maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   MeeGo / Harmattan (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   [SOLVED ]Finding ICC ID on Harmattan and Fremantle (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=96107)

anthonie 2015-10-28 09:23

[SOLVED ]Finding ICC ID on Harmattan and Fremantle
 
Hello all,

Moving on to a new provider, I need to find out the ICC ID of my SIM card in order to be able to use the same phone number with my new provider.

I have searched the forum but could not find anything relevant. Is there a way to find out, either by terminal or something else?

I do not have alternative phone OS's available, like Android and such, and because I am travelling I do not carry a USB cable around either.

So the question is: Am I stuck or is there some way?

kind regards,
anthonie

EDIT: Solved, thanks to DA5, use the code below
Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=com.nokia.phone.SSC /com/nokia/phone/SSC com.nokia.phone.SSC.get_iccid|awk -F "\"" '/g/ {print $2}'

nieldk 2015-10-28 09:52

Re: Finding ICC ID on Harmattan
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by anthonie (Post 1487013)
Hello all,

Moving on to a new provider, I need to find out the ICC ID of my SIM card in order to be able to use the same phone number with my new provider.

I have searched the forum but could not find anything relevant. Is there a way to find out, either by terminal or something else?

I do not have alternative phone OS's available, like Android and such, and because I am travelling I do not carry a USB cable around either.

So the question is: Am I stuck or is there some way?

kind regards,
anthonie

Not possible on Harmattan.

You can:
1. Insert SIM in another phone, like iPhone, which can show this
2. Read on SIM card

anthonie 2015-10-28 10:16

Re: Finding ICC ID on Harmattan
 
Something that's possible on an iPhone and Android but not on our N900 or N9's?

That's simply horrific and should not be allowed. ;)

* Meh *

pichlo 2015-10-28 11:06

Re: Finding ICC ID on Harmattan
 
There are features that make me keep my 15 years old Motorola "dumb" phone because I have not found them on any "modern" "smart" phone. Such as read and edit various SIM entries, set preferred network, show non-resettable call timers...

anthonie 2015-10-28 12:36

Re: Finding ICC ID on Harmattan
 
Learnt that lesson today, pichlo!

It ended all well. When I first spoke to my old provider, they told me they were unable to give me that number and suggested alternative methods like other phones and such.

Later on I called back, explained the situation and this time the bloke on the phone simply gave me the number without asking any questions. Kudos to them or him!

Problem solved, albeit in a different way than I would have liked.

I keep thinking this info should be floating around in /dev/ somewhere...

DA5 2015-10-28 14:33

Re: Finding ICC ID on Harmattan
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by anthonie (Post 1487019)
Something that's possible on an iPhone and Android but not on our N900 or N9's?

That's simply horrific and should not be allowed. ;)

* Meh *

It does seem to be possible on the N900:

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=com.nokia.phone.SSC /com/nokia/phone/SSC com.nokia.phone.SSC.get_iccid|awk -F "\"" '/g/ {print $2}'
https://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#Get_ICCID

Edit: Actually, after testing this on an N900 and an N9, the N9 returned the correct number.

peterleinchen 2015-10-28 15:38

Re: Finding ICC ID on Harmattan
 
On N900
you need cellnet-info to read correct ICCID.
It is somehow compressed/stored in another way (forgot which one).
If you like read about it in cellnet-info announce thread.

anthonie 2015-10-29 08:10

Re: Finding ICC ID on Harmattan
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DA5 (Post 1487032)
It does seem to be possible on the N900:

Code:

dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=com.nokia.phone.SSC /com/nokia/phone/SSC com.nokia.phone.SSC.get_iccid|awk -F "\"" '/g/ {print $2}'
https://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#Get_ICCID

Edit: Actually, after testing this on an N900 and an N9, the N9 returned the correct number.

One stone, two birds. Thanks, DA5! Have not tested it on the N900, though.

Always nice to be able to put "solved" in a threat title. Even better when it's for two systems!


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:50.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8