Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Reggie's Avatar
Posts: 1,436 | Thanked: 3,144 times | Joined on Jul 2005
#1
Please help if you can. I'm trying to collect all Internet Tablet browser versions so I can effectively create a version of the site that works well with the Internet Tablet. If you have the time, please visit this link with your internet tablet and should automatically gather what browser version you are using:

http://internettablettalk.com/who

Some improvements planned for internet tablet / mobile devices:

1. Remove ads when browsing on an internet tablet or mobile device
2. Remove fancy CSS rendering
3. Auto loading of mobile theme on forums

Please don't hesitate to suggest additional improvements.

Thanks.
__________________
Reggie Suplido
 
Posts: 144 | Thanked: 45 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Detroit
#2
Hi reggie,
I believe you are printing out the $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'] in the who/index.php
It may be easier for you to append this info into a file

To ensure only unique entries are added to the log file

if(!in_array($currentHeader, $fileContent)) {
file_put_contents($filename,$currentHeader,FILE_AP PEND)
}


~m~
Varghese
 
Posts: 140 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on May 2007 @ US
#3
here is mine if you have not set up the logfile yet
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux armv6l; en-US; rv:1.9a6pre) Gecko/20070810 Firefox/3.0a1 Tablet browser 0.1.16 RX-34_2007SE_4.2007.38-2
 
Posts: 3,401 | Thanked: 1,255 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ London, UK
#4
Reggie - there's a couple interesting articles on A List Apart discussing pocket device otpimisations (specifically iPhone): Part 1 and Part 2.

One interesting point covered in Part 1 is the ability to load a style sheet based on the horizontal device resolution, ie:
Code:
<link media="only screen and (max-device-width: 480px)" 
    href="iPhone.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" />
A device width of 800px might catch a few desktop PCs but by and large I reckon it would be safe to use that method for Internet Tablet specific style sheets (assuming the media query attribute is understood by Microb/Opera).

EDIT: Looks like media querys are Safari specific and don't work in MicroB (Mozilla RFE for Media Query support).

Last edited by Milhouse; 2007-11-12 at 21:15.
 
Reggie's Avatar
Posts: 1,436 | Thanked: 3,144 times | Joined on Jul 2005
#5
That's very interesting. I wonder how standard that 'media' value is. I hope Opera on the 770 and the 800 will understand it.
__________________
Reggie Suplido
 
Posts: 3,401 | Thanked: 1,255 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ London, UK
#6
Opera on N800 doesn't support Media Query either Sorry for the bum steer.
 
Reggie's Avatar
Posts: 1,436 | Thanked: 3,144 times | Joined on Jul 2005
#7
Originally Posted by vabgeo View Post
if(!in_array($currentHeader, $fileContent)) {
file_put_contents($filename,$currentHeader,FILE_AP PEND)
}
I've implemented your code and should auto collect the browser version.

Thanks Varghese!
__________________
Reggie Suplido
 
Posts: 144 | Thanked: 45 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Detroit
#8
Originally Posted by Reggie View Post
I've implemented your code and should auto collect the browser version.

Thanks Varghese!
You are welcome.

Some suggestions
1. When the theme is changed say to classic, only forum tables seems to have any effect. It would be nice if the change is made on the top portion of the page too

2. Can you set some 'safe' filters on the Yahoo ads?
__________________
~m~
Varghese
 
sachin007's Avatar
Posts: 2,041 | Thanked: 1,066 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Houston
#9
Can you put very very large page numbers???

that will really help a lot
 
technut's Avatar
Posts: 574 | Thanked: 166 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ BC, Canada
#10
Originally Posted by vabgeo View Post
2. Can you set some 'safe' filters on the Yahoo ads?
I just assumed Yahoo uses some kind of analysis to ensure the ads customized to your personal interests/tastes. I know mine are.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:22.