maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   General (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Trying to find what is trying to acces the net? (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=81025)

corduroysack 2011-12-21 12:53

Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
I'm trying to find out which program is trying to access the net. i've changed the profile from automatically opening a connection to always ask and i've opened termininal and entered 'top' to monitor what if anything shows up.

i've also gone through the programs and cancelled any automatic updates.
is there a command to find out what has tried to access the net?

Thanks in advance :)

Cue 2011-12-21 13:03

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
Code:

netstat -t -u
might help.

corduroysack 2011-12-22 15:24

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
thought i'd sorted it and changed back to automatic connect, removed waze which was the last program i installed.

Cue 2011-12-22 17:05

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
So it's not sorted? What was the result of netstat? do you have ntpd installed by any chance.

corduroysack 2011-12-22 17:43

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
no not sorted unfortunately, i thought i'd sussed it but once again it was asking for access. haven't got ntpd installed as for the netstat result i didn't record the result as i thought i'd got it sorted, will post results when it happens again. nothing stood out from last results though.
cheers for your continued help :)

peterleinchen 2011-12-22 21:08

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Cue (Post 1140368)
Code:

netstat -t -u
might help.

If you'd like to see who is accessing, you should add a "-p" ( as root)
Code:

sudo netstat -tup
maybe also a "-a" to see also listening sockest (if there are any).

corduroysack 2011-12-23 11:01

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
cheers for that, i'm wondering if i have sorted it properly this time as i've no request to access the net in over 12 hours.
this is the netstat results from command that Cue gave me.


PHP Code:

 netstat --u
Active Internet connections 
(w/o servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State
tcp        0      0 192.168.0.2
:51612       65.55.172.253:pop3s     ESTABLISHED 
tcp        0      0 192.168.0.2
:53147       65.55.172.253:pop3s     ESTABLISHED 
tcp        0      0 192.168.0.2
:63261       we-in-f109.1e100.net:imaps ESTABLISHED 
tcp        0      0 192.168.0.2
:56681       207.46.11.135:pop3s     ESTABLISHED 
tcp        0      0 192.168.0.2
:53148       65.55.172.253:pop3s     ESTABLISHED 
netstat
no kernel support for AF INET6 (tcp)
udp        0      0 Nokia-N900:50029        Nokia-N900:3001         ESTABLISHED 
udp        0      0 Nokia
-N900:58492        Nokia-N900:3002         ESTABLISHED 
netstat
no kernel support for AF INET6 (udp

PHP Code:

home/user #  netstat -t -u p  
Active Internet connections (w/o servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State
tcp        0      0 192.168.0.2
:64310       lhr14s21-in-f9.1e100.net:www ESTABLISHED 
tcp        0      0 192.168.0.2
:59870       we-in-f109.1e100.net:imaps ESTABLISHED 
udp        0      0 Nokia
-N900:50029        Nokia-N900:3001         ESTABLISHED 
udp        0      0 Nokia
-N900:58492        Nokia-N900:3002         ESTABLISHED 


Cue 2011-12-23 11:32

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
netstat shows that It seems to be fetching emails. You could disable that if you wish but then you would have to manualy check for new mail.

corduroysack 2011-12-23 12:25

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
i have it set to update when wifi is connected manually as standard. the problem i've had 'seems' to have been sorted...... again lol :) only thing i can think was doing it was RSS feeder updating as it was set to be automatic every 2 hours which i can't remember setting, is it a default setting??
thanks for your help :)

peterleinchen 2011-12-23 12:35

Re: Trying to find what is trying to acces the net?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by corduroysack (Post 1141118)
PHP Code:

home/user #  netstat -t -u p  
udp        0      0 Nokia-N900:50029        Nokia-N900:3001         ESTABLISHED 
udp        0      0 Nokia
-N900:58492        Nokia-N900:3002         ESTABLISHED 


Hey, just for curiosity.
What are those internal UDP loop connections?

You missed the hyphen before "p".
Either
netstat -tup
or
netstat -t -u -p


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:47.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8