maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   MeeGo / Harmattan (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=95813)

hj-adams 2015-08-03 14:20

N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
hi,

first, the links in http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=63571 seems to be dead. Is there a way to get the actual GPS coordinates displayed in the terminal? I want to use it within a perl script without GUI by using the qx-command, like: @coords = qx(function_to_get_GPS-coordinates);

thanx

Dirk

www.rzr.online.fr 2015-08-03 15:27

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
qdbus com.nokia.positioningd.context /org/maemo/contextkit/Location/SatPositioningState org.maemo.contextkit.Property.Get

peterleinchen 2015-08-03 18:06

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by www.rzr.online.fr (Post 1478612)
qdbus com.nokia.positioningd.context /org/maemo/contextkit/Location/SatPositioningState org.maemo.contextkit.Property.Get

Thx.
But what does that output tell us?
I cannot match it with current geo location.

hj-adams 2015-08-04 03:55

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
Hi,

the output is:
off
41151794457

I tried
qdbus com.nokia.positioningd.context /org/maemo/contextkit/Location/Coordinates org.maemo.contextkit.Property.Get
output:
41146545434

Where are the coordinates :confused:

hj-adams 2015-08-06 07:12

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
no idea anyone?

robthebold 2015-08-06 13:03

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hj-adams (Post 1478781)
no idea anyone?

I can't find any documentation either that indicates if or how that 11 digit decimal integer is encoded from a position. One certainly couldn't encode a very precise 3d position in that value. So there's got to be something more to it than that one value . . .

At least "off" becomes "on" when GPS is active, e.g. after starting Drive or other positioning application.

Halftux 2015-08-07 20:42

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
I have written a small console app (gps access through qtmobility) it is running fine with N900 but with N950 and openkernel I get an access error from dbus.

Googled after that error someone could solve it with interception.
So I don't know who ever feels like try to run it, I will attach a deb.

When it is working report how you handle aegis then I can change the output to your needs.

edit: download moved 2 post further...

wolke 2015-08-07 20:47

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
'MainClass.Run is executing' and nothing else happens

Halftux 2015-08-07 21:16

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by wolke (Post 1478945)
'MainClass.Run is executing' and nothing else happens

Oh these are good and bad news. Thanks for trying.

good: you get no error it should work
bad: I uploaded a wrong version I am very sorry

next one attached

hj-adams 2015-08-08 12:52

Re: N9: Getting GPS coordinates by shell command
 
hi,

output is:

MainClass.Run is executing
Position updated: QGeoPositionInfo(QDateTime("Sa. Aug 8 12:55:49 2015") , QGeoCoordinate(49.2471, 6.87559, 240), HorizontalAccuracy=587, VerticalAccuracy=57)
Position updated: QGeoPositionInfo(QDateTime("Sa. Aug 8 13:00:28 2015") , QGeoCoordinate(49.2444, 6.85804, 290), HorizontalAccuracy=224, VerticalAccuracy=120)
Position updated: QGeoPositionInfo(QDateTime("Sa. Aug 8 13:00:49 2015") , QGeoCoordinate(49.2454, 6.86897, 235), HorizontalAccuracy=324, VerticalAccuracy=70)

but it's not written to stdout, it's written to stderr.
second thing: it seems to be an endless loop, writing on sterr after every position update. is it possible to run only one loop? and writing to stdout?

thanx Dirk


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8