we sure that a reading of "3.5G" is an accurate indicator of being in a HSDPA area?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Benson (Post 811272)
You would see the "3.5" under the signal-strength bars (when transfering data) instead of "3G" (UMTS, used either in a non-HSDPA cell, or when data is not being transferred) or "2.5" (meaning EDGE (which of course is technically 3G, despite being a bitrate enhancement of GPRS, but is usually referred to as 2.75G, 2.9G, or similar, reserving "3G" for UMTS) and I believe would also show for plain GPRS, although I'm uncertain there).

I'm a little unclear as to why one would want to disable HSDPA, could someone explain?


shadowjk 2010-09-09 14:44

Re: programatically enable/disable HSDPA
 
Yes 3.5G is accurate reading. Though just because the HSDPA is used doesn't automatcally mean you'll get 10Mbit/s. First the area needs to be uncongsted, the ISP/operator must not be throttling you, and the base station needs an uplink big enough, and you need a good signal (and the signal meter is generally useless becuse it's mosty meant for voice)..


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:38.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8